DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 06/08/2026, applicant amended claims 1, 6 and 10. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 and 14-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Claims Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102
With respect to the remarks regarding the rejections, they have been considered further and in greater detail and upon further review, have been determined to be not persuasive and taught by Thirumalai. The following will be provided to supplement the rejection provided below.
With respect to the limitation “wherein the target value indicates a quantity of encoded picture blocks processed before the target picture block and is recorded by a block count queue when the data packet is generated,” the cited art teaches the claimed subject matter at least by disclosure of the same underlying block-based multiplexing and buffering mechanics.
The art expressly describes an encoding pipeline in which picture blocks are encoded into syntax elements, the syntax elements are encoded into substreams, and the resulting substream data is multiplexed into a bitstream according to an ordering mechanism driven by packet-level state. In particular, the art discloses that substream muxing is coordinated through block timing, block indices, request-time FIFOs, balance FIFO fullness states, and a demultiplexer model that tracks encoder/decoder packet availability and ordering. See, for example, the teachings regarding encoder-side queueing and request timing, including the use of block-index progression and FIFO-based state tracking for mux word generation and placement. These disclosures evidence that the encoder maintains information representing how many picture blocks have been processed and uses that information to control generation and ordering of data packets in the bitstream.
Further, the art teaches that packets/mux words are generated in a sequence tied to the progress of block encoding and are inserted when the corresponding substream buffer state and queue state indicate readiness. This is functionally equivalent to recording a block-count value when the packet is generated and using that value to govern subsequent interleaving. Although the art may not employ the exact phrase “block count queue,” it expressly discloses FIFO-type structures and request-time storage that perform the same role: storing order-related block processing information used at packet generation time. The claimed target value therefore corresponds to the block-processing count reflected in the cited block-index/FIFO/request-time mechanisms.
Accordingly, the limitation is taught by the art because the cited disclosure expressly describes:
tracking the count/progress of encoded picture blocks,
storing that order-related information in queue/FIFO structures, and
using that information when generating and interleaving data packets into the bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thirumalai et al., (US 2017/0359583 A1) referred to as THIRUMALAI hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, THIRUMALAI shows an encoding method (Paragraph [0007], 'display stream compression'), comprising:
encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0008] discloses encoding video data based on maximum syntax element size into multiple substreams.);
encoding the plurality of syntax elements to obtain a plurality of substreams, wherein each substream comprises at least one data packet (Paragraph [0008] wherein encoded substreams are further encoded into FIFO buffers.); and
interleaving a plurality of data packets comprised in the plurality of substreams into a bitstream based on target values of the plurality of data packets, wherein a target value of the target values represents an encoding ranking of a target picture block corresponding to a data packet of the plurality of data packets (Paragraph [0008] discloses multiplexing (i.e., interleaving) the plurality of substreams according to a FIFO ranking system.),
wherein the target value indicates a quantity of encoded picture blocks processed before the target picture block (Paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0134]-[0136] and [0141]-[0149] uses block timing, block indices, and initial delay based on prior blocks processed, which is a functional analogue.) and is recorded by a block count queue when the data packet is generated (Paragraphs [0142]–[0149], [0153]–[0158] teaches storing request times in FIFO structures, which is functionally equivalent to queue count for purposes of invention.),
and wherein data packets corresponding to a same picture block or to adjacent picture blocks are adjacent in the bitstream (See FIG. 6A and paragraph [0106] as explained above.).
Regarding claim 2, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein the interleaving a plurality of data packets comprised in the plurality of substreams into a bitstream based on target values of the plurality of data packets comprises: interleaving the plurality of data packets into the bitstream in ascending order of the target values (Paragraph [0106] discloses the operation which dictates the FIFO ordering of target values that are given in a specific order.).
Regarding claim 3, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein the target picture block is one of one or more picture blocks corresponding to data comprised in the data packet (Paragraph [0008] shows wherein a block is the item of interest with respect to encoding and implementing the FIFO orientation.).
4. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 5, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet (See FIGs. 13-19 for various demonstrations of labels and data contained within multiplexed streams.).
Regarding claim 6, THIRUMALAI shows a decoding method, comprising:
obtaining a bitstream, wherein the bitstream is formed by interleaving a plurality of data packets based on target values of the plurality of data packets, and a target value of the target values indicates an encoding ranking of a target picture block corresponding to a data packet of the plurality of data packets; obtaining the plurality of data packets based on the bitstream; decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements; and restoring media content based on the plurality of syntax elements (See FIG. 8, corresponding text in the detailed description and the above teaching with respect to claim that essentially 'undoes' the encoding method.) ,
wherein the target value indicates a quantity of encoded picture blocks processed before the target picture block (Paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0134]-[0136] and [0141]-[0149] uses block timing, block indices, and initial delay based on prior blocks processed, which is a functional analogue.) and is recorded by a block count queue when the data packet is generated (Paragraphs [0142]–[0149], [0153]–[0158] teaches storing request times in FIFO structures, which is functionally equivalent to queue count for purposes of invention.),
and wherein data packets corresponding to a same picture block or to adjacent picture blocks are adjacent in the bitstream (See FIG. 6A and paragraph [0106] as explained above.).
