DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “determining, via a controller, a type of characteristic set of each of a plurality of memory objects to be written to one of a plurality of memory devices of a memory system, wherein the type of characteristic set is selected from the group including: an access frequency, a data size, and a type of data, wherein the type of characteristic set indicates one of a key or a value associated with each of the plurality of memory objects, and wherein the type of characteristic set includes whether a memory access includes sequential or non-sequential accesses,” in Lines 2-7. It is unclear as to how a sequential or non-sequential characteristic works in tandem with the type of characteristic set indicating a key data type or value data type, as a sequential/non-sequential characteristic describes the kind of memory access while the data type describes the memory object to be written. It is unclear as to how a memory access being sequential/non-sequential relates to the characteristic set group including: an access frequency, a data size and a type of data. For the purposes of examination, it shall be interpreted that a sequential/non-sequential access is taken in consideration when placing an object.
Claims 19-20 depend upon claim 18 and is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 18, as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Blott et al. (US 2016/0217835 A1) hereinafter Blott et al. in view of Hassan (US 2018/0024821 A1) hereinafter Hassan.
Regarding claim 18, Blott et al. teaches a method, comprising:
determining, via a controller, a type of characteristic set of each of a plurality of memory objects to be written to one of a plurality of memory devices of a memory system, wherein the type of characteristic set is selected from the group including: an access frequency, a data size, and a type of data, wherein the type of characteristic set indicates one of a key or a value associated with each of the plurality of memory objects; and sending each of the plurality of memory objects to the memory system to be stored in one of the plurality of memory devices based on the determined type of characteristic set (data (either as a full data block or a portion of a data block) is routed to a selected memory type based upon access criteria, such as the speed or frequency of access for example Paragraph [0058]. For example, the data accessed or stored in a key-value store is divided into two portions, the portion of the value that consists of multiple page sizes is stored in SSD while the remainder is stored in DRAM Paragraph [0060]).
Blott et al. does not appear to explicitly teach, however, Hassan teaches wherein the type of characteristic set includes whether a memory access includes sequential or non-sequential accesses (objects are placed in a hybrid memory system based on the statistics file which includes data for each object that includes a sequential access count indicating a number of times an object was sequentially accessed and a random access count indicating whether an object is randomly accessed Paragraph [0003]).
The disclosures of Blott et al. and Hassan, hereinafter BH, are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of reading/writing data in a hybrid memory system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of BH before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teachings of Blott et al. by including wherein the type of characteristic set includes whether a memory access includes sequential or non-sequential accesses, as taught by Hassan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include wherein the type of characteristic set includes whether a memory access includes sequential or non-sequential accesses because sequential vs. non-sequential objects benefit from being selectively placed on different types of memory (see [0021] of Hassan).
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BH in further view of Kwon et al. (US 2018/0075236 A1) hereinafter Kwon et al.
Regarding claim 19, BH teaches all of the features with respect to claim 18, as outlined above.
Blott et al. further teaches wherein the plurality of memory devices comprises a first memory device of a first type and a second memory device of a second type (the plurality of memories includes a first memory type 208 and second memory type 212, see Fig. 2), and wherein the method includes: storing, in the first memory device, a first memory object of the plurality of memory objects that is associated with a first type of characteristic set that indicates a key; and storing, in the second memory device, a memory object of the plurality of memory objects that is associated with a type of characteristic set that indicates a value, wherein the second memory device is a NAND memory device (the data accessed or stored in a key-value store is divided into 2 portions, where the value portion that consists of multiple page sizes is stored in the SSD while the remaining key portion is stored in DRAM Paragraphs [0058]-[0060], wherein the SSD is a NAND-based flash device Paragraph [0034]).
BH does not appear to explicitly teach, however, Kwon et al. teaches wherein the first memory device is a three-dimensional (3-D) cross-point memory device (non-volatile memory can be a 3D-Xpoint memory (e.g., 3D MRAM) Paragraph [0115]).
