DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims 1-20, filed 06 November 2024, which are pending in this application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶0006 states, “GPS” which is an abbreviation and the first instance of abbreviations must be preceded by the formal name and then the abbreviation in parentheses. For example, “Global Positioning System (GPS)”.
¶0023 states, “RFID” which is an abbreviation and the first instance of abbreviations must be preceded by the formal name and then the abbreviation in parentheses. For example, “Radio Frequency Identification (RFID)”.
¶0023 states, “NFC” which is an abbreviation and the first instance of abbreviations must be preceded by the formal name and then the abbreviation in parentheses. For example, “Near-Field Communication (NFC)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 5 recites “sensing modules” which has a lack of antecedence in the Specification. There is a recitation of a singular “sensing module” for each insole in ¶0006-0008, but no plural recitation for both insoles.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-9, 12, 16-17, and 20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should recite, “smart gait analysis insoles comprising: a left insole including[[es]] a left pressure sensor and a left inertia sensor configured for obtaining [[a]] left foot information, a left wireless transmission module being connected to said left pressure sensor and said left inertia sensor to transmit said left foot information to a mobile device; a right insole including[[es]] a right pressure sensor and a right inertia sensor configured for obtaining right foot information, a right wireless transmission module being connected to said right pressure sensor and said right inertia sensor to transmit said right foot information to said mobile device; wherein said mobile device is configured to analyze[[s]] said left foot information and said right foot information to obtain a foot pressure, a gait, a cadence, a center of pressure information, or any combination thereof.”
Claim 4, line 1: “GPSs” is an abbreviation and the first instance of abbreviations must be preceded by the formal name and then the abbreviation in parentheses. For example, “Global Positioning Systems (GPSs)”.
Claim 5 should recite, “wherein said s”.
Claims 8 and 12 should recite, “wherein said big data database employs blockchain as a communication structure configured to prevent said data from being changed”.
Claim 9, line 1: “AI” is an abbreviation and the first instance of abbreviations must be preceded by the formal name and then the abbreviation in parentheses. For example, “artificial intelligence (AI)”.
Claim 16 should recite, “a left insole including[[es]] a left pressure sensor and a left inertia sensor configured for obtaining [[a]] left foot information, a left wireless transmission module connected to said left pressure sensor and said left inertia sensor to transmit said left foot information to a mobile device; a right insole including[[es]] a right pressure sensor and a right inertia sensor configured for obtaining right foot information, a right wireless transmission module connected to said right pressure sensor and said right inertia sensor to transmit said right foot information to said mobile device; wherein said mobile device is configured to analyze[[s]] said left foot information and said right foot information to obtain a foot pressure, a gait, a cadence, a center of pressure information, or any combination thereof; wherein said left pressure sensor and said right pressure sensor include longitudinal conductive lines and transverse conductive lines.”
Claim 17 should recite, “wherein an area of sensing points occupy[[ies]] 3-50% of a total insole bottom surface area”.
Claim 20 should recite, “wherein said left insole and said right insole include infrared light sensors, GPSs, or the combination thereof”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 5, 7-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “wherein said left insole and said right insole include includes sensing modules”. It is unclear if each insole includes more than one sensing module or not. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as, “wherein said left insole and said right insole each include a sensing module[[s]]”.
Claims 7-9 and 11-13 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “big data database”. It is unclear if the big data database is required by the claim or is a recitation of intended use. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as the big data database being intended use.
