DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 6/15/2026 has been entered. Claim 18 has been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 12, and 18 being independent.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 7-8, filed 6/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bao (CN 211925441, previously listed on the IDS filed 5/28/2026).
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 recites the limitation “the first magnetic element of the light source” in lines 10-11 of the claim, however lines 2-3 of the claim define the first magnetic element as being part of the light source head, not the light source. Since the scope of the claim is clear, this does not create any issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). However, the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the first magnetic element of the light source head-- for more clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (CN 211925441, previously listed on the IDS filed 5/28/2026, see attached machine translation) in view of Levine (US 7,591,572).
Regarding claim 12, Bao teaches a work light (portable work light 1 which comprises a work lamp body 10; see Figs. 1A-4; para. [0049]-[0052], [0070]-[0073], [0083]-[0088]) comprising a light source head (the work lamp body 10 comprises a lamp rod 12; see Figs. 1A-4; para. [0050]-[0052], [0057]-[0058], [0068]-[0072], [0083]-[0088]); and a body (the work lamp body 10 comprises a grip stick 11 defining a body pivotably coupled to the light source head 12; see Figs. 1A-4; para. [0050]-[0052], [0056]-[0058], [0068]-[0072], [0083]-[0088]) including a battery receptacle configured to receive a battery for powering the light source head (the body 11 comprises a power supply unit 50 positioned thereon to provide power to the light source head 12; see Figs. 1A-1C; para. [0085]-[0088]); a mount surface configured to mount the work light to a structure, the mount surface positioned on a side of the body (the work light 1 comprises a fixing component 30 disposed on the light source head 12 and the body 11 to lock the light source head and the body together, the fixing component comprising a second fixing member 32 in form of a magnet positioned at a free end 1101 of the body 11 on one side thereof to form a mount surface to allow the work light to be mounted to a magnetic support; see Fig. 4; para. [0073]-[0082]); and a magnet supported adjacent the mount surface, the magnet configured to alternately engage the light source head and the structure (second fixing member 32 is a magnet disposed on the mount surface of the free end 1101 of the body 11, and is designed to engage a first fixing member 31 disposed on a free end 1201 of the light source head 12 to alternate between a position where the first and second fixing members are magnetically attracted to each other to lock the light source head and the body, and another position where the light source head is pivoted away from the body; see Figs. 1A-1C, 4; para. [0073]-[0082]).
However, the teachings of Bao fail to specifically disclose the battery receptacle is positioned on a first side of the body and the side of the body containing the mount surface is a second side of the body opposite the first side.
Levine teaches a work light (lighting device 100; see Figs. 1-4; Abstract; see generally col. 3, lines 55-67 through col. 9, lines 1-23) comprising a light source head (light source housing 104; see Figs. 1-4; col. 3, lines 55-67; col. 4, lines 1-67; col. 5, lines 1-67; col. 6, lines 1-46); and a body (base 102; see Figs. 1-4; col. 3, lines 55-67; col. 4, lines 1-31; col. 5, lines 3-67; col. 6, lines 1-2, 47-67; col. 7, lines 1-14) including a battery receptacle configured to receive a battery for powering the light source head, the battery receptacle positioned on a first side of the body (a battery pack 132 is removable from an upper (i.e., first) side of the body opposite bottom wall 114 without the use of tools by being slid into and out of a battery pack opening 134 at the end of the body opposite to the end attached to first connection member 106 connected to the light source head 104; see Figs. 1-4; col. 5, lines 40-58; col. 6, lines 61-67; col. 7, lines 1-53), and a mount surface configured to mount the work light to a structure, the mount light positioned on a second side of the body opposite the first side (bottom wall 114 of the body 102 contains a mounting plate 146 that includes two mounting holes 148 to enable the work light 100 to be mounted to a surface of another structure, and is positioned on a side of the body opposite the first/upper side containing the battery receptacle 134; see Figs. 1-4; col. 5, lines 40-58; col. 8, lines 13-67; col. 9, lines 1-3).
Therefore, in view of Levine, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work light of Bao by positioning the battery receptacle on a first side of the body and the mount surface on a second side of the body opposite the first side, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One would have been motivated to modify the known work light of Bao by positioning the battery receptacle on a first side of the body and the mount surface on a second side of the body opposite the first side, as taught by Levine, in order to ensure the battery can be inserted and removed from the battery receptacle without interfering with the mounting of the work light (see Levine, col. 6, lines 61-67; col. 7, lines 1-14 for the motivation).
