DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II (claims 11-21) in the reply filed on 11/17/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the term “are disclosed” is stated in lines 1-2. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-21 are objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble of independent claim 11 recites a “method of electric-based fracturing” in line 1. However, the claim does not have any steps of such fracturing within claim 11 or any depending claims. The preamble should be amended to recite - -method of providing a high voltage cable for use in fracturing- - , (or use in a wellbore), or something similar describing the actual claimed method steps. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MOENY (AU 2013286589).
With respect to claim 11, MOENY discloses a method of electric-based fracturing [0003], [0078], [0267], the method comprising: providing a high voltage cable 510 comprising first, second, and third cable segments (Fig. 52- a set of segments 524 within 522 is shown for simplicity); coupling a power source 518 and a proximal portion of the first cable segment using a proximal connector; coupling a distal portion of the first cable segment and a proximal portion of the second cable segment using a first intermediate connector; coupling a distal portion of the second cable segment and a proximal portion of the third cable segment using a second intermediate connector; and coupling a distal portion of the third cable segment and an electrical stimulation tool 512 using a distal connector (Fig. 52- a set of connectors 528, 530 within 526 is shown for simplicity). See particularly Figs. 51-53, [0285-0300].
With respect to claim 12, MOENY further teaches comprising dispensing at least a portion of the second cable segment using a cable dispenser [00287], [0296].
With respect to claim 13, MOENY further teaches comprising selectively connecting the first intermediate connector to the distal portion of the first cable segment and the proximal portion of the second cable segment while the second cable segment is supported on the cable dispenser [00287], [0296].
With respect to claim 14, MOENY further teaches comprising actuating an actuator to rotate a rotatable spool of the cable dispenser [00287], [0296].
With respect to claim 15, MOENY further teaches comprising adjusting a position of the electrical stimulation tool within a wellbore by actuating the actuator to rotate the rotatable spool [00287], [0296].
With respect to claim 16, MOENY further teaches comprising positioning a majority of the third cable segment within a distal portion of a drill string 522.
With respect to claim 21, MOENY further teaches comprising providing electrical power from the high voltage cable to the electrical stimulation tool, and further comprising transferring the electrical power from the electrical stimulation tool to a surrounding environment in a wellbore [0003], [0078], [0267].
Claim(s) 11, 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEON ET AL (US 2014/0060814 cited by applicant).
With respect to claim 11, LEON ET AL discloses a method of electric-based fracturing [0016], the method comprising: providing a high voltage cable 42 comprising first, second, and third cable segments ( Fig. 1- a set of segments 26, 28, 30 is shown for simplicity); coupling a power source and a proximal portion of the first cable segment using a proximal connector; coupling a distal portion of the first cable segment and a proximal portion of the second cable segment using a first intermediate connector; coupling a distal portion of the second cable segment and a proximal portion of the third cable segment using a second intermediate connector; and coupling a distal portion of the third cable segment and an electrical stimulation tool 2 using a distal connector ( Fig. 1- a set of connectors 38, 40 is shown for simplicity). See particularly Fig.1, [0016-0024].
With respect to claim 17, LEON ET AL further teaches comprising expanding an isolation mechanism 20, 22 from a retracted configuration spaced from an interior surface of a wellbore to an expanded configuration in contact with the interior surface of the wellbore.
With respect to claim 18, LEON ET AL further teaches comprising physically and electrically isolating a lower portion of the wellbore that is downhole from an upper portion of the wellbore when the isolation mechanism is in the expanded configuration (via 20, 22).
With respect to claim 19, LEON ET AL further teaches comprising operatively coupling the isolation mechanism 20, 22 and the electrical stimulation tool to a non-conductive distal portion of the drill string.
With respect to claim 20, LEON ET AL further teaches comprising passing the high voltage cable through a side entry sub of the drill string [0023].
With respect to claim 21, LEON ET AL further teaches comprising providing electrical power from the high voltage cable to the electrical stimulation tool, and further comprising transferring the electrical power from the electrical stimulation tool to a surrounding environment in a wellbore [0016], [0017, [0024].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CA 2846201 teaches a method for generating high-pressure pulses in a dielectric medium to generate fractures in a subterranean reservoir, the method comprising: providing a wellbore in fluid communication with a producing zone of a hydrocarbon bearing formation; positioning an electrode assembly within the wellbore in a dielectric medium, the electrode assembly having a first electrode and a second electrode that is disposed radially outward from the first electrode such that a gap is defined therebetween; and delivering an electric current pulse to the electrode assembly, the electric current pulse having a length of time greater than 100 microseconds, such that an electric arc is formed between the first electrode and second electrode, thereby producing a sufficient pressure pulse in the dielectric medium to induce or extend fractures in the hydrocarbon bearing formation.
/ZAKIYA W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 1/26/2026