DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 12-13, 16, 20-21, 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0197344).
With respect to claim 1, Han discloses a multilayer electronic component (see abstract), comprising: a body including a dielectric layer and an internal electrode alternately disposed with the dielectric layer (see FIG. 3, elements 110, 111, 121, and 122, and paragraph [0041]; note that paragraph [0023] indicates that FIG. 8 is an enlarged view of region B in FIG. 3), the body having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (see FIG. 2, surfaces 1-6, and paragraph [0046]); and an external electrode disposed on the body and including a base electrode layer comprising a first metal (see FIG. 8, element 131, and paragraph [0058]), an intermediate electrode layer disposed on the base electrode layer and comprising a second metal and a first resin (see FIG. 8, element 132, and paragraph [0071]), and an upper electrode layer disposed on the intermediate electrode layer and comprising Sn and a second resin (see FIG. 8, element 133, and paragraph [0074], noting that at least interfacial layer 136 includes a tin alloy), wherein the third and fourth surfaces of the body include an exposed portion in which the dielectric layer and the internal electrode are alternately exposed (see FIG. 4, area AC) and a non-exposed portion other than the exposed portion (see FIG. 4, areas 112/113), and the base electrode layer is disposed on the exposed portion and the non-exposed portion (see FIG. 3, noting that the base electrode layer is disposed on both the AC area and areas 112/113), the intermediate electrode layer is disposed on the non-exposed portion (see FIG. 3, noting that intermediate electrode 132 is disposed on the non-exposed portion – the Office notes that the claims do not require that the intermediate electrode ONLY be disposed on the non-exposed portion), and the upper electrode layer is disposed on the non-exposed portion (see FIG. 3, element 133, noting that the upper electrode layer is disposed on the non-exposed portion).
With respect to claim 2, Han discloses that the external electrode comprises a band portion extending onto a portion of the first surface and a portion of the second surface, and the band portion comprises a portion of the base electrode layer, a portion of the intermediate electrode layer, and a portion of the upper electrode layer. See FIG. 3, elements P1b and P2b.
With respect to claim 3, Han discloses that the intermediate electrode layer is further disposed on a portion of the exposed portion. See FIGS. 3 and 8.
With respect to claim 4, Han discloses that the upper electrode layer is further disposed on the exposed portion. See FIGS. 3 and 8.
With respect to claim 5, Han discloses that the first metal includes Cu. See paragraph [0058].
With respect to claim 6, Han discloses that the second metal includes Ag. See paragraph [0063].
With respect to claim 12, Han discloses that the base electrode layer further includes glass. See paragraph [0058].
With respect to claim 13, Han discloses that one end of the intermediate electrode layer in the band portion is disposed to cover one end of the base electrode layer. See FIG. 3.
With respect to claim 16, Han discloses that the upper electrode layer comprises an intermetallic compound containing Sn. See paragraph [0074].
With respect to claim 20, Han discloses that the upper electrode layer is disposed to cover the intermediate electrode layer. See FIG. 3.
With respect to claim 21, Han discloses that the external electrode further comprises a plating layer disposed on the upper electrode layer. See FIG. 3, element 134 and paragraph [0070].
With respect to claim 23, Han discloses that the base electrode layer includes Cu as a metal component (see paragraph [0058]), the intermediate electrode layer includes Ag as a metal component (see paragraph [0063]), and the upper electrode layer includes Cu and Sn as metal components (see paragraph [0076]).
With respect to claim 24, Han discloses an electronic component (see abstract), comprising: a body (see FIG. 3, element 110); an external electrode (see FIG. 3, element 130) comprising: a base electrode layer including a first metal and disposed on an entirety of a first surface of the body and extending to a portion of at least one other surface of the body connected to the first surface (see FIGS. 3 and 8, element 131; note that paragraph [0023] indicates that FIG. 8 is an enlarged view of region B in FIG. 3; and paragraph [0058])), an intermediate electrode layer disposed on a portion of the first surface and a corner connecting the first surface and the at least one other surface and comprising a second metal and a first resin (see FIG. 3, element 132 and paragraphs [0060] and [0061]), and an upper electrode layer disposed on the intermediate electrode layer and the base electrode layer, and comprising Sn and a second resin (see FIG. 3, element 133 and paragraph [0074]).
With respect to claim 25, Han discloses a first alloy layer is disposed at an interface between the base electrode layer and the intermediate electrode layer, and a second alloy layer is disposed at an interface between the base electrode layer and the upper electrode layer. See FIG. 8, elements 135 and 136.
