DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 109512676).
Re Claim 1, Zhang discloses a pill-crushing machine comprising:
a dish (grinding pot 20) that is rotatable about its axis (“When the switch of the drive motor 6 is turned on, the drive motor 6 rotates and drives the grinding pot 20 to rotate” [0027]), translatable up and down (“When the switch of the first hydraulic cylinder 17 is turned on, the first hydraulic cylinder 17 moves so that the hexagonal block 19 at the lower end of the grinding pot 20 is located in the hexagonal groove at the upper end of the connector 18.” [0027]), and biased upwards (Fig. 1 shows the grinding pot 20 is supported upward by first hydraulic cylinder 17);
a punch (fixing plate 25) that is movable from a first position outside the dish to a second position inside the dish (“A fixing plate 25 is fixedly connected to the telescopic end of the second hydraulic cylinder 22” [0027], when the telescopic arm is extended, the fixing plate is inside the grinding pot and when the telescopic arm is retracted the fixing plate is above the grinding pot.);
a motor (drive motor 6) that is configured to rotate the dish when the punch is in the second position (“When the switch of the drive motor 6 is turned on, the drive motor 6 rotates and drives the grinding pot 20 to rotate” [0027]); and
an actuator (first hydraulic cylinder 17) that is configured to increase an upward force on the dish when the punch is in the second position ([0029]; the first hydraulic cylinders 17 raise and lower the grinding pot 20, when the first hydraulic cylinder is raising the grinding pot it is increasing the upward force of the dish and the first hydraulic cylinder is capable of raising the grinding pot when the fixing plate is in the second position).
Re Claim 8, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further discloses a table (connector 18) in which the dish (grinding pot 20 including hexagonal block 19) is mounted (“A connector 18 is fixedly connected to the end of the output shaft of the drive motor 6. The upper end of the connector 18 is provided with a hexagonal groove that cooperates with the hexagonal block 19. When the switch of the first hydraulic cylinder 17 is turned on, the first hydraulic cylinder 17 moves so that the hexagonal block 19 at the lower end of the grinding pot 20 is located in the hexagonal groove at the upper end of the connector 18” [0027]), wherein the motor rotates the table to rotate the dish (“A hexagonal block 19 is fixedly connected to the lower end of the grinding pot 20. A fixing frame 5 is also present. A drive motor 6 is fixedly connected to the upper end of the grinding pot 20. When the switch of the drive motor 6 is turned on, the drive motor 6 rotates and drives the grinding pot 20 to rotate. The rotation of the grinding pot 20 causes the granular medicine to rub against the grinding particles 3, thereby grinding the medicine particles into powder. A connector 18 is fixedly connected to the end of the output shaft of the drive motor 6. The upper end of the connector 18 is provided with a hexagonal groove that cooperates with the hexagonal block 19” [0027]); and one or more bearings upon which the table is mounted (“end of the output shaft” [0027]); wherein the dish is removable (“A pin 30 is inserted through the upper end of the annular plate 21. After the medicine is crushed into small particles, the pin 30 is pulled, and the pin 30 disengages from the slot. The upper end of the slider 29 has a slot that matches the pin” [0027] and “Two sliders 29 are slidably connected in the annular groove. A grinding pot 20 is fixedly connected between the two sliders 29” [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hohl et al. (US2014/0217221), hereinafter referred to as Hohl.
Re Claim 2, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but Zhang fails to disclose one or more springs that bias the dish upwards.
Hohl teaches a pill crushing machine further comprising one or more springs that bias the dish upwards (“Spring 56 extends between rotator base element 24 and second base element 26 to provide additional biasing force of bottom cup holder 24 in the upward direction toward lid 14” [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang to incorporate the spring as taught by Hohl in order to provide additional biasing force as taught by Hohl to the grinding pot of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arthur et al. (US 6,244,146), hereinafter referred to as “Arthur”.
Re Claim 3, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the actuator comprises a piston (part of first hydraulic cylinder 17 that is joined to annular plate 17, “The upper ends of the two first hydraulic cylinders 17 are jointly provided with an annular plate 21” [0027]).
Zhang fails to disclose that the piston is activated by an air pump.
Arthur teaches a pill crushing machine (tablet shearing apparatus 14) comprising a piston (part of drive cylinder 22 that engages with linkage element 26) wherein the preferred embodiment is to be activated by an air pump (“The drive cylinder 22 generally comprises a fluid pressure cylinder using fluid pressure, preferably air, to drive the linkage elements and thus apply a force moving the movable plate 58 along a path to cause shearing of the tablets 76”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by substituting the hydraulic fluid in the cylinder of Zhang for air as Arthur taught that air was a preferred fluid for applying force to move a plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this substitution as predictable as both Zhang and Arthur use a cylinder, whether it be hydraulic of air, to move an object, whether it be a grinding pot or plate.
Re Claim 4, Zhang, in view of Arthur, disclose the pill-crushing machine of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), and Zhang, in view of Arthur, further disclose an anti-vibration mounting in which the air pump is mounted (Zhang, “Two first hydraulic cylinders 17 are fixedly connected to the fixed frame 5” [0027]. The incorporation of Arthur does not affect the fixed connection of the hydraulic cylinders and a fixed connection falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation of an anti-vibration mounting).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bell et al. (US2009/0072059), hereinafter referred to as “Bell” and further in view of Bonilla et al. (US 2023/0372205), hereinafter referred to as “Bonilla”.
