Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a tool operable to stimulate…” in claim 1; “a nerve monitoring control system for receiving signals…” in claim 1; “image processing system is operable to generate fluoroscopic images…” in claim 1; “image processing system…to correlate the fluoroscopic image…” in claim 1; and “the image processing system is operable to identify…” in claim 2. Par. [0013] discusses software (computer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102161701 B1 to Hoon in view of US 2008/028377 A1 to Li.
Claim 1. Hoon teaches A system for visualizing a surgical site within the brain of a patient, [page 1] MRI the actual visible location corresponds to, while performing surgery
[page 1] displays a three-dimensional nerve image by mapping a functional cerebral nerve image by reconstructing the position in a three-dimensional space through a nerve navigation device.
including identifying and keeping track of nerves within the brain, said system comprising: [page 1] neuronavigation is used to accurately identify the location of structures during brain surgery
[page 9] the neural monitoring unit 200 includes a signal detection unit 220, the signal detection unit 220 receives the electrical response signal received from the detector 210
a nerve monitoring system comprising a tool operable to stimulate a nerve within the brain, [page 1] when the probe 110 of the nerve stimulation unit 100 is brought into contact with the corresponding head, when the stimulation emitted from the probe 110 is applied, the region to which the stimulation is applied is displayed as a three-dimensional brain nerve image on the display unit.
[page 1] At this time, if the response to the stimulus is positive (+) in the 3D cranial nerve image, the cranial nerve is displayed in red, if it is negative (-), the cranial nerve is displayed in blue, and the cranial nerve displayed in red depends on the intensity of the response to the stimulus.
a response sensor operable to detect stimulation of the nerve, [page 1] At this time, if the response to the stimulus is positive (+) in the 3D cranial nerve image, the cranial nerve is displayed in red, if it is negative (-), the cranial nerve is displayed in blue, and the cranial nerve displayed in red depends on the intensity of the response to the stimulus.
[page 1]…detects the reactive and non-reactive cranial nerves
and a nerve monitoring control system for receiving signals from the response sensor indicative of stimulation of the nerve by the tool and providing a signal to an operator or to the fluoroscopic image processing system; [page 1] At this time, if the response to the stimulus is positive (+) in the 3D cranial nerve image, the cranial nerve is displayed in red, if it is negative (-), the cranial nerve is displayed in blue, and the cranial nerve displayed in red depends on the intensity of the response to the stimulus.
an image processing system [page 1] image-based neuronavigation uses devices and display screen, [page 1] an electrophysiological stimulation device that displays a three-dimensional nerve image
including a fluoroscopic image of the tool within the brain; [page 4] the probe position detection unit 600 uses a camera as a means for detecting the position of the probe 110,
[page 3] To detect the position of the probe 110, various methods may be applied. The position of the probe 110 may be detected by RGB processing of an image captured by photographing a head.
[page 5] a plurality of cameras of the probe position detecting unit 600 may be provided, and the position of the probe 110 may be detected using images captured by a plurality of cameras
the image processing system being interoperable with the nerve monitoring system to correlate the fluoroscopic image of the tool with a signal from the response sensor indicative of stimulation of the nerve by the tool; [page 6] when the probe 110 of the nerve stimulation unit 100 is brought into contact with the corresponding head, when the stimulation emitted from the probe 110 is applied, the region to which the stimulation is applied is displayed as a three-dimensional brain nerve image on the display unit. Examiner interprets the region is displayed (image) as a result of when the probe is inserted and stimulation is emitted to be the correlation.
[page 4] the detection signal for the position of the probe 110 detected by the probe position detection unit 600 is transmitted to the microcomputer 300, and the three-dimensional coordinate system of the reactive and non-reactive cranial nerves is substituted by the microcomputer 300 When mapping to a dimensional cranial nerve image, a three-dimensional coordinate system for the position of the probe 110 detected in the head and brain shape images is applied and expressed on the mapped image.
[page 4] the neural monitoring unit 200 is electrically connected to a detector 210 coupled to one side of the probe 110, and receives and detects an electrical response signal corresponding to an electrical signal by the detector 210
wherein the image processing system is configured to generate a screen element corresponding to the location of the image of the tool on the display screen when input from the nerve monitoring system or input from an operator indicates that the tool has stimulated the nerve [page 3] the probe 110 further includes a marking means 113 for artificially displaying a line or point on a three-dimensional coordinate. Examiner interprets line or point to be a screen element.
[page 4] the probe position detection unit 600 uses a camera as a means for detecting the position of the probe 110, and the camera continuously and repeatedly photographs the measurement area (head), and the background (measurement area) among the captured images After analyzing the image in which the brightness, saturation, and color are contrasting, it is checked whether the analyzed image corresponds to the mark value of the probe 110, and if it is matched, a 3D coordinate system for the mark image contrasting with the background is calculated.
and display said screen element on the display screen at a location on the display screen corresponding to the location of the image of the tool. [page 3] the probe 110 further includes a marking means 113 for artificially displaying a line or point on a three-dimensional coordinate.
[page 6] when the probe 110 of the nerve stimulation unit 100 is brought into contact with the corresponding head, when the stimulation emitted from the probe 110 is applied, the region to which the stimulation is applied is displayed as a three-dimensional brain nerve image on the display unit.
[page 6] stores the cranial nerve image of the stimulus on the display unit 400 at the same time as it is displayed. Examiner understands stimulus to be a tool.
