DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.JP2023-190797, filed on 11/08/2023.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/06/2026, has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action, dated on 01/07/2026. Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are pending in the current application. Claim has been cancelled. Claim 21 is newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/06/2026 have been fully considered.
In the Arguments/Remarks:
Re: Objection of the Specification
The objection of the specification has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments to the abstract.
Re: Rejection of the Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103
For the sake of brevity, examiner will address the arguments in regards to independent claim 1, and will also apply to independent claim 19 and 20 and their corresponding dependent claims.
Applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues, beginning on page 10 of applicant’s remarks, that the cited references do not disclose the newly amended limitations “having a strip shape that extends continuously in an extending direction of circling around the outer periphery of the arm” and “allow: an operation at any of a plurality of locations along the strip shape in the extending direction”. Examiner submits that Sato (US 2021/0221009 A1) illustrates in Fig.1 a manipulated portion 130 which is a button that is to be manipulated by a user/operator [(Sato para 26)]. Fig.1 also depicts multiple manipulated portions 130s arranged continuously around the manipulation unit 100 in a ring/strip shape. Examiner further submits that in Figs.2-3, Sato further illustrates this design from different angles illustrating the manipulated portions 130 extended continuously around the manipulation unit 100. Examiner submits that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the amended claim language that Sato discloses/suggests the argued and newly amended claim limitations. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US 2021/0221009 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a robot system comprising: a robot; and a robot controller configured to control the robot, wherein the robot includes: an arm [(see at least Figs.10-12, paragraph 76) “A configuration of a robot system 1 will be described by referring to FIG. 10. FIG. 10 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the robot system 1. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the robot system 1 includes the robot 20, a robot controller 30, the manipulation unit 100, and the tool 200.”]; and a first operation inputter disposed around an outer periphery of the arm and having a strip shape that extends continuously in an extending direction of circling around the outer periphery of the arm, wherein the first operation inputter is configured to allow: an operation at any of a plurality of locations along the strip shape in the extending direction, and the robot controller to cause the robot to be in a movable state based on the operation when an operator performs the operation. [(see at least Figs.1-3, paragraphs 25,32-37,57) As in 25 “the manipulation unit 100 has a cylindrical outer shape. The manipulation unit 100, however, may have any other outer shape insofar as the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is flush with the circumferential outer surface of the attachment target. Also in this embodiment, the size of the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is such that the manipulation unit 100 can be held in the palm of a hand of a user.” As in 37 “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the second through holes 112 include second through holes 112a and a second through hole 112b. The second through holes 112a are through holes in which the respective manipulated portions 130 illustrated in FIG. 1 are located. The second through hole 112b is a through hole in which no manipulated portion 130 is located. In this respect, the second through holes 112a, each accommodating a manipulated portion 130, include a first “group” of second through holes 112a aligned with each other and a second “group” of second through holes 112a aligned with each other.” As in 57 “The enabling button 130b has a shape similar to the shape of the teaching button 130a. The user keeps pressing the enabling button 130b for a period of time that the user wants to perform a lead-through operation. A lead-through operation is to change the posture of the robot 20 using the manipulation force with which the user manipulates the robot 20. It will be understood by those skilled in the art that a letter(s), an illustration(s), a sign(s), and/or a symbol(s) may be put on the protruding portion 131 (by printing or other means) to indicate what type of button the enabling button 130b is.”]
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches wherein the first operation inputter is configured to allow the operation at the plurality of locations to cause the robot controller to implement an identical function for each of the plurality of locations. [(see at least paragraphs 32-38) As in 38 “Thus, a plurality of groups of second through holes 112a are provided. This enables the manipulation unit 100 (see FIG. 1) to be manipulated from different directions. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 3, two groups each made up of three second through holes 112a are provided in the body 110. The number of second through holes 112a constituting each group will not be limited to three, and the number of groups will not be limited to two.”]
