DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 9-11, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 2022/0085334 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate (110) on which a plurality of subpixels (PX1-PX3) is defined, the plurality of subpixels including a red subpixel and a green subpixel (¶[0072]); a plurality of blue light-emitting elements (ED1, ED2. ED3, ¶[0182]) respectively disposed on the plurality of subpixels; a plurality of color conversion layers (341, 343) disposed on the plurality of blue light-emitting elements in the red subpixel and the green subpixel; a plurality of color filters (331, 333) disposed on the plurality of color conversion layers in the red subpixel and the green subpixel; a second substrate (310) disposed on the plurality of color filters; and a first transmittance adjustment layer (BM1) disposed below the second substrate and configured to surround the plurality of color filters (341, 343), wherein the first transmittance adjustment layer comprises: a first layer (BM1a) disposed below the second substrate; and a second layer (BM1b) disposed below the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer, and having a lower transmittance than the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer (¶[0114-0115]).
Regarding claim 2, Oh discloses a display device wherein a width of a cross-section of the first layer (BM1a) of the first transmittance adjustment layer decreases as a distance of the cross-section from the second substrate increases (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Oh discloses a display device wherein an area of a bottom surface of the first layer (BM1a) of the first transmittance adjustment layer is larger than an area of a top surface of the second layer (BM1b) of the first transmittance adjustment layer, and wherein the second layer (BM1b) of the first transmittance adjustment layer is disposed to be close to one side of an end of the bottom surface of the first layer (BM1a) of the first transmittance adjustment layer (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Oh discloses a display device wherein the second layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer includes a black material (¶[0116]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh discloses a display device further comprising: a first transparent layer (345, ¶[0159]) disposed, in a blue subpixel (PX3) among the plurality of subpixels, on the plurality of blue light-emitting elements while corresponding to the color conversion layer; and a second transparent layer (335) disposed, in the blue subpixel, on the first transparent layer (335, ¶[0124]) while corresponding to the plurality of color filters.
Regarding claim 10, Oh discloses a display device further comprising: a second transmittance adjustment layer (BM1) disposed below the second substrate while corresponding to the first transmittance adjustment layer, the second transmittance adjustment layer (BM1) being configured to surround the second transparent layer (335, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses a display device wherein the second transmittance adjustment layer (BM1) comprises: a first layer (BM1a) disposed below the second substrate; and a second layer (BM1b) disposed below the first layer of the second transmittance adjustment layer and having a lower transmittance than the first layer of the second transmittance adjustment layer (¶[0114-0115]).
Regarding claim 14, Oh discloses a display device wherein the second layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer includes a black material (¶[0116]).
Regarding claim 15, Oh discloses a display device wherein an area of a bottom surface of the first layer (BM1a) of the second transmittance adjustment layer is larger than an area of a top surface of the second layer (BM1b) of the second transmittance adjustment layer, and wherein the second layer (BM1b) of the second transmittance adjustment layer is disposed to be close to one side of an end of the bottom surface of the first layer (BM1a) of the second transmittance adjustment layer (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2024/0155908 A1) in view of Oh et al. (US 2022/0085334 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate (102) on which a plurality of subpixels (Fig. 4) is defined, the plurality of subpixels including a red subpixel and a green subpixel (¶[0040]); a plurality of light-emitting elements (103, Fig. 4) respectively disposed on the plurality of subpixels; a plurality of color filters (104) disposed on the plurality of color conversion layers in the red subpixel and the green subpixel (¶[0040]); a second substrate (Fig. 4) disposed on the plurality of color filters; and a first transmittance adjustment layer (106/107) disposed below the second substrate and configured to surround the plurality of color filters (104), wherein the first transmittance adjustment layer comprises: a first layer (104) disposed below the second substrate; and a second layer (113) disposed below the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer, and having a lower transmittance than the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer (¶[0042-0043,0063]). Zhang fails to exemplify wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements are blue and a plurality of color conversion layers disposed on the plurality of blue light-emitting elements in the red subpixel and the green subpixel.