Re Claim 5, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Zhang further discloses a lid (mounting plate 23) from which the punch (fixing plate 25) projects downwards (Fig. 1), but fails to disclose a catch that is configured to retain the lid closed; and a spring that is configured to maintain the lid open and the punch in the first position when the lid is unlatched from the catch.
Bell teaches a pill-crushing machine comprising: a lid (lid 14) from which the punch projects downwards (Fig. 5); a catch (latch 18) that retains the lid closed (“A latch 18 or other securing feature may be used for releasably securing lid 14 in the closed position relative to base 12” [0017]); and a spring that maintains the lid open and the punch in the first position when the lid is unlatched from the catch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang by installing a catch between the mounting plate and fixing frame of Zhang in order to releasable secure the mounting plate to the fixing frame as taught by Bell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the reasonable expectation of success.
Bonilla teaches a spring that maintains the lid open (“The lid release 120 may be under spring tension until released by the pressing of a button by a user. For example and without limitation, the user may press a button and the lid 116 may flip open, the user may flick a switch and the lid 116 flips open, or the user may have to manually remove the lid release 120 , like a hook” [0037]) and the punch in the first position when the lid is unlatched from the catch (Zhang, in view of Bell, teaches a latch between the mixing plate and the fixing frame. If the mixing plate were under spring tension, as taught by Bonilla, when the mixing plate is unlatched, the mixing plate will be forward upwards by the spring.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang, in view of Bell, by adding the spring taught by Bonilla in order to flip open the pill-crushing machine when the latch is opened as taught by Bonilla. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Re Claim 6, Zhang, in view of Bell and Bonilla, discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above), and Zhang, in view of Bell and Bonilla, further discloses comprising: a frame (Zhang, fixing frame 5) to which the catch (Bell, latch 18) is connected (connected in the incorporation of Bell into Zhang); but fails to disclose a hinge connected between the frame and the lid.
Bell further teaches a hinge (hinge 16) connected (“Lid 14 may be opened ( FIG. 1) and closed ( FIGS. 2-5) relative to base 12 via a hinge 16” [0017]) between the frame (base 12) and the lid (lid 14).
Bell teaches connecting the frame and lid via a hinge in order to open the lid in a rotational manner relative to the base (Fig. 1 shows the lid opened in a rotational manner. Fig. 3 shows the lid closed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang, in view of Bell and Bonilla, by including a hinge, as further taught by Bell, in order to open the lid in a rotational manner relative to the base.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bell.
Re Claim 7, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but Zhang fails to disclose that the dish is dimensioned to hold a lower pill-crushing cup nested with an upper pill-crushing cup, with one or more pills between said pill-crushing cups; the dish is configured to engage with the lower pill-crushing cup to rotate it when the dish rotates; and a lid of the pill-crushing machine is configured to engage with the upper pill-crushing cup to prevent it rotating when the dish rotates.
Bell teaches that the dish (cup holder 22) is dimensioned to hold a lower pill-crushing cup (“Cup holder 22 includes a central recess 22 a shaped to receive a complimentary shaped cup such as cup 30” [0018]) nested with (Fig. 6) an upper pill-crushing cup (second cup 31), with one or more pills between said pill-crushing cups (Fig. 6); the dish engages with the lower pill-crushing cup to rotate it when the dish rotates (“As explained in more detail below, it is preferred that the cup not rotate with respect to the cup holder 22 . To prevent such rotation, a non-circular flange such as a hexagonal flange 32 may be incorporated on cup 30 to key into a complimentary shaped recess 34 formed in the upper perimeter of recess 22 a” [0018]); and a lid (lid 14) of the pill-crushing machine engages (head of lid 14a) with the upper pill-crushing cup to prevent it rotating when the dish rotates (“Alternatively or in addition to providing a keyed feature, a textured surface “T” may be formed on one or more surfaces of central recess 22 a to increase frictional contact with cup 30 ” [0018]. Fig. 6 shows that head of lid 14a has such a textured surface between it and second cup 31 which prevents second cup 31 from rotating when the dish rotates).
Bell teaches using cups in order to prevent cross contamination between crushing different pills. (“2. prevents cross-contamination between crushing of different pills 3. interrogation of the pill holder to ensure proper holder placement in the device and prevent accidental contamination from unauthorized pill holders” [0054]-[0005]) and rotating the lower cup while preventing the upper cup from rotating to create rotational motion between the cups and crush the pills in a rotational manner (“This simultaneous rotational and linear movement causes pills located in cup 30 to be effectively crushed and ground against surface 14 b of head 14 a.” [0020]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang by including the cups as taught by Bell in order to prevent cross-contamination and by configuring the cups to either rotate or not to create rotational motion between the cups as taught by Bell in order to effectively crush and ground the pills. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 11-12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bell and further in view of Sussman (US 5,067,666).
Re Claim 11, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and Zhang further discloses a lid (mounting plate 23).
Bell teaches a pill-crushing machine comprising a lid (lid 14) and a first microswitch (“RF detector” [0022]) to detect (“Cup interrogation may be provided in any of a variety of different ways. For example, cup 30 may be wholly or partly made out of a material whose physical or chemical characteristics are detectable by a detector that may be positioned on or near cup holder 22 . Some possibilities include: 1) a polymer or other material with a particular dielectric constant that may be read by a capatenance detector; or 2) an RF tag that may be read by an RF detector; or 3) a bar code that may be read by a bar code scanner; or 4) a metallic or ferrous oxide material that may be read by a resistive or magnetic detector; or 5) a proximity detector that detects when a material object is placed near the detector; or 6) an LED or other optical component detectable by an appropriate optical detector.” [0022]-[0028]) a presence in the dish of an upper pill-crushing cup (second cup 31) of a nested pair (cups 30, 31) of pill-crushing cups (the RF detector detects the presence of both cups, including the upper cup).