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches wherein the robot includes a sensor, and the robot controller includes: a first controller that determines presence or absence of an external force applied to the robot based on a physical quantity detected by the sensor; and a second controller that causes the robot to move based on the external force when the first controller determines that the external force is present after the first operation inputter is operated. [(see at least paragraphs 51,83) As in 51 “the protruding portion 131 and the planar portion 132 are mainly made of elastic resin that makes the protruding portion 131 and the planar portion 132 deformable by pressing the protruding portion 131, providing the user a sense of pressing action. The substrate portion 133 includes therein a sensor and a substrate. The sensor detects a manipulation performed on the protruding portion 131. The substrate is connected with a light emitting device, such as light emitting diode (LED), that emits light upon detection of the manipulation. The connectors 134 are electrically connected to the substrate included in the substrate portion 133.” As in 83 “The controller 31 performs motion control of the robot 20 and the tool 200. The controller 31 is adapted to direct teaching performed by the user based on a result of manipulating the manipulation unit 100. Direct teaching is to, while changing the posture of the robot 20, manually and directly teach the robot 20 which motion path to take and teach the tool 200 how to move. In the direct teaching, the controller 31 also controls a lead-through operation, which is to change the posture of the robot 20 using the manipulation force with which the user manipulates the robot 20”]
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches wherein the arm includes: a plurality of links; and at least one joint portion that rotatably couples adjacent links of the plurality of links, the first operation inputter is disposed on an outer periphery of a link of the plurality of links, and the joint portion causes the link to rotate around a rotation axis along a longitudinal direction of the link. [(see at least Figs.9-11, paragraphs 90-94) As in 92 “The third arm 23, at is base end, is supported by the leading end of the second arm 22 and is rotatable about the third axis A3, which is perpendicular to the second axis A2. The wrist 24 includes a base end 24a and a leading end 24b. The base end 24a, at is base end, is supported by the leading end of the third arm 23 and is turnable about the fourth axis A4, which is perpendicular to the third axis A3.” As in 93 “The leading end 24b, at is base end, is supported by the leading end of the base end 24a and is rotatable about the fifth axis A5, which is orthogonal to the fourth axis A4. To the leading end of the leading end 24b, the manipulation unit 100 is attached. To the leading end of the manipulation unit 100, the tool 200 is attached.”]
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches wherein the first operation inputter is disposed over one half or more of an outer circumference of the link in the circling direction on the outer periphery of the link. [(see at least Figs.2-3, paragraph 33) “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the body 110 has a cylindrical shape having a first through hole 111. The first through hole 111 extends between the first end surface and the second end surface. The body 110 also includes an inward protruding flange 113 on the inner circumferential surface of the body 110. The flange 113 is used to attach the manipulation unit 100 (see FIG. 1) to the attachment target.”]
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches wherein the robot includes a groove portion that accommodates the first operation inputter in the outer periphery of the link. [(see at least Figs.2-3, paragraph 33) “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the body 110 has a cylindrical shape having a first through hole 111. The first through hole 111 extends between the first end surface and the second end surface. The body 110 also includes an inward protruding flange 113 on the inner circumferential surface of the body 110. The flange 113 is used to attach the manipulation unit 100 (see FIG. 1) to the attachment target.”]
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches wherein the arm includes: a plurality of links; and at least one joint portion that rotatably couples adjacent links of the plurality of links, the robot includes at least one second operation inputter disposed on a link of the plurality of links, the link is identical to or adjacent to a link of the plurality of links on which the first operation inputter is disposed, and the robot controller includes a third controller that assigns a function designated by the operator to the at least one second operation inputter. [(see at least Figs.9-11, paragraphs 88-100) As in 90 “As illustrated in FIG. 11, the robot 20 6 is a “vertical multi-articular robot” having six axes, namely, vertical axis A0, second axis A2, third axis A3, fourth axis A4, and fifth axis A5. The robot 20 includes (in increasing order of distance from the base end) a base 20B, a turnable portion 20S, a first arm 21, a second arm 22, a third arm 23, and a wrist 24.” As in 91 “The base 20B is fixed to a ground plane 500, such as a floor. The turnable portion 20S is supported by the base 20B and is turnable about the vertical axis A0, which is perpendicular to the ground plane 500. The first arm 21, at is base end, is supported by the turnable portion 20S and is turnable about the first axis A1, which is perpendicular to the vertical axis A0. The second arm 22, at is base end, is supported by the leading end of the first arm 21 and is turnable about the second axis A2, which is parallel to the first axis A1.” As in 96 “A case where the teaching button 130a is manipulated will be described first. As illustrated in FIG. 12, the obtainer 31a of the robot controller 30 determines whether the teaching button 130a of the manipulation unit 100 has been pressed (step S101). When the obtainer 31a has determined that the teaching button 130a has been pressed (Yes at step S101), the teacher 31b obtains from the motion controller 31c the posture of the robot 20 at the point of time when the teaching button 130a was pressed, and registers teaching position to the teaching data 32a based on the posture of the robot 20 (step S102). Then, the entire processing ends.”]
