DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claim 1 is currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claim 1 and cancelled claims 2 and 3.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed March 9, 2026 has been entered. Claim 1 is currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUMOTO (JP 2022080730 A) in view of MORITA (US 20230072786 A1) and HASE (US 20220161667 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, MATSUMOTO teaches A power supply system to be mounted on a vehicle, the power supply system comprising: a first power supply configured to supply electric power to a load (See at least paragraph [0011], “FIG. 1 is an explanatory diagram showing a configuration example of an in-vehicle power supply device according to an embodiment. As shown in FIG. 2, the vehicle-mounted power supply device 1 according to the embodiment is connected to the first load 101, the second load 102, the generator 103, and the automatic operation control device 104”, paragraph [0015], “The vehicle-mounted power supply device 1 includes a first power supply 10, a second power supply 20, a control unit 30, a charge / discharge unit 40, a first switch and 41, and a second switch 42. Further, the vehicle-mounted power supply device 1 includes voltage sensors 51, 53 and current sensors 52, 54, 55”, and paragraph [0016], “The first power source 10 is, for example, a lead battery. The first power source is connected to the first load 101, the generator 103, and the first switch 41. A voltage sensor 51 and a current sensor 52 are connected between the first power supply 10 and the first switch 41.”); a second power supply configured to back up the first power supply (See at least paragraph [0017], “The second power source 20 is, for example, a lithium ion battery. As the second power source 20, a battery having a voltage higher than that of the first power source 10 is selected so that the minimum necessary voltage can be supplied even at a low temperature. The second power source 20 is a backup power source when the power supply by the first power source cannot be performed.”); and a control unit configured to control the load that is a power supply destination of the second power supply (See at least paragraph [0015], “The vehicle-mounted power supply device 1 includes a first power supply 10, a second power supply 20, a control unit 30, a charge / discharge unit 40, a first switch and 41, and a second switch 42. Further, the vehicle-mounted power supply device 1 includes voltage sensors 51, 53 and current sensors 52, 54, 55”, paragraph [0022], “The control unit 30 includes a microcomputer having a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), and various circuits. The control unit 30 includes an abnormality detection unit 31, a fail-safe unit 32, and a determination unit 33 that function by executing a program stored in the ROM by the CPU using the RAM as a work area”, and paragraph [0025], “The abnormality detection unit 31 detects that a power failure has occurred in one of the first system 100 and the second system 200. The fail-safe unit 32 turns on the first switch 41 and the second switch 42 during normal operation in which the power failure is not detected, and turns off the first switch 41 when the power failure is detected, and the power failure occurs. Fail-safe control is performed by the system in which is not detected.”), wherein the load includes at least a first load and a second load (See at least paragraph [0011], “FIG. 1 is an explanatory diagram showing a configuration example of an in-vehicle power supply device according to an embodiment. As shown in FIG. 2, the vehicle-mounted power supply device 1 according to the embodiment is connected to the first load 101, the second load 102, the generator 103, and the automatic operation control device 104” and paragraph [0013], “The second load 102 includes at least a steering motor, an electric brake device, an in-vehicle camera, a radar, and other devices that operate during automatic operation. The first load 101 and the second load 102 are operated by the electric power supplied from the vehicle-mounted power supply device 1.”), wherein the first load is a load configured to implement a function related to autonomous driving (See at least paragraph [0011], “FIG. 1 is an explanatory diagram showing a configuration example of an in-vehicle power supply device according to an embodiment. As shown in FIG. 2, the vehicle-mounted power supply device 1 according to the embodiment is connected to the first load 101, the second load 102, the generator 103, and the automatic operation control device 104” and paragraph [0013], “The second load 102 includes at least a steering motor, an electric brake device, an in-vehicle camera, a radar, and other devices that operate during automatic operation. The first load 101 and the second load 102 are operated by the electric power supplied from the vehicle-mounted power supply device 1.”), wherein the second load is a load configured to implement a function related to non-autonomous driving (See at least paragraph [0035], “When the automatic operation control device 104 is notified that the power failure has occurred in the first system 100, the automatic operation control device 104 uses the second load 102 to perform evacuation driving control to a safe place where the vehicle can be stopped, such as a roadside zone. After doing, evacuating and stopping, automatic driving control is prohibited. As a result, it is possible to prevent an accident due to automatic operation during a power failure.”); wherein the control unit is configured to, when the first power supply fails during autonomous driving of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0034], “As shown in FIG. 4, the fail-safe unit 32 turns off the first switch 41 when information indicating that a ground fault has occurred in the first system 100 is input from the abnormality detection unit 31. Fail-safe control is performed to notify the automatic operation control device 104 that a power failure has occurred in the first system 100. As a result, the fail-safe unit 32 supplies electric power from the second power supply 20 to the second load 102 while preventing the second power supply 20 from being discharged, and the automatic operation control device 104 performs evacuation travel control by the second system 200. It can be carried out.”), supply electric power of the second power supply to the first load (See at least paragraph [0034], “As shown in FIG. 4, the fail-safe unit 32 turns off the