Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Instant claim recites “formed only on the first side surface” but the specification as filed does not positively recite such limitation. The specification recites the layer is formed via a coating and the coating methods are exemplified in paragraph 0067 – The specific method to coat a single layer and not arrive at any material on any other side layers is not positively described in the instant specification as originally filed. Positive recitation of “only” in reference to the coating layer is found in paragraph 0080 which positively recites the coating layer is on additional layers than just the first side surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 10-2016-0038361.
Claim 1-2, 8, 13: ‘361 teaches a battery with an electrode assembly [0001]. The assembly includes a positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator that is housed in an outer material (300) and sealed by injecting an electrolyte [0021]. A current collector for the electrode comprises a coated portion with electrode active material and an electrode tab portion that is uncoated [0034]. The uncoated portion is welded at the electrode tab and terminal [0018-0021, 0036]. The active material uncoated portion overlapping with the weld portion comprises a corrosion protection corrosion layer [0035-0036, 0039-0040]. Refer to figure 2-3 for visual of the relationships of sizes, directions, and such.
Product by process limitations do not positively recite the structural differences of the resulting product to be patentably distinct from that of the prior art teaching.
Claim 3-4: ‘361 teaches the coating to be on the side surfaces at the entirety of the length and width of the electrode tab protruding [Fig 2; 0035-0036, 0039-0040].
Claim 9: The battery is at least a pouch type [0003].
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (EP 3588620)
Claim 1-4, 10-13: Zhou teaches a secondary battery and electrode plate whereby a current collector comprises a weld and insulating layer [Abstract]. The positively recited features of the instant claim are shown in Modified Fig 8. Examiner maintains that a weld is present to secure the electrode lead and the electrode tab portion of the current collector of the electrode therefore all features of tab including the first and second side are secured to electrode lead via a weld, thus meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as presented. Figure 11 depicts element 15 to read on applicant’s insulating layer which is used to reduce short circuiting from material produced from the welding process. The features pertaining to widths and covering are met by the disclosure of the prior art [Description of Embodiments]. Product by process limitations do not positively recite the structural differences of the resulting product to be patentably distinct from that of the prior art teaching.
Claim 8-9: The battery is a pouch battery [Description of Embodiments].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2016-0038361 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohta et al (PGPUB 20158/0125732).
Claim 5-7: KR’361 is silent to teach a portion of the electrode tab to comprise a portion of the active material.
Ohta teaches a portion of active material is on a gradient onto the tab and comprises a material coated thereon [Fig 1; 6a]. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have been motivated to extend the electrode active material onto the tab as taught by Ohta in order to improve the energy density and electrode active material interaction of KR’361 [0027-0029].
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (EP 3588620) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohta et al (PGPUB 20158/0125732).
Claim 5-7: Zhou is silent to teach a portion of the electrode tab to comprise a portion of the active material.
Ohta teaches a portion of active material is on a gradient onto the tab and comprises a material coated thereon [Fig 1; 6a]. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have been motivated to extend the electrode active material onto the tab as taught by Ohta in order to improve the energy density and electrode active material interaction of Zhou [0027-0029].
Conclusion
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752