Claims 9 and 13 is/are indefinite as it/they recite(s) “AI computing module”. It is unclear if the AI computing module is required by the claim or is a recitation of intended use. Therein the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as the AI computing module being intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou US 20220408872.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Chou discloses smart gait analysis insoles (Figs. 1A-3) comprising: a left insole (Fig. 1A-E #10) includes a left pressure sensor (Fig. 1A-E #12a) and a left inertia sensor (Fig. 2 #36) for obtaining a left foot information (¶0029-0034), a left wireless transmission module (Fig. 2 #32) being connected to said left pressure sensor and said left inertia sensor to transmit said left foot information to a mobile device (Fig. 3 #40; ¶0033, 0038); a right insole (Fig. 1A-E #10) includes a right pressure sensor (Figs. 1A-E #12a) and a right inertia sensor (Fig. 2 #36) for obtaining right foot information (¶0029-0034), a right wireless transmission module (Fig. 2 #32) being connected to said right pressure sensor and said right inertia sensor to transmit said right foot information to said mobile device (Fig. 3 #40; ¶0033, 0038); wherein said mobile device analyzes said left foot information and said right foot information to obtain a foot pressure, a gait, a cadence, a center of pressure information or any combination thereof (¶0037).
Regarding Claim 2, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 1, wherein said left insole and said right insole include wireless charging coils (¶0033).
Regarding Claim 3, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 1, wherein said left insole and said right insole include infrared light sensors (Figs. 1A-E #39; ¶0031, 0033).
Regarding Claim 4, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 1, wherein said left insole and said right insole include GPSs (¶0033-0034).
Regarding Claim 5, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 1, wherein said wherein said left insole and said right insole include includes sensing modules (Figs. 1A-E #16) configured for receiving data measured by sensing point (¶0028-0031, 0033-0037).
Regarding Claim 6, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 1, wherein said left foot information is displayed by said mobile device (¶0031-0034).
Regarding Claim 7, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 6, wherein said left foot information is uploaded to a big data database through said mobile device (¶0043).
Regarding Claim 10, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 1, wherein said right foot information is displayed by said mobile device (¶0036-0038).
Regarding Claim 11, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 10, wherein said right foot information is uploaded to a big data database through said mobile device (¶0043).
Regarding Claim 14, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 1, wherein said left pressure sensor and said right pressure sensor include longitudinal conductive lines and transverse conductive lines (Fig. 1A shows #12a sensors have longitudinal and transverse conductive lines).
Regarding Claim 15, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 14, wherein said longitudinal conductive lines and said transverse conductive lines divide said left and said right insoles into at least 10-120 sections (Fig. 1A).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Chou discloses smart gait analysis insoles (Figs. 1A-3) comprising: a left insole (Fig. 1A-E #10) includes a left pressure sensor (Fig. 1A-E #12a) and a left inertia sensor (Fig. 2 #36) for obtaining a left foot information (¶0029-0034), a left wireless transmission module (Fig. 2 #32) being connected to said left pressure sensor and said left inertia sensor to transmit said left foot information to a mobile device (Fig. 3 #40; ¶0033, 0038); a right insole (Fig. 1A-E #10) includes a right pressure sensor (Figs. 1A-E #12a) and a right inertia sensor (Fig. 2 #36) for obtaining right foot information (¶0029-0034), a right wireless transmission module (Fig. 2 #32) being connected to said right pressure sensor and said right inertia sensor to transmit said right foot information to said mobile device (Fig. 3 #40; ¶0033, 0038); wherein said mobile device analyzes said left foot information and said right foot information to obtain a foot pressure, a gait, a cadence, a center of pressure information or any combination thereof (¶0037); wherein said left pressure sensor and said right pressure sensor include longitudinal conductive lines and transverse conductive lines (Fig. 1A shows #12a sensors have longitudinal and transverse conductive lines).
Regarding Claim 17, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 16, wherein area of sensing points occupies 3-50% of a total insole bottom surface area (Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 18, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 17, wherein said area of said sensing points occupies 10-40% of said total insole bottom surface area (Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 19, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 16, wherein said left insole and said right insole include wireless charging coils (¶0033).
Regarding Claim 20, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 16, wherein said left insole and said right insole include infrared light sensors, GPSs or the combination thereof (¶0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou as applied to claims 1, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of Paravastu US 20220301718.
