DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action in the response to communication filed on 11/06/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 1, 9, and 15 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 12/18/2024 is being considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12167456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending independent claims are a broader version of the patented independent claim as the pending independent claims do not contain some limitations including configuring side link resources that are included in the patented independent claims.
Pending claims of Application 18/939255
Patented Claims of US 12167456
Explanation on Equivalency
1. A baseband processor configured to cause a receiving user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising:
3. A baseband (BB) processor of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the BB processor being in communication with memory storing instructions that, when executed by the BB processor, causes the UE to perform operations comprising:
Both pending claim 1 and patented claim 3 are geared to Baseband processor of a receiving UE.
establishing a sidelink session with a transmitting UE;
establishing a sidelink session with a transmitting UE;
performing a local sensing;
configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection; performing a local sensing;
receiving a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), and reserved multiple resources from the transmitting UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves the reserved multiple resources;
receiving a PSCCH and a PSSCH from the transmitting UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves multiple resources;
determining whether a coordination message is triggered;
determining whether a collision occurs among the multiple reserved resources based on the performed local sensing or UE scheduling information;
Coordination Message determination in pending claim 1 is equivalent to checking whether collision occurs which generates the coordination message in patented claim 3.
in response to the coordination message being triggered, transmitting the coordination message indicating whether a collision occurs among the reserved multiple resources, to the transmitting UE.
determining whether a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) and a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, and in response to determining that the PSFCCH and the PSFCH are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, prioritizing transmission of the PSFCH; and transmitting a coordination message to the transmitting UE.
2. The baseband processor of claim 1, further comprising configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection.
Claim 3…. configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection;…
3. The baseband processor of claim 1, wherein determining whether the coordination message is triggered comprises monitoring a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) signal, and determining that the coordination message is triggered in response to the SCI signal including an indication to trigger the coordination message.
5. The BB processor of claim 4, wherein performing the local sensing comprises: decoding a sidelink control information (SCI) from neighboring UEs; and measuring an interference level from the neighboring UEs.
4. The baseband processor of claim 1, further comprising refraining from transmitting the coordination message in response to the receiving UE lacking a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message.
13. The BB processor of claim 4, wherein the transmission of the coordination message is triggered based on a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message.
5. The baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the receiving UE determines whether the collision occurs among the reserved multiple resources based on the local sensing or based on scheduling information.
Claim 3…. determining whether a collision occurs among the multiple reserved resources based on the performed local sensing or UE scheduling information;…
6. The baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the coordination message is transmitted or received via a physical channel comprising a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) or a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH).
3. … determining whether a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) and a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, and in response to determining that the PSFCCH and the PSFCH are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, prioritizing transmission of the PSFCH; and transmitting a coordination message to the transmitting UE.
7. The baseband processor of claim 6, wherein the operations further comprise: determining whether the PSFCCH and the PSFCH are transmitted in the same slot; and prioritizing a transmission of the PSFCH if the PSFCCH and the PSFCH are transmitted in the same slot.
12. The BB processor of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: determining whether the PSFCCH is transmitted and the PSFCCH is received in the same slot; and prioritizing the transmission of the PSFCCH.
8. The baseband processor of claim 6, wherein the operations further comprise: determining whether the PSFCCH is transmitted and the PSFCH are received in the same slot; and prioritizing reception of the PSFCH.
determining whether a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) and a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, and in response to determining that the PSFCCH and the PSFCH are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, prioritizing transmission of the PSFCH;
9. A method, performed by a receiving user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system comprising:
1. A user equipment (UE) comprising: an antenna; a memory; a RF circuitry commutatively coupled to the antenna; and a processor configured to perform operations comprising:
Pending independent claim 9 though method has same limitation as Patented claim 1.
establishing a sidelink session with a transmitting UE;
establishing a sidelink session with a transmitting UE;
performing a local sensing;
configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection; performing a local sensing;
receiving a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH), and reserved multiple resources from the transmitting UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves the reserved multiple resources;
receiving a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) and a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) from the transmitting UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves multiple resources;
determining whether a coordination message is triggered;
determining whether a collision occurs among the multiple reserved resources based on the performed local sensing or UE scheduling information;
in response to the coordination message being triggered, transmitting the coordination message indicating whether a collision occurs among the reserved multiple resources, to the transmitting UE.
determining whether a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) and a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, and in response to determining that the PSFCCH and the PSFCH are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, prioritizing transmission of the PSFCH; and transmitting a coordination message to the transmitting UE.
