DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 11/06/2024. The applicant submits an Information Disclosure Statement dated 11/06/2024. The applicant does not make a claim for Foreign priority. The applicant makes a claim for Domestic priority to applications filed on 10/24/2018, 10/24/2019, 07/23/2020, 04/09/2021, and 06/21/2023.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,999,971. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims contain the same inventive concept that is not patentably distinct pursuant to MPEP 804. The concept is the measuring the amount of material transferred during loading or unloading and the result identified by measuring the weight. A patent is claims are broader in scope than the application and covers the features identified in the application claims.
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,723,307. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims contain the same inventive concept that is not patentably distinct pursuant to MPEP 804. The concept is the measuring the amount of material transferred during loading or unloading and the result identified by measuring the weight. A patent is claims are broader in scope than the application and covers the features identified in the application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea of a mental concept of evaluation and/or observation without significantly more. The claims are evaluated under the 2019 Subject Matter Guidance and the MPEP. Example 40 is used as the reference for the analysis
Step 1
The claims recite a computer implemented method and a system. The claims pass Step 1 by claiming one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong I
Independent claim 1 is reproduced below with the abstract idea in italics and the pre/post solution in bold. The analysis of the claim is representative of the other independent claims.
Claim 1
A computer implemented method comprising:
determining, automatically by a processor, that a first transfer event of a first machine is correlated with a second transfer event of a second machine or container when the first and second transfer events have occurred, or are occurring, within a geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the first machine, the first transfer event comprising one of a loading or an unloading of a first amount of a bulk material; and
based on the determination, further determining by the processor, that the first machine is one of loading or unloading bulk material to/from the second machine or container and the amount of the bulk material transferred there between, a location of the bulk material transferred there between or a combination thereof.
The independent claims and dependent claims inventive concept determined under 2106.07 is determining agricultural product is transferred. The independent claim contains the sole structure of a processor that performs operations that may be performed in the mind. The dependent claims 2, 3, and 9 contain generic components that perform operations that constitute pre solution activity that doesn’t have bearing on determining the transfer amount or rate of material. Claims 4, 5, and 10 are also abstract idea of evaluation and/or observation. Claims 6 – 8 are an abstract idea of a mathematical opertions.
With respect to the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) the operations may be performed in the mind as an observer watches the transfer or material. The claims do not identify what the data is used for and whether a control operation is executed based upon identifying what is observed.
With respect to 209 Guidance example 40. The claims do not identify specific structure performing a specific operation to render a specific result. Therefore, the claims fail to identify what is evaluated and observed per the guidance requirements.
Thus, the claims fail Step 2A Prong I.
Step 2A Prong II
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to identify a new or improvement in the technology pursuant to MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.04(d)(2). The claims contain generic structural features and broadly claimed operations that may be performed in the mind. The result of the operations does not identify results that satisfy the standards established in the MPEP. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2A Prong II.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims fail to satisfy the MPEP 2106.05(a-h) and the 2019 Guidance. The claims do not identify the result of the operation or how the invention is new or an improvement in the technology area. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2B.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: first transfer event, second transfer event, loading, unloading in claim 21 and with respect to specification paragraph 0094 is justified the means identification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darr US 2014/0083556 in view of Gengerke US 2013/0269832.