Regarding claim 13, Bao teaches wherein the light source head is pivotably coupled to the body (the light source head 12 is pivotably coupled to the body 11 via a rotating unit 40; see Figs. 1A-1C, 4; para. [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 14, Bao teaches the work light further comprising a linkage that pivotably couples the light source head to the body, wherein the linkage defines a first pivot axis (the light source head 12 is pivotably coupled to the body 11 via a rotating unit 40 that defines a first pivot axis; see Figs. 1A-1C, 4; para. [0083]-[0084]).
However, the teachings of Bao fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the linkage defines a second pivot axis spaced apart from and parallel to the first pivot axis, and a third pivot axis that is perpendicular to the first and second pivot axes.
Levine teaches the work light further comprising a linkage that pivotably couples the light source head to the body (a first connection member 106 and a second connection member 108 are connected between the body 102 and the light source head 104; see Figs. 1-4; col. 3, lines 57-67; col. 4, lines 1-67; col. 5, lines 1-2; col. 9, lines 4-23), wherein the linkage defines a first pivot axis, a second pivot axis spaced apart from and parallel to the first pivot axis, and a third pivot axis that is perpendicular to the first and second pivot axes (the first connection member 106 is pivotably connected to the body 102 to define a first pivot axis, and extends to connect to the second connection member 108 at a second pivot axis spaced apart from and parallel/coplanar to the first pivot axis, and the light source head 104 connects to the second connection member 108 to define a third pivot axis perpendicular to the first and second pivot axes; see Figs. 1-4; col. 3, lines 57-67; col. 4, lines 1-67; col. 5, lines 1-2; col. 9, lines 4-23).
Therefore, in view of Levine, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work light of Bao by forming the linkage to define a second pivot axis spaced apart from and parallel to the first pivot axis, and a third pivot axis that is perpendicular to the first and second pivot axes. One would have been motivated to modify the known work light of Bao by forming the linkage to define a second pivot axis spaced apart from and parallel to the first pivot axis, and a third pivot axis that is perpendicular to the first and second pivot axes, as taught by Levine, in order to enable the light source head to pivot in additional directions and direct light to additional areas.
Regarding claim 15, Bao teaches wherein the light source head includes a first magnetic element configured to interact with the magnet (the light source head 12 comprises a first fixing member 31 disposed at a free end 1201 thereof which magnetically attracts the magnet 32 on the mount surface of the body 11; see Fig. 4; para. [0073]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 16, Bao teaches wherein the light source head also includes a planar light panel and a head frame disposed around the planar light panel (the light source head 12 includes a lamp stick mounting housing 121 and at least one light source 122 disposed therein to form a planar light panel; see para. [0057]-[0058], [0060]-[0061], [0068]-[0069], [0085], [0087]), and wherein the first magnetic element is coupled to the head frame (the first magnetic element 31 is disposed on the head frame 121; see Fig. 4; para. [0073]-[0082]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 and 18-20 are allowed.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the claim is allowable for the same reasons previously discussed in Section 18 on pg. 15 of the Final Rejection mailed 3/16/2026.
Claims 2-11 are allowable due to their dependence on allowable Claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the Prior Art taken as a whole fails to specifically disclose or suggest, in combination, “The work light of claim 16, wherein the light source head further includes a lens covering the planar light panel, and wherein the lens faces the mount surface when the magnet of the body engages the first magnetic element of the light source head” (emphasis added).
Although work lights are known, as evidenced by the Prior Art already of record, no Prior Art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all the features of Applicant’s invention, in particular the above limitations in combination with the remaining features of the claim, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in Claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is allowable because it has been amended to recite “wherein the light source head is pivotable relative to the body to a state where the light source head contacts the mount surface, the lens faces the mount surface, and the first magnetic element of the light source interacts with the second magnetic element of the body” (emphasis added).
The closest Prior Art, Bao (CN 211925441), Lin (US 2012/0281421), Levine (US 7,591,572), and Wang et al. (US 2023/0392760) either alone or in combination fail to specifically disclose that the light source head is pivotable relative to the body to a state in which the light source head physically contacts the mount surface while the lens simultaneously faces the mount surface and the first magnetic element of the light source head interacts with the second magnetic element of the body, as required by amended Claim 18, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in amended Claim 18.
Claims 19-20 are allowable due to their dependence on allowable Claim 18.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875