DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 33 and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Video pixel networks, by Kalchbrenner et al., in view of Attention is all you need, by Vasvani et al.
With respect to claim 21, Kalchbrenner discloses A computer-implemented method comprising:
identifying a partitioning of an initial output video into a set of segments that are indexed according to a particular order, (see page 4, section 3.1, first paragraph, wherein, .encodes each of the first T frames with a CNN encoder... the CNN network teaches partitioning if the input frame in channel slices, in accordance with the structure of the input layer of the CNN, see page 3, first paragraph, wherein, ...color for the prediction of colors is chosen by convention as R,G,B..., teaches an order of the color channels and the channel stack comprises the R, G, B colors, and it follows from the ordering imposed on the set of variables, on Page 3, first paragraph, wherein, ..we choose an ordering according to two criteria...);
processing, using an encoder neural network, a current output video comprising a current representation of the set of segments to generate an encoded conditioning segment, wherein the encoder neural network comprises of the channel stack; and page 1, last paragraph, wherein, predict the following 10 frames.. the predicted frames a fully generated channel stack, being a sequence of such channel stacks and is the output video), as claimed.
However, Kalchbrenner fails to explicitly disclose wherein the encoder neural network comprises
Vasvani wherein the encoder neural network comprises
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to combine the two references as they are analogous because they are solving similar problem of video image analysis and both the references belong to the same assignee. The teachings of Vasvani transformer can be incorporated into Kalchbrenner system (see Kalchbrenner figure 1, CNN), for suggestion, and modifying the system yields superior quality results of the video image analysis (see Vasvani Abstract), for motivation.
Both of the references fail to disclose the padded video. But it is well-known in the art to pad bits, for various reasons (see US 2019/0082204, paragraph 0001). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the effective date of invention to simply utilize the well-known knowledge for padding the video for inputting into a network, this will yield ease of data migration.
With respect to claim 22, combination of Kalchbrenner and Vasvani further discloses wherein the encoder neural network comprises a 3D encoder convolution layer followed by a plurality of encoding self-attention layers, wherein each encoding self-attention layer comprises: an encoder layer-norm layer, a block self-attention layer, and one or more encoder feed-forward layers, (see Vasvani section 3 Model Architecture and figure 1), as claimed.
With respect to claim 23, combination of Kalchbrenner and Vasvani further discloses wherein the decoder neural network comprises a 3D decoder convolution layer followed by a plurality of decoding self-attention layers, wherein each decoding self-attention layer comprises: a decoder layer-norm layer, a masked block self- attention layer, and one or more decoder feed-forward layers, (see Vasvani section 3 Model Architecture and figure 1), as claimed.
With respect to claim 33, combination of Kalchbrenner and Vasvani further discloses wherein the encoder neural network and the decoder neural network are jointly trained, (see Kalchbrenner figure 1, and section 3.1 and 3.2, that teach the encoder and the decoder as part of the VPN; section 5.1, first paragraph, wherein VPNs have 8RMBs in the encoders and 12 RMBs in the decoders train the models for steps with 20 frame sequences predicting ...), as claimed.
With respect to claim 34, combination of Kalchbrenner and Vasvani further discloses wherein processing, using a decoder neural network, the encoded conditioning segment to generate the respective values for the segment comprises: initializing the decoder neural network with pixels having predetermined pixel values from the initial output video. (see Kalchbrenner page 4, section 3.1, first paragraph, wherein encodes each of the first T frames with a CNN encoder the input layer of the CNN initializing the channel slices when prepared for input into the CNN teaches the initialization; and page 1, last paragraph, wherein Moving MNIST given 10 frames of two moving digits the values of the pixels in Moving MNIST are predetermined), as claimed.
Claims 35-37 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections for claims 21-23, because claims 35-37 are claiming subject matter similar to the subject matter claimed in claims 21-23.
Claims 38-40 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections for claims 21-23, because claims 38-40 are claiming subject matter similar to the subject matter claimed in claims 21-23.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,015. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the instant application claims 21-40 is encompassed by the patented claims 1-20.
Conclusion
/VIKKRAM BALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663