Bell teaches using cups in order to prevent cross contamination between crushing different pills. (“2. prevents cross-contamination between crushing of different pills 3. interrogation of the pill holder to ensure proper holder placement in the device and prevent accidental contamination from unauthorized pill holders” [0054]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the cups taught by Bell in order to prevent cross contamination and to include the RF tags in the upper cup and the RF detector as taught by Bell in order to detect whether the proper cup is placed within the device.
Zhang, in view of Bell, does not disclose a first microswitch located in the lid. Bell states that the “detector that may be positioned on or near cup holder 22” ([0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, in view of Bell, to arrange the RF detector such that it is located in the lid, which is located near the cup holder, as it has been held that merely rearranging features taught in the prior art is an obvious matter of design and/or engineering choice (MPEP § 2144.04 subsection VI.C)
Sussman teaches a second microswitch (microswitch 51) located to detect that the lid is closed (“Microswitch 51, is mounted within housing 11 and is employed in the operation of device 10 and senses when drawer 22 is closed. Until switch 51 senses that drawer 22 is closed, the power to motor 29 is interrupted and device 10 will not operate. This safeguard prevents such serious occurences as damage to the unit and possible loss of pulverized particles” Col. 3, Lines 50-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang, in view of Bell, by incorporating the microswitch as taught by Sussman in order to prevent damage to the pill-crushing machine (“This safeguard prevents such serious occurences as damage to the unit and possible loss of pulverized particles” Col. 3, Lines 54-56). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Re Claim 12, Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above), and Bell further teaches further a catch (latch 18) and a third microswitch located to detect that the catch has hooked the lid (“A switch may also be provided adjacent lid latch 18 such that motor 26 operates only when lid 14 is closed and latched” [0021]).
Bell teaches including a latch to secure the lid to the frame (“A latch 18 or other securing feature may be used for releasably securing lid 14 in the closed position relative to base 12” [0017]) and a switch to ensure the lid is closed in order to prevent accidents (“prevent accidents such as fingers getting caught in the device by allowing motor operation only when a cup is detected in cup holder 22” [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, to incorporate the latch and switch to detect if the latch is closed as further taught by Bell in order to secure the lid to the frame and prevent accidents.
Re Claim 14, Zhang discloses a method of comminuting one or more pills (“a drug crushing device” [0027]), the method comprising: biasing a dish (grinding pot 20) of a pill-crushing machine upwards (“The upper ends of the two first hydraulic cylinders 17 are jointly provided with an annular plate 21” [0027], the grinding pot being connected to the annular plate either by being suspended by pin 30 or by resting on annular plate by force of gravity), the dish being rotatable (“A drive motor 6 is fixedly connected to the upper end of the grinding pot 20. When the switch of the drive motor 6 is turned on, the drive motor 6 rotates and drives the grinding pot 20 to rotate.” [0027]); the lid (mounting plate 23) having a punch (fixing plate 25) that projects into the dish (Fig. 1); rotating the dish (“When the switch of the drive motor 6 is turned on, the drive motor 6 rotates and drives the grinding pot 20 to rotate.” [0027]); using a motor (drive motor 6) and an actuator (first hydraulic cylinder 17).
Zhang does not disclose comminuting one or more pills between a nested pair of pill-crushing cups, detecting that a lid of the pill-crushing machine is closed; detecting that an upper pill-crushing cup of the nested pair is present in the dish; and simultaneously: rotating the dish using a motor, to rotate a lower pill-crushing cup of the nested pair; and increasing, by an actuator, an upwards force on the dish.
Bell teaches that the dish (cup holder 22) is dimensioned to hold a lower pill-crushing cup (“Cup holder 22 includes a central recess 22 a shaped to receive a complimentary shaped cup such as cup 30” [0018]) nested with (Fig. 6) an upper pill-crushing cup (second cup 31), with one or more pills between said pill-crushing cups (Fig. 6).
Bell teaches using cups in order to prevent cross contamination between crushing different pills. (“2. prevents cross-contamination between crushing of different pills 3. interrogation of the pill holder to ensure proper holder placement in the device and prevent accidental contamination from unauthorized pill holders” [0054]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang by including the cups as taught by Bell in order to prevent cross-contamination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the reasonable expectation of success.
Sussman teaches a second microswitch (microswitch 51) located to detect that the lid is closed (“Microswitch 51, is mounted within housing 11 and is employed in the operation of device 10 and senses when drawer 22 is closed. Until switch 51 senses that drawer 22 is closed, the power to motor 29 is interrupted and device 10 will not operate. This safeguard prevents such serious occurences as damage to the unit and possible loss of pulverized particles” Col. 3, Lines 50-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang, in view of Bell, by incorporating the microswitch as taught by Sussman in order to prevent damage to the pill-crushing machine (“This safeguard prevents such serious occurences as damage to the unit and possible loss of pulverized particles” Col. 3, Lines 54-56). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation of success.
