DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (WO 2022/067831 wherein the cited passages for D1 refer to the family member 2023/02322228 found in IDS dated 5/13/2025) in view of Lee et al (2020/0359218).
Regarding claims 1 and 11. D1 teaches a communication apparatus (figure 12, 0051-0055, 0252-0253 wherein UE comprising memory storing instructions, and processor) and communication method, comprising:
obtaining, by a communication apparatus (UE in figure 4), first information associated with at least one network (figures 1 and 2 wherein the UE obtains EDN (e.g., at least one network) configuration from the ECS), wherein the first information comprises an authentication mechanism (e.g., candidate authentication mechanism) supported by each of the at least one network (figure 4, 0115-0116 wherein the provisioning response message may include an identifier of the EES and first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates a candidate authentication mechanism associated with the EES, 0117 – the provisioning response message sent by the ECS to the EEC may carry the EDN configuration which includes EES information and further includes first indication information indicating the candidate authentication mechanism associated with the EES, and the like);
obtaining, by the communication apparatus, a target authentication mechanism based on an authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus, the first information, (0121 – the EEC determines a target authentication mechanism based on the at least one third authentication mechanism supported by the EES and assistance information, wherein the assistance information includes at least one of the following: at least one second authentication mechanism supported by the UE, a network type used by the UE to access the EES, and the like, 0120 – an authentication supported by the UE may be referred to as a second authentication mechanism, and the authentication method supported by the EES may be referred to as a third authentication mechanism); and
establishing, by the communication apparatus, a secure communication connection to the AF by using the target authentication mechanism (figure 4 at step 404, 0119 – the EEC establishes a communication connection with the EES based on the candidate authentication mechanism).
D1 does not explicitly teach “and a network in which an application function AF is located, wherein the at least one network comprises the network in which the AF is located”.
However, D1 teaches a network in which the AF is located may be implied by the network type used by the UE to access the EES (0123 – AKMA mechanism is an authentication mechanism based on a 5G network and the GBA mechanism is an authentication mechanism based on a 4G network).
Lee teaches the UE/EEC transmits a provisioning request (EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods) to the ESC (figure 25 at step 2504, 0219) and if the provisioning request does not include an appropriate security credential, the ECS may determine to redirect the message to the Application Authentication and Authorization Function (AAF) thereby preforming authentication. The ECS 2527, which has determined the redirection to the AAF 2526, may transmit, to the EEC 2522, a preset list of EEC authentication methods available for the AAF. In addition, the ECS transmits to the EEC, information including an address of the AAF (e.g., a network in which an AAF is located), an indicator indicating the redirect is necessary, and the reason for performing the redirection. In step 2505, the ECS transmits a provisioning response message to the EEC which includes at least one of an AAF address, a redirect request, supported EEC authentication methods, and MNO authentication requisition and an authentication method supported by the AAF (0220-0234).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to further include EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods in the provisioning request as taught by Lee in order to enable the ECS to determine a network in which an Application Function is located and provide a redirect message to the UE/EEC if the provisioning request does not include appropriate security credentials.
Regarding claims 2 and 12. D1 teaches wherein the communication apparatus is a terminal (UE in figure 4) or a chip of a terminal (figure 4, 0119 – the EEC establishes a communication connection with the EES based on the candidate authentication mechanism).
Regarding claims 3 and 13. D1 teaches wherein the network in which the AF is located is a home network of the communication apparatus, and the obtaining, by the communication apparatus, a target authentication mechanism based on an authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus, the first information, and a network in which an AF is located comprises: obtaining, by the communication apparatus, the target authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus and an authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located (0121-0123).
Lee teaches the UE/EEC transmits a provisioning request (EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods) to the ESC (figure 25 at step 2504, 0219) and if the provisioning request does not include an appropriate security credential, the ECS may determine to redirect the message to the Application Authentication and Authorization Function (AAF) thereby preforming authentication. The ECS 2527, which has determined the redirection to the AAF 2526, may transmit, to the EEC 2522, a preset list of EEC authentication methods available for the AAF. In addition, the ECS transmits to the EEC, information including an address of the AAF (e.g., a network in which an AAF is located), an indicator indicating the redirect is necessary, and the reason for performing the redirection. In step 2505, the ECS transmits a provisioning response message to the EEC which includes at least one of an AAF address, a redirect request, supported EEC authentication methods, and MNO authentication requisition and an authentication method supported by the AAF (0220-0234).
