DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,346. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are drawn to an IAB node that controls transmission power in a wireless communications system. Further, the claims recite language which is directed to an obvious variant of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chopra et al. (Chopra), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0045645.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Chopra discloses a method performed by an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (with an inherent memory and processor) in a wireless system (network node 106 can be part of a integrated access and backhaul network where multiple nodes are connected to each other, providing backhaul and access communications to each other, while simultaneously or concurrently being connected to local user equipment (UE) devices (e.g., UE 102 and 104).) (0031), comprising: transmitting, to a parent node (donor node), information on a desired backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment (inner loop power control embodiments); transmitting, to the parent node, information on a specific time resource configuration, to which the information on a desired backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment applies; and based on the information on a desired backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment, receiving, from the parent node, a backhaul downlink signal (In another embodiment, the closed loop power control can be performed via inner-loop power control where the donor node provides further adjustments to the value set by the outer-loop control. Unlike the outer-loop which provides the relative value, the inner-loop power control can be an iterative step up and step down command that iteratively adjusts the power level of the uplink transmission from the relay node.) (0017); (the DL backhaul transmission is performed by the DU-f of the parent node whereas the UL access transmission is performed by a UE-f of a child node or a UE.) (0046); see figures 7 and 8.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Chopra discloses a method performed by a parent node (donor node) (with an inherent memory and processor) in a wireless system, the method comprising: receiving, from an IAB node, information on a desired backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment; receiving, from the IAB node, information on a specific time resource configuration, to which the information on a desired backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment applies; and based on the information on a desired backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment, transmitting, to the IAB node, a backhaul downlink signal (In another embodiment, the closed loop power control can be performed via inner-loop power control where the donor node provides further adjustments to the value set by the outer-loop control. Unlike the outer-loop which provides the relative value, the inner-loop power control can be an iterative step up and step down command that iteratively adjusts the power level of the uplink transmission from the relay node.) (0017); (the DL backhaul transmission is performed by the DU-f of the parent node whereas the UL access transmission is performed by a UE-f of a child node or a UE.) (0046); (see figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, Chopra discloses wherein a plurality of time resources where the information on a desired backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment applies are indicated via higher layer signaling (see network topology in figures 2 and 3, 0042).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, Chopra discloses receiving, from the parent node, information associated with backhaul downlink Tx power adjustment (The backhaul link and the access link can therefore be multiplexed in the fowling manner: 1) Time Division Multiplexing: The access link and the backhaul link are time multiplexed with each other. This implies that UE stack 306 and the GNB stack 308 are not active simultaneously; 2) Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM): The access link and the backhaul link are active at the same time but on different frequency resources, e.g. on separate CC or on separate PRB on the same CC; 3) Space Division Multiplexing (SDM): The access link and the backhaul link are active at the same time on the same frequency resources.) (0042) (see also 0017).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Chopra discloses receiving, from the parent node, information associated with multiplexing mode of the IAB node (The backhaul link and the access link can therefore be multiplexed in the fowling manner: 1) Time Division Multiplexing: The access link and the backhaul link are time multiplexed with each other. This implies that UE stack 306 and the GNB stack 308 are not active simultaneously; 2) Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM): The access link and the backhaul link are active at the same time but on different frequency resources, e.g. on separate CC or on separate PRB on the same CC; 3) Space Division Multiplexing (SDM): The access link and the backhaul link are active at the same time on the same frequency resources. The spatial multiplexing can further be divided in to the two following cases: a) Intra Panel SDM: The access and backhaul use the same panel but different spatial layers; b) Inter Panel SDM: The access and backhaul use different panels. In an embodiment, the power control management system disclosed herein can apply when the UE stack and GNB stack are using FDM or SDM as the resources may overlap with each other in time, and reducing the power differences can improve AGC and overall throughput.) (0042) (see also 0031).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, Chopra discloses based on the information associated with multiplexing mode of the IAB node, receiving simultaneously backhaul downlink signals and backhaul uplink signals, in non-overlapping frequency resources or in overlapping frequency resources (The backhaul link and the access link can therefore be multiplexed in the fowling manner: 1) Time Division Multiplexing: The access link and the backhaul link are time multiplexed with each other. This implies that UE stack 306 and the GNB stack 308 are not active simultaneously; 2) Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM): The access link and the backhaul link are active at the same time but on different frequency resources, e.g. on separate CC or on separate PRB on the same CC; 3) Space Division Multiplexing (SDM): The access link and the backhaul link are active at the same time on the same frequency resources. The spatial multiplexing can further be divided in to the two following cases: a) Intra Panel SDM: The access and backhaul use the same panel but different spatial layers; b) Inter Panel SDM: The access and backhaul use different panels. In an embodiment, the power control management system disclosed herein can apply when the UE stack and GNB stack are using FDM or SDM as the resources may overlap with each other in time, and reducing the power differences can improve AGC and overall throughput.) (0042) (see also 0031).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NAM et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0059879 discloses dynamic timing adjustment for new radio IAB node.
LIU et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0168728 discloses a power control method and apparatus.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646