DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument that the amendment to claim 1 overcome Clark.
The limitation does overcome the interpretation of H being held by the user for the dogged state, the limitation merely requires the latch to remain unlatched until a user actuates the dogging mechanism to the undogged state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark US 0805411 A (hereinafter Clark).
In regards to claim 1, Clark teaches a dogging mechanism for an exit device, the dogging mechanism comprising: a camming element (H; at least as it coverts pivotal motion to the linear motion of C) configured to move between a dogged state (when pressed in and held) and an undogged state (see fig 1); at least one slot (L) in the camming element to permit movement of the camming element between the dogged state and the undogged state (see fig 1); a first linkage (F) operatively coupled to a latch (c) of the exit device, wherein the first linkage is fixed to the camming element such that movement of the camming element between the undogged state and the dogged state moves the latch between a latched position and an unlatched position (see fig 1), respectively; and a second linkage (at least K) operatively coupled to the camming element, wherein at least one pin (K) of the second linkage is received within the at least one slot (see fig 1), wherein at least a portion of the at least one slot is curved to permit rotation of the camming element (see fig 1), and wherein the camming element is configured to move between the undogged state and the dogged state by moving the at least one slot relative to the second linkage (see fig 1) wherein the latch remains in the unlatched position in the dogged state absent user actuation of the dogging mechanism to the undogged state (since as long as the user does not stop pressing P, the latch remains unlatched and in the dogged state).
In regards to claim 2, Clark teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 1, wherein the dogging mechanism is configured to receive an input from the user (via P) to move the camming element between the undogged state and the dogged state (see fig 1).
In regards to claim 4, Clark teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 1, wherein the latch is configured to engage a corresponding door strike (A) when in the latched position (see fig 1).
In regards to claim 5, Clark teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 4, wherein the exit device includes a push bar (P), wherein the push bar is moveable between and extended position (see fig 1) and a depressed position (when pressed from fig 1).
In regards to claim 10, Clark teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 1, further comprising a housing (E, I and J) configured to contain the camming element (at least in the sense of restraining such as the pin of E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a separate interpretation of Clark in view of Rasmussen US 20110174025 A1 (hereinafter Rasmussen).
In regards to claim 1, Clark teaches a dogging mechanism for an exit device, the dogging mechanism comprising: a camming element (H; at least as it coverts pivotal motion to the linear motion of C) configured to move between a dogged state (when pressed in and held) and an undogged state (see fig 1); a first linkage (F) operatively coupled to a latch (c) of the exit device, wherein the first linkage is fixed to the camming element such that movement of the camming element between the undogged state and the dogged state moves the latch between a latched position and an unlatched position (see fig 1), respectively wherein the latch remains in the unlatched position in the dogged state absent user actuation of the dogging mechanism to the undogged state (since as long as the user does not stop pressing P, the latch remains unlatched and in the dogged state).
However for the purposes of this interpretation Clark does not teach at least one slot in the camming element to permit movement of the camming element between the dogged state and the undogged state a second linkage operatively coupled to the camming element, wherein at least one pin of the second linkage is received within the at least one slot, wherein at least a portion of the at least one slot is curved to permit rotation of the camming element, and wherein the camming element is configured to move between the undogged state and the dogged state by moving the at least one slot relative to the second linkage.
Rasmussen teaches a similar camming element (40) with at least one slot (54) in the camming element to permit movement of the camming element between the dogged state and the undogged state (at least since if 54 was not curved 40 would not be able to rotate) a second linkage (18) operatively coupled to the camming element (as it is operative to guide the camming element), wherein at least one pin (18) of the second linkage is received within the at least one slot, wherein at least a portion of the at least one slot is curved to permit rotation of the camming element (see fig 8-9), and wherein the camming element is configured to move between the undogged state and the dogged state by moving the at least one slot relative to the second linkage (see figs 8-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Clark with a slot and linkage such as in Rasmussen in order to guide the rotation of the camming element and to prevent over rotation (Rasmussen para 40).
In regards to claim 2, Clark in view of Rasmussen teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 1, wherein the dogging mechanism is configured to receive an input (Clark; via P) from the user to move the camming element between the undogged state and the dogged state (Clark see fig 1).
In regards to claim 3, Clark in view of Rasmussen teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 2, wherein the user input is a key (Clark: K) that is configured to engage a key slot (Clark: L) of the camming element, and wherein the camming element is configured to move between the undogged state and the dogged state in response to the user turning the key in the key slot (Clark: via pushing P).
In regards to claim 4, Clark in view of Rasmussen teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 1, wherein the latch is configured to engage a corresponding door strike (Clark: A) when in the latched position (see fig 1).
In regards to claim 8, Clark in view of Rasmussen teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 4, wherein in the dogged state the camming element is configured to move the latch to the unlatched position by moving the first linkage vertically downwards (in the case of upper C wrt Clark fig 1) while the second linkage remains stationary (since Rasmussen’s second linkage is always stationary).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Clark as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5 and 10 above, and further in view of himself.
In regards to claim 9, Clark teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 1.
However, Clark is silent on angles and therefore does not teach wherein the camming element is configured to rotate approximately 90 degrees between the dogged state and the undogged state.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the camming element configured to rotate approximately 90 degrees between the dogged state and the undogged state, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the first interpretation of Clark as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5 and 10 above, and further in view of Rasmussen.
In regards to claim 11, Clark teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 10.
However, Clark does not teach wherein the camming element includes a stopping surface configured to limit an amount of rotation of the camming element between the undogged state and the dogged state.
Rasmussen teaches a similar device where a camming element (40) includes a stopping surface (surface of 40) configured to limit an amount of rotation of the camming element between the undogged state and the dogged state (para 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Clark with a stopping surface configured to limit an amount of rotation of the camming element between the undogged state and the dogged state in order guide and prevent over rotation of the camming element (Rasmussen para 40).
In regards to claim 12, Clark in view of Rasmussen teaches the dogging mechanism of claim 11, wherein the stopping surface is configured to engage a protuberance (Rasmussen 18) on the housing to limit the amount of rotation of the camming element (Rasmussen see figs 8-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675