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection.
Claim 1, … configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection;…
11. The method of claim 9, wherein determining whether the coordination message is triggered comprises monitoring a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) signal, and determining that the coordination message is triggered in response to the SCI signal including an indication to trigger the coordination message.
17. The BB processor of claim 4, wherein determining whether the coordination message is triggered comprises: monitoring an SCI signal to trigger coordination message.
12. The method of claim 9, further comprising refraining from transmitting the coordination message in response to the receiving UE lacking a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message.
13. The BB processor of claim 4, wherein the transmission of the coordination message is triggered based on a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message.
13. The method of claim 9, wherein the receiving UE determines whether the collision occurs among the reserved multiple resources based on the local sensing or based on scheduling information.
Claim 3… ; determining whether a collision occurs among the multiple reserved resources based on the performed local sensing or UE scheduling information;
14. The method of claim 9, wherein the coordination message is transmitted or received via a physical channel comprising a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) or a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH).
Claim 1….determining whether a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) and a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, and in response to determining that the PSFCCH and the PSFCH are to be transmitted by the UE in the same slot, prioritizing transmission of the PSFCH; and transmitting a coordination message to the transmitting UE.
15. A baseband processor configured to cause a transmitting user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising:
19. A baseband (BB) processor of a transmitting user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the BB processor being in communication with memory storing instructions that, when executed by the BB processor, causes the UE to perform operations comprising:
establishing a sidelink session with a receiving UE;
establishing a sidelink session with a receiving UE;
performing a sensing and a resource selection;
performing a sensing and resource selection;
determining whether to trigger a coordination message;
transmitting a PSCCH and a PSSCH to the receiving UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves multiple resources;
transmitting a PSCCH and a PSSCH to the receiving UE indicating reserved multiple resources by the transmitting UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves multiple resources transmitting, to the receiving UE, an indication to trigger the coordination message;
in response to determining that a PSFCH is to be transmitted by the transmitting UE in a same slot as a PSFCCH containing a coordination message is to be received by the transmitting UE, prioritizing transmission of the PSFCH over reception of the PSFCCH; receiving the coordination message from the receiving UE;
16. The baseband processor of claim 15, wherein performing resource reselection based on the coordination message comprises: receiving the coordination message from the receiving UE; determining whether the coordination message indicates a reserved resources collision; in response to the coordination message indicating the reserved resources collision, performing a resource reselection for a subsequent transmission, and performing the subsequent transmission using re-selected resources.
Claim 19, … receiving the coordination message from the receiving UE; determining whether the coordination message indicates reserved resources collision; determining whether to perform resource reselection; performing resource reselection for a subsequent transmission if the coordination message indicates reserved resources collision; performing the subsequent transmission using re-selected resources;…
17. The baseband processor of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the coordination message indicating no reserved resources collision, performing the subsequent transmission using the reserved multiple resources.
19. … and performing the subsequent transmission using the reserved resources if the coordination message does not indicate reserved resources collision.
18. The baseband processor of claim 15, wherein transmitting, to the receiving UE, the indication to trigger the coordination message comprises transmitting the indication in a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) signal to the receiving UE.
17. The BB processor of claim 4, wherein determining whether the coordination message is triggered comprises: monitoring an SCI signal to trigger coordination message.
