DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, the recitation “the teach point adjusted in the adjusting” (emphasis added) appears to be missing a clarifying word or words at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-12, 16-17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,167. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims have generally the same overlapping scope.
Instant claims 11 and 12 substantially correspond to allowed claim 1 from the ‘167 Patent.
Instant claim 16 substantially corresponds to allowed claim 3 from the ‘167 Patent.
Instant claim 17 substantially corresponds to allowed claim 4 from the ‘167 Patent.
Instant claim 20 substantially corresponds to allowed claim 11 from the ‘167 Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 2016/0059419).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki discloses a method of controlling a robot system that includes a robot, a vision sensor, and a controller, the method comprising:
obtaining visual information of an object held at a reference position (visual information of marker 8 of figure 2 is obtained) with a sensor portion of the vision sensor (sensor portion at 7 hand camera 7 of figure 2), the vision sensor having an engagement portion that is configured to be engaged to a portion of the robot (the camera is connected by mount 22 to the robot hand 2 of figure 2. Both the robot hand and mount comprise engagement portions);
calculating, with the controller, a positional relationship between the sensor portion of the vision sensor and the engagement portion of the vision sensor based on the visual information of the object and position information of the reference position (via the calculation of relative position between the two coordinate systems including hand coordinate system T and hand camera coordinate system V as set forth in at least [0056-0058, 0084-0086]); and
adjusting, with the controller, a teach point of the robot based on the positional relationship (see at least [0080] which teaches adjusting the teach points calculated from step S13 of figure 5 during calibration).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki discloses the adjusting the teach point further includes obtaining, with the vision sensor, visual information of the object for adjusting the teach point of the robot in a state where the engagement portion is engaged with the portion of the robot (see at least process of detecting the markers 8 in at least [0048-0057] and figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki discloses the obtaining visual information includes obtaining, with the vision sensor, visual information of the object for the calculating the positional relationship in a state where the engagement portion is not engaged with the portion of the robot (via the embodiment of figure 1 wherein the hand camera 7 is detached from camera mount 22).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki discloses the obtaining visual information includes obtaining, with the vision sensor, visual information of the object for the calculating the positional relationship in a state where the engagement portion is engaged with a portion positioned with respect to the object held in the reference position (see at least [0056-0058] which teaches the hand camera 7 is installed and uses hand camera coordinate system V or position, orientation, and calibration calculations based on the markers 8 of figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki discloses operating the robot in accordance with the teach point adjusted in the adjusting (see at least [0070, 0077, 0108, etc.] wherein the calibration of the teach points is equivalent to adjusting the initial teach points).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki discloses the obtaining visual information includes capturing images of the object, which has three marks (see at least figure 3 which illustrates the workpiece station as having 3+ marks).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki discloses the vision sensor includes a plurality of cameras, and wherein, in the calculating the positional relationship, the controller calculates the positional relationship based on the visual information of the object obtained with one of the plurality of cameras (at least figure 2 illustrates an additional fixed camera 3 to supplement hand camera 7).
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki discloses the adjusting of the teach point includes adjusting a posture of the robot based on the positional relationship calculated in the calculating and storing the adjusted posture of the robot as an adjusted teach point in a memory (see at least [0042] which discloses storing the calibration position and orientation values in various types of memory).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki discloses the engagement portion of the vision sensor includes at least two pins configured to be engaged to the portion of the robot (via fingers 21 of figure 3 which act as “pins”. See also at least [0100] which teaches a pin is used to mount the camera portion to the robot hand portion. It is noted that should this limitation be further amended in a way that the robotic fingers could not be mapped to the “pins”, the pin taught in [0100] of Suzuki could be duplicated for obvious design reasons).
Regarding claims 20-29, Suzuki discloses all the limitations of the claims as addressed in rejected claims 11-19 above, and are thus rejected under the same rationale. It is noted the control of posture is covered by the rejection to claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached 892 form.
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658