This action is in response to the application filed on 11/06/24.
Claims 1-14 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/24 and 12/26/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“engaging elements for engaging said at least one additional gear train” in claim 1.
Engaging elements: support element 15, selection member 16, locking balls18 and compression spring 17 (page 9-11 and 15-18 of the current application specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "said crown" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo et al. (2011/0232933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses a tightening device comprising: a casing (2; Fig. 1-2); a motor (10) with a rotor (not shown numerically; as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below); an output member (spindle 11) that is drivable in rotation to drive a drive element of an element to be tightened; a transmission (Fig. 2; par. 30) connecting said rotor to said output member (Fig. 2), said transmission comprising at least one additional gear train (34) that can be engaged/disengaged (pars. 36-37, 50 and 60-65), said at least one additional gear train (34) comprising at least one epicyclic train with a toothed inner ring gear (34a); and engaging elements (lock/support ring 62, 15, selection member 50a, locking balls 38, 39, 61 and compression spring 35) for engaging said at least one additional gear train (34), said engaging elements being able to take at least: an engaged state in which the at least one additional gear train is engaged (pars. 36-37, 50), and a disengaged state in which said at least one additional gear train is not engaged (pars. 60-65), a speed reducing ratio (pars. 3-4, 63-65, 68 and 83) of said transmission between said rotor and said output member being different depending on whether or not said additional gear train is engaged, and wherein said ring gear is mounted so as to be mobile in translation along the axis of said rotor inside said casing between at least: a free position, taken when said engaging elements is in said disengaged state, and in which said ring gear is mobile in rotation relative to said casing in such a way that said at least one additional gear train is disengaged, and a locked position, taken when said engaging elements are in said engaged state, and in which said ring gear is locked in rotation relative to said casing in such a way that said at least one additional gear train is engaged (pars. 63-68).
Regarding claim 5, Kondo discloses an elastic return (i.e. spring 35) acting on said ring gear to tend to maintain the ring gear in said locked position.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 6-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose or make obvious the claimed combination including the following features:
Regarding claim 2, a motor controller for controlling said motor, configured to generate a predetermined speed change acceleration or deceleration of said rotor acting on said engaging elements to switch them from one of their states to the other.
Regarding claim 3, wherein said inner toothed ring gear comprises a first locking portion and said casing comprises a second locking portion, said first and second locking portions being complementary to each other and shaped to ensure locking in rotation of said ring gear relative to said casing when they cooperate with each other.
Regarding claim 6, a translator for driving in translation said ring gear from one of the locked and free positions to the other, said translator comprising at least one cam path formed on said ring gear and at least one locking member connected in rotation to said rotor.
The combinations of the claimed limitations are novel and found to be allowable over prior art. The cited references taken singly or in combination do not anticipate or make obvious the Applicant’s claimed invention.
JP H09323267A discloses a tightening tool comprising a motor, a transmission with a gear train, and engaging elements (60, 80, 81) but fails to disclose a motor controller configured to generate a predetermined speed change acceleration or deceleration of the motor’s rotor acting on said engaging elements to switch them from one of their states to the other, wherein the gear train is an inner toothed ring gear comprising a first locking portion and wherein the tool’s casing comprises a second locking portion, and a translator comprising at least one cam path formed on said ring gear and at least one locking member connected in rotation to said rotor, as claimed.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE LOPEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731