Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrec (US2010025684) in view of Pinto (US-20050004748-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Garrec discloses a method of aligning an aircraft with a landing platform in motion ([0002]; [0016]; [0033]-[0034]), comprising: measuring an orientation with at least one GPS sensor positioned at a known location relative to the landing platform while the landing platform is in motion ([0039]); measuring an orientation of the aircraft with an orientation sensor fixed relative to the aircraft ([0016]); calculating an orientation offset between the measured orientation of the aircraft and the calculated orientation of the landing platform; and changing an orientation of the aircraft or the landing platform to reduce the orientation offset ([0034]).
However, Garrec does not explicitly state measuring a GPS heading of the landing platform with at least one GPS sensor positioned at a known location relative to the landing platform nor calculating an orientation of the landing platform from such GPS heading.
On the other hand, Pinto teaches measuring a GPS heading of the landing platform with at least one GPS sensor positioned at a known location relative to the landing platform nor calculating an orientation of the landing platform from such GPS heading (Abstract; [0003]; [0006]).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Garrec reference and include features from the Pinto reference with a reasonable expectation of success. This provides a more accurate platform orientation estimate.
Regarding claim 2, Garrec does not explicitly state the at least one GPS sensor comprises at least two GPS sensors fixed relative to the landing platform.
On the other hand, Pinto teaches the at least one GPS sensor comprises at least two GPS sensors fixed relative to the landing platform (Abstract: “two closely spaced GPS antennas”; Fig. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Garrec reference and include features from the Pinto reference with a reasonable expectation of success. This provides a more accurate platform orientation estimate.
Regarding claim 3, Garrec discloses the orientation sensor comprises at least one of a GPS sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a compass, a gyroscope, or an accelerometer ([0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Garrec discloses changing an orientation of the aircraft via a yaw motion ([0034]: controlling aircraft orientation inherently includes yaw motion).
Regarding claim 5, Garrec discloses the at least one GPS sensor is fixedly attached to the landing platform ([0016]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrec and Pinto in further view of WANG (US-20180251234-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Garrec does not explicitly state maintaining the orientation of both the aircraft and the landing platform when the calculated orientation offset is below a threshold.
On the other hand, WANG teaches maintaining the orientation of both the aircraft and the landing platform when the calculated orientation offset is below a threshold ([0109]; [0233]: operating within a predetermined range inherently requires maintaining alignment once the relative offset falls within the acceptable range).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Garrec reference and include features from the WANG reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so ensures stable and controlled landing conditions.
Regarding claim 7, Garrec does not explicitly state the threshold is 5 degrees.
On the other hand, WANG teaches the threshold is 5 degrees ([0109]).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Garrec reference and include features from the WANG reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so ensures stable and controlled landing conditions.
Conclusion
/SHAHIRA BAAJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3666