Regarding Claim 8, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 7, but does not expressly disclose wherein said big data database employs blockchain as the communication structure to prevent said data from being changed.
Paravastu teaches a system for insole analysis (Figs. 1-30) where a database employs blockchain as the communication structure to prevent said data from being changed (¶0200).
Both Chou and Paravastu teach analogous inventions in the art of data analysis systems for footwear. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Chou with the teachings of Paravastu such that the database employed blockchain as the communication structure to prevent said data from being changed as, “This configuration provides a very efficient and a suitable way to store the large data structures,” (Paravastu ¶0201) and, “Since the images (radiological or non-radiological; X-Ray images, or non-X-Ray photographs) are considered electronic health records (EHRs), some embodiments may implement an attribute-based signature scheme with multiple authorities to guarantee the validity of the images. With a de-centralized system, peer-to-peer transactions make it impossible for third parties to steal image privacy information during the retrieval process. Secondly, each node in the network has a copy of the transaction record, which avoids single points of failure. Thirdly, making the transaction information on the blockchain publicly available allows the users to conduct image retrieval over a collection of images shared by either different medical image providers or even by millions of patients worldwide. This scale in images renders higher accuracy while protecting the information from unnecessary privacy disclosure to unintended parties, data tampering by non-essential personnel, and data forgery by random players,” (Paravastu ¶0209).
Regarding Claim 9, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 7, but does not expressly disclose wherein said big data database is coupled to an AI computing module.
Paravastu teaches a system for insole analysis (Figs. 1-30) where a database is coupled to an AI computing module (¶039).
Both Chou and Paravastu teach analogous inventions in the art of data analysis systems for footwear. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Chou with the teachings of Paravastu such that the database is coupled to an AI computing module so that AI, “may be used for these processes, as increasingly complex diagnosis can be automated to not miss the intricate details,” (Paravastu ¶0048).
Regarding Claim 12, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 11, but does not expressly disclose wherein said big data database employs blockchain as the communication structure to prevent said data from being changed.
Paravastu teaches a system for insole analysis (Figs. 1-30) where a database employs blockchain as the communication structure to prevent said data from being changed (¶0200).
Both Chou and Paravastu teach analogous inventions in the art of data analysis systems for footwear. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Chou with the teachings of Paravastu such that the database employed blockchain as the communication structure to prevent said data from being changed as, “This configuration provides a very efficient and a suitable way to store the large data structures,” (Paravastu ¶0201) and, “Since the images (radiological or non-radiological; X-Ray images, or non-X-Ray photographs) are considered electronic health records (EHRs), some embodiments may implement an attribute-based signature scheme with multiple authorities to guarantee the validity of the images. With a de-centralized system, peer-to-peer transactions make it impossible for third parties to steal image privacy information during the retrieval process. Secondly, each node in the network has a copy of the transaction record, which avoids single points of failure. Thirdly, making the transaction information on the blockchain publicly available allows the users to conduct image retrieval over a collection of images shared by either different medical image providers or even by millions of patients worldwide. This scale in images renders higher accuracy while protecting the information from unnecessary privacy disclosure to unintended parties, data tampering by non-essential personnel, and data forgery by random players,” (Paravastu ¶0209).
Regarding Claim 13, Chou discloses the insoles of claim 11, but does not expressly disclose wherein said big data database is coupled to an AI computing module.
Paravastu teaches a system for insole analysis (Figs. 1-30) where a database is coupled to an AI computing module (¶039).
Both Chou and Paravastu teach analogous inventions in the art of data analysis systems for footwear. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Chou with the teachings of Paravastu such that the database is coupled to an AI computing module so that AI, “may be used for these processes, as increasingly complex diagnosis can be automated to not miss the intricate details,” (Paravastu ¶0048).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taylor US 6155120 teaches a foot pressure measurement system
Sazonov US 2011054359 teaches a footwear system
Lee US 20170238870 teaches an intelligent insole
Grant US 20160335913 teaches a smart insole
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732