19. The baseband processor of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection.
19. … configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection;…
20. The baseband processor of claim 15, wherein transmitting, to the receiving UE, the indication to trigger the coordination message is performed in response to a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message.
13. The BB processor of claim 4, wherein the transmission of the coordination message is triggered based on a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague because it is strictly directed to a baseband processor (e.g. a
structure) that does not comprise of any structural elements that accomplishes the
function. The claimed functions or steps can be achieved by all structures and when
the boundaries of the subject matter are not clearly delineated then the scope is
unclear. The nominal recitation of the UE only specifies the UE is related to the processor and has no clear contribution to the claimed functions or steps. Dependent claims 2-8 are rejected for having the same flaw as the parent claim 1.
Claim 15 is vague because it is strictly directed to a baseband processor (e.g. a
structure) that does not comprise of any structural elements that accomplishes the
function. The claimed functions or steps can be achieved by all structures and when
the boundaries of the subject matter are not clearly delineated then the scope is
unclear. The nominal recitation of the UE only specifies the UE is related to the processor and has no clear contribution to the claimed functions or steps. Dependent claims 16-20 are rejected for having the same flaw as the parent claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farag et al (US 20220095280 A1, hereinafter referred to as Farag, Note all citations are fully supported by provisional documents 63/081023, 63/083541 and 63/084910).
Regarding claim 1, Fang discloses a baseband processor (i.e. Fig. 3
processor 340 and has to be a baseband processor as it receives and transmits
baseband signals per paragraph 59) configured to cause a receiving user equipment (UE) ( (i.e. UE-A in Fig. 6 structurally detailed in Fig. 3) (UE) in a wireless communication system (i.e. Fig. 6)) to perform operations comprising:
establishing a sidelink session with a transmitting UE; (i.e. Per paragraph 109 in
relation to Fig. 6 states UE-B1 and UE-B2 are the transmitting UEs that have established sidelink session with UE-A);
performing a local sensing (See paragraph 116 UE-A performing local sensing and also paragraph 89-91 indicating all UEs doing local sensing);
receiving a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (See at least paragraph 111 indicating UE-A receiving from the transmitting UE-B1 and/or UE-B2 reservation for multiple resources for current and future use over the PSSCH and PSCCH), and reserved multiple resources from the transmitting UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves the reserved multiple resources (Per Paragraph 109 and Fig. 6 step 1 discloses transmitting UEs UE-B1 and UE-B2 reserve multiple reserved resources – see also paragraphs 112-115);
determining whether a coordination message is triggered (receiving UE-A determines in Fig. 6 step 2 as detailed in paragraph 116 and triggers a coordination message as the inter-UE coordination message as a grant or trigger indicating which reserved resources cause collision and which reserved resources are available for Side Link Transmission);
in response to the coordination message being triggered (i.e. after an inter-UE coordination message in the form of grant is triggered then it is transmitted to the transmitting UE-B1 and UE-B2 per paragraphs 118-121), transmitting the coordination message indicating whether a collision occurs among the reserved multiple resources, to the transmitting UE. (See Fig. 6 step 2 UE-A transmitting the coordination message to transmitting UE-Bs and Fig. 8 step 806 per paragraph 136.)
