DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to patent application as filed on 11/6/2024
This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1 – 10 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 6 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/3/2025, 4/9/2025, and 11/6/2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/6/2024 have been accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1-10 contains the trademark/trade name Android. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a portable terminal and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (USPUB 20160266757 A1) in view of Fan (USPUB 20160217114 A1).
Claim 1:
Ye discloses A method of automatically scrolling and capturing a chat window running in [a portable terminal], the method comprising: receiving a screen capture command as input; acquiring at least one piece of [data] while scrolling the screen by the number of selected pixels at a location at which the data for the current screen is acquired; and creating a screen capture image by integrating the acquired data (0044: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height).
Ye, by itself, does not seem to completely teach an Android-based portable terminal; acquiring XML data for a current screen of the portable terminal using Android's screen dump function based on the input screen capture command.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Fan.
Fan teaches an Android-based portable terminal; acquiring XML data for a current screen of the portable terminal using Android's screen dump function based on the input screen capture command (0002 and 0079: A screenshot function is a function that is generally provided in a computer and a mobile device. Some mobile devices provide functions of changing styles of screenshots or editing screenshots such as capturing part of a screenshot or the like… An android window screen 350 may be formed in an XML view tree 330, and if attributes of view nodes configuring the XML view tree 330 are analyzed, information 310 about a screen area interested by the user may be acquired).
Ye and Fan are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, capture content displayed on a screen of a device.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ye and Fan before him or her, to combine the teachings of Ye and Fan. The rationale for doing so would have been to utilize well known screen capture functions to capture the desired on screen content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ye and Fan to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 2:
Ye teaches the acquiring of the at least one piece of XML data while scrolling the screen by the number of selected pixels at the location at which the XML data for the current screen is acquired comprises acquiring the at least one piece of XML data by changing a location from an n-th location at which the XML data for the current screen is acquired to a specific location while scrolling the screen by the number of selected pixels (0044: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height).
Claim 3:
Ye teaches the acquiring of the at least one piece of XML data while scrolling the screen by the number of selected pixels at the location at which the XML data for the current screen is acquired comprises acquiring the at least one piece of XML data by changing the location until an end of the running chat window is reached (0044 and 0056: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height…when the user selects the automatic picture capturing mode, the CPU allows the mobile phone to immediately capture the content currently displayed on the screen through the controller, to obtain the first picture. And then it controls the mobile phone to automatically scroll the screen, and the CPU reads the screen pixel height H, automatically captures a second picture when scrolling to the H pixel height, and connects the second picture to the end of the first picture. Then it is to continue scrolling H pixels, capture the third picture and connect to the end of the previously stored picture; and so on, until it is to scroll to the bottom of the page. After scrolling to the bottom of the page, the CPU immediately stops scrolling the page, captures the display content of the final screen).
Claim 4:
Ye teaches the acquiring of the at least one piece of XML data while scrolling the screen by the number of selected pixels at the location at which the XML data for the current screen is acquired comprises: identifying an end location included in the screen capture command; and acquiring the at least one piece of XML data while scrolling the screen until the identified end location is reached (0044 and 0056: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height…when the user selects the automatic picture capturing mode, the CPU allows the mobile phone to immediately capture the content currently displayed on the screen through the controller, to obtain the first picture. And then it controls the mobile phone to automatically scroll the screen, and the CPU reads the screen pixel height H, automatically captures a second picture when scrolling to the H pixel height, and connects the second picture to the end of the first picture. Then it is to continue scrolling H pixels, capture the third picture and connect to the end of the previously stored picture; and so on, until it is to scroll to the bottom of the page. After scrolling to the bottom of the page, the CPU immediately stops scrolling the page, captures the display content of the final screen).
Claim 6:
Ye discloses A device for automatically scrolling and capturing a chat window running in [a portable terminal], the automatic scroll capture device comprising: a screen capture command input unit configured to receive a screen capture command as input; and to acquire at least one piece of [data] while scrolling the screen by the number of selected pixels at a location at which the data for the current screen is acquired; and a screen capture image creation unit configured to create a screen capture image by integrating the acquired (0044: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height).
Ye, by itself, does not seem to completely teach an Android-based portable terminal; an XML data acquisition unit configured to acquire XML data for a current screen of the portable terminal using Android's screen dump function based on the input screen capture command.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Fan.
Fan teaches an Android-based portable terminal; an XML data acquisition unit configured to acquire XML data for a current screen of the portable terminal using Android's screen dump function based on the input screen capture command (0002 and 0079: A screenshot function is a function that is generally provided in a computer and a mobile device. Some mobile devices provide functions of changing styles of screenshots or editing screenshots such as capturing part of a screenshot or the like… An android window screen 350 may be formed in an XML view tree 330, and if attributes of view nodes configuring the XML view tree 330 are analyzed, information 310 about a screen area interested by the user may be acquired).