Regarding claims 4 and 14. D1 teaches wherein the obtaining, by the communication apparatus, the target authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus and an authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located comprises: determining, by the communication apparatus, a candidate authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus and the authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located, wherein the candidate authentication mechanism is an authentication mechanism supported by both the communication apparatus and the home network of the communication apparatus; sending, by the communication apparatus, the candidate authentication mechanism to the AF; and receiving, by the communication apparatus, the target authentication mechanism from the AF, wherein the candidate authentication mechanism comprises the target authentication mechanism, and the target authentication mechanism is an authentication mechanism supported by all of the AF, the communication apparatus, and the home network of the communication apparatus (0115-0116 – the candidate authentication mechanism is sent to the apparatus from the AF and the communication apparatus determines the target authentication mechanism (01212-0123).
Lee teaches the UE/EEC transmits a provisioning request (EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods) to the ESC (figure 25 at step 2504, 0219) and if the provisioning request does not include an appropriate security credential, the ECS may determine to redirect the message to the Application Authentication and Authorization Function (AAF) thereby preforming authentication. The ECS 2527, which has determined the redirection to the AAF 2526, may transmit, to the EEC 2522, a preset list of EEC authentication methods available for the AAF. In addition, the ECS transmits to the EEC, information including an address of the AAF (e.g., a network in which an AAF is located), an indicator indicating the redirect is necessary, and the reason for performing the redirection. In step 2505, the ECS transmits a provisioning response message to the EEC which includes at least one of an AAF address, a redirect request, supported EEC authentication methods, and MNO authentication requisition and an authentication method supported by the AAF (0220-0234).
Regarding claims 5 and 15. D1 teaches wherein a client is deployed in the communication apparatus, and the determining, by the communication apparatus, a candidate authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus and the authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located comprises: sending, by a non-access stratum NAS of the communication apparatus, a first authentication mechanism to the client, wherein the first authentication mechanism comprises an authentication mechanism supported by both the communication apparatus and the home network of the communication apparatus; and determining, by the client, the candidate authentication mechanism based on the first 10 authentication mechanism (0106, 0175).
Lee teaches at 0112 and figure 9. The UE has an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) (0088, 0201-0202, 0212, figure 25, 0233).
Regarding claims 6 and 16. D1 teaches wherein the determining, by the client, the candidate authentication mechanism based on the first authentication mechanism comprises: determining, by the client, the candidate authentication mechanism based on an authentication mechanism supported by the client and the first authentication mechanism, wherein the candidate authentication mechanism is an authentication mechanism supported by all of the client, the communication apparatus, and the home network of the communication apparatus (0122-0123).
Lee teaches the UE/EEC transmits a provisioning request (EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods) to the ESC (figure 25 at step 2504, 0219) and if the provisioning request does not include an appropriate security credential, the ECS may determine to redirect the message to the Application Authentication and Authorization Function (AAF) thereby preforming authentication. The ECS 2527, which has determined the redirection to the AAF 2526, may transmit, to the EEC 2522, a preset list of EEC authentication methods available for the AAF. In addition, the ECS transmits to the EEC, information including an address of the AAF (e.g., a network in which an AAF is located), an indicator indicating the redirect is necessary, and the reason for performing the redirection. In step 2505, the ECS transmits a provisioning response message to the EEC which includes at least one of an AAF address, a redirect request, supported EEC authentication methods, and MNO authentication requisition and an authentication method supported by the AAF (0220-0234). The UE has an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) (0088, 0201-0202, 0212, figure 25, 0233).
Regarding claims 7 and 17. D1 teaches wherein the network in which the AF is located is a network on which the communication apparatus currently camps, the network on which the communication apparatus currently camps is not a home network of the communication apparatus, the at least one network further comprises the home network of the communication apparatus, and the obtaining, by the communication apparatus, a target authentication mechanism based on an authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus, the first information, and a network in which an AF is located comprises: obtaining, by the communication apparatus, the target authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus, an authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located, and an authentication mechanism supported by the home network of the communication apparatus (0121-0123).
Lee teaches the UE/EEC transmits a provisioning request (EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods) to the ESC (figure 25 at step 2504, 0219) and if the provisioning request does not include an appropriate security credential, the ECS may determine to redirect the message to the Application Authentication and Authorization Function (AAF) thereby preforming authentication. The ECS 2527, which has determined the redirection to the AAF 2526, may transmit, to the EEC 2522, a preset list of EEC authentication methods available for the AAF. In addition, the ECS transmits to the EEC, information including an address of the AAF (e.g., a network in which an AAF is located), an indicator indicating the redirect is necessary, and the reason for performing the redirection. In step 2505, the ECS transmits a provisioning response message to the EEC which includes at least one of an AAF address, a redirect request, supported EEC authentication methods, and MNO authentication requisition and an authentication method supported by the AAF (0220-0234).
