DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 8/26/2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15, and 16 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0323908)
Referring to Claim 1, Manolakos et al. disclose a wireless communication method (pars 145-148, UE, gNB), comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a network entity of a core network (pars 145-147, control message to UE), a configuration comprising an indication of a plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, time windows), a window start time (pars 145-147 and 149, start), and an identifier of a positioning reference signal (PRS) resource set (pars 145-147, PRS resource identifiers), wherein the configuration configures the wireless communication device to measure a PRS instance or a downlink (DL) PRS within the plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, PRS measurements, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Manolakos et al. disclose the
wireless communication method, wherein the configuration comprises an indication of the PRS instance or the DL-PRS (pars 145-147, PRS identifiers; pars 146 and 154, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 1 above, Manolakos et al. disclose the
wireless communication method, wherein the configuration comprises: a transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier (par 117, TRP ID; Also, par 146, TRPs).
Referring to Claim 5, Manolakos et al. disclose a wireless communication device (pars 145-148, UE), comprising: at least one processor configured to: receive, via a receiver from a network entity of a core network (pars 145-147, control message to UE), a configuration comprising an indication of a plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, time windows), a window start time (pars 145-147 and 149, start), and an identifier of a positioning reference signal (PRS) resource set (pars 145-147, PRS resource identifiers), wherein the configuration configures the wireless communication device to measure a PRS instance or a downlink (DL) PRS within the plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, PRS measurements, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 5 above, Manolakos et al. disclose the
wireless communication device, wherein the configuration comprises an indication of the PRS instance or the DL-PRS (pars 145-147, PRS identifiers; pars 146 and 154, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 5 above, Manolakos et al. disclose the
wireless communication device, wherein the configuration further comprises: a transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier (par 117, TRP ID; Also, par 146, TRPs).
Referring to Claim 9, Manolakos et al. disclose a wireless communication
method, comprising: providing, by a network entity of a core network to a wireless communication device (pars 145-147, control message to UE), a configuration comprising an indication of a plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, time windows), a window start time (pars 145-147 and 149, start), and an identifier of a positioning reference signal (PRS) resource set (pars 145-147, PRS resource identifiers), wherein the configuration configures the wireless communication device to measure a PRS S) instance or a downlink (DL) PRS within the plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, PRS measurements, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 9 above, Manolakos et al. disclose the
wireless communication method, wherein the configuration comprises an indication of the PRS instance or the DL-PRS (pars 145-147, PRS identifiers; pars 146 and 154, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 12 as applied to Claim 9 above, Manolakos et al. disclose the
wireless communication method, wherein the configuration further comprises: a transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier (par 117, TRP ID; Also, par 146, TRPs).
Referring to Claim 13, Manolakos et al. disclose a network entity of a core network, comprising: at least one processor configured to: provide, to a wireless communication device (pars 145-147, control message to UE), a configuration comprising an indication of a plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, time windows), a window start time (pars 145-147 and 149, start), and an identifier of a positioning reference signal (PRS) resource set (pars 145-147, PRS resource identifiers), wherein the configuration configures the wireless communication device to measure a PRS instance or a downlink (DL) PRS within the plurality of time windows (pars 145-147, PRS measurements, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 13 above, Manolakos et al. disclose
the network entity, wherein the configuration comprises an indication of the PRS instance or the DL-PRS (pars 145-147, PRS identifiers; pars 146 and 154, DL-PRS).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 13 above, Manolakos et al. disclose
the network entity, wherein the configuration further comprises: a transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier (par 117, TRP ID; Also, par 146, TRPs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but are
not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 that Manolakos et al. do not disclose measuring PRS instance or DL-ORS within more than one time window. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In pars 145-147 Manolakos et al. state “measuring…PRS resources,..DL-PRS…within one or more…Measurement Time-Windows” (at least in par 146, etc.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642