With respect to claim 26, Han discloses that the first metal comprises Cu and the second metal comprises Ag. See paragraphs [0058] and [0063].
With respect to claim 27, Han discloses that the upper electrode layer comprises an intermetallic compound containing Sn. See paragraph [0074].
With respect to claim 28, Han discloses that the upper electrode layer covers an entirety of the intermediate electrode layer. See FIGS. 3 and 8.
With respect to claim 29, Han discloses an electronic device comprising an electronic component of claim 24. See paragraph [0003], noting that the component herein is usable in an electronic device.
With respect to claim 30, Han discloses an imaging device, a display device, a computer, or a mobile phone. See paragraph [0003].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0197344) in view of Onodera et al. (US 2019/0131072).
With respect to claim 14, Han fails to teach that an other end of the intermediate electrode layer is disposed on the exposed portion.
Onodera, on the other hand, teaches that an other end of the intermediate electrode layer is disposed on the exposed portion. See FIG. 3, elements E2. Such an arrangement improves moisture resistance reliability. See paragraph [0082].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Han, as taught by Onodera, to improve moisture resistance reliability.
With respect to claim 15, Han fails to teach that, when a length from an extension line of the first surface to an extension line of the second surface in a first direction is T, and a sum of lengths of the intermediate electrode layer disposed between the extension line of the first surface and the extension line of the second surface in the first direction is Bs, Bs/T is 0.2 or more and 0.6 or less.
Onodera, on the other hand, teaches that, when a length from an extension line of the first surface to an extension line of the second surface in a first direction is T, and a sum of lengths of the intermediate electrode layer disposed between the extension line of the first surface and the extension line of the second surface in the first direction is Bs, Bs/T is 0.2 or more and 0.6 or less. See FIG. 8, paragraph [0077], distance H2. Such an arrangement improves moisture resistance reliability. See paragraph [0082].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Han, as taught by Onodera, to improve moisture resistance reliability.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0197344).
With respect to claim 17, the embodiment of FIG. 8 of Han fails to explicitly teach that the upper electrode layer further comprises a plurality of metal particles, and Sn is disposed to connect at least a portion of the plurality of metal particles.
However, FIG. 9 of Han teaches that the upper electrode layer further comprises a plurality of metal particles, and Sn is disposed to connect at least a portion of the plurality of metal particles. See paragraph [0076], noting that intermetallic compound of copper and tin connects the metal particles 233a. Such an arrangement is an alternate embodiment that results in improved electrical connectivity between the first resin layer and the second resin layer. See paragraph [0077].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify FIG. 8 of Han, as taught in FIG. 9 of Han, to improve electrical connectivity between the resin layers.
With respect to claim 18, Han teaches that the plurality of metal particles include at least one of Ag and Cu. See paragraph [0076].
Claims 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2023/0197344) in view of Nakamoto (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2020/0168396).
With respect to claim 19, Han fails to explicitly teach that a maximum thickness of the upper electrode layer is 10 µm or more and 30 µm or less.
Nakamoto, on the other hand, teach that a maximum thickness of the upper electrode layer is 10 µm or more and 30 µm or less. See paragraph [0086]. Such an arrangement results in excellent crack prevention and moisture resistance. See paragraphs [0092]-[0094].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Han, as taught by Nakamoto, to improve crack prevention and moisture resistance reliability.
With respect to claim 22, Han fails to teach that a maximum thickness of the base electrode layer is t1, a maximum thickness of the intermediate electrode layer is t2, and a maximum thickness of the upper electrode layer is t3, t2 < t1 < t3 is satisfied.
Nakamoto, on the other hand, teaches that a maximum thickness of the base electrode layer is t1, a maximum thickness of the intermediate electrode layer is t2, and a maximum thickness of the upper electrode layer is t3, t2 < t1 < t3 is satisfied. See paragraph [0091]. Such an arrangement results in excellent crack prevention and moisture resistance. See paragraphs [0092]-[0094].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Han, as taught by Nakamoto, to improve crack prevention and moisture resistance reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 7 and 11, the prior art teach a first alloy layer disposed at an interface between the base electrode layer and the intermediate electrode layer, but fails to teach or fairly suggest including a Cu-Ag alloy in the first alloy layer, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1. Claims 8-10 are allowable by virtue of their dependency from claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zaima et al. (US 2023/0077511) and Onodera et al. (US 11,094,465) each disclose conductive resins disposed at the corner portions of the ceramic body, but fail to teach the intermediate electrode layers in claim 1.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847