Regarding claim 9, Sato teaches wherein the robot includes an end effector at a distal end portion of the arm, and the third controller assigns a function of operating the end effector to the at least one second operation inputter. [(see at least paragraph 54-60) As in 59 “The tool button 130c has a shape similar to the shape of the teaching button 130a. It is noted, however, that the tool button 130c is alternately switched ON and OFF every time the tool button 130c is pressed. It will be understood by those skilled in the art that a letter(s), an illustration(s), a sign(s), and/or a symbol(s) may be put on the protruding portion 131 (by printing or other means) to indicate what type of button this button is. When the tool 200 is a suction tool, as illustrated in FIG. 1, switching the tool button 130c ON causes the tool 200 to perform suction operation, and switching the tool button 130c OFF causes the tool 200 to stop the suction operation.”]
Regarding claim 10, Sato teaches wherein the third controller assigns, to the at least one second operation inputter, a function of registering, as a teaching point, a position of a distal end portion of the arm at a time when the second operation inputter is operated during execution of teaching work for storing operation of the robot. [(see at least paragraphs 54-60) As in 56 “The teaching button 130a is pressed when the user performs direct teaching to the robot 20 (see FIG. 1). Direct teaching is to, while changing the posture of the robot 20, manually and directly teach the robot 20 which motion path to take and teach the tool 200 (see FIG. 1) how to move. The user presses the teaching button 130a when the tool 200 is at the position that the user wants to teach to the tool 200. Upon pressing of the teaching button 130a, the light-transmittable portion 132a emits light momentarily to notify the user that the teaching button 130a has certainly been pressed.”]
Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches wherein the second controller causes the robot to move based on the external force for a time during which the first operation inputter is operated. [(see at least paragraph 83) “Direct teaching is to, while changing the posture of the robot 20, manually and directly teach the robot 20 which motion path to take and teach the tool 200 how to move. In the direct teaching, the controller 31 also controls a lead-through operation, which is to change the posture of the robot 20 using the manipulation force with which the user manipulates the robot 20.”]
Regarding claim 15, Sato teaches wherein the robot includes a fixing member that covers a part of the first operation inputter in the extending direction and fixes the first operation inputter to the outer periphery of the arm. [(see at least Figs.1-3, paragraph 24-27) As in 25 “In this embodiment, the manipulation unit 100 has a cylindrical outer shape. The manipulation unit 100, however, may have any other outer shape insofar as the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is flush with the circumferential outer surface of the attachment target. Also in this embodiment, the size of the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is such that the manipulation unit 100 can be held in the palm of a hand of a user.”]
Regarding claim 16, Sato teaches wherein the first operation inputter includes a signal wire led from the outer periphery of the arm to an inside of the arm via an opening in the arm, and the fixing member is disposed to cover the signal wire. [(see at least Fig.8, paragraphs 46,68) As in 46 “The tool holder 120 also has an opening 124. The opening 124 is connected to the first through hole 111 of the body 110. The edge of the opening 124 is chamfered to protect cables and/or wires extending to the tool 200. In terms of position and size, the opening 124 may correspond to the hole provided on the flange located at the leading end of the robot 20.” As in 68 “As illustrated in FIG. 8, the manipulated portions 130 are connected in series to each other through manipulated-portion cables 140. Specifically, the manipulated portions 130 are connected in series to each other through five manipulated-portion cables 140. Each manipulated-portion cable 140 has connectors at both ends of the manipulated-portion cable 140, and one of the connectors is connected to one of the connectors 134 illustrated in FIG. 6. Each manipulated portion 130 obtains, through either connector 134, a signal that has been transmitted through a wire, among wires included in the manipulated-portion cables 140, that is relevant to the manipulated portion 130.”]
