DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, claim 1 recites “an in-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle”, however it is unclear. For prosecution purposes the examiner will interpreted that any device that is capable of being mounted to a vehicle will address the limitation. Claims 2-10 have th same issue due to dependency
In particular, claim 11 recites “control method for controlling a vehicle including a wireless communication module for performing wireless communication and an audio output device configured to output audio”. However, it is unclear because the method relates to supplying power, not performing a specific vehicle control function. It appears that the applicant meant to claim a method for controlling power supply functions of a vehicle, for prosecution purposes the examiner will interpret the claim in this manner. Claims 12-19 have the same issues due to dependency.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12165517 in view of Singh et al. (“Singh”, US 9741224 B1). In particular, the patent inventive concept of base claims 1, 10 and 18 involves an in-vehicle device, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium and a method of use for providing power supply to an in-vehicle device when a trigger of a passenger getting on the vehicle is detected until when a first operation of powering on a power supply of the vehicle is performed. The distinguishing difference between the patent and the instant application’s base claims 1, 11 and 20, respectively is that the patent does not claim a wireless communication module for performing wireless communication that is to be powered, as claimed. However, in the art of providing power to in-vehicle device, Singh discloses, in Col. 6, lines 28-42 with reference to Fig. 3, the concept of providing power to an in-vehicle device with a wireless communication module.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing power to an in-vehicle device with a wireless communication module, with the motivation to enhance the features of the in-vehicle device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (“Yamada”, US 2022/0266799 A1, IDS) in view of Singh and Nishidai et al. (“Nishidai”, US 20170253216 A1, IDS). 1) Regarding claims 1 and 11, Yamada discloses an in-vehicle device to be mounted on a vehicle (Yamada: ¶0024 with reference Fig. 1: central control device 3) including a wireless communication module for performing wireless communication (with the same motivation to combine the teachings by Singh, in the double patent rejection of claims 1, and 11 above see the analysis of the double patent rejection) and an audio output device (Yamada: Figs. 1 and 3-4: D23 audio device) configured to output audio (Yamada: ¶27). As per the limitation wherein the in-vehicle device is configured to supply power to the wireless communication module and to the audio output device during a first period from when a trigger of a passenger getting on the vehicle is detected until when a first operation of powering on a power supply of the vehicle is performed. Nishida discloses, in ¶¶57-61 with reference to Figs. 4F & 6, the concept of detecting a passenger getting on a vehicle (S101, corresponding to a trigger that an passenger is getting on the vehicle, see S105)), and then supplying power to multiple in-vehicle device until the passenger has been detected starting the vehicle (corresponding to until when a first operation of powering on a power supply of the vehicle is performed).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate , the concept of detecting a passenger getting on a vehicle and then supplying power to in-vehicle device until the passenger has been detected starting the vehicle, with the motivation to enhance to the power management features if the system. 2) Regarding claims 2 and 12, wherein the first period is started at a timing at which a door of the vehicle is unlocked (Yamada: ¶11; also see Nishida: Fig. 4F). 3) Regarding claim 20, with motivation to combine the teaching by Singh and Nishida in the rejection of claims 1 and 11, Yamada, Singh and Nishidai teach a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (Yamada: ¶40) recorded with a program for causing a computer to execute a control method for controlling a vehicle including a wireless communication module for performing wireless communication and an audio output device configured to output audio (see analysis of the rejection of claims 1 and 11), wherein the control method comprises supplying power to the wireless communication module and to the audio output device during a first period from when a trigger of a passenger getting on the vehicle is detected until when first operation of powering on a power supply of the vehicle is performed (see analysis of the rejection of claims 1 and 11).
Claim(s) 3 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Singh and Nishidai, and in further view of Nordgaard (NO 316197 B1). 1) Regarding claims 3 and 13, wherein in a case where time-out occurs without the first operation being performed after the trigger is detected, a power supply of the audio output device is shut down. Nordgaard discloses, in page 5: ¶2, the concept of detected a time period after a driver door is opened and determining that the driver has not powered on the vehicle via the ignition switched and subsequently powering off supplied power. At the filing of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of detected a time period after a driver door is opened and determining that the driver has not powered the vehicle via the ignition switched and subsequently powering off supplied power, with the motivation to enhance to enhance the power supply features of the system.