As per claim 1, A computer implemented method comprising:
determining, automatically by a processor, that a first transfer event of a first machine is correlated with a second transfer event of a second machine or container when the first and second transfer events have occurred, or are occurring, within a geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the first machine, the first transfer event comprising one of a loading or an unloading of a first amount of a bulk material; (Darr paragraph 0131 discloses, “The processor platform 1500 can be, for example, an electronic control module (e.g., a vehicle control module or an engine control module), a server, a personal computer, a mobile device (e.g., a cell phone, a smart phone, a tablet such as an iPad.TM.),” and paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”) And (Gengerke paragraph 0057 teaches, “The ability to compute the weight and volume of subsequent loads once calibration has been done provides great advantage. As one example, when combining a corn or soybean field, the grain trailer is driven through the field at the same speed as the combine to catch the shelled corn being ejected from the combine's output auger. Built into the combine is a GPS system that can transmit precise location data to the receiver in the display computer in the truck's cab. Thus, yield from a known field area can be recorded. Smartphones and other tablet computers contain GPS receiver chips so that the driver's hand-held device can also be used to develop location information.”) and
based on the determination, further determining by the processor, that the first machine is one of loading or unloading bulk material to/from the second machine or container and the amount of the bulk material transferred there between, a location of the bulk material transferred there between or a combination thereof. (Darr paragraph 0004 discloses, “harvesting machines utilize a spout (e.g., an unloading auger) to transfer agricultural material to a storage portion (e.g., a grain cart or wagon), of a receiving vehicle (e.g., a tractor).”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0059 teaches, “n the case of a grain storage bin of the type shown in FIGS. 8 and 13, it comprises a right circular cylinder 250 capable of storing a volume equal to the area of the base times the height of the grain within the bin which, of course, varies as grain is being added by conveyor and allowed to enter through an opening, usually located at the center of the bin's roof, or when grain is being removed, via a slide gate controlled opening centrally located in the bin floor and leading to an auger conveyor beneath the bin floor as previously described.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 2, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first machine comprises a combine and the second machine comprises a grain cart, or wherein the first machine comprises a grain cart and the second machine or container comprises a truck or a grain bin. (Darr paragraph 0004 discloses, “harvesting machines utilize a spout (e.g., an unloading auger) to transfer agricultural material to a storage portion (e.g., a grain cart or wagon), of a receiving vehicle (e.g., a tractor).”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0010 teaches, “that a need exists for a way to monitor the filling of a grain trailer from a position within the truck's cab so that the farmer will know when it is necessary to move the trailer relative to the auger being used to load the trailer hopper(s).”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 3, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the processor is comprised by a mobile device. (Darr paragraph 0131 discloses, “The processor platform 1500 can be, for example, an electronic control module (e.g., a vehicle control module or an engine control module), a server, a personal computer, a mobile device (e.g., a cell phone, a smart phone, a tablet such as an iPad.TM.),”)
As per claim 4, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining that the first and second transfer events are correlated further comprises determining, by the processor, that the first and second transfer events occurred, or are occurring, within a threshold time of each other, within a threshold distance of each other, at substantially proximate locations, or a combination thereof. (Darr paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”)
As per claim 5, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining that the first and second transfer events are correlated further comprises determining, by the processor, that the amount of the bulk material is within a threshold amount of another amount of bulk material transferred to/from the second machine or container. (Darr paragraph 0062 discloses, “the grain bin monitoring system is calibrated by first loading the bin to its stated capacity and then counting the number of pixels on the display screen associated with a full bin.” and paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”)
As per claim 6, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the geometric intersection of projected material flow direction is determined based on an intersection of an azimuth vector of the first machine with a location of the second machine or container. (Gengerke paragraph 0032 teaches, “an auger rotation system is configured to sense a spout rotation angle 114 of FIGS. 1A and 2A and/or 116 of FIGS. 1B and 2B and rotate the spout 112 to change the relative position of a spout end 118 of the spout 112 with respect to a container perimeter 120 of the storage portion 106 of the container 108.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 7, The computer implemented method of claim 6, wherein the azimuth vector is determined using a magnetometer affixed to the first machine. (Gengerke paragraph 0097 teaches, “An inertial sensor 358 may have one or more accelerometers, gyroscopes or other inertial devices coupled to the vehicle data bus 304 or the implement data bus 402.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 8, The computer implemented method of claim 6, wherein the azimuth vector is determined based on a direction of material flow of a conveyance device of the first machine. (Darr paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0032 teaches, “an auger rotation system is configured to sense a spout rotation angle 114 of FIGS. 1A and 2A and/or 116 of FIGS. 1B and 2B and rotate the spout 112 to change the relative position of a spout end 118 of the spout 112 with respect to a container perimeter 120 of the storage portion 106 of the container 108.