Regarding claim 9, Fang discloses a method (Figs. 1-18), performed by a receiving user equipment (UE) (i.e. Fig. 6 UE-A is the receiving user equipment and UE-B1 and UE-B2 is the transmitting user equipment) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 6 SL Network 600) comprising:
establishing a sidelink session with a transmitting UE; (i.e. Per paragraph 109 in
relation to Fig. 6 states UE-B1 and UE-B2 are the transmitting UEs that have established sidelink session with UE-A);
performing a local sensing (See paragraph 116 UE-A performing local sensing and also paragraph 89-91 indicating all UEs doing local sensing);
receiving a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH), a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (See at least paragraphs 111 and 113 indicating UE-A receiving from the transmitting UE-B1 and/or UE-B2 reservation for multiple resources for current and future use over the PSSCH and PSCCH), and reserved multiple resources from the transmitting UE, wherein the transmitting UE reserves the reserved multiple resources (Per Paragraph 109 and Fig. 6 step 1 discloses transmitting UEs UE-B1 and UE-B2 reserve multiple reserved resources – see also paragraphs 112-115);
determining whether a coordination message is triggered (receiving UE-A determines in Fig. 6 step 2 as detailed in paragraph 116 and triggers a coordination message as the inter-UE coordination message as a grant or trigger indicating which reserved resources cause collision and which reserved resources are available for Side Link Transmission);
in response to the coordination message being triggered (i.e. after an inter-UE coordination message in the form of grant is triggered then it is transmitted to the transmitting UE-B1 and UE-B2 per paragraphs 118-121), transmitting the coordination message indicating whether a collision occurs among the reserved multiple resources, to the transmitting UE. (See Fig. 6 step 2 UE-A transmitting the coordination message to transmitting UE-Bs and Fig. 8 step 806 per paragraph 136.)
Regarding claim 15, Fang discloses a baseband processor (i.e. Fig. 3
processor 340 and has to be a baseband processor as it receives and transmits
baseband signals per paragraph 59) configured to cause a transmitting user equipment (UE) (i.e. UE-B1 and UE-B2 are the transmitting UEs) to perform operations comprising:
establishing a sidelink session with a receiving UE; (i.e. Per paragraph 109 in relation to Fig. 6 states UE-B1 and UE-B2 are the transmitting UEs that have established sidelink session with UE-A where UE-A is the receiving UE.)
performing a sensing (See paragraph 116 UE-A performing local sensing and also paragraph 89-91 indicating all UEs doing local sensing ) and resource selection; (See paragraph 89 after sensing which includes measuring a sidelink RSRP and excluding those that exceed threshold and selecting from the identified candidate resources)
determining whether to trigger a coordination message; (Fig. 6 step 1 transmitting UE-B s prepare a coordination message to be sent to receiving UE-A and is triggered if UE-B has intention to transmit on a future SL resource or reserves a future SL resource using a PSFCH like transmission or a feedback channel per paragraph 109. See also paragraphs 110-111. Eventually UE-A is triggered to respond with a grant in step 2 Fig. 6 as a resource coordination message between UE-Bs)
transmitting a PSCCH and a PSSCH to the receiving UE indicating reserved multiple resources by the transmitting UE(See at least paragraphs 111 and 113 indicating UE-A receiving from the transmitting UE-B1 and/or UE-B2 reservation for multiple resources for current and future use over the PSSCH and PSCCH),, wherein the transmitting UE reserves multiple resources transmitting (See paragraph 110 where transmitting UE-B reserves multiple resources for future use and sends in step 1 in Fig. 6 to receiving UE-A), to the receiving UE (i.e. UE-A), an indication to trigger the coordination message (when UE-A receives the SL message from UE-B in step 1 with reserved resources causes receiving UE-A to trigger the coordination message transmitted back to the UE-Bs in step 2 of Fig. 6 per paragraphs 116 and 118) ; and performing resource reselection based on the coordination message. (See paragraph 123 indicating UE-B from the received coordinating message from UE-A it identifies a non-preferred resources indicating collision and decides to use the
preferred resources that are free of conflicts and do resource reselection for those non-preferred resources indicative of collision. See Fig. 8 block 806 and Fig. 9 blocks 906 and 908)
Regarding claim 2, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, further comprising configuring the sidelink session to support coordinated resource selection.