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, 14-5 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Singh and Nishidai, and in further view of Sano et al. (“Sano”, US 2004/0225417 A1, IDS) and Kenji Takeda et al. (“Kenji”, JP 4509215 B2). 1) Regarding claims 4 and 14, wherein the vehicle further includes an image output device (Yamada: ¶¶26-27 with regard to the navigation device) configured to output an image (Yamada: ¶27). As per the limitation wherein the in-vehicle device is further configured to supply power to the audio output device and to the image output device during a second period from when second operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle is performed until when the passenger getting off the vehicle is detected. In the art of control power supply, Sano discloses, in ¶¶33-34 with reference to Figs. 1-3, the concept of controlling a first ECU of plurality of ECU by providing power to accessories when the ignition switch is positioned at ACC switch position, which indicates that the vehicle has not yet be powered on by the ignition switch driver interaction which can be interpreted as a time period prior to an operation of powering a power supply). Notice, as illustrated in Figs. 2-3, that once ignition which is switched to the IG2 on position, the first ECU supplying power to the ACC stops powering the accessories and a second ECU starts supplying power (a first operation of powering on a power supply of the vehicle). Kenji discloses, on page 4: ¶3, the concept of turning off power to a navigation device when a door is detected as being opened (corresponding to a time when a passenger is getting off the vehicle). Notice that Kenji discloses, on page 9: ¶4, that the navigation device uses an audio amplifier, hence an image output device and audio output device would be powered off. At the filing of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of controlling a first ECU of plurality of ECU by providing power to accessories when the ignition switch is positioned at ACC switch position controlling the amount of time the audio devices are powered by the ECU 23 and sharing the power supply operation amount a plurality of ECU and the concept of turning off power to a navigation device when a door is detected as being opened, with the motivation to enhance the power supply features of the system. 2) Regarding claims 5 and 15, wherein the vehicle further includes an image output device (Yamada: ¶¶26-27 with regard to the navigation device) configured to output an image (Yamada: ¶¶26-27 with regard to the navigation device). As per the limitation wherein the in-vehicle device is further configured to supply power to the wireless communication module, the audio output device, and the image output device. Yamada and Nishida each discloses, powering a plurality of in-vehicle devices, see Yamada, Fig. 3 and Nishida, Fig. 4F.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to power the wireless communication module, the audio output device, and the image output device, with the motivation to enhance the power management features of the system. As per the limitation during a second period from when second operation of shutting down the power supply of the vehicle is performed until when the passenger getting off the vehicle is detected. In the art of control power supply via the use of multiple ECUs, Sano discloses, in ¶¶33-34 with reference to Figs. 1-3, the concept of controlling a first ECU of plurality of ECU by providing power to accessories when the ignition switch is positioned at ACC switch position, which indicates that the vehicle has not yet be powered on by the ignition switch driver interaction which can be interpreted as a time period prior to an operation of powering a power supply). Notice, as illustrated in Figs. 2-3, that once ignition which is switched to the IG2 on position, the first ECU supplying power to the ACC stops powering the accessories and a second ECU starts supplying power (a first operation of powering on a power supply of the vehicle). Kenji discloses, on page 4: ¶3, the concept of turning off power to a navigation device when a door is detected as being opened (corresponding to a time when a passenger is getting off the vehicle). Notice that Kenji discloses, on page 9: ¶4, that the navigation device uses an audio amplifier, hence an image output device and audio output device would be powered off. At the filing of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of controlling a first ECU of plurality of ECU by providing power to accessories when the ignition switch is positioned at ACC switch position controlling the amount of time the audio devices are powered by the ECU 23 and sharing the power supply operation amount a plurality of ECU and the concept of turning off power to a navigation device when a door is detected as being opened, with the motivation to enhance the power supply features of the system. 3) Regarding claims 6, wherein the second period is finished at a timing at which a door of the vehicle is open (Kenji discloses, on page 4: ¶3) or at a timing at which operation of locking a door of the vehicle is performed. 5) Regarding claims 8 and 17, wherein power is not supplied to the image output device during the first period (Yamada discloses, in claim 1, the concept of powering only one electronic device, hence the to the image output device (navigation device) may not be powered on).
Claim(s) 7 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Singh, Nishidai, Sano and Kenji, and in further view of Kinoshita (CN 103322179 A). 1) Regarding claims 7 and 16, wherein in a case where time-out occurs without getting-off of the passenger being detected after the second operation is performed, power supplies of the audio output device and the image output device are shut down. Kinoshita discloses, in claim 10, the concept of powering off power once an ignition switch operation (corresponding to an ignition power off condition) has been detected and a subsequent amount of time has elapsed. At the filing of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of powering off power once an ignition switch operation has been detected and a subsequent amount of time has elapsed, with the motivation to enhance the power supply features of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-10 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220371527 A1; US 20140045531 A1, system with in-vehicle devices.
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2684
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685