DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a), as a single means claim.
Re claims 1 and 8, it is subject to an undue breadth rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See MPEP 2164.08(a) and In re Hyatt, 708 F.2d 712, 714-715, 218 USPQ 195, 197 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al (US 2023/0036235, “Park”).
Re claims 1 and 14, Park discloses a first terminal (figure 8, element 20) receiving a first message; wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: an end-to-end user identifier of the first terminal, or an end-to-end user identifier of the second terminal (figure 8, step 89).
Re claims 2 and 15, Park discloses sending a second message; wherein the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to accept the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message, or the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to reject the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message (figure 8, steps 90 and 92; paragraphs [0139]-[0140]).
Re claims 3 and 16, Park discloses in a case where there is a conflict between the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message and a local configuration of the first terminal, the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to reject the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message; or in a case where the local configuration of the first terminal has an end-to-end user identifier that is identical to the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message, the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to reject the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message (paragraphs [0137]-[0139]).
Re claims 4 and 17, Park discloses in a case where the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to reject the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, a third message; wherein the third message comprises at least one of the following: a reallocated end-to-end user identifier of the first terminal, or a reallocated end-to-end user identifier of the second terminal (paragraphs [0137]-[0139]).
Re claims 5 and 18, Park discloses implicitly receiving a third message; wherein the third message comprises at least one of the following: a reallocated end-to-end user identifier of the first terminal, or a reallocated end-to-end user identifier of the second terminal (paragraphs [0137]-[0139]).
Re claims 6 and 19, Park discloses the first message comprises a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) message (figure 2; paragraph [0064]).
Re claims 7 and 20, Park discloses the end-to-end user identifier is not equivalent to a layer 2 identifier (figure 9; paragraph [0155]).
Re claim 8, Park discloses a relay terminal (figure 8, element 10) sending a first message; wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: an end-to-end user identifier of the first terminal, or an end-to-end user identifier of the second terminal (figure 8, step 89).
Re claim 9, Park discloses receiving/forwarding a second message; wherein the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to accept the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message, or the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to reject the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message (figure 8, steps 90 and 92; paragraphs [0139]-[0140]).
Re claim 10, Park discloses in a case where there is a conflict between the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message and a local configuration of the first terminal, the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to reject the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message; or in a case where the local configuration of the first terminal has an repeated end-to-end user identifier that is identical to the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message, the second message is used to instruct the first terminal to reject the end-to-end user identifier carried in the first message (paragraphs [0137]-[0139]).
Re claims 11 and 12, Park discloses implicitly sending/forwarding a third message; wherein the third message comprises at least one of the following: a reallocated end-to-end user identifier of the first terminal, or a reallocated end-to-end user identifier of the second terminal (paragraphs [0137]-[0139]).
Re claim 13, Park discloses the first message comprises one of the following: a PC-S message, a discovery message, a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) message (figure 2), a media access control-control element (MAC-CE), or an adaptation layer control protocol data unit (PDU).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467