DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
This action is in response to applicant filed on 11/06/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 and 9, recite the limitation “wherein the actuating apparatus is located in a recessed grip in one pillar of the plurality of pillars of the motor vehicle”, the scope of the limitation is unclear. Considering that the actuating apparatus includes the circuit arrangement, the manually operated emergency unlocking device, and a fingerprint sensor, it is not understood how the entirety of the actuating apparatus is located within one of the plurality of pillars of the motor vehicle. The manually operated emergency unlocking device and the fingerprint sensor would not be able to be accessed from the outside of the vehicle when the vehicle’s door is closed, due to the frame of the door covering the pillar. The actuating apparatus would not be useable for its intended purpose as an emergency unlocking device as a result. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein the actuating apparatus is located in a recessed grip in the side surface of the door of the motor vehicle.”
The rest of the claims are also rejected in view of their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck (US 2019/0169889) in view of Tan et al. (US 2021/0146860) and further in view of Weyerstall (US 2003/0111863).
Regarding Claim 1: Beck an actuating apparatus (Fig. 11) for controlling a locking system (101) of a motor vehicle (¶0031) having a plurality of pillars (¶0031: the actuating apparatus 11 is for a motor vehicle which is known to have pillars), comprising:
a manually operated emergency unlocking device (Fig. 1, item 11),
wherein the actuating apparatus is located in a recessed grip (Fig 1: item 11 is located in a recessed grip) on a side surface of the motor vehicle (Fig 1: item 11 is shown to be located on a side surface of the door 100);
a first input (23) configured to receive an operating signal (¶0045, circuit arrangement receives an authorization request via proximity sensor);
a second input (22) configured to receive an event signal, (¶0051, circuit arrangement receives an authorization request via emergency situation sensor), wherein a circuit arrangement (20, control unit has circuits within) is configured to release the manually operated emergency unlocking device for manual operation upon receipt of the event signal and configured to release and ejection mechanism (¶0044, ¶0051),
an output (¶0004, ¶00045, circuit arrangement outputs approval for the authorization request for a verified user) configured to provide a control signal to the locking system (¶0008, ¶0023, ¶0037, ¶0045, ¶0051, upon approval of authorization request, circuit arrangement sends unlocking signal to locking system to unlock the door), wherein the circuit arrangement is configured to generate the control signal in dependence on the operating signal (¶0045, the circuit arrangement only sends the control signal on approval of operating signal);
Beck does not explicitly teaches a fingerprint sensor that is configured to detect a fingerprint of a user.
In analogous art regarding vehicle door systems, Tan teaches that it is known in the art to have a fingerprint sensor that is configured to detect a fingerprint of a user (¶0035).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Beck, to include a fingerprint sensor, as taught by Tan. The motivation is to allow authentication of the user hence repelling unauthorized user to operate the vehicle door.
The combination Beck and Tan does not explicitly disclose the a manually operated emergency unlocking device comprising a cable and a handle element in a wet space accessible to an exterior of the motor vehicle.
In analogous art regarding vehicle door systems, Weyerstall disclose a manually operated emergency unlocking device comprising a cable and a handle element in a wet space accessible to an exterior of the motor vehicle.(¶0008)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of comprising a cable and a handle element in a wet space accessible to an exterior of the motor vehicle, as disclose by Weyerstall, in order to makes it possible to house the moisture-sensitive control unit in the dry space without adversely affecting the serviceability of the motor vehicle door lock overall. (¶0008).
Regarding Claim 2: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the manually operated emergency unlocking device is configured to operate the locking system by a manual application of force by a user to unlock the motor vehicle. (Beck: ¶0037).
Regarding Claim 3: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the emergency unlocking device further comprises at least one Bowden cable (Beck: Bowden cable 12).
Regarding Claim 4: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the Bowden cable includes the handle element and is configured to transmit a manual force. (Beck: ¶0012, 0023: pulling)
Regarding Claim 5: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises: an actuator wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises an actuator (Beck: unnumbered feature comprising: 15, 17) configured to make the emergency unlocking device accessible for the release of manual operation on an exterior (Beck: Fig 1, 11 shown on exterior of the motor vehicle) of the motor vehicle (Beck: Demonstrated going from Fig 3 to Fig 4, emergency unlocking device 11 is made accessible on the exterior of the motor vehicle).
Regarding Claim 6: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the actuator further comprises: a shape memory alloy wire wherein the actuator further comprises a shape memory alloy wire (Beck: item 17) configured to deform upon receiving the event signal and thereby release the emergency unlocking device (Beck: ¶0051).
Regarding Claim 7: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a radio sensor and/or an actuation sensor (Beck: ¶0045, the first input that is part of the circuit arrangement is an actuation sensor, as it is actuated to authorize a user to allow the vehicle door to unlock), wherein the radio sensor and the actuation sensor are configured to receive the operating signal (Beck: ¶0045, the actuation sensor 23 receives the operating signal, which is the authorization request).
Regarding Claim 8: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises: a light element configured to illuminate the manually operated emergency unlocking device.(Tan: ¶0039)
Regarding Claim 10: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose a motor vehicle having the actuating apparatus according to claim 1.(vehicle door: See rejection of claim 1)
Regarding Claim 11: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises: an actuator wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises an actuator (Beck: unnumbered feature comprising: 15, 17) configured to make the emergency unlocking device accessible for the release of manual operation on an exterior (Beck: Fig 1, 11 shown on exterior of the motor vehicle) of the motor vehicle (Beck: Demonstrated going from Fig 3 to Fig 4, emergency unlocking device 11 is made accessible on the exterior of the motor vehicle).
