Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view on new ground(s) of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,636 in view of Dreyer (US 202/0084178 A1).
Claim 1 (and similarly claim 13) of ‘636 recites receiving, by a server in electronic communication with a local network, a first network address for a first device connected to the local network, the server configured to operate a network documentation platform, the network documentation platform comprising a network documentation database documenting network devices connected to the local network; sending, by the server, a first simple network management protocol (SNMP) request to the first network address for the first device; receiving, by the server, a first SNMP response from the first device in response to the first SNMP request; extracting, by the server, first device identity information for the first device from the first SNMP response, wherein the first device identity information comprises at least one of a device manufacturer and a device model; providing, by the server, the first device identity information to the network documentation platform; modifying, by the network documentation platform, the network documentation database to create first device documentation data for the first device based on the first device identity information. Claim 1 (and similarly claim 13) differs from claim 1 (and similarly claim 14) of the instant application in that a single SNMP request requests the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information and that a single SNMP response includes the first device identity information and first device connectivity information.
Dreyer shows
sending, by the electronic device, (Fig. 2, 218; i.e. network management device) a first simple network management protocol (SNMP) request to the first network address for the first device (i.e., request for device information may take the form of a Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) command) requesting first device identity information (i.e. current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number) from the first device (network device 208 – fig. 2) and also requesting first device connectivity information (i.e. connectivity information) describing direct network connections between the first device and two or more other devices (i.e., network device 208 is connected to devices 216A-216N, to facilitate communication between devices 216A-216N) of the local network (i.e., the network management device 218 may then request device information from the network device 208 through an additional SNMP command, where the NMP command requests the device to return device information and data, such as the IP addresses associated with the network device (including the IP address of the device and all IP addresses of communication ports of the device), current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number, connectivity information, wherein the connectivity information describes the physical and logical connections between devices. Further, device 208 is connected to devices 216A-216N and any operating or identifying information of the network device 208 may be requested by the network management device 218 for inclusion in a network device inventory) (fig. 3; ¶ 0026 & 0037-0038);
receiving, by the electronic device, a first SNMP response (i.e. response from network device 208) from the first device in response to the first SNMP request, the first SNMP response including the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information (i.e., in response to SNMP command, the network device returns device information such as the IP addresses associated with the network device (including the IP address of the device and all IP addresses of communication ports of the device), current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number, connectivity information, wherein the connectivity information describes the physical and logical connections between devices.) (fig. 3; ¶ 0026 & 0037-0038);
extracting, by the electronic device, the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information for the first device from the first SNMP response (i.e., received data is compared or “extracted” to determine if entries previously exist in network inventory 220) (fig. 3; ¶ 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ‘636 to incorporate the teachings of Dreyer to receive more device information to include in the documentation database.
Claims 1-18 of ‘636 in view of Dreyer shows claims 2-4, 6-13, 15-17, and 19-20 herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: On lines 1-2, “at least one the device name” should be --at least one of the device name--. . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the element "the first device" in line 17 and again in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the first network device”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the first network device”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first device" in lines 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the first network device”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first device" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the first network device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. Patent No. 9742639) in view of Dreyer (US 2020/0084178 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang shows
A method of automated network documentation, the method comprising: (Column 1, lines 53-65)
receiving, by an electronic device (Fig. 1, 100; Fig. 3, 306; Column 6, lines 25-60; i.e. DP and Analysis subsystem computer system of the NOVA) in electronic communication with a local network, (Fig. 1, 124; Column 3, lines 5-23) a first network address (i.e. IP address of an IP address range) for a first device (Fig. 1, 130; i.e. resource) connected to the local network, (Column 3, lines 5-22; Column 5, lines 23-41; Column 4, lines 13-24) the electronic device configured to operate a network documentation platform, (Fig. 3, 360/310; Column 6, lines 48-60; i.e. DP and Analysis computer system software of analysis processing thread and to write to the resource repository) the network documentation platform comprising a network documentation database (Fig. 3, 310; i.e. resource repository) documenting network devices connected to the local network; (Column 5, lines 8-22; Column 6, line 61-Column 7, line 11)
sending, by the electronic device, a first simple network management protocol (SNMP) request (i.e. SNMP get request) to the first network address for the first device requesting first device identity information from the first device and also requesting first device connectivity information (i.e. source and destination interfaces) describing direct network connections between the first device and two or more other devices of the local network; (Column 8, lines 36-45)
receiving, by the electronic device, a first SNMP response from the first device in response to the first SNMP request, the first SNMP response including the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information; (Column 8, lines 36-41)
extracting, by the electronic device, the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information for the first device from the first SNMP response; (Column 8, lines 36-41; i.e. The source and destination interfaces are extracted/decoded.)