Regarding claim 17, Sato teaches wherein the robot includes: an end effector provided at a distal end portion of the arm; and a connector to which a cable is connected between the first operation inputter and the distal end portion of the arm, and the cable has one end connected to the connector and the other end connected to the end effector. [(see at least Fig.8, paragraphs 68-75) As in 68 “As illustrated in FIG. 8, the manipulated portions 130 are connected in series to each other through manipulated-portion cables 140. Specifically, the manipulated portions 130 are connected in series to each other through five manipulated-portion cables 140. Each manipulated-portion cable 140 has connectors at both ends of the manipulated-portion cable 140, and one of the connectors is connected to one of the connectors 134 illustrated in FIG. 6. Each manipulated portion 130 obtains, through either connector 134, a signal that has been transmitted through a wire, among wires included in the manipulated-portion cables 140, that is relevant to the manipulated portion 130.” As in 75 “The relay connector 150 may be fixed to, for example, the inner wall of the first through hole 111 of the body 110 of the manipulation unit 100. Thus, the manipulation unit 100 includes therein the relay connector 150. This facilitates the work of connecting the robot 20 and the tool 200 to each other, with the manipulation unit 100 attached to the robot 20 and with the tool 200 attached to the tool holder 120 of the manipulation unit 100.”]
Regarding claim 19, Sato teaches a robot to be controlled by a robot controller, comprising: an arm [(see at least Figs.10-12, paragraph 76) “A configuration of a robot system 1 will be described by referring to FIG. 10. FIG. 10 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the robot system 1. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the robot system 1 includes the robot 20, a robot controller 30, the manipulation unit 100, and the tool 200.”]; and a first operation inputter disposed around an outer periphery of the arm and having a strip shape that extends continuously in an extending direction of circling around the outer periphery of the arm, wherein the first operation inputter is configured to allow: an operation at any of a plurality of locations along the strip shape in the extending direction, and the robot controller to cause the robot to be in a movable state based on the operation when an operator performs the operation. [(see at least Figs.1-3, paragraphs 25,32-37,57) As in 25 “the manipulation unit 100 has a cylindrical outer shape. The manipulation unit 100, however, may have any other outer shape insofar as the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is flush with the circumferential outer surface of the attachment target. Also in this embodiment, the size of the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is such that the manipulation unit 100 can be held in the palm of a hand of a user.” As in 37 “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the second through holes 112 include second through holes 112a and a second through hole 112b. The second through holes 112a are through holes in which the respective manipulated portions 130 illustrated in FIG. 1 are located. The second through hole 112b is a through hole in which no manipulated portion 130 is located. In this respect, the second through holes 112a, each accommodating a manipulated portion 130, include a first “group” of second through holes 112a aligned with each other and a second “group” of second through holes 112a aligned with each other.” As in 57 “The enabling button 130b has a shape similar to the shape of the teaching button 130a. The user keeps pressing the enabling button 130b for a period of time that the user wants to perform a lead-through operation. A lead-through operation is to change the posture of the robot 20 using the manipulation force with which the user manipulates the robot 20. It will be understood by those skilled in the art that a letter(s), an illustration(s), a sign(s), and/or a symbol(s) may be put on the protruding portion 131 (by printing or other means) to indicate what type of button the enabling button 130b is.”]
Regarding claim 20, Sato teaches a method of controlling a robot, comprising: when an operator performs an operation on a first operation inputter, causing the robot to be in a movable state based on the operation, wherein the first operation inputter is disposed around an outer periphery of an arm and has a strip shape that extends continuously in an extending direction of circling around the outer periphery of the arm; and allowing with the first operation inputter, the operation at any of a plurality of locations along the strip shape in the extending direction. [(see at least Figs.1-3, paragraphs 25,32-37,57) As in 25 “the manipulation unit 100 has a cylindrical outer shape. The manipulation unit 100, however, may have any other outer shape insofar as the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is flush with the circumferential outer surface of the attachment target. Also in this embodiment, the size of the circumferential outer surface of the manipulation unit 100 is such that the manipulation unit 100 can be held in the palm of a hand of a user.” As in 37 “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the second through holes 112 include second through holes 112a and a second through hole 112b. The second through holes 112a are through holes in which the respective manipulated portions 130 illustrated in FIG. 1 are located. The second through hole 112b is a through hole in which no manipulated portion 130 is located. In this respect, the second through holes 112a, each accommodating a manipulated portion 130, include a first “group” of second through holes 112a aligned with each other and a second “group” of second through holes 112a aligned with each other.” As in 57 “The enabling button 130b has a shape similar to the shape of the teaching button 130a. The user keeps pressing the enabling button 130b for a period of time that the user wants to perform a lead-through operation. A lead-through operation is to change the posture of the robot 20 using the manipulation force with which the user manipulates the robot 20. It will be understood by those skilled in the art that a letter(s), an illustration(s), a sign(s), and/or a symbol(s) may be put on the protruding portion 131 (by printing or other means) to indicate what type of button the enabling button 130b is.”]
