DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 2009/0133734).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses a thermoelectric conversion apparatus in Figures 1-2, comprising:
a power generator (thermoelectric elements 22) comprising a first end face and a second end face opposite to each other (top and bottom end faces) (abstract, Figures 1-2, [48] and [58]);
lead terminals (lead electrodes 32, [58], [64]), both the first end face and the second end face of the power generator being provided with the lead terminals (As shown in Figures 1-2, the lead electrodes extend from both the top and bottom faces of the thermoelectric device);
in a case where there is a temperature difference between the first end face and the second end face of the power generator, the power generator outputs electric energy through the lead terminals (32) disposed on the first end face and the second end face of the power generator ([58]); and
a supporter (double cylindrical support unit 41) configured to support and fix the power generator (thermoelectric elements 22) (Figures 1-2 and [48]).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the power generator is a hollow columnar structure (Figures 1 and 5A and [48], tube reads on a “hollow columnar structure”).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the supporter comprises a first hollow columnar structure, and the power generator is located on a surface of the first hollow columnar structure (Figures 1 and 5A and [48], tube reads on a “hollow columnar structure”).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi additionally discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the supporter (doubled cylindrical support unit 41) comprises a first hollow columnar structure (inner tube 42) and a second hollow columnar structure (outer tube 43), which are coaxially arranged and have different radii (Figure 1 and [48]-[49]), and the power generator (22) is located between the first hollow columnar structure (42) and the second (43) hollow columnar structure (Figures 1-2 and [48]).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the supporter is a case, and an accommodating space is formed in the case; and the power generator is disposed on a surface of the case (The double cylindrical support unit (41) includes an inner (42) and outer tube (43) which form a tubular case with the power generator inside an accommodating space inside the case and on a surface inside the case, Figures 1-2 and [48]-[49]).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the case (double cylindrical support unit 41) comprises a plurality of side surfaces, and at least one of the plurality of side surfaces of the case is provided with the power generator (inner and outer surfaces of the cylindrical support unit read on “a plurality of side surfaces” and the power generator is provided on the inner surfaces).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the power generator is attached to an inner side surface or an outer side surface of the case (Figures 1-2, the power generator is attached to the inner side surfaces of the case).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the first end face of the power generator is a hot end face, the second end face of the power generator is a cold end face ([58] and [65], there is a temperature difference between the end faces of the power generator), the first end face of the power generator is disposed facing the accommodating space, and the second end face of the power generator is disposed away from the accommodating space (Figures 1-2, the thermoelectric power generator is disposed in the accommodating space and thus the first end face is necessarily disposed facing the accommodating space. Further, it is noted that the “accommodating space” can be any portion of the space between the inner and outer cylindrical support units and can be defined to satisfy the claim limitations.).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the lead terminals disposed on the first end face and the second end face are electrically connected to a power-consuming device for providing electrical signals to the power-consuming device ([58], the lead terminals are connected to external loads to provide power to external loads).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi additionally discloses that the power generator comprises a plurality of sub-power generators arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the supporter, and connected in parallel or in series through conductors ([16], [23] and Figures 2 and 5A-B).
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima et al. (US 2014/0338716).
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima discloses a thermoelectric conversion apparatus in Figure 1, comprising:
a power generator (TE material 2 between two electrodes 3, 4) comprising a first end face (top end face) and a second end face (bottom end face) opposite to each other (Figures 1-2 and [30]);
lead terminals (7), both the first end face and the second end face of the power generator being provided with the lead terminals (Figures 1-2 and [39]);
in a case where there is a temperature difference between the first end face and the second end face of the power generator, the power generator outputs electric energy through the lead terminals (7) disposed on the first end face and the second end face of the power generator ([39] and [50]); and
a supporter (substrate 11) configured to support and fix the power generator ([29] and Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Nakajima discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Nakajima additionally discloses that a material of the power generator is a semiconductor material comprising bismuth telluride ([31] and [52]); and a material of the lead terminals is a conductive metal ([30]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2009/0133734), as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Jinushi et al. (US 2014/0311543).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi does not explicitly disclose that the supporter is provided with a plurality of through holes penetrating through the supporter along a wall thickness direction of the supporter.
Jinushi discloses a thermoelectric device in Figure 1 comprising a supporter (13) that is provided with a plurality of through holes (openings for lead wires 149) penetrating through the supporter along a wall thickness direction of the supporter in order to facilitate connection to lead terminals (149) and current extraction from the device ([50]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a plurality of through holes penetrating through the supporter along a wall thickness direction of the supporter in the device of Takahashi, as taught by Jinushi, in order to facilitate connection to lead terminals and current extraction from the device (Jinushi, [50]).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2009/0133734), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chintala et al. (US 2020/0388739).
Regarding claims 13-15, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi does not disclose an energy storage module, wherein two input terminals of the energy storage module are electrically connected to the lead terminals disposed on the second end face and the first end face respectively, and the energy storage module is configured to store the electric energy output from the power generator, a voltage stabilizer, wherein two input terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to the lead terminals disposed on the first end face and the second end face respectively, and two output terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to the two input terminals of the energy storage module correspondingly and a transformer, wherein the two input terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to the lead terminals disposed on the first end face and the second end face respectively, the two output terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to two input terminals of the transformer respectively, and two output terminals of the transformer are electrically connected to the two input terminals of the energy storage module correspondingly.
