DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: EXTERNALLY EXCITED SYNCHRONOUS MACHINE WITH A CAPACITIVE TRANSMISSION ARRANGEMENT INCLUDING A FIXED TRANSMISSION DEVICE AND ROTOR TRANSMISSION DEVICE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8 “the control device 9 is designed to transmit current information for providing an excitation current to the control unit 16 via the capacitive transmission arrangement 11” is unclear.
From fig. 1 the control device 9 is shown to transmit to the winding 4 through the inductive transmission system 7 in order to provide excitation current to the winding 4, as indicated by arrow 10; and the control unit 16 is shown to transmit information from the sensors 13-15 to the control device 9 as indicated by arrow 17, but it does not show the control device 9 transmitting to the control unit 16. Additionally it is unclear why the control device 9 would transmit to the sensors 13-15 to provide excitation current to the windings 4 when the sensors are not connected to the winding 4. In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitation as the control unit is designed to transmit current information to the control unit via the capacitive transmission arrangement in order for the control device to provide an excitation current.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Topalov et al. *US20240331936, “Topalov”).
Re claim 12, Topalov discloses a method for operating an externally excited synchronous machine having:
a stator and rotor rotatable relative to the stator (fig 1, [0033] & [0046], 29 & 38 represent synchronous machine rotor winding), wherein the rotor has an exciter winding for providing a rotor field during operation of the synchronous machine (fig 1, [0033] & [0046], 29 & 38 represent rotor winding), wherein the synchronous machine has an inductive transmission system for wirelessly transmitting electrical power to the exciter winding for operating the exciter winding (figs 1 & 3-4, [0046], includes 20, 21, 22 & 26); a capacitive transmission arrangement 4 with a fixed first transmission device or means 2 (figs 2-4, [0047], 2 includes 5.1, 6.1,30a-b, 40 & 42); and a second transmission device or means 3 opposite the first transmission device or means 2 and arranged on an end face of the rotor (figs 2-4, [0047], [0051] & [0056], 3 includes 5.2, 6.2, 30a-b, 41 & 43; rotor includes rotor field, shaft 9, & pcb 7; where 5.2 & 6.2 are provided on end face of 7 or end face of rotor), the method comprising:
transmitting data between a rotor-external control device 40 of the externally excited synchronous machine (fig 2, [0047]) and a rotor-side control unit 41 via the capacitive transmission arrangement 4 (figs 2-3, [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siepker et al (CN116231914, “Siepker”, using machine translation) in view of Topalov.
Re claim 1, Siepker discloses an externally excited synchronous machine 1, having a stator 9 and a rotor 2 rotatable relative to the stator (fig 1, [0011] & [0025]), wherein the rotor has an exciter winding 7,8 for providing a rotor field during operation of the synchronous machine (fig 1, [0025]), wherein the synchronous machine has an inductive transmission system for wirelessly transmitting electrical power to the exciter winding for operating the exciter winding (fig 1, [0029] & [0035-0037]).
Siepker discloses claim 1 except for a capacitive transmission arrangement with a fixed first transmission device; and a second transmission device opposite the first transmission device and arranged on an end face of the rotor for data transmission between a rotor-external control device of the externally excited synchronous machine and a rotor-side control unit.
Topalov discloses a capacitive transmission arrangement 4 with a fixed first transmission device 2; and a second transmission device 3 opposite the first transmission device 2 and arranged on the rotor for data transmission between a rotor-external control device 40 of the externally excited synchronous machine and a rotor-side control unit 41 (figs 2-3, [0047]); and
positioning the capacitive transmission arrangement 4 radially within the inductive transmission system 20, 21 (figs 1 & 3, [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
configure the synchronous machine of Siepker to comprise a capacitive transmission arrangement with a fixed first transmission device; and a second transmission device opposite the first transmission device and arranged on the rotor for data transmission between a rotor-external control device of the externally excited synchronous machine and a rotor-side control unit, as disclosed by Topalov, in order to provide signal or data transmission between the rotor and stator of the synchronous motor without interference of the capacitive signal by inductive power transmission, as taught by Topalov ([0005] & [0008]); and
configure the capacitive transmission arrangement of Siepker in view of Topalov so the capacitive transmission arrangement is positioned radially within the inductive transmission system, as disclosed by Topalov, in order to position the capacitive transmission arrangement in a known mater, as demonstrated by Topalov, as well as reduce size of the synchronous machine by positioning the capacitive transmission arrangement at the same axial position as the inductive transmission system since there is the capacitive transmission will not be interfered with by the inductive transmission, as taught by Topalov ([0008]).
It is pointed out that Siepker in view of Topalov discloses the second transmission device is arranged on an end face of the rotor since: Siepker discloses the rotational portion 23 of the inductive transmission system is located on the end face of the rotor (fig 1); and Topalov discloses positioning the capacitive transmission arrangement 4 radially within the inductive transmission system 20, 21 (fig 3).
Re claim 11, Siepker in view of Topalov discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses a motor vehicle, comprising: an externally excited synchronous machine according to claim 1 (Siepker, fig 4, [0044]).
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siepker in view of Topalov and in further view of Ludois et al. (US20130043762, “Ludois”).
Re claim 2, Siepker in view of Topalov disclose claim 1 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the capacitive transmission arrangement is designed as a rotor position sensor configured to determine an angular position of the rotor.