Regarding claim 21, Sato teaches wherein contacts inside the first operation inputter are closed such that two signal wires of the first operation inputter are electrically connected to each other when an operator presses the first operation inputter at any of the plurality of locations in the extending direction. [(see at least paragraphs 40-46,68) As in 68 “Each manipulated-portion cable 140 has connectors at both ends of the manipulated-portion cable 140, and one of the connectors is connected to one of the connectors 134 illustrated in FIG. 6. Each manipulated portion 130 obtains, through either connector 134, a signal that has been transmitted through a wire, among wires included in the manipulated-portion cables 140, that is relevant to the manipulated portion 130.”]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Hirabayashi (US 2018/0354133 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sato teaches wherein the arm includes: a plurality of links; and at least one joint portion that rotatably couples adjacent links of the plurality of links, the robot includes a third operation inputter on a link of the plurality of links, the link is identical to or adjacent to a link of the plurality of links on which the first operation inputter is disposed [(see at least Figs.9-11, paragraph 90) “As illustrated in FIG. 11, the robot 20 6 is a “vertical multi-articular robot” having six axes, namely, vertical axis A0, second axis A2, third axis A3, fourth axis A4, and fifth axis A5. The robot 20 includes (in increasing order of distance from the base end) a base 20B, a turnable portion 20S, a first arm 21, a second arm 22, a third arm 23, and a wrist 24.” As in 91 “The base 20B is fixed to a ground plane 500, such as a floor. The turnable portion 20S is supported by the base 20B and is turnable about the vertical axis A0, which is perpendicular to the ground plane 500. The first arm 21, at is base end, is supported by the turnable portion 20S and is turnable about the first axis A1, which is perpendicular to the vertical axis A0. The second arm 22, at is base end, is supported by the leading end of the first arm 21 and is turnable about the second axis A2, which is parallel to the first axis A1.”]
Sato does not explicitly teach the robot controller includes a fourth controller that cancels an emergency stop when the third operation inputter is operated after the emergency stop is executed when an external force due to collision acts on the robot.
However, Hirabayashi teaches the robot controller includes a fourth controller that cancels an emergency stop when the third operation inputter is operated after the emergency stop is executed when an external force due to collision acts on the robot. [(see at least paragraph 115) As in “Specifically, the control unit 53 temporarily stops the operation of the robot 1, in response to the following stop commands: (1) where an error (for example, a collision) occurs during the operation of the robot 1; (2) where the tool center point P reaches the taught point P4, which is the target position; (3) where an interrupt signal from an external device (a signal indicating that a safety door, not illustrated, around the robot 1 is opened) is detected; (4) where the operator presses an emergency stop button on the input device 62; and (5) where the operator cancels a press on the teach pendant or the enable switch, or the like.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sato to incorporate the teachings of Hirabayashi of the robot controller includes a fourth controller that cancels an emergency stop when the third operation inputter is operated after the emergency stop is executed when an external force due to collision acts on the robot in order for various kinds of work (for example, teaching) can be resumed from the taught point. [(Hirabayashi 11)]
Regarding claim 12, In view of the above combination of references, Sato further teaches wherein the robot includes a sensor, and the robot controller includes: a first controller that determines presence or absence of an external force applied to the robot based on a physical quantity detected by the sensor; and a second controller that causes the robot to move based on the external force when the first controller determines that the external force is present after the first operation inputter is operated at a time when teaching work for storing operation of the robot is executed and/or when the emergency stop is executed. [(see at least paragraphs 51,83) As in 51 “the protruding portion 131 and the planar portion 132 are mainly made of elastic resin that makes the protruding portion 131 and the planar portion 132 deformable by pressing the protruding portion 131, providing the user a sense of pressing action. The substrate portion 133 includes therein a sensor and a substrate. The sensor detects a manipulation performed on the protruding portion 131. The substrate is connected with a light emitting device, such as light emitting diode (LED), that emits light upon detection of the manipulation. The connectors 134 are electrically connected to the substrate included in the substrate portion 133.” As in 83 “The controller 31 performs motion control of the robot 20 and the tool 200. The controller 31 is adapted to direct teaching performed by the user based on a result of manipulating the manipulation unit 100. Direct teaching is to, while changing the posture of the robot 20, manually and directly teach the robot 20 which motion path to take and teach the tool 200 how to move. In the direct teaching, the controller 31 also controls a lead-through operation, which is to change the posture of the robot 20 using the manipulation force with which the user manipulates the robot 20”]
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Kapoor (US 2016/0031078 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sato has all of the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the robot includes an attachment portion to which a camera that captures an image of a work target for the robot is attached at a position proximate to a distal end portion of the arm with respect to the first operation inputter.