(per paragraphs 46 and 103 UE-A configures the sidelink session to support
coordinated resource selection in its sidelink sessions with UE-B1 and UE-B2
transmitting UEs); performing a local sensing(See paragraph 116 UE-A performing local sensing and also paragraph 89-91 indicating all UEs doing local sensing )
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein determining whether the coordination message is triggered comprises monitoring a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) signal, and determining that the coordination message is triggered in response to the SCI signal including an indication to trigger the coordination message. (In paragraph 91 monitoring the SCI is
disclosed and as a result of the successful decoding of the SCI and consequent
sensing as described in paragraphs 82 and 89 then a coordination message is
sent indicating which resources are preferred and which resources are non-
preferred in paragraphs 173-174)
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, further comprising refraining from transmitting the coordination message in response to the receiving UE lacking a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message. (Like Applicant’s invention the receiving UE-A only triggers a coordination message to be transmitted to the transmitting UE-B1 and UE-B2 provided it receives pre-configuration of resources as reserved and lack of a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message will cause receiving UE-A to refrain from transmitting the coordination message. See paragraphs 176 and 200)
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the receiving UE determines whether the collision occurs among the reserved multiple resources based on the local sensing or based on scheduling information. (see paragraph 116 where the UE-A determines potential collisions/interference by identifying overlapping resources in time from scheduling information on reserved resources or doing local sensing)
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 1, wherein the coordination message is transmitted or received via a physical channel comprising a Physical Sidelink Feedback Coordination Channel (PSFCCH) or a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH). (i.e. per paragraph 117 the inter-UE coordination message in the form of UE-A grants/trigger message is transmitted over PSFCH.)
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 15, wherein performing resource reselection based on the coordination message comprises:
receiving the coordination message from the receiving UE; (i.e. the receiving UE being UE-A in Fig. 6 in step 2 it transmits a coordination message to the
transmitting UE-B1 and UE-B2 see paragraph 116)
determining whether the coordination message indicates a reserved resources collision; (per paragraph 123 and Fig. 6 step 3 that the UE-B as the transmitting UE
after it receives the coordination message it tries to evaluate if the message indicates potential collision if transmission proceeds with resources reserved for future use. The message indicates presence of potential collision by indicating non-preferred resource for UE-B)
in response to the coordination message indicating the reserved resources collision (See paragraph 123 indicating UE-B from the received coordinating message from UE-A it identifies a non-preferred resources indicating collision and makes a decision to use the preferred resources that are free of conflicts and do resource reselection for those non-preferred resources indicative of collision. See Fig. 8 block 806 and Fig. 9 blocks 906 and 908),
performing a resource reselection for a subsequent transmission (See paragraph 123 when the coordination message indicates non-preferred reserved resources indicating collision the resource selection is done. See also Fig. 9 blocks 906 and 908); and
performing the subsequent transmission using re-selected resources. (See paragraph 123 and 134 the intent of reselecting a resource is for sidelink transmission and the sidelink transmission has to occur).
Regarding claim 17, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the coordination message indicating no reserved resources collision, performing the subsequent transmission using the reserved multiple resources.(See Fig. 6 step 3 and paragraph 123 in that if the SL resources are indicated collision free then without doing any SL resource reselection, transmission on the reserved SL)
Regarding claim 18, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 15, wherein transmitting, to the receiving UE, the indication to trigger the coordination message comprises transmitting the indication in a Sidelink Control Information (SCI) signal to the receiving UE. (See paragraph 113, where UE-Bs transmit the indication to trigger the coordination message to UE-A indicating intention to transmit on future SL resource or reserve future SL resources on SCI on PSSCH)
Regarding claim 20, Fang discloses the baseband processor of claim 15, wherein transmitting, to the receiving UE, the indication to trigger the coordination message is performed in response to a pre-configuration of resources of the coordination message. (This limitation in light of Applicant's Published Specification in paragraph 110 simply means in a unicast operation between UEs the UEs can be pre-configured to send coordination message when receiving resources indicated reserved for the purposes of the coordination message. Similarly, Farag discloses in paragraphs 5 and 6 that the receiving UE is pre-configured to generate a coordination message when it receives resources reserved by the transmitting UE end for future use and the transmitting UE is pre- configured to expect a coordination message after it sends pre-configured resources reserved for future use)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and provided the pending double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474