first switch 41 when information indicating that a ground fault has occurred in the first system 100 is input from the abnormality detection unit 31. Fail-safe control is performed to notify the automatic operation control device 104 that a power failure has occurred in the first system 100. As a result, the fail-safe unit 32 supplies electric power from the second power supply 20 to the second load 102 while preventing the second power supply 20 from being discharged, and the automatic operation control device 104 performs evacuation travel control by the second system 200. It can be carried out.”), and switch the power supply destination of the second power supply to the second load (See at least paragraph [0025], “The abnormality detection unit 31 detects that a power failure has occurred in one of the first system 100 and the second system 200. The fail-safe unit 32 turns on the first switch 41 and the second switch 42 during normal operation in which the power failure is not detected, and turns off the first switch 41 when the power failure is detected, and the power failure occurs. Fail-safe control is performed by the system in which is not detected.”), of electric power supplied from the second power supply to the first load after electric power of the second power supply is supplied to the first load due to failure of the first power supply during autonomous driving of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0034], “As shown in FIG. 4, the fail-safe unit 32 turns off the first switch 41 when information indicating that a ground fault has occurred in the first system 100 is input from the abnormality detection unit 31. Fail-safe control is performed to notify the automatic operation control device 104 that a power failure has occurred in the first system 100. As a result, the fail-safe unit 32 supplies electric power from the second power supply 20 to the second load 102 while preventing the second power supply 20 from being discharged, and the automatic operation control device 104 performs evacuation travel control by the second system 200. It can be carried out” and paragraph [0035], “When the automatic operation control device 104 is notified that the power failure has occurred in the first system 100, the automatic operation control device 104 uses the second load 102 to perform evacuation driving control to a safe place where the vehicle can be stopped, such as a roadside zone. After doing, evacuating and stopping, automatic driving control is prohibited. As a result, it is possible to prevent an accident due to automatic operation during a power failure.”), when the first power supply fails during the autonomous driving of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0034], “As shown in FIG. 4, the fail-safe unit 32 turns off the first switch 41 when information indicating that a ground fault has occurred in the first system 100 is input from the abnormality detection unit 31. Fail-safe control is performed to notify the automatic operation control device 104 that a power failure has occurred in the first system 100. As a result, the fail-safe unit 32 supplies electric power from the second power supply 20 to the second load 102 while preventing the second power supply 20 from being discharged, and the automatic operation control device 104 performs evacuation travel control by the second system 200. It can be carried out” and paragraph [0035], “When the automatic operation control device 104 is notified that the power failure has occurred in the first system 100, the automatic operation control device 104 uses the second load 102 to perform evacuation driving control to a safe place where the vehicle can be stopped, such as a roadside zone. After doing, evacuating and stopping, automatic driving control is prohibited. As a result, it is possible to prevent an accident due to automatic operation during a power failure.”).
MATSUMOTO does not explicitly disclose, however, MORITA, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a measurement unit configured to measure a discharge amount of the second power supply (See at least paragraph [0054], “Upon the control process being started, first, in step S10, it is determined whether the driving mode of the vehicle is the second mode. If the result of the determination in step S10 is affirmative, the control process proceeds to step S12. In step S12, the residual capacity SA of the second storage battery 16 is calculated. The residual capacity SA may be represented by, for example, the SOC (i.e., State Of Charge) of the second storage battery 16. When the second storage battery 16 is in an energized state (i.e., charging state or discharging state), the residual capacity SA is calculated using the current integrated value that is the time-integrated value of the charge/discharge current of the second storage battery 16.”); until the discharge amount reaches a predetermined threshold value (See at least paragraph [0054], “Upon the control process being started, first, in step S10, it is determined whether the driving mode of the vehicle is the second mode. If the result of the determination in step S10 is affirmative, the control process proceeds to step S12. In step S12, the residual capacity SA of the second storage battery 16 is calculated. The residual capacity SA may be represented by, for example, the SOC (i.e., State Of Charge) of the second storage battery 16. When the second storage battery 16 is in an energized state (i.e., charging state or discharging state), the residual capacity SA is calculated using the current integrated value that is the time-integrated value of the charge/discharge current of the second storage battery 16” and paragraph [0055], “In step S14, it is determined whether the residual capacity SA calculated in step S12 is higher than a predetermined capacity threshold Sth. Here, the capacity threshold Sth is a capacity at which the voltage of the second storage battery 16 becomes higher than the threshold voltage Vth. When the residual capacity SA of the second storage battery 16 is lower than the capacity threshold Sth, the voltage of the second storage battery 16 is not higher than the threshold voltage Vth and thus the prerequisite for driving the vehicle in the first mode is not satisfied. Accordingly, if the result of the determination in step S14 is negative, the control process proceeds to steps S50 and S52.”); after the discharge amount reaches the predetermined threshold value (See at least paragraph [0054], “Upon the control process being started, first, in step S10, it is