However, Kapoor teaches wherein the robot includes an attachment portion to which a camera that captures an image of a work target for the robot is attached at a position proximate to a distal end portion of the arm with respect to the first operation inputter. [(see at least Fig.6, paragraph 45) “FIG. 6 depicts the device 100 mounted in an in-line configuration with one end attached to a mechanical interface 20 of a robot arm 10 and the other end attached to an end effector 50. In FIG. 6, external devices are connected to connection ports 154 of the device 100. In FIG. 6, the external devices include a camera 610 and a light 620. The camera 610 is mechanically and electrically connected to a connection port 154 via a mounting arm 612 having a joint 614 to allow for movement and adjustment of the position/orientation of the camera 610. Similarly, the light 620 is mechanically and electrically connected to a connection port 154 via a mounting arm 622 having a joint 624 to allow for movement and adjustment of the position/orientation of the light 620. The device 100 can be configured to have additional connection ports that allow for mounting and operation of a variety of external devices. As noted previously, the user interface can be configured to control the external device via the connection port 154, and the connection port 154 can be configured to provide power to the external device.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sato to incorporate the teachings of Kapoor of the robot includes an attachment portion to which a camera that captures an image of a work target for the robot is attached at a position proximate to a distal end portion of the arm with respect to the first operation inputter in order to capture relevant optical data of the work target for the operator.
Regarding claim 18, Sato has all of the elements of claim 15 as discussed above.
Sato does not explicitly teach wherein the arm includes: a plurality of links; and at least one joint portion that rotatably couples adjacent links of the plurality of links, the robot includes an attachment portion to which a camera that captures an image of a work target for the robot is attached, and the fixing member and the attachment portion are disposed at positions separated by approximately 180 degrees in a circumferential direction around a rotation axis along a longitudinal direction of a link of the plurality of links.
However, Kapoor teaches wherein the arm includes: a plurality of links; and at least one joint portion that rotatably couples adjacent links of the plurality of links, the robot includes an attachment portion to which a camera that captures an image of a work target for the robot is attached, and the fixing member and the attachment portion are disposed at positions separated by approximately 180 degrees in a circumferential direction around a rotation axis along a longitudinal direction of a link of the plurality of links. [(see at least Figs.3-6, paragraph 45) “FIG. 6 depicts the device 100 mounted in an in-line configuration with one end attached to a mechanical interface 20 of a robot arm 10 and the other end attached to an end effector 50. In FIG. 6, external devices are connected to connection ports 154 of the device 100. In FIG. 6, the external devices include a camera 610 and a light 620. The camera 610 is mechanically and electrically connected to a connection port 154 via a mounting arm 612 having a joint 614 to allow for movement and adjustment of the position/orientation of the camera 610.” As in 49 “In an exemplary embodiment in which the device acts as a lead-through programming or teaching device, the device 100 includes buttons 150, such as: a motion type selection button; an end-effector operation button; and a teaching button (e.g., teaching, such as, recording a current tool position and an end-effector state). By pressing the motion type button, the operator changes the type of the robot jogging motion for easier operation. The type of the motion can be, for example, translational motion or rotational motion.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Sato to incorporate the teachings of Kapoor of the arm includes a plurality of links, and at least one joint portion that rotatably couples adjacent links of the plurality of links, the robot includes an attachment portion to which a camera for capturing an image of a work target for the robot is attached, and the fixing member and the attachment portion are disposed at positions separated by approximately 180 degrees in a circumferential direction around a rotation axis along a longitudinal direction of a link of the plurality of links in order to improve performance of a robot's motion, and function as a hub for other peripheral devices. [(Kapoor 29)]
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED YOUSEF ABUELHAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656