Response to Amendment
In the response filed 01/28/2026, applicant amended claims 1, 6 and 10. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 and 14-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Claims Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While they are moot as being related to amended subject matter, they will be addressed briefly in this section and mapped below.
Along with the details of paragraph [0106], FIG. 6A is reproduced below with annotations explaining the examiner’s interpretation of how the data is interleaved with respect to the FIFO orientation of the multiplexer. It is believed that this configuration in Thirumalai still addresses the newly added material insofar as the rankings are for the particular packets or chunks that are the rankings that tie the colors together (i.e., Y, Co, Cg) for a given picture. Therefore, they are fed in sequentially based on this ranking, which is adjacent by nature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thirumalai et al., (US 2017/0359583 A1) referred to as THIRUMALAI hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, THIRUMALAI shows an encoding method (Paragraph [0007], 'display stream compression'), comprising:
encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0008] discloses encoding video data based on maximum syntax element size into multiple substreams.);
encoding the plurality of syntax elements to obtain a plurality of substreams, wherein each substream comprises at least one data packet (Paragraph [0008] wherein encoded substreams are further encoded into FIFO buffers.); and
interleaving a plurality of data packets comprised in the plurality of substreams into a bitstream based on target values of the plurality of data packets, wherein a target value of the target values represents an encoding ranking of a target picture block corresponding to a data packet of the plurality of data packets (Paragraph [0008] discloses multiplexing (i.e., interleaving) the plurality of substreams according to a FIFO ranking system.),
and wherein data packets having similar target values are interleaved together, such that data packets corresponding to a same picture block or to adjacent picture blocks are adjacent in the bitstream (See FIG. 6A and paragraph [0106] as explained above.).
Regarding claim 2, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein the interleaving a plurality of data packets comprised in the plurality of substreams into a bitstream based on target values of the plurality of data packets comprises: interleaving the plurality of data packets into the bitstream in ascending order of the target values (Paragraph [0106] discloses the operation which dictates the FIFO ordering of target values that are given in a specific order.).
Regarding claim 3, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein the target picture block is one of one or more picture blocks corresponding to data comprised in the data packet (Paragraph [0008] shows wherein a block is the item of interest with respect to encoding and implementing the FIFO orientation.).
4. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 5, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet (See FIGs. 13-19 for various demonstrations of labels and data contained within multiplexed streams.).
Regarding claim 6, THIRUMALAI shows a decoding method, comprising:
obtaining a bitstream, wherein the bitstream is formed by interleaving a plurality of data packets based on target values of the plurality of data packets, and a target value of the target values indicates an encoding ranking of a target picture block corresponding to a data packet of the plurality of data packets; obtaining the plurality of data packets based on the bitstream; decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements; and restoring media content based on the plurality of syntax elements (See FIG. 8, corresponding text in the detailed description and the above teaching with respect to claim that essentially 'undoes' the encoding method.) ,
and wherein data packets having similar target values are interleaved together, such that data packets corresponding to a same picture block or to adjacent picture blocks are adjacent in the bitstream (See FIG. 6A and paragraph [0106] as explained above.).
Regarding claim 7, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 6, wherein the bitstream is formed by interleaving the plurality of data packets in ascending order of the target values of the plurality of data packets (Paragraph [0106] discloses the operation which dictates the FIFO ordering of target values that are given in a specific order.).
Regarding claim 8, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 6, wherein the restoring media content based on the plurality of syntax elements comprises: dequantizing the plurality of syntax elements to obtain a plurality of residuals; and predicting and reconstructing the plurality of residuals to restore the media content (Paragraphs [0077]-[0078] for discussion about the role residuals play in prediction and how they are obtained.).
9. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 10, THIRUMALAI shows an encoding apparatus (Paragraph [0007], 'display stream compression'), comprising:
at least one processor (Abstract); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (Abstract):
encode a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0008] discloses encoding video data based on maximum syntax element size into multiple substreams.);
encode the plurality of syntax elements to obtain a plurality of substreams, wherein each substream comprises at least one data packet; (Paragraph [0008] wherein encoded substreams are further encoded into FIFO buffers.) and
interleave a plurality of data packets comprised in the plurality of substreams into a bitstream based on target values of the plurality of data packets, wherein a target value of the target values represents an encoding ranking of a target picture block corresponding to a data packet of the plurality of data packets (Paragraph [0008] discloses multiplexing (i.e., interleaving) the plurality of substreams according to a FIFO ranking system.) ,
and wherein data packets having similar target values are interleaved together, such that data packets corresponding to a same picture block or to adjacent picture blocks are adjacent in the bitstream (See FIG. 6A and paragraph [0106] as explained above.).
Regarding claim 11, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: interleave the plurality of data packets into the bitstream in ascending order of the target values (Paragraph [0106] discloses the operation which dictates the FIFO ordering of target values that are given in a specific order.).
Regarding claim 12, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the target picture block is one of one or more picture blocks corresponding to data comprised in the data packet (Paragraph [0008] shows wherein a block is the item of interest with respect to encoding and implementing the FIFO orientation.).
13. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 14, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet (See FIGs. 13-19 for various demonstrations of labels and data contained within multiplexed streams.).
Regarding claim 15, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein the encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: predicting the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantizing the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 16, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 2, wherein the encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: predicting the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantizing the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 17, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 3, wherein the encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: predicting the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantizing the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 18, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 6, wherein each of the data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet, and wherein the decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: sending, based on identification information of the plurality of data packets, the plurality of data packets to a plurality of entropy decoders for decoding, to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (FIG. 6B, 165A-C shows the demultiplexed/deinterleaved substreams being sent to entropy decoders in the order of operations.).
Regarding claim 19, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 7, wherein each of the data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet, and wherein the decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: sending, based on identification information of the plurality of data packets, the plurality of data packets to a plurality of entropy decoders for decoding, to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (FIG. 6B, 165A-C shows the demultiplexed/deinterleaved substreams being sent to entropy decoders in the order of operations.).
Regarding claim 20, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 8, wherein each of the data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet, and wherein the decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: sending, based on identification information of the plurality of data packets, the plurality of data packets to a plurality of entropy decoders for decoding, to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (FIG. 6B, 165A-C shows the demultiplexed/deinterleaved substreams being sent to entropy decoders in the order of operations.).
Regarding claim 21, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: predict the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantize the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078].
Regarding claim 22, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: predict the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantize the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078].
Regarding claim 23, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: predict the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantize the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
JUSTIN W. RIDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/Justin W Rider/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486