CTNF 18/938,816 CTNF 82530 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024 and 09/19/2025 have been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 2014/0368723) . Regarding claim 1 , Jung discloses, a camera (Figs. 1-4 and 6-7) comprising: a plurality of lenses (Para. 0068 and see 21, 23, 25, 27 and 29) arranged in an optical axis direction; a lens housing (10, 30, 50) configured to accommodate the plurality of lenses (Para. 0049); and an image sensor (71) comprising an imaging area (Para. 0104-0107), the imaging area comprising a first periphery having a first length (Para. 0100-0101; note, discloses the imaging area has a rectangular shape) and a second periphery having a second length greater than the first length (Para. 0100-0101; note, discloses the imaging area has a rectangular shape), wherein the plurality of lenses comprises effective regions (Para. 0076, 0089-0092 and see 21a, 22a, 23a, 25a, 27a, 29a) through which light passes and non-effective regions (Para. 0078 and 21b, 23b, 25b, 27b, 29) through which the light does not pass, respectively, wherein among the plurality of lenses, a first lens comprises a first protrusion (see 21b) protruding in the optical axis direction, wherein the first protrusion is configured to form at least a portion of the non-effective region (Para. 0078 and see Fig. 3; note, discloses a light shielding film to form an effective region), and wherein the first protrusion is configured to face the non-effective region of a second lens adjacent to the first lens in the optical axis direction among the plurality of lenses (see Figs. 3 and 6). Regarding claim 2 , Jung discloses, the first protrusion is disposed in a direction parallel to a first edge-wise direction of the imaging area (see Fig. 3), and/or wherein the first protrusion is not disposed in a direction parallel to a second edge-wise direction of the imaging area. Regarding claim 3 , Jung discloses, the first protrusion comprises: a first surface facing the non-effective region of the second lens (see annotated Fig. 3 below); a second surface opposite to the first surface (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and side surfaces (see annotated Fig. 3 below) between the first surface and the second surface, wherein at least a portion of the side surfaces comprising inclined surfaces (see annotated Fig. 3 below), and wherein the first protrusion extends at least partially along a circumference of the effective region (see annotated Fig. 3 below). PNG media_image1.png 699 951 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 4 , Jung discloses, a first mask (Para. 0078 and 21b, 22, 23b, 24, 25b, 26, 27b, 28, 29b) disposed between the first protrusion and the non-effective region of the second lens. Regarding claim 5 , Jung discloses, a light absorbing layer disposed on a surface facing the non-effective region of the second lens (Para. 0078 and 21b, 22, 23b, 24, 25b, 26, 27b, 28, 29b). Regarding claim 6 , Jung discloses, the first lens further comprises a first flange (21b, 22) forming at least a portion of the non-effective region of the first lens (Para. 0078), wherein the camera further comprises a second mask (2ab, 22, 30) disposed on the first flange, and wherein the second lens further comprises a second flange (23b, 24, 30) forming at least a portion of the non-effective region of the second lens. Regarding claim 7 , Jung discloses, the first lens further comprises a second protrusion protruding in the optical axis direction (see annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein the second protrusion forms at least a portion of the non-effective region (see annotated Fig. 3 below), and wherein the second protrusion is configured to face the non-effective region of the second lens (see annotated Fig. 3 below). PNG media_image2.png 725 984 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 8 , Jung discloses, the second protrusion is disposed opposite to the first protrusion in a direction parallel to the first edge-wise direction of the imaging area (see annotated Fig. 3 above), and/or wherein the second protrusion is not disposed in a direction parallel to the second edge-wise direction of the imaging area. Regarding claim 9 , Jung discloses, a size of the imaging area is substantially equal to or smaller than a size of the effective region of the first lens (see Figs. 3 and 6). Regarding claim 10 , Jung discloses, the lens housing comprises: a first body portion surrounding the first lens and having a first outside diameter (see 50); a second body portion surrounding the second lens and having a second outside diameter smaller than the first outside diameter (see 30); a shoulder portion between the first body portion and the second body portion (see Fig. 3); and a distance between the image sensor and the shoulder portion is substantially equal to or smaller than a distance between the image sensor and the second lens (see Fig. 3). Regarding claim 11 , Jung discloses, a size of the effective region of the first lens is substantially equal to or greater than a size of the effective region of the second lens (see Figs. 3 and 6). Regarding claim 12 , Jung discloses, an electronic device comprising: a housing (10, 30, 50) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (see Figs. 1-3); a display disposed on the first surface (Para. 0060); and a camera (Para. 0002-0004) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) disposed on the first surface. Regarding claim 13 , Jung discloses, the lens housing is disposed so as not to contact the display (Para. 0060). Regarding claim 14 , Jung discloses, the display is disposed at least partially over the lens housing (Para. 0060) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2014/0368723) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0256059) . Jung remains as applied to claim 1 above . Furthermore, Jung discloses, an electronic device (Figs. 1-4 and 6-7) comprising: a housing (10, 30, 50) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (see Figs. 3 and 6); and a camera (Para. 0002-0004) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) disposed on the second surface. Jung does not explicitly disclose the camera comprises a plurality of cameras. Cheng teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an electronic device that it would have been desirable to make the camera comprise a plurality of cameras (Para. 0152 and see 7a-d of Figs. 32-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the camera comprises a plurality of cameras as taught by the electronic device of Cheng in the electronic device of Jung since Cheng teaches it is known to include this feature in an electronic device for the purpose of providing an electronic device with high image quality and enhanced field of view . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamamoto et al. (US 2021/0211595), Chou et al. (US 2021/0088698) and Yokoyama (US 2022/0179289) discloses a camera comprising a plurality of lenses, a lens housing, an image sensor comprising an imaging area, wherein the plurality of lenses comprises effective regions through which light passes and non-effective regions through which the light does not pass, respectively . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAWAYNE A PINKNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-1305. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Pinping Sun can be reached at 571-270-1284. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/15/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/938,816 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872