Bell further teaches a pill-crushing machine comprising a lid (lid 14) and a first microswitch (“RF detector” [0022]) to detect (“Cup interrogation may be provided in any of a variety of different ways. For example, cup 30 may be wholly or partly made out of a material whose physical or chemical characteristics are detectable by a detector that may be positioned on or near cup holder 22 . Some possibilities include: 1) a polymer or other material with a particular dielectric constant that may be read by a capatenance detector; or 2) an RF tag that may be read by an RF detector; or 3) a bar code that may be read by a bar code scanner; or 4) a metallic or ferrous oxide material that may be read by a resistive or magnetic detector; or 5) a proximity detector that detects when a material object is placed near the detector; or 6) an LED or other optical component detectable by an appropriate optical detector.” [0022]-[0028]) a presence in the dish of an upper pill-crushing cup (second cup 31) of a nested pair (cups 30, 31) of pill-crushing cups (the RF detector detects the presence of both cups, including the upper cup).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, to include the RF tags in the upper cup and the RF detector as further taught by Bell in order to detect whether the proper cup is placed within the device.
Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, discloses a method that differs from the claimed device by not simultaneously rotating the dish using a motor, to rotate a lower pill-crushing cup of the nested pair; and increasing, by an actuator, an upwards force on the dish. Zhang discloses two grinding states: a first state where the grinding pot is stationary (“during use, the medicine is added to the grinding pot 20. Then, the switch of the second hydraulic cylinder 22 is turned on, and the second hydraulic cylinder 22 pushes the fixed plate 25 to move. The movement of the fixed plate 25 causes the grinding plate 2 and the grinding particles 3 to crush the medicine into small particles.” [0029]) and a second state where the grinding pot rotates (“Then, the switch of the first hydraulic cylinder 17 is turned on, and the first hydraulic cylinder 17 moves so that the hexagonal block 19 at the lower end of the grinding pot 20 is located in the hexagonal groove at the upper end of the connector 18. Then, the switch of the drive motor 6 is turned on, and the drive motor 6 rotates to drive the grinding pot 20 to rotate. The rotation of the grinding pot 20 causes the granular medicine to rub against the grinding particles 3, thereby grinding the medicine particles into powder.” [0029]) While the second grinding state includes simultaneous rotational and linear movement (“A fixed plate is fixedly connected to the telescopic end of the second hydraulic cylinder.” [0010] and “The rotation of the grinding pot 20 causes the granular medicine to rub against the grinding particles 3, thereby grinding the medicine particles into powder.” [0027]), these forces are not both acting upon the grinding dish as the linear movement is provided by the telescopic end of the second hydraulic cylinder moving the fixed plate, comprising grinding particles, into the grinding pot while the grinding pot is rotated by a drive motor (“A hexagonal block 19 is fixedly connected to the lower end of the grinding pot 20. A fixing frame 5 is also present. A drive motor 6 is fixedly connected to the upper end of the grinding pot 20.” [0027]) which it is connected to via a hexagonal block. Because the drive motor’s fixed vertical position (Fig. 6), if the first hydraulic cylinder increased upward force on the grinding pot, the grinding pot would move upwards, disconnecting from the drive motor, and stop rotating. However, if, instead of the fixing plate and the grinding pot being movable to and from the drive motor via the first and second hydraulic cylinders, the grinding pot and drive motor were movable to and from the fixing plate fixedly connected to the mounting plate via the first and second hydraulic cylinder, respectively, the method of Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, would be able to simultaneously rotate the dish using a motor, to rotate a lower pill-crushing cup of the nested pair; and increase, by an actuator, an upwards force on the dish
Bell further teaches simultaneously: rotating the dish using a motor, to rotate a lower pill-crushing cup of the nested pair; and increasing an upwards force on the dish (“Rotation of platform 24 in a first direction causes a simultaneous rotation and linear translation of cup holder 22 toward lid 14 . Linear translation is provided by ramp 24 b against which flange 22 c, extending downwardly from cup holder bottom surface 22 d, rides along as motor 26 rotates platform 24 . This simultaneous rotational and linear movement causes pills located in cup 30 to be effectively crushed and ground against surface 14 b of head 14 a.” [0020]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, by having the telescopic arm of the second hydraulic cylinder attached to the drive motor and the other end of the second hydraulic cylinder attached to the bottom of fixing frame in order to simultaneously rotate the grinding pot and increase an upwards force upon it in order to effectively crush the pills as further taught by Bell.
Re Claim 16, Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, disclose the method of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), but fails to disclose engaging the lid with the upper pill-crushing cup to prevent the upper pill-crushing cup from rotating while the lower pill-crushing cup is rotated.
Bell teaches that a lid (lid 14) of the pill-crushing machine engages (head of lid 14a) with the upper pill-crushing cup to prevent it rotating when the dish rotates (“Alternatively or in addition to providing a keyed feature, a textured surface “T” may be formed on one or more surfaces of central recess 22 a to increase frictional contact with cup 30 ” [0018]. Fig. 6 shows that head of lid 14a has such a textured surface between it and second cup 31 which prevents second cup 31 from rotating when the dish rotates).
Bell teaches rotating the lower cup while preventing the upper cup from rotating to create rotational motion between the cups and crush the pills in a rotational manner (“This simultaneous rotational and linear movement causes pills located in cup 30 to be effectively crushed and ground against surface 14 b of head 14 a.” [0020]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang by configuring the cups to either rotate or not to create rotational motion between the cups as taught by Bell in order to effectively crush and ground the pills. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bell and further in view of Lin (CN107811866).
Re Claim 13, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose a lid base; a touchscreen mounted on the lid base; and a lid cover that is configured to expose the touchscreen.