Regarding claims 8 and 18. D1 teaches wherein the obtaining, by the communication apparatus, the target authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus, an authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located, and an authentication mechanism supported by the home network of the communication apparatus comprises: determining, by the communication apparatus, a candidate authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus, the authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located, and the authentication mechanism supported by the home network of the communication apparatus, wherein the candidate authentication mechanism is an authentication mechanism supported by all of the communication apparatus, the network on which the communication apparatus currently camps, and the home network of the communication apparatus; sending, by the communication apparatus, the candidate authentication mechanism to the AF; and
receiving, by the communication apparatus, the target authentication mechanism from the AF, wherein the candidate authentication mechanism comprises the target authentication mechanism, and the target authentication mechanism is an authentication mechanism supported by all of the AF, the communication apparatus, the network on which the communication apparatus currently camps, and the home network of the communication apparatus (0115-0116 – the candidate authentication mechanism is sent to the apparatus from the AF and the communication apparatus determines the target authentication mechanism (01212-0123).
Lee teaches the UE/EEC transmits a provisioning request (EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods) to the ESC (figure 25 at step 2504, 0219) and if the provisioning request does not include an appropriate security credential, the ECS may determine to redirect the message to the Application Authentication and Authorization Function (AAF) thereby preforming authentication. The ECS 2527, which has determined the redirection to the AAF 2526, may transmit, to the EEC 2522, a preset list of EEC authentication methods available for the AAF. In addition, the ECS transmits to the EEC, information including an address of the AAF (e.g., a network in which an AAF is located), an indicator indicating the redirect is necessary, and the reason for performing the redirection. In step 2505, the ECS transmits a provisioning response message to the EEC which includes at least one of an AAF address, a redirect request, supported EEC authentication methods, and MNO authentication requisition and an authentication method supported by the AAF (0220-0234).
. Regarding claims 9 and 19. D1 teaches wherein the determining, by the communication apparatus, a candidate authentication mechanism based on the authentication mechanism supported by the communication apparatus, the authentication mechanism supported by the network in which the AF is located, and the authentication mechanism supported by the home network of the communication apparatus comprises: sending, by a NAS of the communication apparatus, a first authentication mechanism to a client, wherein the first authentication mechanism comprises an authentication mechanism supported by all of the communication apparatus, the network on which the communication apparatus currently camps, and the home network of the communication apparatus; and determining, by the client, the candidate authentication mechanism based on the first authentication mechanism (0106, 0175).
Lee teaches at 0112 and figure 9. The UE has an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) (0088, 0201-0202, 0212, figure 25, 0233).
Regarding claims 10 and 20. D1 teaches wherein the determining, by the client, the candidate authentication mechanism based on the first authentication mechanism comprises; determining, by the client, the candidate authentication mechanism based on an authentication mechanism supported by the client and the first authentication mechanism, wherein the candidate authentication mechanism is an authentication mechanism supported by all of the client, the communication apparatus, the network on which the communication apparatus currently camps, and the home network of the communication apparatus (0122-0123).
Lee teaches the UE/EEC transmits a provisioning request (EEC ID, serving PLMN ID, home PLMN ID, CN-type and supported EEC authentication methods) to the ESC (figure 25 at step 2504, 0219) and if the provisioning request does not include an appropriate security credential, the ECS may determine to redirect the message to the Application Authentication and Authorization Function (AAF) thereby preforming authentication. The ECS 2527, which has determined the redirection to the AAF 2526, may transmit, to the EEC 2522, a preset list of EEC authentication methods available for the AAF. In addition, the ECS transmits to the EEC, information including an address of the AAF (e.g., a network in which an AAF is located), an indicator indicating the redirect is necessary, and the reason for performing the redirection. In step 2505, the ECS transmits a provisioning response message to the EEC which includes at least one of an AAF address, a redirect request, supported EEC authentication methods, and MNO authentication requisition and an authentication method supported by the AAF (0220-0234). The UE has an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) (0088, 0201-0202, 0212, figure 25, 0233).
Conclusion
2. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2025/0150823) Castellanos Zamora et al teaches negotiation involving EEC, EES, ECS, EES, UE and the UE’s Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) which enables the server to determine the UE’s PLMN and whether the HPLMN supports AKAMA, GBA or both (0013, 0119, 0125 – derive from HPLMN for non-roaming scenario or from VPLMN identifier for roaming scenario, 0145)
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646