DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO 2020/207416 A1).
In regard to claim 10, note Chen discloses a meeting device used for conducting a remote conference, the meeting device comprising an imaging device having an optical axis directed in opposite directions with respect to a horizontal direction, the imaging device having at least two lenses, each lens of the at least two lenses having an angle of view of 180 degrees or more and capable of imaging at an angle of view of 360 degrees in the horizontal direction (paragraphs 0040, 0045, and figure 1 & 5: 12, 123; the imaging device 12 includes two lenses 123, each having a 180 degree angle of view), a protrusion portion disposed above the at least two lenses and projecting outward from a position of upper surfaces of the at least two lenses (paragraph 0043, and figure 1: 121, 123; the upper end of the main body 121 includes a protrusion that projects outward above the two lenses 123), and a body portion disposed under the imaging device and having a microphone and a speaker (paragraph 0040, and figures 1, 2 & 5: 11, 16, 1D; the lower housing comprises a body having a microphone 16 and a speaker 1D).
In regard to claim 11, note Chen discloses that the protrusion portion has a circular shape when viewed from above, and the imaging device has at least two recesses in a circumferential direction of the protrusion portion in the horizontal direction, and the at least two lenses are disposed in corresponding recesses of the at least two recesses, respectively (paragraph 0043, and figures 1-2: 121, 123; the upper end of the main body 121 includes a protrusion having a circular shape, and two recesses 122 that correspond to the respective lenses 123).
In regard to claim 12, note Chen discloses that when viewed from above, a radial size of the imaging device is smaller than a radial size of the body portion (figures 1-2: 12, 11; the imaging device 12 has a smaller radial size than the main body 11).
In regard to claim 13, note Chen discloses that the protrusion portion has a side surface with an inward-curving shape (figures 1, 5 & 8: 122; the inner surface 122 has an inward-curving shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2020/207416 A1), in view of Chakravarty et al. (US Pub. 2023/0057103).
In regard to claim 14, note the primary reference of Chen discloses a meeting device, as discussed with respect to claim 13 above. Therefore, it can be seen that the primary reference fails to explicitly disclose that the protrusion portion limits an incident angle of light to an angle greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 67 degrees.
In analogous art, Chakravarty discloses an image capturing device that includes a protrusion portion that limits an incident angle of light to an angle greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 67 degrees (paragraphs 0040-0042, and figure 3: 301, 305; the upper hood 301 is adjustable based on the maximum desired viewing angle of each of the lenses, therefore, this is considered to include limiting the incident angle of light to an angle greater than or equal to approximately 30 degrees and less than or equal to approximately 67 degrees in order to maximize the desired viewing angle). Chakravarty teaches that the use of the protrusion portion limiting an incident angle of light to an angle greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 67 degrees is preferred in order to provide overhead coverage while maximizing the desired viewing angle (paragraphs 0040-0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference such that the protrusion portion limits an incident angle of light to an angle greater than or equal to 30 degrees and less than or equal to 67 degrees, in order to provide overhead coverage while maximizing the desired viewing angle, as suggested by Chakravarty.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 1, the reasons for allowance of the claims is clear from the written record of prosecution. Attention is specifically drawn to the amendment and arguments filed by the applicant on March 2, 2026. See pages 6-7 of the amendment.
As for claim 8, the reasons for allowance of the claims is clear from the written record of prosecution. Attention is specifically drawn to the amendment and arguments filed by the applicant on March 2, 2026. See pages 6-7 of the amendment.
As for claim 9, the reasons for allowance of the claims is clear from the written record of prosecution. Attention is specifically drawn to the amendment and arguments filed by the applicant on March 2, 2026. See pages 6-7 of the amendment.
As for claims 3 and 5-7, the reasons for allowance of these claims is due at least to their dependency upon allowable claim 1.
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638