Lin teaches a lid base (inner cavity 22 of reminder device 2); a touchscreen (control panel 3 including display screen 36 and control button 32) mounted on the lid base (Fig. 2); and a lid cover (reminder cover 1) that exposes the touchscreen (Fig. 1).
Zhang contains a base pill-crushing machine upon which the claimed invention could be seen as an improvement. Lin teaches a pill-crushing machine that has been improved in the same way. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the known improvement as taught by Lin to the pill-crushing machine of Zhang and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the predictable result of being able to keep time (“When in operation, the reminder device 2 can adjust the medication time through the control panel 3.” [0028])
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Arthur.
Re Claim 15, Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, disclose the method of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), wherein the actuator comprises a piston (part of first hydraulic cylinder 17 that is joined to annular plate 17, “The upper ends of the two first hydraulic cylinders 17 are jointly provided with an annular plate 21” [0027]).
Zhang fails to disclose that the piston is activated by an air pump.
Arthur teaches a pill crushing machine (tablet shearing apparatus 14) comprising a piston (part of drive cylinder 22 that engages with linkage element 26) wherein the preferred embodiment is to be activated by an air pump (“The drive cylinder 22 generally comprises a fluid pressure cylinder using fluid pressure, preferably air, to drive the linkage elements and thus apply a force moving the movable plate 58 along a path to cause shearing of the tablets 76”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by substituting the hydraulic fluid in the cylinder of Zhang for air as Arthur taught that air was a preferred fluid for applying force to move a plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this substitution as predictable as both Zhang and Arthur use a cylinder, whether it be hydraulic of air, to move an object, whether it be a grinding pot or plate.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Weisbeck (US2006/0043224).
Re Claim 17, Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, disclose the method of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above), but fails to disclose detecting that a vibration level in the pill-crushing machine has fallen below a threshold; and, in response, stopping the dish rotating and reducing the upwards force on the dish.
Weisbeck teaches detecting (“operator can feel” [0068]) that a vibration level in the pill-crushing machine (“sound and feel of the action” [0068]) has fallen below a threshold (“change in sound and feel which occur indicating the breakdown of the pills sufficiently to remove any larger particles” [0068]); and, in response, stopping the grinding action (“The operator can feel the crushing action occurring since the sound and feel of the action changes as the pills break down into particulate form. Brief experience will show to the operator the amount of time necessary and the change in sound and feel which occur indicating the breakdown of the pills sufficiently to remove any larger particles which would interfere with the material being taken in powder form by the patient.” [0068]).
Weisbeck teaches stopping the grinding action after reaching a certain threshold in order to prevent the materials from being crushed into the surface of the grinding mechanism (“The repeated tamping action tends to break down the pills without applying sufficient force to damage the pouch or to crush the materials into the surface of the pouch” [0067]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, in view of Bell and Sussman, by detecting that a vibration level in the pill-crushing machine has fallen below a threshold; and, in response, stopping the dish rotating and reducing the upwards force on the dish as taught by Weisbeck in order to prevent the pills from being crushed into the surface of the pill cups.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Marshall (US 6,508,424).
Re Claim 9, Zhang discloses the pill-crushing machine of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), but fails to disclose a first gear attached to the motor and rotated by the motor; and a second gear in the table and rotated by the first gear.
Marshall discloses a first gear (drive gear 46) attached to the motor (electric motor 44) and rotated by the motor (“the drive motor 44 causes the drive gear 46 to rotate, translating this motion to the turntable 34”); and a second gear (détente 42, “The outer circumferential sidewall 42 extends downward about the upper surface 36, forming a drive skirt 40 terminating at the lower end in a series of radially aligned detents 42. Each detente 42 forms a drive gear cut at an 45 degree angle inward for engagement with the drive mechanism”) in the table (turntable 34) and rotated by the first gear (“The drive gear 46 is cut at a 45 degree angle, and is positioned upward for engagement with the detents 42”) and one or more bearings (assembly comprising vertical hub 56, spring 50, guide collar 48, annular support 49) upon which the table is mounted (Figs. 1-4).
Zhang discloses a pill crusher machine which differed from the claimed pill crusher machine by using a drive motor and its output shaft to rotate the table upon which the dish is mounted. Marshall discloses a pill crushing machine which uses a gear system wherein the final gear of the gear system is integral with the table to rotate the table upon which the dish is mounted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the motor, output shaft, and connection between the output shaft and connector of Zhang for the electric motor, drive gear, and détente of Marshall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized results of this substitution as predictable because the components of Marshall were known to cause the table to rotate (“the drive motor 44 causes the drive gear 46 to rotate, translating this motion to the turntable 34”), which was the same function of the substituted components of Zhang.
Examiner notes that the motor, output shaft, and connection between the output shaft and connector of Zhang, the end of the output shaft in particular, are also bearings that bear the weight of the grinding pot which is mounted atop it. It would have been obvious to have substituted these components for the assembly comprising vertical hub, spring, guide collar, annular support of Marshall, which are shown in Fig. 3 to bear the turn table and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognize the results of this combination as predictable because both sets of components support a table. Furthermore the assembly of Marshall provides an urging force upon the table (“the turntable 34 is rotated about a center, vertical hub 56 which functions as an axle. The hub 56 is supported at its lower end by a guide collar 48 in a vertically slidable manner. The guide collar 48 supports an upper annular support 49 that supports a turntable resistance spring 50. The turntable resistance spring 50 functions to provide an upward urging force between the turntable 34 and the bottom of the container 12”). It would have been obvious to have substituted the motor, output shaft, and connection between the output shaft and connector of Zhang for the assembly of Marshall in order to provide an urging force upon the table as taught by Marshall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 allowed. Reasons for allowance can be found in the first action on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 18th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In respect to claim 1, Applicant Argued:
“On page 3 of the Office Action, the Examiner has mapped the dish of claim 1 onto Zhang's grinding pot 20, and relies for the "biased upwards" limitation on the assertion that "Fig. 1 shows the grinding pot 20 is supported upward by first hydraulic cylinder 17."