The disclosures of BH and Kwon et al., hereinafter BHK, are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of reading/writing data in a hybrid memory system. Because both BK teach the use of utilizing different types of memory (e.g., SSDs or DRAMs of Blott et al.), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one type of memory for another to achieve the predictable result of availability of key data stored in the particular type of memory as disclosed by Kwon et al., in this case, 3D crosspoint memory (KSR, MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 20, BH teaches all of the features with respect to claim 18, as outlined above.
Blott et al. further teaches wherein the method includes sending the plurality of memory objects to be stored in one of the plurality of memory devices using a particular protocol (various interfaces are used for receiving and outputting data, for example, SSDs can utilize a high speed interface such as SARA, SAS or PCIe Paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
BH does not appear to explicitly teach, however, Kwon et al. teaches wherein those memory objects that are sent to memory devices of the first type are sent using a double-data rate (DDR) protocol (non-volatile memory may input and output data based on the DDR-T interface Paragraph [0115]); and wherein those memory objects that are sent to the memory devices of the second type are sent using a non-volatile memory express (NVME) protocol (data may be sent to the storage devices using a first communication protocol which may be an NVMe protocol Paragraphs [0096], [0107]).
The disclosures of BH and Kwon et al., hereinafter BHK, are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of reading/writing data in a hybrid memory system. Because both BK teach the use of utilizing different types of communication protocols (e.g., SCSI or SATA of Blott et al.), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one type of memory for another to achieve the predictable result of availability of data stored using a particular type of protocol as disclosed by Kwon et al., in this case, DDR and NVMe protocols for the different memory devices (KSR, MPEP 2143).
Double Patenting
Claims 10-13 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,141,465. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the parent application (see right column) teaches the claims of the instant application (see left column). It is noted that while the claims of the parent is a system and the claims of the instant application is an apparatus, the instant application merely applies the teaches to a different technological environment, and it would be obvious to derive the apparatus from a system comprising the apparatus.
Instant Application 18/938,813
US Patent No. 12,141,465
Parent Application 17/127,376
10. An apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of memory devices comprising a first memory device of a first type and a second memory device of second type wherein the first type and the second type are different; and
a memory controller coupled to the plurality of memory devices, wherein the memory controller is configured to determine a type of characteristic set of a plurality of memory objects to be written to one of the first memory device or the second memory device;
wherein the type of characteristic set is selected from the group including: an access frequency, a data size, and a type of data;
wherein, a memory object of the plurality of memory objects is associated with a respective key stored in the first memory device and a respective value stored in the first memory device or the second memory device, wherein a determination of where the value is stored is based on the determined type of characteristic set;
wherein, the respective key indicates a location at which the memory object is stored and the respective value represents data associated with the memory object; and
wherein the respective key and the respective value comprise a respective key-value pair; and
wherein the controller is further configured to:
send the respective values of the plurality of memory objects to one of the first memory device or the second memory device to be stored; and
send the respective keys of the plurality of memory objects to the first memory device; and
wherein the plurality of memory objects are sent to the first memory device using a first protocol and to the second memory device using a different protocol;
wherein a contiguous address space across the first memory device and the second memory device is used for writing each of the plurality of memory objects.
10. A system, comprising:
a host; and
a memory system coupled to the host, the memory system comprising:
a plurality of memory devices, the plurality of memory devices comprising a first memory device configured to communicate in accordance with a double-data rate (DDR) protocol and a second memory device configured to communicate in accordance with a non-volatile memory express (NVME) protocol; and
a controller coupled to the plurality of memory devices, wherein the controller is to: determine a type of characteristic set of a plurality of memory objects to be written to one of the first memory device or the second memory device, wherein:
the type of characteristic set indicates a frequency of access of each of the plurality of memory objects; and
a memory object of the plurality of memory objects is associated with a respective key stored in the first memory device and a respective value stored in the first memory device or the second memory device, wherein a determination of where the value is stored is based on the determined type of characteristic set;
the respective key indicates a location that the memory object is stored and the respective value represents data associated with the memory object; and
the respective key and the respective value comprise a respective key-value pair; and
send the respective values of the plurality of memory objects to one of the first memory device or the second memory device to be stored; and
send the respective keys of the plurality of memory objects to the first memory device;
wherein: an address space for writing each of the plurality of memory objects to in either of the first memory device or the second memory device is a contiguous address space across the first memory device and the second memory device; and
the plurality of memory objects are sent to the first memory device using the DDR protocol and to the second memory device using the NVME protocol.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first memory device of the first type is configured to communicate in accordance with a double-data rate (DDR) protocol, and the second memory device of the second type is configured to communicate in accordance with a non-volatile memory express (NVME) protocol.