Oh discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate (110) on which a plurality of subpixels (PX1-PX3) is defined, the plurality of subpixels including a red subpixel and a green subpixel (¶[0072]); a plurality of blue light-emitting elements (ED1, ED2. ED3, ¶[0182]) respectively disposed on the plurality of subpixels; a plurality of color conversion layers (341, 343) disposed on the plurality of blue light-emitting elements in the red subpixel and the green subpixel; a plurality of color filters (331, 333) disposed on the plurality of color conversion layers in the red subpixel and the green subpixel; a second substrate (310) disposed on the plurality of color filters, the color conversion layers provides color conversion of the blue light emission to red and green light emissions. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate blue light-emitting elements and color conversion layers as disclosed by Oh in the display device of Zhang in order to provide conversion of the blue light emission to red and green light emissions.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses a display device wherein a width of a cross-section of the first layer (106/107) of the first transmittance adjustment layer decreases as a distance of the cross-section from the second substrate increases (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses a display device wherein an area of a bottom surface of the first layer (106/107) of the first transmittance adjustment layer is equal to an area of a top surface of the second layer (113) of the first transmittance adjustment layer (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses a display device wherein an area of a bottom surface of the first layer (106/107) of the first transmittance adjustment layer is larger than an area of a top surface of the second layer (113) of the first transmittance adjustment layer, and wherein the second layer (113) of the first transmittance adjustment layer is disposed to be close to one side of an end of the bottom surface of the first layer (106/107) of the first transmittance adjustment layer (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang fails to exemplify wherein a transmittance of the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer is 70%. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a transmittance of the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer being 70%, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses a display device wherein the second layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer includes a black material (¶[0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang fails to disclose a first transparent layer disposed, in a blue subpixel among the plurality of subpixels, on the plurality of blue light-emitting elements while corresponding to the color conversion layer; and a second transparent layer disposed, in the blue subpixel, on the first transparent layer while corresponding to the plurality of color filters
Oh discloses a display device further comprising: a first transparent layer (345, ¶[0159]) disposed, in a blue subpixel (PX3) among the plurality of subpixels, on the plurality of blue light-emitting elements while corresponding to the color conversion layer; and a second transparent layer (335) disposed, in the blue subpixel, on the first transparent layer (335, ¶[0124]) while corresponding to the plurality of color filters. One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate providing the transparent layers overlapping the blue pixel in order to allow blue light emission, within the blue emitting pixel, to pass through the pixel area to the outside, as an obvious matter of design engineering. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the first and second transparent layers as disclosed by Oh in the display device of Zhang in order to allow blue light emission, within the blue emitting pixel, to pass through the pixel area to the outside.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Oh discloses a display device further comprising: a second transmittance adjustment layer (106/107) disposed below the second substrate while corresponding to the first transmittance adjustment layer, the second transmittance adjustment layer (106/107) being configured to surround the second transparent layer (Fig. 6 of Zhang).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a display device wherein the second transmittance adjustment layer comprises: a first layer (106/107) disposed below the second substrate; and a second layer (113) disposed below the first layer of the second transmittance adjustment layer and having a lower transmittance than the first layer of the second transmittance adjustment layer (¶[0042-0043,0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses a display device wherein the second layer of the second transmittance adjustment layer includes a black material (¶[0063]), but fails to exemplify wherein a transmittance of the first layer of the second transmittance adjustment layer is 70%. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a transmittance of the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer being 70%, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a display device wherein the second layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer includes a black material (¶[0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses a display device wherein an area of a bottom surface of the first layer (106/107) of the second transmittance adjustment layer is larger than an area of a top surface of the second layer (113) of the second transmittance adjustment layer, and wherein the second layer (113) of the second transmittance adjustment layer is disposed to be close to one side of an end of the bottom surface of the first layer (106/107) of the second transmittance adjustment layer (Fig. 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 6, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 6, and specifically comprising the limitation of an end of a top surface of the first layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer is positioned at a position corresponding to an inclination angle of 45 degrees from a center of the corresponding one of the plurality of blue light-emitting elements, the center of the blue light-emitting element is the center of a light-emitting layer of the blue light-emitting element, and the inclination angle of 45 degrees is an inclination angle of a vertex being the center, formed with a normal that passes through the center perpendicularly to the light-emitting layer of the blue light-emitting element.
Regarding claim(s) 8, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 8, and specifically comprising the limitation of an end of a top surface of the second layer of the first transmittance adjustment layer is disposed at a position corresponding to an inclination angle of 60 degrees from a center of the corresponding one of the plurality of blue light-emitting elements, the center of the blue light-emitting element is the center of a light-emitting layer of the blue light-emitting element, and the inclination angle of 60 degrees is an inclination angle of a vertex being the center, formed with a normal that passes through the center perpendicularly to the light-emitting layer of the blue light-emitting element.
Regarding claim(s) 12, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 12, and specifically comprising the limitation of an end of a top surface of the first layer of the second transmittance adjustment layer is disposed at a position corresponding to an inclination angle of 60 degrees from a center of the corresponding one of the plurality of blue light-emitting elements, the center of the blue light-emitting element is the center of a light-emitting layer of the blue light-emitting element, and the inclination angle of 60 degrees is an inclination angle of a vertex being the center, formed with a normal that passes through the center perpendicularly to the light-emitting layer of the blue light-emitting element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2020/0257162 A1) discloses a display panel including an upper display substrate and a lower display substrate, the upper display substrate including a base substrate, a light shielding pattern, and including an opening part defined therein which corresponds to the pixel region, a color filter overlapped with the pixel region, a partition wall, overlapped with the light shielding region, and including a partition wall opening part defined therein which corresponds to the pixel region, and a quantum dot layer disposed inside the partition wall opening part.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879