In the first action on the merits, Examiner used the broadest reasonable interpretation of “biased upwards” to mean that an upwards force is applied to the dish. The support given by the first hydraulic cylinder applied an upwards force to the dish in two ways. First, the first hydraulic cylinder controls the movement of the dish up and down ([0029]). When the first cylinder extends, the first cylinder applied an upwards force on the dish to move it upwards. Second, the dish is supported by the first hydraulic cylinder. Therefore, the dish imposes a downward force on the cylinder equal to the dish’s weight and the cylinder provides an equal and upwards normal force on the dish.
Applicant respectfully submits that a grinding pot supported upward by a hydraulic cylinder cannot be equated with the dish "biased upwards" of claim 1. To recap, the present as-filed specification describes the dish as translatable up and down and "biased upwards" in the body by one or more springs (See, paragraph [0039]), and describes the springs as lifting the entire vertically moving assembly, including the dish, towards its topmost position when the machine is not operating (See, paragraphs [0051] and [0060]). When the operating cycle starts, the grinding table carrying the dish is already raised by the biasing springs (See, paragraph [0061]); this is followed by the punch pushing the assembly down from that position, by approximately the thickness of the cup pack, as the lid closes (See, paragraph [0056]). The purpose is stated: the crushing mechanism is "pre-biased by springs, for example, to a position from which crushing starts upon application of the crushing force" (See, paragraph [0013]). Refer, FIG. 1 of the present application, reproduced below for ready reference. Note that springs are only one example of a mechanism for the dish being "biased upwards" (See paragraph [0068]).
Examiner notes that Applicant is reciting elements from the application’s specification. Such features are not claimed or, if they are claimed, are claimed in the dependencies such as springs only being claimed in claim 2.
In contrast, Zhang discloses no such upwardly biased dish. The grinding pot 20 of Zhang is fixedly connected between two sliders 29 received in an annular groove of annular plate 21, which is carried jointly on the upper ends of two first hydraulic cylinders 17 fixed to fixing frame 5 (See, Zhang, paragraph [0027]). The hydraulic cylinders 17 of Zhang serve merely to position the pot for drive engagement (See, Zhang, paragraphs [0027] and [0029]).
The first hydraulic cylinders of Zhang position the pot for drive engagement by applying a upwards force on the dish thereby biasing the dish upwards. Applicant appears to argue that Zhang does not upwardly bias the dish as Zhang does not work in the same manner as the invention. In response to this argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “pre-biased by springs” and “this is followed by the punch pushing the assembly down from that position, by approximately the thickness of the cup pack, as the lid closes”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Zhang discloses two types of spring, however, neither of these two springs acts on the grinding pot 20, leave alone, perform an action of upward biasing of the grinding pot 20. In particular, first springs 14 form part of the shock-absorbing support between movable block 15 and support leg 8, and second spring 26 is fitted on limiting rod 9 to retain connecting block 1 in fixing plate 25 (See, Zhang, paragraphs [0027] and [0028]).
Examiner’s rejections do not rely upon the springs disclosed in Zhang.
Therefore, there is nothing in Zhang that raises, via a biasing action, the grinding pot 20 upwards. (See, Zhang, paragraph [0029]). Refer, FIG. 1 of Zhang, reproduced below for ready reference.
Examiner disagrees that Zhang does not have a dish that is biased upwards for the reasons cited above. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “raises, via a biasing action, the grinding pot upwards”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, crushing is performed by second hydraulic cylinder 22 pushing fixing plate 25 downwards onto medicine held in the pot 20. There is nothing in Zhang that raises, via a biasing action, the grinding pot 20 towards a topmost position when the machine is not operating, and nothing that pushes the pot down from an upper limit as the crushing element descends.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “raises, via a biasing action, the grinding pot 20 towards a topmost position when the machine is not operating, and nothing that pushes the pot down from an upper limit as the crushing element descends”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is commonly understood that biasing requires a mechanism that returns a dish, for example, to its topmost position, for example, on its own, once a displacing force is removed. Zhang's hydraulic cylinder applies no such biasing action to the pot; it can, at best, hold whatever position it was last switched to hold. In fact, Zhang's grinding pot 20 is held stationary while grinding plate 2 presses onto the medicine. The Examiner states "Fig. 1 shows the grinding pot 20 is supported upward by first hydraulic cylinder 17", however, FIG. 1 cannot supply what the description misses, and FIG. 1 merely showing the pot 20 resting on hydraulic cylinders cannot be interpreted as disclosing that the pot 20 is raised to a topmost position or pushed down from it in use. Applicant submits that Zhang discloses no mechanism for performing the required upward biasing. Zhang, accordingly, fails to disclose a dish that is "biased upwards", as required by claim 1.