providing, by the electronic device, the first device identity information (Column 8, lines 49-57; i.e. vendor’s name/device type/system attributes) and the first device connectivity information to the network documentation platform; and (Column 8, lines 39-45; Column 9, lines 11-24; Column 1, lines 58-60; i.e. The extracted/decoded source and destination interfaces are provided to the analysis processing thread to analyze and build a network configuration matrix/topology that is stored in the resource repository along with discovered resource types.)
modifying, by the network documentation platform, the network documentation database to create first device documentation data (i.e. network topology including first device’s connections to other devices/discovered resource types) for the first device based on the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information. (Column 8, lines 39-45; Column 9, lines 11-24; Column 11, lines 7-18; Column 1, lines 58-60; i.e. The resource repository is update/modified with new and changed information.)
However, Zhang fails to show that the a single SNMP request requests the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information and that a single SNMP response includes the first device identity information and first device connectivity information.
Dreyer shows
sending, by the electronic device, (Fig. 2, 218; i.e. network management device) a first simple network management protocol (SNMP) request to the first network address for the first device (i.e., request for device information may take the form of a Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) command) requesting first device identity information (i.e. current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number) from the first device (network device 208 – fig. 2) and also requesting first device connectivity information (i.e. connectivity information) describing direct network connections between the first device and two or more other devices (i.e., network device 208 is connected to devices 216A-216N, to facilitate communication between devices 216A-216N) of the local network (i.e., the network management device 218 may then request device information from the network device 208 through an additional SNMP command, where the NMP command requests the device to return device information and data, such as the IP addresses associated with the network device (including the IP address of the device and all IP addresses of communication ports of the device), current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number, connectivity information, wherein the connectivity information describes the physical and logical connections between devices. Further, device 208 is connected to devices 216A-216N and any operating or identifying information of the network device 208 may be requested by the network management device 218 for inclusion in a network device inventory) (fig. 3; ¶ 0026 & 0037-0038);
receiving, by the electronic device, a first SNMP response (i.e. response from network device 208) from the first device in response to the first SNMP request, the first SNMP response including the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information (i.e., in response to SNMP command, the network device returns device information such as the IP addresses associated with the network device (including the IP address of the device and all IP addresses of communication ports of the device), current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number, connectivity information, wherein the connectivity information describes the physical and logical connections between devices.) (fig. 3; ¶ 0026 & 0037-0038);
extracting, by the electronic device, the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information for the first device from the first SNMP response (i.e., received data is compared or “extracted” to determine if entries previously exist in network inventory 220) (fig. 3; ¶ 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Zhang to include a single SNMP request requests the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information and that a single SNMP response includes the first device identity information and first device connectivity information as taught by Dreyer for the benefit of faster and more intuitive access to network devices and their information.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Dreyer further shows
The method of claim 1, wherein the first device documentation data (i.e. data stored in the resource repository) comprises at least one of a device name, a device class, a device manufacturer, (i.e. vendor’s name) a device model, (i.e. device type) a hardware configuration, a device hardware configuration, a device software configuration, and a protocol service of the first device. (Zhang: Column 1, lines 58-60; Column 9, lines 11-24; Column 11, lines 7-18)
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Dreyer further shows
The method of claim 2, wherein the first device identity information comprises at least one of the device name, the device manufacturer, (i.e. vendor’s name) the device model, (i.e. device type) the hardware configuration, the device hardware configuration, (i.e. hardware version) the device software configuration, (i.e. software version) and the protocol service of the first device. (Zhang: Column 8, lines 46-66; Column 11, lines 3-7)
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Dreyer further shows
The method of claim 3, wherein the first device connectivity information comprises at least one of: an operational status (i.e. currently connected) of the direct connections between the first device and the two or more other devices of the local network, and one or more provider connections between the first device and a network provider. (Zhang: Column 8, lines 41-45)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Dreyer further shows
The method of claim 1, and wherein receiving the first network address comprises discovering, by the electronic device, the first network by inspecting the local network. (Zhang: Column 4, lines 1-24; i.e. During a quick discovery process the network resource addresses are discovered.)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of Dreyer further shows
The method of claim 8, and further comprising retrieving (i.e. from an input list) a first access credential for the first device, wherein the first SNMP request comprises the first access credential. (Zhang: Column 5, line 62 – Column 6, line 5; Claim 1)
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Dreyer further shows
The method of claim 1, wherein first device connectivity information describes direct network connections between the first device (Dreyer: Fig. 2, 208) and three or more other devices (Dreyer: Fig. 2, 216A-216N) of the local network. (Dreyer: Fig. 2; ¶0026 and 0038)
Motivation to combine references is similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang shows
A system for network documentation, the system comprising: (Fig. 1)
a first network device (Fig. 1, 130/134; i.e. resource) connected to a local network, (Fig. 1, 124) the first network device configured to receive SNMP commands and to provide SNMP responses; and (Column 3, lines 5-47)