Hoon fails to explicitly teach generate fluoroscopic images and display fluoroscopic images on said display screen. Li, in the same field of analyzing anatomy in medical images during surgery (image-guided surgery) teaches wherein said image processing system is operable to generate fluoroscopic images and display fluoroscopic images on said display screen, Li [0007] the system comprises an ultrasound imaging system including an imaging probe operable to move internally and acquire ultrasound image data of the imaged subject, a fluoroscopic imaging system operable to acquire fluoroscopic image data of the imaged subject during image acquisition by the ultrasound imaging system. A display can be illustrative of the ultrasound image data acquired with the imaging probe in combination with a fluoroscopic imaging data acquired by the fluoroscopic imaging system.
Hoon is in the field of analyzing the brain in medical images acquired during surgery. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hoon with the teachings of Li [0005] for precise guidance of the imaging catheter from the point of entry and through the vascular structure of the patient to a desired anatomical location is progressively becoming more important.
Claim 2. Hoon teaches wherein the image processing system is operable to identify the fluoroscopic image of the tool and generate and display the screen element at a position on the fluoroscopic image of the brain, [page 3] the probe 110 further includes a marking means 113 for artificially displaying a line or point on a three-dimensional coordinate. Examiner interprets line or point to be a screen element.
[page 4] the probe position detection unit 600 uses a camera as a means for detecting the position of the probe 110, and the camera continuously and repeatedly photographs the measurement area (head), and the background (measurement area) among the captured images After analyzing the image in which the brightness, saturation, and color are contrasting, it is checked whether the analyzed image corresponds to the mark value of the probe 110, and if it is matched, a 3D coordinate system for the mark image contrasting with the background is calculated.
said position corresponding to the position of the tool within the image of the brain upon receiving input that the nerve monitoring system, or an operator, provides input indicating the tool has stimulated the nerve. [page 4] the probe position detection unit 600 uses a camera as a means for detecting the position of the probe 110, and the camera continuously and repeatedly photographs the measurement area (head), and the background (measurement area) among the captured images After analyzing the image in which the brightness, saturation, and color are contrasting, it is checked whether the analyzed image corresponds to the mark value of the probe 110, and if it is matched, a 3D coordinate system for the mark image contrasting with the background is calculated.
[page 6] when the probe 110 of the nerve stimulation unit 100 is brought into contact with the corresponding head, when the stimulation emitted from the probe 110 is applied, the region to which the stimulation is applied is displayed as a three-dimensional brain nerve image on the display unit.
[page 6] stores the cranial nerve image of the stimulus on the display unit 400 at the same time as it is displayed. Examiner understands stimulus to be a tool.
Claim 3. Hoon teaches A method of visualizing a surgical site within the brain of a patient, [page 1] MRI the actual visible location corresponds to, while performing surgery
[page 1] displays a three-dimensional nerve image by mapping a functional cerebral nerve image by reconstructing the position in a three-dimensional space through a nerve navigation device.
including identifying and keeping track of nerves within the brain, said method comprising the steps of: [page 1] neuronavigation is used to accurately identify the location of structures during brain surgery
[page 9] the neural monitoring unit 200 includes a signal detection unit 220, the signal detection unit 220 receives the electrical response signal received from the detector 210
and operating an image processing system to display a fluoroscopic image of the brain while manipulating the tool; [page 1] At this time, if the response to the stimulus is positive (+) in the 3D cranial nerve image, the cranial nerve is displayed in red, if it is negative (-), the cranial nerve is displayed in blue, and the cranial nerve displayed in red depends on the intensity of the response to the stimulus.
[page 6] when the probe 110 of the nerve stimulation unit 100 is brought into contact with the corresponding head, when the stimulation emitted from the probe 110 is applied, the region to which the stimulation is applied is displayed as a three-dimensional brain nerve image on the display unit.
operating a nerve monitoring system to detect stimulation of a nerve caused by the tool; [page 1] when the probe 110 of the nerve stimulation unit 100 is brought into contact with the corresponding head, when the stimulation emitted from the probe 110 is applied, the region to which the stimulation is applied is displayed as a three-dimensional brain nerve image on the display unit.
[page 1] At this time, if the response to the stimulus is positive (+) in the 3D cranial nerve image, the cranial nerve is displayed in red, if it is negative (-), the cranial nerve is displayed in blue, and the cranial nerve displayed in red depends on the intensity of the response to the stimulus.
causing an image processing system to display a screen element in a position of the displayed fluoroscopic image corresponding to the position of the tool upon detecting stimulation of the nerve caused by the tool. [page 1] mapping to a dimensional cranial nerve image, a three-dimensional coordinate system for the position of the probe 110 detected in the head and brain shape images is applied and expressed on the mapped image.
[page 3] the probe 110 further includes a marking means 113 for artificially displaying a line or point on a three-dimensional coordinate.
[page 6] when the probe 110 of the nerve stimulation unit 100 is brought into contact with the corresponding head, when the stimulation emitted from the probe 110 is applied, the region to which the stimulation is applied is displayed as a three-dimensional brain nerve image on the display unit.
[page 6] stores the cranial nerve image of the stimulus on the display unit 400 at the same time as it is displayed. Examiner understands stimulus to be a tool.
Hoon fails to explicitly teach obtaining a fluoroscopic image of the brain while manipulating a tool within the brain. Li, in the same field of analyzing anatomy in medical images during surgery (image-guided surgery) teaches obtaining a fluoroscopic image of the brain while manipulating a tool within the brain Li [0007] the system comprises an ultrasound imaging system including an imaging probe operable to move internally and acquire ultrasound image data of the imaged subject, a fluoroscopic imaging system operable to acquire fluoroscopic image data of the imaged subject during image acquisition by the ultrasound imaging system
Hoon is in the field of analyzing the brain in medical images acquired during surgery. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hoon with the teachings of Li [0005] for precise guidance of the imaging catheter from the point of entry and through the vascular structure of the patient to a desired anatomical location is progressively becoming more important.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0256051 A1 to Stone et al.
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661