determined whether the driving mode of the vehicle is the second mode. If the result of the determination in step S10 is affirmative, the control process proceeds to step S12. In step S12, the residual capacity SA of the second storage battery 16 is calculated. The residual capacity SA may be represented by, for example, the SOC (i.e., State Of Charge) of the second storage battery 16. When the second storage battery 16 is in an energized state (i.e., charging state or discharging state), the residual capacity SA is calculated using the current integrated value that is the time-integrated value of the charge/discharge current of the second storage battery 16” and paragraph [0055], “In step S14, it is determined whether the residual capacity SA calculated in step S12 is higher than a predetermined capacity threshold Sth. Here, the capacity threshold Sth is a capacity at which the voltage of the second storage battery 16 becomes higher than the threshold voltage Vth. When the residual capacity SA of the second storage battery 16 is lower than the capacity threshold Sth, the voltage of the second storage battery 16 is not higher than the threshold voltage Vth and thus the prerequisite for driving the vehicle in the first mode is not satisfied. Accordingly, if the result of the determination in step S14 is negative, the control process proceeds to steps S50 and S52.”); wherein the discharge amount is an integrated value (See at least paragraph [0054], “Upon the control process being started, first, in step S10, it is determined whether the driving mode of the vehicle is the second mode. If the result of the determination in step S10 is affirmative, the control process proceeds to step S12. In step S12, the residual capacity SA of the second storage battery 16 is calculated. The residual capacity SA may be represented by, for example, the SOC (i.e., State Of Charge) of the second storage battery 16. When the second storage battery 16 is in an energized state (i.e., charging state or discharging state), the residual capacity SA is calculated using the current integrated value that is the time-integrated value of the charge/discharge current of the second storage battery 16.”).
MATSUMOTO and MORITA do not explicitly disclose, however, HASE, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and wherein the predetermined threshold value is set based on a timing at which electric power for completing a predetermined travel in a limp home mode by a driver remains in the second power supply (See at least paragraph [0059], “As one manner of setting the fail operation mode in accordance with the SOC of the electricity storage device, the mode setting unit 102 stops supplying electric power to loads unnecessary for limp-home mode of the electrically-driven vehicle performed by the autonomous driving system”, paragraph [0060], “Stopping the power supply to the loads unnecessary for limp-home mode of the electrically-driven vehicle performed by the autonomous driving system, such as an air-conditioner and an audio device, extends the traveling distance of the evasive maneuver performed by the autonomous driving”, and paragraph [0061], “As one manner of setting the fail operation mode in accordance with the SOC of the electricity storage device, if there is only one electricity storage device in the normal state or if the total amount of the SOC of the electricity storage devices in the normal state is less than a predetermined amount, the mode setting unit 102 stops the vehicle at a place that ensures safety and to which the vehicle can be moved, which is estimated based on the SOC of the electricity storage device or devices in the normal state. If only one electricity storage device is available in the normal state, redundancy is lost, and if that electricity storage device makes a transition to the malfunctioning state, autonomous driving can no longer be continued. If the total amount of the SOC of the electricity storage devices in the normal state is reduced to such an amount that autonomous driving cannot be continued, autonomous driving can no longer be performed even if there is redundancy. Since the electricity storage device is unlikely to cause a mechanical fault and can continuously supply electric power, the autonomous driving is preferably continued under certain conditions. In the above manner, the vehicle is guided to a safer place by permitting autonomous driving until the vehicle is stopped at a place that ensures safety and to which the vehicle can be moved, which is estimated based on the SOC of the electricity storage device or devices in the normal state, or by providing a threshold value at which measures are taken to stop the vehicle before the SOC becomes too low to allow stopping the vehicle at a place that ensures safety.” The system sets a fail operation mode in accordance with the SOC of the electricity storage device, including stopping power supply to loads unnecessary for limp-home mode, thereby extending the traveling distance of the vehicle during limp-home mode operation. The system provides a threshold value at which measures are taken before the SOC becomes too low to continue travel to a safe location, thereby setting a threshold based on the remaining electric power necessary to complete travel in a limp-home mode.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of MATSUMOTO with the teachings of MORITA and HASE such that the power supply system of MATSUMOTO is further configured to utilize a measurement unit configured to measure a discharge amount of the second power supply; until the discharge amount reaches a predetermined threshold value; after the discharge amount reaches the predetermined threshold value, and the discharge amount is an integrated value, as taught by MORITA (See paragraph [0054], [0055].), and utilize a predetermined threshold value is set based on a timing at which electric power for completing a predetermined travel in a limp home mode by a driver remains in the second power supply, as taught by HASE (See paragraph [0059]-[0061].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be determining the state of charge of the storage battery using an integrated value so that the vehicle performs a fail-safe process when an abnormality occurs in the first system, as taught by MORITA (See paragraph [0027].). The motivation for doing so would be continuing autonomous driving as much as possible even if a malfunction occurs in any of the power sources, as taught by HASE (See paragraph [0046].).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666