DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 8/6/2026. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, and 10 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529) in view of Deboer et al. (US 2023/0052306). Claims 3, 5, 8, 14, 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combinations of Heinle, Deboer, Lugert et al. (US 2022/0022722), Lee et al. (US 2016/0051120), Woo et al. (US 2021/0401258), Nogi et al. (US 4,641,671), and Dunaway et al. (US 2025/0089978).
Applicant argues that claim 1, amended to recite “a controller including at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, configured to: cause the dishwasher to perform a water supply operation of supplying water into the water storage chamber or a jet operation of jetting water into the tub; after completion of the water supply operation or the jet operation and while the drain pump is off, allow water to collect in the storage chamber for a specified soaking time; and based on a lapse of the specified soaking time, control the drain pump to perform a drain operation of discharging water collected in the water storage chamber to the outside,” is not met by the prior art. More specifically, Applicant argues that Heinle does not describe “after completion of the water supply operation or the jet operation and while the drain pump is off, allow water to collect in the storage chamber for a specified soaking time; and based on a lapse of the specified soaking time, control the drain pump to perform a drain operation of discharging water collected in the water storage chamber to the outside.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Heinle, for example, discloses a water supply operation (t0 – t1 and/or t3 – t4), a period after the water supply and prior to activation of the wash pump (t4 – t6), a period within that period wherein an annular flow is generated around a filter element (18, 20; t5 – t6; paragraphs 54-56), followed by a period wherein the drain pump is activated (t6 – t7). The further wash cycle (43) and rinse cycle (44) contain similar periods. At least the periods between t4 and t6, or the period between t5 and t6, broadly and reasonably correspond to the claimed specified soaking time with water collected in the storage chamber, and the period between t6 and t7 corresponds to the claimed drain operation.
In response to Applicant’s amendments, the rejection have been modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529) in view of Deboer et al. (US 2023/0052306).
Regarding claim 1, Heinle discloses a dishwasher comprising: a tub (2); a water storage chamber provided under the tub and configured to store water from inside the tub (17); a filter disposed in the water storage chamber and configured to filter water flowing into the water storage chamber (18); a drain pump configured to discharge the water accommodated in the water storage chamber to the outside (27); and controlling the dishwasher to perform a water supply operation of supplying water into the water storage chamber or a jet operation of jetting water into the tub (Figure 4: paragraphs 52-53; see water supply times at t0-t1, t3-t4, t7-t8, t11-t12); cause after completion of the water supply operation or the jet operation and while the drain pump is off, allow water to collect in the storage chamber for a specified soaking time (t4-t6, t5-t6, t8-t10, t9-t10, t12-t14, t13-t14; paragraphs 52-56); and based on a lapse of the specified soaking time, control the drain pump to perform a drain operation of discharging water collected in the water storage chamber to the outside (see drain times at t6-t7, t10-t11, or t14-t15).
Heinle does not expressly disclose a controller including at least one processor, comprising circuitry configured to control the drain pump.
Deboer discloses a dishwasher having a controller (22) to control the operation of the dishwasher, wherein the controller includes a PCB having electrical components thereon (paragraphs 16, 45, 54).
Because it is known in the art to have a controller as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, automated control of a dishwasher, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a controller including at least one processor, comprising circuitry configured to control the drain pump.
Claim 2 and 6 are considered to be met by Heinle, in view of Deboer, as applied above and which results in: wherein the controller is configured to cause the dishwasher to perform the drain operation based on the lapse of the specified soaking time after completion of the water supply operation or the jet operation in the last of multiple rinsing processes (Heinle: 43 and 44 are broadly and reasonably rinse processes; see drain at t14); further comprising: a circulation pump configured to pump the water accommodated in the water storage chamber (paragraphs 22, 51); a flow path configured to guide the water pumped by the circulation pump to the water storage chamber (31); a valve configured to open or close the flow path (33); and a cleaning nozzle configured to communicate with the water storage chamber and provided to jet the water guided through the flow path toward the filter (30).
Claim 7, 9, and 10 are considered to be met by Heinle, in view of Deboer, as applied above and which results in: wherein the controller is configured to operate the circulation pump and open the valve such that water is jetted from the cleaning nozzle toward the filter for a specified cleaning time before operating the drain pump after the lapse of the specified soaking time (Heinle: paragraphs 54-56; Deboer: 22); wherein the controller is configured to stop operating the circulation pump, close the valve and operate the drain pump based on the lapse of the specified cleaning time (Heinle: paragraphs 19, 25, 30, 51, 55-56; see elements 31, 33; see Figure 4: 45, 46, 47); wherein the cleaning nozzle is configured to jet water toward an outer surface of the filter opposite to an inner surface of the filter on which debris is collected (Heinle: 18, 30; paragraph 45).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529), in view of Deboer et al. (US 2023/0052306), and further in view of Lugert et al. (US 2022/0022722).
Regarding claim 3, Heinle, in view of Deboer, is relied upon as above, and further discloses, wherein the controller is configured to cause the dishwasher to: perform the water supply operation or the jet operation (Heinle: paragraphs 52-53); and perform the drain operation based on the lapse of the specified soaking time after completion of the water supply operation or the jet operation (Heinle: paragraphs 52-53). Heinle, in view of Deboer, does not expressly disclose a user interface configured to receive a user input; wherein the performing the water supply operation or the jet operation is based on an input to select a filter soaking mode being obtained from a user through the user interface.
Deboer further discloses the dishwasher is provided with a user interface (24) enabling a user to input commands, such as a cycle of operation (24; paragraph 16). Lugert discloses a dishwasher in which a filter cleaning program can be performed automatically within each wash cycle, after a predefined number of wash cycles, or the user can select the filter cleaning program manually in addition to the wash cycle (paragraph 24).
