DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 51 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paine et al. (US 2018/0109163).
Regarding Claim 1:
Paine et al. teaches a modular enclosure system for industrial generator sets comprising: a first enclosure (101) for a first generator set (2000; a second enclosure (101, Fig 10A, see also 1013 and 1014) for a second generator set (200); a stacking superstructure (1012); the stacking superstructure being supported on the first enclosure and the second enclosure being supported on the stacking superstructure (fig 10A); and the stacking superstructure providing vertical separation between the first and second enclosures comprising space for access and equipment (via doorways 204, see Figs 10A and 9A).
Regarding Claim 2:
Paine et al. teaches a modular enclosure system for industrial generator sets comprising: a first enclosure (101) comprising a first skeletal frame (104) for a first generator set (200); a second enclosure (101, Fig 10A, see also 1013 and 1014) comprising a second skeletal frame (104) for a second generator set (200); a stacking superstructure (1012); the stacking superstructure being supported on the first skeletal frame and the second skeletal frame being supported on the stacking superstructure (Fig 10A); and the stacking superstructure having a skeletal frame (104) providing vertical separation between the first and second enclosures comprising space for access and equipment (via doorways 204, see Figs 10A and 9A).
Regarding Claim 3:
Paine et al. teaches part of the skeletal frame of the stacking superstructure is unenclosed to provide space for an exhaust system (via 205) of the first generator set.
Regarding Claim 4:
Paine et al. teaches part of the skeletal frame of the stacking superstructure is enclosed to provide an equipment enclosure (Figs 1 – 2B).
Regarding Claim 5:
Paine et al. teaches the first enclosure is modular comprising a base (231), supporting the first skeletal frame, and modular sidewall panels (215, 214, 211) removably attached (paragraph 0250) to side supports of the first skeletal frame, end panels (120) comprising sound attenuation boxes removably attached to end supports of the first skeletal frame, and a roof assembly (233) supported by the first skeletal frame; and the second enclosure is modular comprising a base, supporting the second skeletal frame, and modular sidewall panels removably attached to side supports of the second skeletal frame, end panels comprising sound attenuation boxes removably attached to end supports of the second skeletal frame (same as first enclosure); and a roof assembly supported by the second skeletal frame (same as first enclosure).
Regarding Claim 6:
Paine et al. teaches at least one of the removable sidewall panels comprises an access door (203).
Regarding Claim 7:
Paine et al. teaches the removable sidewall panels and endwall panels are attached externally to surfaces of the first skeletal frame and the second skeletal frames (215, 214, 211).
Regarding Claim 8:
Paine et al. teaches the removable sidewall panels and endwall panels are mounted externally to surfaces of the first and second skeletal frame and secured by bolts, latches, or other releasable fasteners (244).
Regarding Claim 9:
Paine et al. teaches the removable sidewall panels comprise at least one of thermal insulation and acoustic insulation (120).
Regarding Claim 10:
Paine et al. teaches the base of each of the first and second enclosures comprises mounting pads for the respective generator set (paragraph 0140).
Regarding Claim 11:
Paine et al. teaches a roof assembly of the second enclosure is removable for installation or removal of the second generator set by lifting. (paragraphs 0156, 0250, 0290).
Regarding Claim 12:
Paine et al. teaches the base of the first enclosure is mounted on a base fuel tank (130).
Regarding Claim 13:
Paine et al. teaches the base of the first enclosure is part of a base fuel tank (130).
Regarding Claim 14:
Paine et al. teaches walk-in access doors to the first and second enclosures (Fig 10A, via 203).
Regarding Claim 15:
Paine et al. teaches walk-in access doors to the first and second enclosures, and at least one of fixed and movable staircases to access the walk-in access doors and the space within the stacking superstructure (Fig 10A, via 203).
Regarding Claim 16:
Paine et al. teaches each of the first and second enclosures are configured for longitudinal airflow from an air intake through a sound attenuation box at one end of the enclosure and an air discharge through a sound attenuation box at an opposite end of the enclosure (via 314).
Regarding Claim 17:
Paine et al. teaches each of the first and second enclosures are configured for longitudinal airflow from an air intake through a sound attenuation box at one end of the enclosure and an air discharge through a sound attenuation box at an opposite end of the enclosure, and comprising a discharge tower for receiving said air discharge from the first and second enclosures, and venting said air discharge at a top of the discharge tower (via 314).
Regarding Claim 18:
Paine et al. teaches a base of the first enclosure comprises means for accepting a removable rail system (230 – 232, 333, 244, paragraph 0250) for rail mounting of the first generator set.
Regarding Claim 19:
Paine et al. teaches a base of the second enclosure comprises means for accepting a removable rail system for rail mounting of the second generator set (paragraph 0250, Figs 9A – 10A).
Regarding Claim 20:
Paine et al. teaches part of the skeletal frame of the stacking superstructure is unenclosed to provide space for an exhaust system of the first generator set; and part of the skeletal frame of the stacking superstructure is enclosed to provide an equipment enclosure (Fig 10A).
