Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 04/08/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
All previous rejections are overcome by amendment.
Applicant could consider including product by process limitations or intermediary product limitations pertaining to a pre-welded structure having a coating of insulating material. The instant specifications appear to teach an insulating layer prior to welding is effective at capturing the welded material during the welding process. If there is a materially different interface between the first side surface and the insulating layer due to welding occurring after the insulating tape is applied, this difference could overcome the below rejection that applies an insulating material after welding. Please refer to MPEP 2113 to present critical steps that positively lead to materially different structure and how to present/argue them on the record. Currently, the product by process limitations of the instant claim “by coating” is not sufficient to read the specification significance of a pre-applied insulating film before the welding step. The instant invention has not been examined in this light and would require further search and consideration, but this could be a path to forward prosecution. This consideration is completely optional to the applicant and only presented as a means to improve stakeholder interactions on behalf of the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Instant claim recites “the insulating layer is formed ONLY on the first side surface of the pair of side surface of the electrode,” the instant specification at the time of filing does not explicitly recite this limitation. When we look at Figure 4-6 of the instant claim, we can see the insulating layer is formed on the first side surface of the pair of sides surfaces of the electrodes AND the electrode active material side layer (111). Since there is an additional layer that is coated at least in part by the insulating layer, the claim as amended is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ji-Jun (JP 2004/022534).
Claim 1, 13: Ji-Jun teaches a battery packaging that is capable of preventing short circuits [Abstract]. The battery cell (110) is taught to have an electrode (111, 113) that has one or both sides of an electrode current collector film coated with active material [0031]. The electrode of the prior art for the purposes of this rejection is the electrode that is in direct contact tab member (143) through welding step (S20) at the welding portion (145) [0038]. The electrode current collector is the portion which comprises active material coating in a width direction [Fig 1; 0031] and an electrode tab (16, 18) extend in a second direction having a pair of opposing first side surfaces extending from the electrode current collector having a fee end with a side surface opposing the side of the electrode current collector where the tab has a smaller width than that of the first direction width of the active material [Fig 1; 0008-0010]. An insulating layer (147) is formed on a first side surface of the electrode tab [Fig 7f, 7h; 0043]; the specific limitation to “coating” is method weight which does not further defined the structural scope of the instant claim over the prior art, the prior art teaching the same structural feature in the same location is sufficient to meet the positively recited scope of the instant claim. The electrode lead (143: tab member) is welded to the uncoated portion of the current collector, the electrode tab (145) [Fig 7f, 7h; 0038-0047]. The insulating material is formed on a first side surface opposite the second side surface and insulates from the storage part (322) of the packaging material (320) [Fig 17; 0052]. The insulating material layer and the active material are on the same side of the electrode current collector – prior art teaches that both sides of the current collector can be coated or a single side [0031]. The lead and the tab extend in a direction parallel to each other [Fig 7f, 10 17].
Prior art figure is annotated to show the features of the invention:
Claim 2: Ji-Jun teaches an active material to be located on the current collector [0031] and the electrode tab portion (16, 18) are uncoated with active material [Fig 1; 0008-0011].
Claim 3: Ji-Jun teaches the insulating material to be present on at least a portion of the non-coated portion of the electrode tab [Fig 7f, Fig 17]. The specific method weight of “by coating” is a product by process limitation that fails to further limit the scope of the instant claim over the product and teaching of the prior art.
Claim 4: Ji-Jun teaches an insulating layer to have a width equal to the width of the electrode tab as the insulating layer covers the portion [0043-0050]. The specific method weight of “by coating” is a product by process limitation that fails to further limit the scope of the instant claim over the product and teaching of the prior art.
Claim 8: Ji-Jun teaches a lithium secondary battery (300) comprising the features of the electrode above [0052].
Claim 9: Ji-Jun teaches a battery in a pouch that is filled with injection of electrolyte into a packaging material and vacuum sealed – applicant’s pouch-shaped battery [Fig 17; 0052-0053].
Claim 12: Ji-Jun teaches a first insulating member to be the only insulating element between the tabs and the region (310) of the battery [Fig 17].
Claim 14: Ji-Jun teaches the insulating material to be exemplified to be polyimide or polyethylene [0016].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752