Because it is known in the art to have a user interface and a user selected filter cleaning cycle, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, allowing a user to select the filter cleaning cycle using a user interface, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a user interface configured to receive a user input; wherein the performing the water supply operation or the jet operation is based on an input to select a filter soaking mode being obtained from a user through the user interface.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529), in view of Deboer et al. (US 2023/0052306), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0051120).
Regarding claim 5, Heinle, in view of Deboer, is relied upon as above and further discloses a circulation pump configured to pump the water accommodated in the water storage chamber wherein the controller is configured to operate the circulation pump for a specified time during the specified soaking time (Heinle: paragraphs 19, 25, 30, 51, 55-56; see elements 31, 33), but does not expressly disclose a heater configured to heat the water accommodated in the water storage chamber; and wherein the controller is configured to operate the heater for a specified heating time during the specified soaking time.
Heinle discloses that a higher water temperature can increase the cleaning effect on the filter element (paragraph 54). Lee discloses a dishwasher having a heater module (90) mounted in a sump (40) to heat wash water (paragraph 38)
Because it is known in the art to have a heater at the sump and that increased temperature can improve the cleaning effect, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, improving the cleaning, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a heater configured to heat the water accommodated in the water storage chamber; and wherein the controller is configured to operate the heater for a specified heating time during the specified soaking time.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529), in view of Deboer et al. (US 2023/0052306), and further in view of Woo et al. (US 2021/0401258).
Regarding claim 8, Heinle, in view of Deboer, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose a filter motor configured to rotate the filter, wherein the controller is configured to operate the filter motor to rotate the filter before operating the drain pump after the lapse of the specified soaking time.
Woo discloses a dishwasher having an automatic cleaning filter including a rotating filter (210) and a driver (270) to rotate the rotating filter, and the rotating filter may rotate in a direction opposite to a direction in which a washing liquid including foreign substances flows along an inner circumferential surface of a lateral surface portion (212) of the filter to apply a strong shear force to the filter (paragraph 47).
Because it is known in the art to rotate the filter, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, improving the cleaning, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a filter motor configured to rotate the filter, wherein the controller is configured to operate the filter motor to rotate the filter before operating the drain pump after the lapse of the specified soaking time.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529), in view of Deboer et al. (US 2023/0052306), and further in view of Nogi et al. (US 4,641,671).
Regarding claim 14, Heinle, in view of Deboer, is relied upon as above and further discloses wherein: the flow path is a first flow path (Heinle: 31), the valve is a first valve (Heinle: 33), the dishwasher further comprises a jet device configured to jet water toward an object to be washed disposed in the tub (Heinle: 38); a distribution chamber separated from the water storage chamber (Heinle: 31) and the controller is configured to: perform the water supply operation or the jet operation (Heinle: paragraphs 42, 54, 55).
Heinle, in view of Deboer, does not expressly disclose the distribution chamber includes a second flow path configured to guide the water pumped by the circulation pump to the jet device; and a second valve configured to open or close the second flow path, and the controller is configured to: open the first valve and close the second valve to perform the water supply operation or the jet operation.
Nogi discloses a dishwasher having a three-way valve assembly (Figures 3, 6: 24) including a solution intake port (24a), a water intake port (24b), and an outlet port (24c), with plural valve members (68A, 68B) controlling the valve assembly.
Because it is known in the art to use a valve assembly as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, use of known valves for a known purpose, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second flow path configured to guide the water pumped by the circulation pump to the jet device; and a second valve configured to open or close the second flow path, and the controller is configured to: open the first valve and close the second valve to perform the water supply operation or the jet operation.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529), in view of Deboer et al. (US 2023/0052306), and further in view of Dunaway et al. (US 2025/0089978).
Regarding claim 15, Heinle, in view of Deboer, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose a user interface comprising circuitry configured to display information about the dishwasher, wherein the controller is configured to operate the drain pump and control the user interface to provide a filter cleaning notification, based on the lapse of the specified soaking time.
Deboer further discloses the dishwasher is provided with a user interface (24) enabling a user to input commands, such as a cycle of operation, and can include dials, lights, switches, and displays enabling a user to input commands and receive information (24; paragraph 16). Dunaway discloses a user interface (300) may be used to indicate a status of a filter, such as “needs cleaning,” “clean,” or “clogged” (paragraph 46). Figure 6F shows an example with the text “Filter Cleaning Complete!”
Because it is known in the art to have a user interface as claimed and to indicate a filter status, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, indicating the filter status to a user, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a user interface comprising circuitry configured to display information about the dishwasher, wherein the controller is configured to operate the drain pump and control the user interface to provide a filter cleaning notification, based on the lapse of the specified soaking time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the dishwasher as defined by the combination of claims 1 and 4; or the combination of claims 1, 6, and 11. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Heinle et al. (US 2020/0214529), to further include wherein the controller is configured to count non-use time from a point in time at which the dishwasher is last used; and cause the dishwasher to: perform the water supply operation or the jet operation based on the non-use time elapsing a preset reference time; and the drain operation based on the lapse of the specified soaking time after completion of the water supply operation or the jet operation; or wherein: the flow path is a first flow path, the valve is a first valve, the cleaning nozzle is a first cleaning nozzle, the dishwasher further comprises a second flow path distinguished from the first flow path and configured to guide the water pumped by the circulation pump to the water storage chamber; a second valve configured to open or close the second flow path; and a second cleaning nozzle configured to communicate with the water storage chamber and configured to jet the water guided through the second flow path toward the filter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711