Regarding claim 7, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 6, wherein the bitstream is formed by interleaving the plurality of data packets in ascending order of the target values of the plurality of data packets (Paragraph [0106] discloses the operation which dictates the FIFO ordering of target values that are given in a specific order.).
Regarding claim 8, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 6, wherein the restoring media content based on the plurality of syntax elements comprises: dequantizing the plurality of syntax elements to obtain a plurality of residuals; and predicting and reconstructing the plurality of residuals to restore the media content (Paragraphs [0077]-[0078] for discussion about the role residuals play in prediction and how they are obtained.).
9. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 10, THIRUMALAI shows an encoding apparatus (Paragraph [0007], 'display stream compression'), comprising:
at least one processor (Abstract); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (Abstract):
encode a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0008] discloses encoding video data based on maximum syntax element size into multiple substreams.);
encode the plurality of syntax elements to obtain a plurality of substreams, wherein each substream comprises at least one data packet; (Paragraph [0008] wherein encoded substreams are further encoded into FIFO buffers.) and
interleave a plurality of data packets comprised in the plurality of substreams into a bitstream based on target values of the plurality of data packets, wherein a target value of the target values represents an encoding ranking of a target picture block corresponding to a data packet of the plurality of data packets (Paragraph [0008] discloses multiplexing (i.e., interleaving) the plurality of substreams according to a FIFO ranking system.) ,
wherein the target value indicates a quantity of encoded picture blocks processed before the target picture block (Paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0134]-[0136] and [0141]-[0149] uses block timing, block indices, and initial delay based on prior blocks processed, which is a functional analogue.) and is recorded by a block count queue when the data packet is generated (Paragraphs [0142]–[0149], [0153]–[0158] teaches storing request times in FIFO structures, which is functionally equivalent to queue count for purposes of invention.),
and wherein data packets corresponding to a same picture block or to adjacent picture blocks are adjacent in the bitstream (See FIG. 6A and paragraph [0106] as explained above.).
Regarding claim 11, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: interleave the plurality of data packets into the bitstream in ascending order of the target values (Paragraph [0106] discloses the operation which dictates the FIFO ordering of target values that are given in a specific order.).
Regarding claim 12, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the target picture block is one of one or more picture blocks corresponding to data comprised in the data packet (Paragraph [0008] shows wherein a block is the item of interest with respect to encoding and implementing the FIFO orientation.).
13. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 14, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet (See FIGs. 13-19 for various demonstrations of labels and data contained within multiplexed streams.).
Regarding claim 15, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 1, wherein the encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: predicting the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantizing the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 16, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 2, wherein the encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: predicting the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantizing the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 17, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 3, wherein the encoding a plurality of picture blocks of media content to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: predicting the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantizing the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 18, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 6, wherein each of the data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet, and wherein the decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: sending, based on identification information of the plurality of data packets, the plurality of data packets to a plurality of entropy decoders for decoding, to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (FIG. 6B, 165A-C shows the demultiplexed/deinterleaved substreams being sent to entropy decoders in the order of operations.).
Regarding claim 19, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 7, wherein each of the data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet, and wherein the decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: sending, based on identification information of the plurality of data packets, the plurality of data packets to a plurality of entropy decoders for decoding, to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (FIG. 6B, 165A-C shows the demultiplexed/deinterleaved substreams being sent to entropy decoders in the order of operations.).
Regarding claim 20, THIRUMALAI shows the method according to claim 8, wherein each of the data packets carries identification information, and the identification information indicates a substream corresponding to the data packet, and wherein the decoding the plurality of data packets to obtain a plurality of syntax elements comprises: sending, based on identification information of the plurality of data packets, the plurality of data packets to a plurality of entropy decoders for decoding, to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (FIG. 6B, 165A-C shows the demultiplexed/deinterleaved substreams being sent to entropy decoders in the order of operations.).
Regarding claim 21, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: predict the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantize the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078].
Regarding claim 22, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: predict the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantize the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078].
Regarding claim 23, THIRUMALAI shows the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to: predict the plurality of picture blocks of the media content to obtain a plurality of pieces of predicted data (Paragraphs [0076]-[0077]); and
quantize the plurality of pieces of predicted data to obtain the plurality of syntax elements (Paragraph [0078]).
Conclusion
JUSTIN W. RIDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/Justin W Rider/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486