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 9, The computer implemented method of claim 8, wherein the conveyance device comprises one of a conveyor or auger. (Gengerke paragraph 0032 teaches, “an auger rotation system is configured to sense a spout rotation angle 114 of FIGS. 1A and 2A and/or 116 of FIGS. 1B and 2B and rotate the spout 112 to change the relative position of a spout end 118 of the spout 112 with respect to a container perimeter 120 of the storage portion 106 of the container 108.” And paragraph 0059 teaches, “varies as grain is being added by conveyor and allowed to enter through an opening, usually located at the center of the bin's roof, or when grain is being removed, via a slide gate controlled opening centrally located in the bin floor and leading to an auger conveyor beneath the bin floor as previously described.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 10, The computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising distinguishing, by the processor, the first and second transfer events from third and fourth transfer events comprising a third machine one of loading or unloading to/from a fourth machine or container when a geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the third machine is different from the geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the first machine. (Darr paragraph 0004 discloses, “harvesting machines utilize a spout (e.g., an unloading auger) to transfer agricultural material to a storage portion (e.g., a grain cart or wagon), of a receiving vehicle (e.g., a tractor).”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0053 teaches, “the auger drive motors for the unloading auger 216 and the power head (not shown) running, grain will be transferred from the bin into the trailer. When the driver observes on the mobile computer's display screen that his trailer is just about filled, he will send a "close" command to the controller 236 to close the slide gates 227.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 11, A system comprising:
a processor and a memory coupled therewith, the memory storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine, automatically, that a first transfer event of a first machine is correlated with a second transfer event of a second machine or container when the first and second transfer events have occurred, or are occurring, within a geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the first machine, the first transfer event comprising one of a loading or an unloading of a first amount of a bulk material; (Darr paragraph 0131 discloses, “The processor platform 1500 can be, for example, an electronic control module (e.g., a vehicle control module or an engine control module), a server, a personal computer, a mobile device (e.g., a cell phone, a smart phone, a tablet such as an iPad.TM.),” and paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”) And (Gengerke paragraph 0057 teaches, “The ability to compute the weight and volume of subsequent loads once calibration has been done provides great advantage. As one example, when combining a corn or soybean field, the grain trailer is driven through the field at the same speed as the combine to catch the shelled corn being ejected from the combine's output auger. Built into the combine is a GPS system that can transmit precise location data to the receiver in the display computer in the truck's cab. Thus, yield from a known field area can be recorded. Smartphones and other tablet computers contain GPS receiver chips so that the driver's hand-held device can also be used to develop location information.”) and
determine, further based on the determination of the correlation, that the first machine is one of loading or unloading bulk material to/from the second machine or container and the amount of the bulk material transferred there between, a location of the bulk material transferred there between or a combination thereof. (Darr paragraph 0004 discloses, “harvesting machines utilize a spout (e.g., an unloading auger) to transfer agricultural material to a storage portion (e.g., a grain cart or wagon), of a receiving vehicle (e.g., a tractor).”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0059 teaches, “n the case of a grain storage bin of the type shown in FIGS. 8 and 13, it comprises a right circular cylinder 250 capable of storing a volume equal to the area of the base times the height of the grain within the bin which, of course, varies as grain is being added by conveyor and allowed to enter through an opening, usually located at the center of the bin's roof, or when grain is being removed, via a slide gate controlled opening centrally located in the bin floor and leading to an auger conveyor beneath the bin floor as previously described.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 12, The system of claim 11, wherein the first machine comprises a combine and the second machine comprises a grain cart, or wherein the first machine comprises a grain cart and the second machine or container comprises a truck or a grain bin. (Darr paragraph 0004 discloses, “harvesting machines utilize a spout (e.g., an unloading auger) to transfer agricultural material to a storage portion (e.g., a grain cart or wagon), of a receiving vehicle (e.g., a tractor).”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0010 teaches, “that a need exists for a way to monitor the filling of a grain trailer from a position within the truck's cab so that the farmer will know when it is necessary to move the trailer relative to the auger being used to load the trailer hopper(s).”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 13, The system of claim 11, wherein the processor is comprised by a mobile device. (Darr paragraph 0131 discloses, “The processor platform 1500 can be, for example, an electronic control module (e.g., a vehicle control module or an engine control module), a server, a personal computer, a mobile device (e.g., a cell phone, a smart phone, a tablet such as an iPad.TM.),”)
As per claim 14, The system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to determine that the first and second transfer events occurred, or are occurring, within a threshold time of each other, within a threshold distance of each other, at substantially proximate locations, or a combination thereof. (Darr paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”)
As per claim 15, The system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to determine that the amount of the bulk material is within a threshold amount of another amount of bulk material transferred to/from the second machine or container. (Darr paragraph 0062 discloses, “the grain bin monitoring system is calibrated by first loading the bin to its stated capacity and then counting the number of pixels on the display screen associated with a full bin.” and paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”)
