DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed November 17, 2025 in which claim 1 was modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (US 5,854,324) in view of JPH04351647 (JP ‘647 appears on the current PTO-892).
Tajima teaches a polyacetal resin composition comprising a polyacetal resin, 1-100 parts by wt based on 100 parts by wt of the polyacetal resin of a modified olefinic polymer modified with at least one member selected from the group consisting of an unsaturated carboxylic acid or anhydride; and a lubricant (see abstract; col. 1, lines 4-12). The olefinic polymer may be a homopolymer of ethylene and the unsaturated acid maybe selected from acrylic acid and methacrylic acid (see col. 2, lines 40-51 and 64-65); col. 3, lines 4-8 and 19-22). The lubricant may be a natural wax, hydrocarbon-based wax, higher fatty acid, higher fatty acid ester, higher fatty acid amide and higher fatty acid salt (metallic) (see col. 4, lines 31-64). The lubricant is added in an amount from 0.1 to 20 parts by wt based on 100 parts by weight of the polymers (see col. 7, lines 54-56). A slide member is produced from the resin composition (see claim 14).
Tajima meets the limitations of the claims other than the presence of an acid-modified ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene resin (UHMW polyethylene). However, JP teaches this limitation.
JP teaches a method for producing a resin composition comprising polyacetal and acid-modified UHMW polyethylene (see page 1, clams). JP teaches a sliding property improver such as UHMW polyethylene may be modified with unsaturated carboxylic acids and derivatives thereof (para 0005). JP teaches that its invention improves sliding properties of molded products (see para 0004). JP teaches adding 2 to 30 parts by wt of the acid modified UHMW polyethylene to the polyacetal resin (see paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add acid modified UHMW polyethylene to the polyacetal resin because JP teaches that the polymer improves the slidability of the polyacetal, which is a property that Tajima desires.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the secondary reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended claim 1. This amendment required a new search in which JP H04351647 was found. As stated above the combination of Tajima and JP ‘647 renders obvious the claimed resin composition for a sliding member.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 s 18938888/20260307