“Biased upwards” as used in claim 1 was interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation as explained above. Applicant did not include the definition upon which Applicant now relies in their specification. Further, hydraulic cylinders do bias under applicant’s definition. One of ordinary skill in the art would know that hydraulic cylinders use pressurized fluid to move a rod. If one placed a force on the end of the rod, the rod would move down as the fluid increased in the pressure. Once the force was removed the pressurized fluid would move the rod back upwards.
Further, on pages 3 and 4 of the Office Action, the Examiner maps the actuator of claim 1 onto Zhang's first hydraulic cylinder 17, stating that the cylinder raises and lowers grinding pot 20, that raising the pot increases the upward force on it, and that the cylinder is capable of raising the pot when the fixing plate is in the second position. Applicant respectfully traverses.
The actuator of the present application is described as a pneumatic device such as air pump 39, which, as soon as the lid is closed, pumps air into pneumatic cylinder 30 so as to create pressure on piston 28, "which increases the upward force on the dish 18", the additional upwards force crushing the pills (See, paragraph [0042]). In other words, the actuator is the source of the crushing force, and it applies that force upwards, through the dish, while the punch is in the second position, that is, in the dish.
Examiner notes that Applicant is reciting elements from the application’s specification. Such features are not claim or, if they are claimed, are claimed in the dependencies such as springs only being claimed in claim 2. Examiner further notes that when Applicant provided structure as disclosed in the specification, as in claims 3, 4, and 15, Examiner acknowledged that the claim was not taught by Zhang.
Applicant submits that Zhang discloses no counterpart to the actuator of claim 1. According to Zhang, after medicine is added to grinding pot 20, second hydraulic cylinder 22 moves fixing plate 25 so that grinding plate 2 and grinding particles 3 crush the medicine into small particles. Pin 30 is then pulled from the slot, and first hydraulic cylinder 17 is switched on to locate hexagonal block 19 at the lower end of pot 20 in the hexagonal groove of connector 18. Thereafter, drive motor 6 is switched on to rotate pot 20, causing the granular medicine to rub against grinding particles 3 and be ground into powder (See, Zhang, paragraphs [0027] and [0029]). The function of first hydraulic cylinder 17 is, thus, restricted to positioning pot 20 into and out of engagement with the drive.
The dish is movable in the vertical direction when the punch is in the second position. While the illustrative description in Zhang describes the dish as going down, subject to a concurrent downwards pulling force and upwards normal force, the device is also configured to have the actuator move the dish up while the punch is in the second position. Further, even when the dish is neither moving upwards or downwards, there is still an upwards normal force being applied by the actuator cylinder to the dish.
Further, cylinder 17 is not operated during crushing of the medicine; instead, it is switched on only afterwards, once the medicine has been crushed and pin 30 pulled. Accordingly, there is nothing in Zhang suggestive of cylinder 17 increasing an upward force on pot 20, or of its doing so while the punch is in the dish. Moreover, Zhang attributes no crushing force to any upward force on pot 20; instead, crushing in Zhang is performed in response to second hydraulic cylinder 22 pushing fixing plate 25 downwards onto medicine held in pot 20. In other words, the crushing force is applied from above, onto pot 20.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the actuator operating during the crushing of the medicine and crushing force attributable to an upwards force on the pot) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Examiner characterises cylinder 17 as being "capable of" raising pot 20, whereas amended claim 1 requires an actuator configured to increase an upward force on the dish. Claim 1 accordingly requires a structure designed to raise the dish, whereas cylinder 17 is disclosed as designed to position pot 20, downwards, for drive engagement, rather than to load it upwards.
Zhang discloses a first hydraulic cylinder capable of controlling the dish in the vertical direction. While the illustrative method discloses the cylinder lowering the dish, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the same structure is capable of raising the dish. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that ordinary hydraulic cylinders are capable of extension and retraction and that if the first hydraulic cylinder was not capable of being extended upwards, the pill-crushing machine of Zhang would be a one use machine. There is no indication in Zhang that the disclosed invention is a one-use machine. Furthermore, when the dish is being raised by the cylinder, it is subject to a higher upwards force than when the dish is merely suspended by the cylinder.
Accordingly, Zhang fails to disclose an actuator configured to increase an upward force on the dish, as recited in claim 1.
Zhang, therefore, fails to disclose each and every element of amended claim 1, and claim 1 is patentable over Zhang.”
For the reasons stated above, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained. Applicant argued that the claims dependent upon claim 1 were allowable by the allowability of claim 1. The rejections of these claims is likewise maintained.
In respect to claim 8, Applicant Argued:
“Claim 8 depends from claim 1 and is patentable over Zhang at least by virtue of that dependency, as well as for its own limitations. For example, Zhang does not have a table in which the pot is mounted and which a motor rotates. The cited "table" 18 in Zhang is below the pot, and it has no bearings, and the pot is not removable, being captive in ring 21.”
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Examiner is unsure what relation the table having no bearings, below the pot, nor not being removable has to “a table in which the pot is mounted and which a motor rotates”. Furthermore, Examiner does not concede Applicant’s interpretation of Zhang.
In respect to claim 14, Applicant Argued:
“First, Zhang, Bell, and Sussman, alone or in combination, fail to disclose biasing a dish of a pill-crushing machine upwards, as recited in claim 14.
On page 12 of the Office Action, for rejecting the above feature, the Examiner relies on the upper ends of Zhang's two first hydraulic cylinders 17 being jointly provided with annular plate 21, and states that grinding pot 20 is connected to that plate "either by being suspended by pin 30 or by resting on annular plate by force of gravity".