Chintala discloses a thermoelectric power generator device (102) comprising an energy storage module (supercapacitor unit 106), wherein two input terminals of the energy storage module are electrically connected to the thermoelectric device ([28]), and the energy storage module is configured to store the electric energy output from the power generator ([28]), a voltage stabilizer (DC booster 104 which regulates the voltage, [20]-[21] and [26]-[27]), wherein two input terminals of the voltage stabilizer (104) are electrically connected to the thermoelectric device (102) (Figures 1 and 4 and [20]-[21] and [26]-[27]), and two output terminals of the voltage stabilizer (104) are electrically connected to the two input terminals of the energy storage module (106) correspondingly (Figures 1 and 4 and [20]-[21] and [26]-[27]) and a transformer (step down DC converter 202, [36]), wherein the two input terminals of the voltage stabilizer (104) are electrically connected to the thermoelectric device (102) (Figures 2, 4 and 10 and [20]-[21] and [26]-[27]), the two output terminals of the voltage stabilizer (104) are electrically connected to two input terminals of the transformer (202) respectively ([34]), and two output terminals of the transformer (202) are electrically connected to the two input terminals of the energy storage module (106) correspondingly (Figures 2, 4 and 10 and [20]-[21], [34-[36] and [41]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add an energy storage module, wherein two input terminals of the energy storage module are electrically connected to the lead terminals disposed on the second end face and the first end face respectively, and the energy storage module is configured to store the electric energy output from the power generator, a voltage stabilizer, wherein two input terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to the lead terminals disposed on the first end face and the second end face respectively, and two output terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to the two input terminals of the energy storage module correspondingly and a transformer, wherein the two input terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to the lead terminals disposed on the first end face and the second end face respectively, the two output terminals of the voltage stabilizer are electrically connected to two input terminals of the transformer respectively, and two output terminals of the transformer are electrically connected to the two input terminals of the energy storage module correspondingly to the device of Takahashi, as taught by Chintala, because it would amount to the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2009/0133734), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ahdoot (US 2016/0163945).
Regarding claims 17-20, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi does not disclose an electronic device, comprising an electronic component and a thermoelectric conversion apparatus configured to recycle heat generated by the electronic component, wherein the thermoelectric conversion apparatus comprises the thermoelectric conversion apparatus as set forth above, wherein the lead terminals of the thermoelectric conversion apparatus are configured to provide electrical signals to a component in the electronic component, wherein the electronic component is a super computing device and a waste heat recycling system, comprising: an electronic component, a thermoelectric conversion apparatus, and a power-consuming device, wherein lead terminals of the thermoelectric conversion apparatus are electrically connected to the power-consuming device for providing electrical signals to the power-consuming device, wherein the thermoelectric conversion apparatus comprises the thermoelectric conversion apparatus as set forth above.
Ahdoot discloses an electronic device in Figure 4A, comprising an electronic component (250) and a thermoelectric conversion apparatus (210) configured to recycle heat generated by the electronic component (250) ([73]), wherein lead terminals (wires) of the thermoelectric conversion apparatus (210) are configured to provide electrical signals to a component in the electronic component (250) ([119]), wherein the electronic component is a super computing device ([5]) and a waste heat recycling system ([71]-[73]), comprising: the electronic component (250), the thermoelectric conversion apparatus (210), and a power-consuming device ([119]), wherein the lead terminals (wires) of the thermoelectric conversion apparatus (210) are electrically connected to the power-consuming device for providing electrical signals to the power-consuming device ([119]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add an electronic device to the device of Takahashi, comprising an electronic component and a thermoelectric conversion apparatus configured to recycle heat generated by the electronic component, wherein the thermoelectric conversion apparatus comprises the thermoelectric conversion apparatus as set forth above, wherein the lead terminals of the thermoelectric conversion apparatus are configured to provide electrical signals to a component in the electronic component, wherein the electronic component is a super computing device and a waste heat recycling system, comprising: an electronic component, a thermoelectric conversion apparatus, and a power-consuming device, wherein lead terminals of the thermoelectric conversion apparatus are electrically connected to the power-consuming device for providing electrical signals to the power-consuming device, wherein the thermoelectric conversion apparatus comprises the thermoelectric conversion apparatus as set forth above, as taught by Ahdoot, because it would amount to the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2009/0133734), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0024561).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Takahashi does not disclose a medium driving module, wherein the medium driving module comprises a rotating shaft, blades, and a driving device, the rotating shaft is arranged along a direction of a central axis of the supporter, the blades are fixed at one end of the rotating shaft, an output terminal of the driving device is connected to the other end of the rotating shaft, the rotating shaft transmits a driving force from the driving device to the blades, and the blades are configured to provide power for flowing of a heat transfer medium.
Kim discloses a thermoelectric device (abstract and Figure 20) comprising a medium driving module (blowing fan 430, [197]-[198]), wherein the medium driving module comprises a rotating shaft, blades, and a driving device (The fan 430 is understood to have a central rotating shaft with blades and is controlled by controller, [215]), the rotating shaft is arranged along a direction of a central axis of a supporter (exhaust gas discharge pipe 420) (Figure 20), the blades are fixed at one end of the rotating shaft (Figure 20), an output terminal of the driving device is connected to the other end of the rotating shaft (Figure 20, [215] and [197]-[198]), the rotating shaft transmits a driving force from the driving device to the blades (The rotation of the fan shaft rotates the blades), and the blades are configured to provide power for flowing of a heat transfer medium (exhaust gas) ([194]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a medium driving module to the device of Takahashi, wherein the medium driving module comprises a rotating shaft, blades, and a driving device, the rotating shaft is arranged along a direction of a central axis of the supporter, the blades are fixed at one end of the rotating shaft, an output terminal of the driving device is connected to the other end of the rotating shaft, the rotating shaft transmits a driving force from the driving device to the blades, and the blades are configured to provide power for flowing of a heat transfer medium, as taught by Kim, in order to control the flow of the heat transfer medium and thus control the temperature difference and power generating capacity in the power generating device.
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728