Ludois discloses the capacitive transmission arrangement 26, 28 is designed as a rotor position sensor configured to determine an angular position of the rotor (figs 1 & 8, [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the capacitive transmission arrangement of Siepker in view of Topalov to be designed as a rotor position sensor configured to determine an angular position of the rotor, as disclosed by Ludois, in order to provide better control of the machine, as demonstrated by Ludois.
Re claim 3, Siepker in view of Topalov and Ludois disclose claim 2 as discussed above but are silent with respect to one of the transmission devices comprises a local, non-circumferential capacitive transmitter element and the other transmission device on the end face of the rotor comprises an annularly circumferential capacitive transmitter element whose capacitive properties vary along a circumferential direction, wherein the control device and/or the control unit are/is designed to determine the angular position using property information describing the variation.
Ludois further discloses one of the transmission devices comprises a local, non-circumferential capacitive transmitter element 28 (figs 1 & 8) and the other transmission device on the end face of the rotor comprises an annularly circumferential capacitive transmitter element 26 whose capacitive properties vary along a circumferential direction (fig 8, [0074], varied by 88), wherein the controller 30 is designed to determine the angular position using property information describing the variation (figs 1 & 8, [0061] & [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second transmission devices of Siepker in view of Topalov and Ludois so one of the transmission devices comprises a local, non-circumferential capacitive transmitter element and the other transmission device on the end face of the rotor comprises an annularly circumferential capacitive transmitter element whose capacitive properties vary along a circumferential direction, wherein the control device and/or the control unit are/is designed to determine the angular position using property information describing the variation, as disclosed by Ludois, in order to provide better control of the machine, as demonstrated by Ludois.
Re claim 4, Siepker in view of Topalov and Ludois disclose claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses the variation relates to a geometric extension and/or shape of the capacitive transmitter element 28 (Ludois, fig 8, [0074]).
Re claim 5, Siepker in view of Topalov and Ludois disclose claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses the variation relates to a material and/or a coating of the transmitter element 28 (Ludois, fig 8, [0074]).
Re claim 6, Siepker in view of Topalov and Ludois disclose claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses at least one of the capacitive transmitter elements 28 is designed as an electrically conductive plate (Ludois, figs 1 & 8, [0060]).
Re claim 7, Siepker in view of Topalov and Ludois disclose claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses at least one of the capacitive transmitter elements is designed as a metallic plate (Topalov, [0019] & [0056], discloses transmitter elements made of metal).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siepker in view of Topalov and in further view of Hyde et al. (US20110285256, “Hyde”).
Re claim 8, Siepker in view of Topalov disclose claim 1 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the control device is designed to transmit current information for providing an excitation current to the control unit via the capacitive transmission arrangement.
Hyde discloses providing a current sensor 120 on the rotor to provide an excitation current for the rotor winding 130 (fig 1, [0017-0018] & [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a current sensor on the rotor of Siepker in view of Topalov, as disclosed by Hyde, in order to control the current of exciter winding of the rotor, as taught by Hyde ([0022]).
It is pointed out that Siepker in view of Topalov and Hyde disclose the control device is designed to transmit current information for providing an excitation current to the control unit via the capacitive transmission arrangement (as best understood by examiner the control unit is designed to transmit current information to the control device via the capacitive transmission arrangement in order for the control device to provide an excitation current) since: Topalov discloses the control unit 41 is designed to transmit information to the control device 40 via the capacitive transmission arrangement 4 (fig 2, [0047]); and Hyde discloses the current sensor transmits current information to a controller in order for the controller to provide an excitation current (fig 1, [0022]).
Re claim 9, Siepker in view of Topalov disclose claim 1 as discussed above and further disclose the control unit 41 is designed to transmit data to the control device 40 via the capacitive transmission arrangement 4 (fig 2, [0047]).
Siepker in view of Topalov are silent with respect to the rotor has at least one rotor sensor, wherein the control unit is designed to transmit sensor data of the at least one rotor sensor to the control device via the capacitive transmission arrangement.
Hyde discloses the rotor 110 has at least one rotor sensor 120 (fig 1, [0017-0018] & [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the rotor of Siepker in view of Topalov to have at least one rotor sensor, as disclosed by Hyde, in order to control the current of exciter winding of the rotor, as taught by Hyde ([0022]).
It is pointed out that Siepker in view of Topalov and Hyde disclose the control unit is designed to transmit sensor data of the at least one rotor sensor to the control device via the capacitive transmission arrangement since: Topalov discloses the control unit 41 transmits date to the control device 40 via the capacitive transmission arrangement; and Hyde discloses the at least one sensor 120 transmits sensor data to a control (fig 1, [0022]).
Re claim 10, Siepker in view of Topalov and Hyde disclose claim 9 as discussed above and further disclose the at least one of the at least one rotor sensor is selected from the group comprising a rotor temperature sensor, a rotor current sensor and a rotor voltage sensor (Hyde, [0018]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topalov and in view of Ludois.
Re claim 13, Topalov discloses claim 12 as discussed above but is silent with respect to determining an angular position of the rotor by the capacitive transmission arrangement.
Ludois discloses determining an angular position of the rotor by the capacitive transmission arrangement 26, 28 (figs 1 & 8, [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the capacitive transmission arrangement of Topalov to determine an angular position of the rotor by the capacitive transmission arrangement, as disclosed by Ludois, in order to provide better control of the machine, as demonstrated by Ludois.
Conclusion
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834