an electronic device (Fig. 1, 100; Fig. 3, 306; Column 6, lines 25-46; i.e. DP and Analysis subsystem computer system of the NOVA) connected the local network and configured to operate a network documentation platform, wherein:
the network documentation platform (Fig. 3, 360/310; Column 6, lines 48-60; i.e. DP and Analysis computer system software of analysis processing thread and write to the resource repository) comprises a network documentation database (Fig. 3, 310; i.e. resource repository) documenting network devices connected to the local network, and the electronic device comprises: (Column 5, lines 8-22; Column 6, line 61 – Column 7, line 11)
a processor; and at least one memory encoded with instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to: (Column 6, lines 48-60)
receive a first network address (i.e. IP address of an IP address range) for the first network device; (Column 5, lines 23-41; Column 4, lines 13-24)
send a first simple network management protocol (SNMP) request (i.e. SNMP get request) to the first network address requesting first device identity information from the first device and also requesting first device connectivity information (i.e. source and destination interfaces) describing direct network connections between the first device and two or more other devices of the local network; (Column 8, lines 36-45)
receive a first SNMP response from the first network device in response to the first SNMP request, the first SNMP response including the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information; (Column 8, lines 36-41)
extract the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information for the first network device from the first SNMP response; and (Column 8, lines 36-41; i.e. The source and destination interfaces are extracted/decoded.)
cause the network documentation platform to modify the network documentation database to create first device documentation data (i.e. network topology including first device’s connections to other devices/discovered resource types) for the first device based on the first device identity information (Column 8, lines 49-57; i.e. vendor’s name/device type/system attributes) and the first device connectivity information. (Column 8, lines 39-45; Column 9, lines 11-24; Column 11, lines 7-18; Column 1, lines 58-60; i.e. The resource repository is update/modified with new and changed information.)
However, Zhang fails to show that the a single SNMP request requests the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information and that a single SNMP response includes the first device identity information and first device connectivity information.
Dreyer shows
send a first simple network management protocol (SNMP) request to the first network address (i.e., request for device information may take the form of a Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) command) requesting first device identity information (i.e. current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number) from the first device (network device 208 – fig. 2) and also requesting first device connectivity information (i.e. connectivity information) describing direct network connections between the first device and two or more other devices (i.e., network device 208 is connected to devices 216A-216N, to facilitate communication between devices 216A-216N) of the local network (i.e., the network management device 218 may then request device information from the network device 208 through an additional SNMP command, where the NMP command requests the device to return device information and data, such as the IP addresses associated with the network device (including the IP address of the device and all IP addresses of communication ports of the device), current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number, connectivity information, wherein the connectivity information describes the physical and logical connections between devices. Further, device 208 is connected to devices 216A-216N and any operating or identifying information of the network device 208 may be requested by the network management device 218 for inclusion in a network device inventory) (fig. 3; ¶ 0026 & 0037-0038);
receive a first SNMP response (i.e. response from network device 208) from the first network device in response to the first SNMP request, the first SNMP response including the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information (i.e., in response to SNMP command, the network device returns device information such as the IP addresses associated with the network device (including the IP address of the device and all IP addresses of communication ports of the device), current operating software versions, the type of device, a device name, a device model number, a device serial number, connectivity information, wherein the connectivity information describes the physical and logical connections between devices.) (fig. 3; ¶ 0026 & 0037-0038); and
extract the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information for the first device from the first SNMP response (i.e., received data is compared or “extracted” to determine if entries previously exist in network inventory 220) (fig. 3; ¶ 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Zhang to include a single SNMP request requests the first device identity information and the first device connectivity information and that a single SNMP response includes the first device identity information and first device connectivity information as taught by Dreyer for the benefit of faster and more intuitive access to network devices and their information.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Dreyer further shows
The system of claim 14, wherein the device documentation data (i.e. network topology including first device’s connections to other devices/discovered resource types) includes device connectivity information (i.e. topology) describing network connections between the first device and one or more other devices of the local network, and wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to cause the network documentation platform to update, for each of the one or more other devices of the local network, device information (i.e. port connections) stored in the network documentation database to include a connection to the first device. (Zhang: Column 2, lines 33-40; Column 6, lines 25-47; Column 9, lines 11-24)
Regarding claim 16, this system claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 3 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 17, this system claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 4 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Dreyer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hagiwara et al. “Hagiwara” (US 2014/0223315 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang and Dreyer fail to disclose receiving, by the electronic device, physical location information describing a physical location of the first device; and modifying, by the network documentation platform, the first device documentation data to include the physical location information.