Ye and Fan are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, capture content displayed on a screen of a device.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ye and Fan before him or her, to combine the teachings of Ye and Fan. The rationale for doing so would have been to utilize well known screen capture functions to capture the desired on screen content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ye and Fan to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 7:
Ye teaches acquire the at least one piece of XML data by changing a location from an n-th location at which the XML data for the current screen is acquired to a specific location while scrolling the screen by the number of selected pixels (0044: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height).
Claim 8:
Ye teaches the XML data acquisition unit is configured to acquire the at least one piece of XML data by changing the location until an end of the running chat window is reached (0044 and 0056: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height…when the user selects the automatic picture capturing mode, the CPU allows the mobile phone to immediately capture the content currently displayed on the screen through the controller, to obtain the first picture. And then it controls the mobile phone to automatically scroll the screen, and the CPU reads the screen pixel height H, automatically captures a second picture when scrolling to the H pixel height, and connects the second picture to the end of the first picture. Then it is to continue scrolling H pixels, capture the third picture and connect to the end of the previously stored picture; and so on, until it is to scroll to the bottom of the page. After scrolling to the bottom of the page, the CPU immediately stops scrolling the page, captures the display content of the final screen).
Claim 9:
Ye teaches the XML data acquisition unit is configured to identify an end location included in the screen capture command, and to acquire the at least one piece of XML data while scrolling the screen until the identified end location is reached (0044 and 0056: capturing a content displayed on the screen after actual scrolling when the screen page cannot be scrolled in accordance with the preset pixel height; and then selecting lower part of the display content, whose pixel height is equal to an actual scrolling height in the content displayed on the screen captured after actually scrolling as a final picture of the other pictures. For example, when the screen page is already scrolled to the bottom, the actual scrolling height is less than the preset pixel height, the display content of the final screen include the display contents captured before, at this time, the final picture should be the lower part of the display content whose pixel height is equal to the actual scrolling height…when the user selects the automatic picture capturing mode, the CPU allows the mobile phone to immediately capture the content currently displayed on the screen through the controller, to obtain the first picture. And then it controls the mobile phone to automatically scroll the screen, and the CPU reads the screen pixel height H, automatically captures a second picture when scrolling to the H pixel height, and connects the second picture to the end of the first picture. Then it is to continue scrolling H pixels, capture the third picture and connect to the end of the previously stored picture; and so on, until it is to scroll to the bottom of the page. After scrolling to the bottom of the page, the CPU immediately stops scrolling the page, captures the display content of the final screen).
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (USPUB 20160266757 A1) in view of Fan (USPUB 20160217114 A1) and further in view of Sun (USPUB 20180330483 A1).
Claim 5:
Ye in view of Fan teaches every feature of claim 1.
Ye, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the creating of the screen capture image by integrating the acquired XML data comprises: identifying common data between consecutive XML data; combining a captured image for the current screen and a captured image for a next screen and combining a captured image after a portion corresponding to the common data in the captured image of the next screen; and creating the screen capture image by combining a captured image for all remaining of the acquired XML data.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Sun.
Sun teaches the creating of the screen capture image by integrating the acquired XML data comprises: identifying common data between consecutive XML data; combining a captured image for the current screen and a captured image for a next screen and combining a captured image after a portion corresponding to the common data in the captured image of the next screen; and creating the screen capture image by combining a captured image for all remaining of the acquired XML data (0002: applications such as “long screenshot” and “scrolling screenshot” appear. Key experience of the long screenshot application or the scrolling screenshot application is whether a final stitched “long image” is accurate. However, for whether the long image can be stitched accurately, a key technology is to accurately identify an overlapped area between to-be-stitched screenshots, and remove the overlapped area for stitching).
Ye and Sun are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, capture content displayed on a screen of a device.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ye and Sun before him or her, to accurately combine all of the images captured to form one clean image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ye and Sun to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 10:
Ye in view of Fan teaches every feature of claim 1.
Ye, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the screen capture image creation unit is configured to identify common data between consecutive XML data, to combine a captured image for the current screen and a captured image for a next screen and combine a captured image after a portion corresponding to the common data in the captured image of the next screen, and to create the screen capture image by combining a captured image for all remaining of the acquired XML data.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Sun.
Sun teaches the screen capture image creation unit is configured to identify common data between consecutive XML data, to combine a captured image for the current screen and a captured image for a next screen and combine a captured image after a portion corresponding to the common data in the captured image of the next screen, and to create the screen capture image by combining a captured image for all remaining of the acquired XML data (0002: applications such as “long screenshot” and “scrolling screenshot” appear. Key experience of the long screenshot application or the scrolling screenshot application is whether a final stitched “long image” is accurate. However, for whether the long image can be stitched accurately, a key technology is to accurately identify an overlapped area between to-be-stitched screenshots, and remove the overlapped area for stitching).
Ye and Sun are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, capture content displayed on a screen of a device.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Ye and Sun before him or her, to accurately combine all of the images captured to form one clean image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ye and Sun to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached PTOL-892 form.
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178