CTNF 18/938,784 CTNF 86457 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yoshida (JP2007166803, “Yoshida”, using machine translation from IDS) . Re claim 1, Yoshida discloses a motor, comprising: a stator core 38 that extends in an axial direction of the motor (fig 8, [0062], note: employing figs 17-18 for rejection but has similar structure as fig 8); a coil 39 that is wound around the stator core (fig 8, [0062]); a plurality of terminals configured to be connected to the coil (figs 8 & 17-18, terminals of 116); at least one coolant supply channel that is disposed along an outer periphery of the stator core (figs 17-18, [0140], includes 470, 376 & path over stator that collects at bottom of housing as indicated by OL); and a terminal cooling path 376 that is provided in the coolant supply channel and is configured to supply coolant to the terminals (figs 17-18, [0140-0141] & [0143]). Re claim 2, Yoshida discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the terminal cooling path 376 accommodates the terminals and is disposed so as to allow the coolant to flow among the terminals (figs 17-18). Re claim 3, Yoshida discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the terminal cooling path 376 is disposed so as to supply the coolant to at least one of the stator core 38 or a coil end 39, the coil end being included in the coil and exposed from an end portion of the stator core in the axial direction (figs 8 & 17-18, [0140]). Re claim 4, Yoshida discloses claim 3 as discussed above and further discloses the terminal cooling path 376 includes at least one discharge port 380 configured to discharge the coolant to at least one of the stator core38 or the coil end 39 (figs 17-18, [0140]). Re claim 5, Yoshida discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the terminals are arrayed laterally in a row parallel to a tangent line of an end portion of the stator core 38 that is closest to the terminals (figs 8 & 17-18). Re claim 6, Yoshida discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the at least one coolant supply channel includes two coolant supply channels (figs 17-18, two channels are 470/374 & 380, 470/374 supplies coolant to the terminals & 380 supplies coolant to stator), the two coolant supply channels being disposed at both end sides of the terminals, along an array direction of the terminals (figs 17-18 & below). PNG media_image1.png 316 415 media_image1.png Greyscale Re claim 7, Yoshida discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the stator core 38 is disposed along a rotation axis of the motor (figs 8 & 17), the rotation axis being an axis perpendicular to a vertical direction (figs 8 & 17), and the at least one coolant supply channel being disposed along the axial direction of the stator core 38 (figs 18 & below, at least a portion of coolant supply channel extends along the axial direction or since 376 extends along the axial direction & is part of the coolant supply channel); the terminals are arrayed along a horizontal direction upward from the stator core 38 (figs 8 & 17-18); and the terminal cooling path 376 accommodates the terminals and is disposed so as to allow the coolant to flow among the terminals (figs 8, 17-18 & below, [0140]). PNG media_image2.png 324 550 media_image2.png Greyscale Re claim 8, Yoshida discloses claim 7 as discussed above and further discloses the terminal cooling path 376 includes an end portion extending along a peripheral direction of the stator core (figs 17-18 & below). PNG media_image3.png 324 375 media_image3.png Greyscale Re claim 9, Yoshida discloses claim 7 as discussed above and further discloses the at least one coolant supply channel includes two coolant supply channels along the axial direction of the stator core 38 (figs 17-18 & above for claim 7), two channels are 470/374 & 380, 470/374 supplies coolant to the terminals & 380 supplies coolant to stator; each coolant supply channel positioned along axial direction), the two coolant supply channels are disposed at the same height as each other (fig 17), and the terminal cooling path 376 bridges the two coolant supply channels (figs 17-18). Re claim 10, Yoshida discloses claim 7 as discussed above and further discloses the terminal cooling path 376 is disposed at the same height as the at least one coolant supply channel (figs 17-18). Re claim 11, Yoshida discloses claim 17 as discussed above and further discloses the terminal cooling path 376 includes a recessed or hollow channel that accommodates the terminals and that also is open upward and communicates with the at least one coolant supply channel (fig 17, shows 376 recessed in wall 200 of case 102). Re claim 12, Yoshida discloses claim 11 as discussed above and further discloses the terminal cooling path 376 includes at least one discharge port 380 configured to discharge the coolant to at least one of the stator core 38 or a coil end 39 (figs 17-18, [0140]), the coil end being included in the coil 39 and exposed from an end portion of the stator core 38 in the axial direction (fig 8) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumagai et al. (US20230134155, fig 6, [0078]), Kishimoto et al. (US20220242253, fig 3, [0043]), Sawahata et al. (US20230155453, fig 3) and Nishikawa et al. (JP2018078703, from ids) all read on at least claim 1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIC JOHNSON whose telephone number is (571)270-5715. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:30-5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Seye Iwarere can be reached on (571)270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/938,784 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/938,784 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/938,784 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/938,784 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/938,784 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834