As per claim 16, The system of claim 11, wherein the geometric intersection of projected material flow direction is determined based on an intersection of an azimuth vector of the first machine with a location of the second machine or container. (Gengerke paragraph 0032 teaches, “an auger rotation system is configured to sense a spout rotation angle 114 of FIGS. 1A and 2A and/or 116 of FIGS. 1B and 2B and rotate the spout 112 to change the relative position of a spout end 118 of the spout 112 with respect to a container perimeter 120 of the storage portion 106 of the container 108.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 17, The system of claim 16, wherein the azimuth vector is determined using a magnetometer affixed to the first machine. (Gengerke paragraph 0097 teaches, “An inertial sensor 358 may have one or more accelerometers, gyroscopes or other inertial devices coupled to the vehicle data bus 304 or the implement data bus 402.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 18, The system of claim 16, wherein the azimuth vector is determined based on a direction of material flow of a conveyance device of the first machine. (Darr paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0032 teaches, “an auger rotation system is configured to sense a spout rotation angle 114 of FIGS. 1A and 2A and/or 116 of FIGS. 1B and 2B and rotate the spout 112 to change the relative position of a spout end 118 of the spout 112 with respect to a container perimeter 120 of the storage portion 106 of the container 108.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 19, The system of claim 18, wherein the conveyance device comprises one of a conveyor or auger. (Gengerke paragraph 0032 teaches, “an auger rotation system is configured to sense a spout rotation angle 114 of FIGS. 1A and 2A and/or 116 of FIGS. 1B and 2B and rotate the spout 112 to change the relative position of a spout end 118 of the spout 112 with respect to a container perimeter 120 of the storage portion 106 of the container 108.” And paragraph 0059 teaches, “varies as grain is being added by conveyor and allowed to enter through an opening, usually located at the center of the bin's roof, or when grain is being removed, via a slide gate controlled opening centrally located in the bin floor and leading to an auger conveyor beneath the bin floor as previously described.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 20, The system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the processor to distinguish the first and second transfer events from third and fourth transfer events comprising a third machine one of loading or unloading to/from a fourth machine or container when a geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the third machine is different from the geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the first machine. (Darr paragraph 0004 discloses, “harvesting machines utilize a spout (e.g., an unloading auger) to transfer agricultural material to a storage portion (e.g., a grain cart or wagon), of a receiving vehicle (e.g., a tractor).”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0053 teaches, “the auger drive motors for the unloading auger 216 and the power head (not shown) running, grain will be transferred from the bin into the trailer. When the driver observes on the mobile computer's display screen that his trailer is just about filled, he will send a "close" command to the controller 236 to close the slide gates 227.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
As per claim 21, A system comprising:
means for determining, automatically, that a first transfer event of a first machine is correlated with a second transfer event of a second machine or container when the first and second transfer events have occurred, or are occurring, within a geometric intersection of projected material flow direction of the first machine, the first transfer event comprising one of a loading or an unloading of a first amount of a bulk material; (Darr paragraph 0131 discloses, “The processor platform 1500 can be, for example, an electronic control module (e.g., a vehicle control module or an engine control module), a server, a personal computer, a mobile device (e.g., a cell phone, a smart phone, a tablet such as an iPad.TM.),” and paragraph 0130 discloses, “the image processing module 302 may estimate the change in fill level in an area to which material is being transferred by considering the flow rate of the material being transferred and the amount of transfer time. The volumetric flow rate of the unloading auger of many combines is known. Depending on the model of the combine, material transfer may occur at a rate of 4-6 bushels per second. Typically, self-propelled forage harvesters have a mass flow sensor on the spout that measures the mass flow rate of material that is transferred to a receiving vehicle 102.”) And (Gengerke paragraph 0057 teaches, “The ability to compute the weight and volume of subsequent loads once calibration has been done provides great advantage. As one example, when combining a corn or soybean field, the grain trailer is driven through the field at the same speed as the combine to catch the shelled corn being ejected from the combine's output auger. Built into the combine is a GPS system that can transmit precise location data to the receiver in the display computer in the truck's cab. Thus, yield from a known field area can be recorded. Smartphones and other tablet computers contain GPS receiver chips so that the driver's hand-held device can also be used to develop location information.”) and
means for, based on the determination, further determining that the first machine is one of loading or unloading bulk material to/from the second machine or container and the amount of the bulk material transferred there between, a location of the bulk material transferred there between or a combination thereof. (Darr paragraph 0004 discloses, “harvesting machines utilize a spout (e.g., an unloading auger) to transfer agricultural material to a storage portion (e.g., a grain cart or wagon), of a receiving vehicle (e.g., a tractor).”) and (Gengerke paragraph 0059 teaches, “n the case of a grain storage bin of the type shown in FIGS. 8 and 13, it comprises a right circular cylinder 250 capable of storing a volume equal to the area of the base times the height of the grain within the bin which, of course, varies as grain is being added by conveyor and allowed to enter through an opening, usually located at the center of the bin's roof, or when grain is being removed, via a slide gate controlled opening centrally located in the bin floor and leading to an auger conveyor beneath the bin floor as previously described.”)
Darr discloses an artificial intelligence for detecting and filling void areas of agricultural commodity containers. Darr does not disclose a tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Gengerke teaches of tracking bulk material during loading or unloading process. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Gengerke et.al. into the invention of Darr. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to prevent overloading.
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664