Regarding Claim 21:
Paine et al. teaches the first enclosure is modular comprising a base (110), supporting the first skeletal frame, and modular sidewall panels (paragraph 0250) removably attached to side supports of the first skeletal frame, end panels comprising sound attenuation boxes (214) removably attached to end supports of the first skeletal frame, and a roof assembly (233) supported by the first skeletal frame; and the second enclosure is modular comprising a base (110), supporting the second skeletal frame, and modular sidewall panels removably attached to side supports of the second skeletal frame, end panels comprising sound attenuation boxes (214) removably attached to end supports of the second skeletal frame; and a roof assembly (233) supported by the second skeletal frame; and two or more of the following features: a) wherein at least one of the removable sidewall panels comprises an access door (203); b) wherein the removable sidewall panels and end wall panels are attached to external surfaces of the first skeletal frame and the second skeletal frames (Figs 1 – 5); c) wherein the removable sidewall panels and end wall panels are secured to external surfaces of the first and second skeletal frame by bolts, latches, or other releasable fasteners (243); d) wherein the removable sidewall panels comprise at least one of thermal insulation and acoustic insulation (120); e) wherein the base of each of the first and second enclosures comprises mounting pads (961) for the respective generator set; f) wherein a roof assembly (233) of the second enclosure is removable for installation or removal of the second generator set by lifting; g) wherein the base of the first enclosure is mounted on a base fuel tank (130); h) wherein the base of the first enclosure is part of a base fuel tank (130); j) comprising walk-in access doors (203) to the first and second enclosures; and k) comprising walk-in access doors (203) to the first and second enclosures, and at least one of fixed and movable staircases to access the walk-in access doors and the space within the stacking superstructure (Fig 10A).
Regarding Claim 22:
Paine et al. teaches a modular enclosure system for industrial generator sets comprising: a first enclosure (101) comprising a first skeletal frame (104) for a first generator set (200); a second enclosure (101, Fig 10A, see also 1013 and 1014) comprising a second skeletal frame (104) for a second generator set (200); a stacking superstructure (1012); the stacking superstructure being supported on the first skeletal frame and the second skeletal frame being supported on the stacking superstructure (Fig 10A); the stacking superstructure having a skeletal frame (104) providing vertical separation between the first and second enclosures comprising space for access and equipment (via doorways 204, see Figs 10A and 9A); a first exhaust system (205) of the first generator set being mounted on the first enclosure in said space provided by the stacking superstructure; and a second exhaust system (205) of the second generator set being mounted on the second enclosure (Fig 10A).
Regarding Claim 23:
Paine et al. teaches an exhaust pipe (205) of the first exhaust system is routed longitudinally through the stacking superstructure.
Regarding Claim 24:
Paine et al. teaches the first exhaust system is mounted within part of the stacking superstructure that is unenclosed (Figs 1 – 10a), and an exhaust pipe (25) the first exhaust system is routed longitudinally through the stacking superstructure (Figs 1 – 10A).
Regarding Claim 25:
Paine et al. teaches part of the stacking superstructure is enclosed by modular sidewall panels to provide an equipment enclosure (via 215).
Regarding Claim 26:
Paine et al. teaches the first and second exhaust systems each comprise a Selective Catalytic Reduction system (paragraph 0075).
Regarding Claim 27:
Paine et al. teaches the first and second exhaust systems each comprise a muffler (paragraph 0021).
Regarding Claim 28:
See rejection of Claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 29:
See rejection of Claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 30:
See rejection of Claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 31:
See rejection of Claim 8 above.
Regarding Claim 32:
See rejection of Claim 9 above.
Regarding Claim 33:
See rejection of Claim 10 above.
Regarding Claim 34:
See rejection of Claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 35:
See rejection of Claim 12 above.
Regarding Claim 36:
See rejection of Claim 13 above.
Regarding Claim 37:
Paine et al. teaches a day tank (602) for fuel for the second generator is mounted within the space of the stacking superstructure.
Regarding Claim 38:
Paine et al. teaches a day tank (602) for fuel for the second generator is mounted within the second enclosure.
Regarding Claim 39:
Paine et al. teaches part of the stacking superstructure is enclosed by modular sidewall panels to provide an equipment enclosure (102), and switch gear (112) of the second generator set is enclosed within said equipment enclosure.
Regarding Claim 40:
Paine et al. teaches walk-in access doors (203) to the first and second enclosures.
Regarding Claim 41:
See rejection of Claim 15 above.
Regarding Claim 42:
Paine et al. teaches the first enclosure is sized to accommodate the first generator set and associated switch gear; and the second enclosure is sized to accommodate the first generator set and associated switch gear (via 102, 112, Figs 2 – 10A).
Regarding Claim 43:
See rejection of Claim 16 above.
Regarding Claim 44:
See rejection of Claim 17 above.
Regarding Claim 45:
Paine et al. teaches exhaust pipes (205) from each of the first and second exhaust systems are routed longitudinally into and through a discharge tower and vent at a top of the discharge tower (paragraph 0312).
Regarding Claim 46:
See rejection of Claim 18 above.
Regarding Claim 47:
See rejection of Claim 19 above.
Regarding Claim 48:
Paine et al. teaches the removable rail system comprises a rail extension and support module that extends beyond the end of the first enclosure, the rail extension and support module having a length that accommodates the first generator outside the first enclosure (Figs 1 – 10A).
Regarding Claim 49:
Paine et al. teaches the rail units are modular lengths of rail, and a pair of slots is provided in the base to receive a pair of rails comprising the modular lengths of rail (Figs 1 – 10A).
Regarding Claim 50:
Paine et al. teaches the removable rail system comprises rolling means supporting the first generator on the pair of rails (via 960).
Regarding Claim 51:
Paine et al. teaches the base of the second enclosure comprises means for receiving a removable rail system for slidable installation or removal of the second generator set from an end of the second enclosure (Figs 1 – 10A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LONG T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747