Regarding Claim 12: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises: an actuator wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises an actuator (Beck: unnumbered feature comprising: 15, 17) configured to make the emergency unlocking device accessible for the release of manual operation on an exterior (Beck: Fig 1, 11 shown on exterior of the motor vehicle) of the motor vehicle (Beck: Demonstrated going from Fig 3 to Fig 4, emergency unlocking device 11 is made accessible on the exterior of the motor vehicle).
Regarding Claim 13: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises: an actuator wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises an actuator (Beck: unnumbered feature comprising: 15, 17) configured to make the emergency unlocking device accessible for the release of manual operation on an exterior (Beck: Fig 1, 11 shown on exterior of the motor vehicle) of the motor vehicle (Beck: Demonstrated going from Fig 3 to Fig 4, emergency unlocking device 11 is made accessible on the exterior of the motor vehicle).
Regarding Claim 14: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a radio sensor and/or an actuation sensor (Beck: ¶0045, the first input that is part of the circuit arrangement is an actuation sensor, as it is actuated to authorize a user to allow the vehicle door to unlock), wherein the radio sensor and the actuation sensor are configured to receive the operating signal (Beck: ¶0045, the actuation sensor 23 receives the operating signal, which is the authorization request).
Regarding Claim 15: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a radio sensor and/or an actuation sensor (Beck: ¶0045, the first input that is part of the circuit arrangement is an actuation sensor, as it is actuated to authorize a user to allow the vehicle door to unlock), wherein the radio sensor and the actuation sensor are configured to receive the operating signal (Beck: ¶0045, the actuation sensor 23 receives the operating signal, which is the authorization request).
Regarding Claim 16: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a radio sensor and/or an actuation sensor (Beck: ¶0045, the first input that is part of the circuit arrangement is an actuation sensor, as it is actuated to authorize a user to allow the vehicle door to unlock), wherein the radio sensor and the actuation sensor are configured to receive the operating signal (Beck: ¶0045, the actuation sensor 23 receives the operating signal, which is the authorization request).
Regarding Claim 17: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a radio sensor and/or an actuation sensor (Beck: ¶0045, the first input that is part of the circuit arrangement is an actuation sensor, as it is actuated to authorize a user to allow the vehicle door to unlock), wherein the radio sensor and the actuation sensor are configured to receive the operating signal (Beck: ¶0045, the actuation sensor 23 receives the operating signal, which is the authorization request).
Regarding Claim 18: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the circuit arrangement further comprises a radio sensor and/or an actuation sensor (Beck: ¶0045, the first input that is part of the circuit arrangement is an actuation sensor, as it is actuated to authorize a user to allow the vehicle door to unlock), wherein the radio sensor and the actuation sensor are configured to receive the operating signal (Beck: ¶0045, the actuation sensor 23 receives the operating signal, which is the authorization request).
Regarding Claim 19: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises: a light element configured to illuminate the manually operated emergency unlocking device.(Tan: ¶0039)
Regarding Claim 20: The combination of Beck, Tan and Weyerstall disclose the actuating apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the actuating apparatus further comprises: a light element configured to illuminate the manually operated emergency unlocking device.(Tan: ¶0039)
Claim(s) 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck (US 2019/0169889) in view of Weyerstall (US 2003/0111863).
Regarding claim 9: Beck disclose a method for releasing a manually operated emergency unlocking device of an actuating apparatus for controlling a locking system of a motor vehicle (¶0031), having a plurality of pillars (¶0031, the actuating apparatus 11 is for a motor vehicle which is known to have pillars) comprising:
receiving an operating signal via a first input, generating a control signal as a function of the operating signal (¶0045, circuit arrangement receives an authorization request via proximity sensor);
receiving an event signal via a second input (¶0051, circuit arrangement receives an authorization request via emergency situation sensor);
providing the control signal via an output (¶0008, ¶0023, ¶0037, ¶0045, ¶0051, upon approval of authorization request, circuit arrangement sends unlocking signal to locking system to unlock the door),
upon receiving the event signal via the second input, releasing the manually operated emergency unlocking device, wherein the actuating apparatus is located in a recessed grip (Fig 1: item 11 is located in a recessed grip) in a side surface of the door and configured to release and ejection mechanism (Fig 1: item 11 is shown to be located on a side surface of the door 100, ¶0044, ¶0051).
Beck does not explicitly disclose the a manually operated emergency unlocking device comprising a cable and a handle element in a wet space accessible to an exterior of the motor vehicle.
In analogous art regarding vehicle door systems, Weyerstall disclose a manually operated emergency unlocking device comprising a cable and a handle element in a wet space accessible to an exterior of the motor vehicle.(¶0008)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to the one of the ordinary skill in the art to include the feature of comprising a cable and a handle element in a wet space accessible to an exterior of the motor vehicle, as disclose by Weyerstall, in order to makes it possible to house the moisture-sensitive control unit in the dry space without adversely affecting the serviceability of the motor vehicle door lock overall. (¶0008).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OMAR CASILLASHERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689