10. …
a plurality of memory devices, the plurality of memory devices comprising a first memory device configured to communicate in accordance with a double-data rate (DDR) protocol and a second memory device configured to communicate in accordance with a non-volatile memory express (NVME) protocol; …
12. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the type of characteristic set indicates a frequency of access of each of the plurality of memory objects.
10. …
the type of characteristic set indicates a frequency of access of each of the plurality of memory objects
…
13. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first protocol is a double-data rate (DDR) protocol, and the second protocol is a non-volatile memory express (NVME) protocol.
10. …
the plurality of memory devices comprising a first memory device configured to communicate in accordance with a double-data rate (DDR) protocol and a second memory device configured to communicate in accordance with a non-volatile memory express (NVME) protocol…
16. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein: a first type of characteristic indicates a frequency of access that is greater than a frequency of access for a second type of characteristic set; the host processor is configured to send a memory object associated with the first type of characteristic set to the first memory device, and the first memory device is a cross-point memory device.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein: a first type of characteristic indicates a frequency of access that is greater than a frequency of access for a second type of characteristic set, the host is configured to send a memory object associated with the first type of characteristic set to the first memory device, and the first memory device is a cross-point memory device.
17. The apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the host processor is configured to send a memory object associated with the second type of characteristic set to the second memory device, and the second memory device is a NAND memory device.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein: the host is configured to send a memory object associated with the second type of characteristic set to the second memory device, and the second memory device is a NAND memory device.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,141,465, hereinafter Parent, in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0191882 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the parent application (see right column) teaches the claims of the instant application (see left column).
Instant Application 18/938,813
US Patent No. 12,141,465
(Parent Application 17/127,376)
in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0191882 A1)
15. The apparatus of claim 10, further comprising a host processor coupled to the memory controller.
Parent does not appear to explicitly teach, however, Lee et al. teaches a host processor coupled to the memory controller (host 200 may be implemented as an application processor and is coupled to controller 110 via storage device 100, see Figure 1, [0037]).
The disclosures of Parent and Lee et al., hereinafter PL, are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of data storage in a hybrid memory and/or managing a key-value store.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of PL before them, to modify the teachings of Parent to include the teachings of Lee et al. since both PL teach storing different data portions to different types of memory. Therefore it is applying a known technique (a host processor is coupled to the memory controller of Lee et al.) to a known device of the Parent ready for improvement to yield predictable results (a host processor is coupled to the memory controller of Lee et al.), KSR, MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of the amended claim(s) under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered. Beginning on page 8-9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Blott does not teach . It is argued that Blott describes a key-value store in which two separate portions of the value/data are stored in different memory types, and does not read on the newly claimed feature of “a memory object of the plurality of memory objects is associated with a respective key stored in a first memory device and a respective value stored in the first memory device or a second memory device, wherein a determination of where the respective value is stored is based on the determined type of characteristic set,” of claim 1. Upon further consideration of the Blott reference, Examiner agrees with Applicant that Blott is silent with regards to sending memory objects of a key data type to the non-volatile, first memory device while storing the value corresponding to the key to either the first or second memory device. This feature is claimed in independent claim 10, thus, the Blott reference also fails to teach the entirety of claim 10. Thus, claims 1-3, 6-13 and 15-17 are allowable for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding the rejection of claims 10-13 and 15-17, the newly amended claims are still rejected for Double Patenting with respect to the parent application(s). Refer to the updated mapping as outlined in the table above.
Conclusion
JANE W. BENNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2131
/JANE W BENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139