Hagiwara shows
receiving, by the electronic device, (Fig. 1, 101; i.e. device management apparatus) physical location (i.e. device location) information describing a physical location (i.e. physical address/geographic address) of the first device; and
modifying, by the network documentation platform, the first device documentation data (i.e. collected information in storage) to include the physical location information. ([0069]; [0061])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Dreyer to incorporate the teachings of Hagiwara wherein receiving, by the electronic device, physical location information describing a physical location of the first device; and modifying, by the network documentation platform, the first device documentation data to include the physical location information.
Regarding claim 18, this system claim comprises limitations substantially the same as those detailed in claim 5 above and is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Dreyer as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Bearden et al. “Bearden” (US 20030097438 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Dreyer fail to disclose determining, by the first device, to send the first SNMP response by comparing the first access credential with a first SNMP credential stored by the device.
Bearden shows
determining, by the first device, to send the first SNMP response by comparing the first access credential with a first SNMP credential stored by the device. (Bearden: [0118]; i.e. The devices would inherently have the community string stored in order to be configured to only respond to requests with the community string.)
Motivation to combine references is similar to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Dreyer in view of Bearden further shows The method of claim 10, and further comprising creating, by the electronic device, a visualization of the local network based on the network documentation database. (Bearden: Fig. 16; [0229]; [0116]; i.e. The topology is generated based on the discovery results stored in a database.)
Motivation to combine references is similar to claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Dreyer in view of Bearden further shows The method of claim 11, wherein automatically modifying the network documentation database to create the first device documentation data comprises modifying a network map (i.e. topology) to include the first device and the direct network connections between the first device and two or more other devices of the local network based on the first device connectivity information. (Zhang: Column 2, lines 33-40; Column 6, lines 25-47; Column 9, lines 11-24)
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Dreyer fail to disclose the network documentation platform to create a visualization of the local network based on the network documentation database after modifying the network documentation database to create the first device documentation data.
Bearden shows
cause the processor to cause the network documentation platform to create a visualization of the local network based on the network documentation database after modifying the network documentation database to create the first device documentation data. (Bearden: Fig. 16; [0229]; [0116]; i.e. The topology is generated based on the discovery results stored/modified in a database.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Dreyer to incorporate the teachings of Bearden to cause the processor to cause the network documentation platform to create a visualization of the local network based on the network documentation database after modifying the network documentation database to create the first device documentation data. Doing so provides a user friendly visualization of the network for reviewing.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Dreyer in view of Bearden shows The system of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to receive the first network address by inspecting the local network to discover the first network address. (Zhang: Column 4, lines 1-24; i.e. During a quick discovery process the network resource addresses are discovered.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to reasonably disclose, suggest or teach querying, by the electronic device, a management information base with at least one of the device manufacturer and the device model to retrieve at least one of the hardware configuration and the software configuration of the first device and providing to the network documentation platform, the at least one of the hardware configuration and the software configuration and modifying by the network documentation database to create the first device documentation data based on the at least one of the hardware configuration and the software configuration in combination with other elements recited in the claims.
As the closest prior art, Zhang shows automated network documentation in which source and destination interfaces of a first device are extracted or decoded and provided to an analysis processing thread to analyze and build a network configuration matrix or topology that is stored in a resource repository or network documentation database along with discovered resource types. A network document database is updated or modified with new and changed information. (Column 8, lines 39-45; Column 9, lines 11-24; Column 1, lines 58-60) However, Zhang fails to show the above identified allowable subject matter. Therefore, the features listed in combination with the other claimed features are patentable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents and publications show the general state of the art related to SNMP requests and responses.
US 2022/0329473 A1 to Faircloth et al.
US 2013/0198357 A1 to Wang
USPN 8,565,119 B2 to August et al.
USPN 10,616,066 B2 to Hale
CHRIS PARRY
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/Chris Parry/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2451