DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12-14, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,258. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to instant claim 1, conflicting claim 9 includes all the claimed limitations.
As to instant claim 12, conflicting claim 9 includes all the claimed limitations.
As to instant claim 13, conflicting claim 9 includes all the claimed limitations.
As to instant claim 14, conflicting claim 20 includes all the claimed limitations.
As to instant claim 20, conflicting claim 9 includes all the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 12-14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winslow (US 2021/0136601).
As to claim 1, Winslow discloses a method for wireless communications, comprising: receiving a measured impedance value corresponding to a current user interaction state with respect to one or more antennas of a mobile device (see paragraphs [0046], [0048], [0081], [0082]); determining a user interaction stability state of the mobile device based on the measured impedance value and a set of historical impedance values (see paragraph [0071]); classifying, using a machine learning model, the current user interaction state as one of a plurality of user interaction states associated with a position of the mobile device relative to a user of the mobile device (see paragraphs [0041], [0059], [0071]); and tuning the one or more antennas based on the classified current user interaction state and the determined user interaction stability state of the mobile device (see paragraphs [0071], [0073], [0074], [0083]).
As to claims 9, 18, Winslow discloses determining the user interaction stability state of the mobile device comprises determining that the mobile device has reached a steady state different from a state associated with a last stable measured impedance value, including identifying a match between the classified current user interaction state and classifications for each of a plurality of user interaction states associated with prior impedance values in the set of historical impedance values measured within a time window prior to the measured impedance value corresponding to the current user interaction state. See paragraph [0074].
As to claim 12, Winslow discloses that the machine learning model is trained to classify at least the measured impedance value and a plurality of impedance values from the set of historical impedance values into one of a plurality of user interaction states. See paragraphs [0041], [0059], [0061].
As to claim 13, Winslow discloses that the machine learning model is trained to classify the current user interaction state based at least on the measured impedance value and a plurality of impedance values from the set of historical impedance values. See paragraphs [0041], [0059], [0061].
As to claim 14, it is rejected for similar reasons regarding independent claim 1 as set forth above. In addition, Winslow discloses one or more antennas 814 (see at least figure 8), “a memory having executable instructions stored thereon” 824; and “one or more processors configured to execute the executable instructions” 802.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Winslow.
As to claim 20, it is rejected for similar reasons regarding independent claim 1 as set forth above. Regarding the claimed limitations “A system-on-a-chip (SoC)” in the preamble, when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “A system-on-a-chip (SoC)” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Or in the alternative, the examiner takes Official Notice that such “a system-on-a-chip (SoC)” is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Winslow as claimed, in order to reduce the weight, size, and implementing cost of the communication apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10-11, 15-17, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 2-6, 15, the prior art of record fail to disclose determining the user interaction stability state of the mobile device comprises determining that the mobile device has reached a steady state different from a state associated with a last stable measured impedance value including: detecting that a change in impedance between consecutive measurements in the set of historical impedance values exceeds a threshold value; subsequent to detecting that the change exceeds the threshold value, detecting a convergence on a value from the set of historical impedance values and the measured impedance value; and based on detecting the convergence on the value, determining that the mobile device has reached the steady state different from the state associated with the last stable measured impedance value.
As to claims 7-8, 16-17, the prior art of record fail to disclose determining the user interaction stability state of the mobile device comprises determining that the mobile device has reached a steady state different from a state associated with a last stable measured impedance value including: determining a moving average of impedance values in the set of historical impedance values; based on determining that the measured impedance value is more than a threshold amount away from the determined moving average, determining that the current user interaction state is different from a previous user interaction state; and subsequent to determining that the current user interaction state is different from the previous user interaction state, determining that the measured impedance value and one or more previously measured historical impedance values have converged.
As to claims 10-11, 19, the prior art of record fail to disclose classifying one or more prior user interaction states associated with impedance values measured within a threshold amount of time prior to the measured impedance value corresponding to the current user interaction state; determining that a classification of the current user interaction state and a classification of the one or more prior user interaction states are different; and identifying a user interaction state from the current user interaction state and the one or more prior user interaction states, the identified user interaction state being associated with a quality metric having a better value from a set of quality metrics associated with the current user interaction state and the one or more prior user interaction states, wherein tuning the one or more antennas comprises tuning the antennas to an antenna tuner configuration associated with the identified user interaction state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 2011/0065429 A1); El-Rayis (US 2016/0006476 A1); Mendolia (US 8,655,286 B2) disclose antenna tuning in mobile communication terminals.
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646