Applicant respectfully submits that neither alternative amounts to biasing the dish upwards. As set out above with respect to claim 1, biasing requires a mechanism that returns the dish to its topmost position on its own once the displacing force is removed. A pot suspended from a pin or a pot resting on a plate under gravity cannot exert any upward force beyond passive support.
Therefore, Zhang fails to disclose any structure that biases grinding pot 20 upwards, for the reasons already given with respect to claim 1, and hence, fails to disclose biasing a dish of a pill-crushing machine upwards, as recited in claim 14. Neither Bell nor Sussman is relied upon to supply the feature.”
For the reasons given above, Zhang does teach biasing a dish of a pill-crushing machine upwards.
“Second, Zhang, Bell, and Sussman, alone or in combination, fail to disclose simultaneously: rotating the dish using a motor, to rotate a lower pill-crushing cup of the nested pair; and increasing, by an actuator, an upwards force on the dish, as recited in claim 14.
The Examiner acknowledges that Zhang does not disclose the above feature, proposes a rearrangement of Zhang's mechanism by which it might be performed, and relies on Bell for simultaneous rotational and linear movement (Office Action, pages 14- 16).
The Examiner notes that, because Zhang's drive motor 6 occupies a fixed vertical position, if first hydraulic cylinder 17 increased the upward force on grinding pot 20, the pot 20 would move upwards, disconnect from the drive motor, and stop rotating (Office Action, page 15). Applicant acknowledges this finding to be correct. Drive motor 6 is fixed to the frame, and pot 20 can be rotated only while hexagonal block 19 at its lower end remains seated in the hexagonal groove of connector 18 on the motor's output shaft. As set out above with respect to claim 1, first hydraulic cylinder 17 is restricted to the lowering of pot 20 into engagement; however, Zhang fails to describe cylinder 17 raising the pot, at any stage of the operation. Rotation and an increasing upward force are, therefore, mutually exclusive in Zhang, and cannot occur simultaneously as claim 14 requires.
For the reasons given above, while the illustrative method of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the first hydraulic cylinder moving the dish upwards, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first hydraulic cylinder is capable of moving the dish upwards.
To arrive at the claimed step, the Examiner proposes a modification: instead of fixing plate 25 and grinding pot 20 being movable towards and away from drive motor 6 by the second and first hydraulic cylinders, fixing plate 25 could be fixedly connected to mounting plate 23 and grinding pot 20 and drive motor 6 be made movable towards and away from that fixed plate by the first and second hydraulic cylinders respectively (Office Action, page 15). Applicant respectfully submits that this cannot be achieved by any mere modification of Zhang, for the following reasons.
- According to Zhang, the operation includes crushing the medicine by second
hydraulic cylinder 22 pushing fixing plate 25 downwards when the pot is not rotating, and then grinding the crushed particles into a powder by rotating the pot
under driving motor 6.
- Firstly, the proposed modification inverts the direction from which the crushing
force is applied, from a downward force delivered by a movable plate onto a supported pot, to an upward force delivered through a movable pot. The said inversion is a change in the basic principle under which Zhang was designed to operate, and is therefore not an obvious modification for a person skilled in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the inversion as obvious. First, both crushing machine that use a downward crushing force and machines that use an upwards crushing force are known in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to modify one machine to incorporate benefits of the other type of machine. Second, to give a specific example, Hohl, previously used in the rejection to claim 2, teaches a pill crushing machine where a crushing force is applied between a bottom cup, biased upwards by a spring, translated upwards and rotating, and a stationary top cup. Hohl teaches that this machine could be inverted so that the top cup moved and the bottom cup stayed stationary (“While described as having a rotating bottom cup and stationary top cup, it is envision that a machine can operate in an inverse relation wherein the top cup rotates and the bottom cup is stationary” [0006])
- Secondly, the first hydraulic cylinder is intended to move the pot down to engage
with the coupling for grinding, and in the modified arrangement, the second hydraulic cylinder would be configured to move the pot upwards for crushing. There would therefore be a conflict in the directions of operation of the two hydraulic systems when both are operated simultaneously in an attempt to achieve simultaneous crushing and grinding. The proposed modification would therefore cause problematic issues and would not be a merely straightforward change.
There is no conflict in the directions of operation as the first hydraulic cylinder would move the pot upwards at the same time the second hydraulic cylinder moved the table upwards, keeping the system operation and allowing simultaneous crushing and grinding. To the extent this argument is an argument that the first hydraulic cylinder is incapable of upwards movement, see the rebuttal given above.
Thus, no obvious or simple modification of Zhang can lead to the simultaneous operation of rotating the dish using a motor, to rotate a lower pill-crushing cup of the nested pair, and increasing, by an actuator, an upwards force on the dish. Bell and Sussman do not supply the missing teaching.
A person of ordinary skill applying Bell's and Sussman's teachings to Zhang would not be led either to an actuator separate from that motor or to the reconstruction of Zhang's hydraulic arrangement.
Accordingly, Zhang, Bell and Sussman, whether taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest simultaneously rotating the dish using a motor to rotate a lower pill- crushing cup of the nested pair and increasing, by an actuator, an upwards force on the dish, as recited in claim 14.
Applicant, therefore, requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 14.
Claims 15-17 depend from claim 14 and are patentable at least by virtue of that dependency, as well as for their own limitations.
For the reasons given above, the rejection of claim 14 is maintained. As the dependencies of claim 14 were argued to be allowable by virtue of their dependency on an allowed claim, the rejections of the dependencies of claim 14 are likewise maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 30 September 2026