DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12, 14-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, US 2015/0085077.
In regard to claim 1, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses an electronic device comprising:
a camera (see figure 1, element 800; para 56 and 122);
a tintable layer (see figure 8, element 816) coupled camera, wherein the tintable layer operates in a first state and in a second state that is more transparent than the first state (see para 122-127);
an input device (see figure 8, element 880; para 74 and 122);
a memory (see figure 8, element 830; para 64 and 122); and
a processor (see figure 8, element 870) coupled to the camera, input device, and the memory (see para 67-64 and 129-132), the processor configured to:
receive, using the input device, an input directed towards an application associated with the camera that satisfies a criterion (see para 74 and 146; figure 11, step 1110: receiving an input shutter release signal from the operation unit when the criterion of the shutter release button press is received from the user); and
in response to receiving the input directed towards the application associated with the camera that satisfies the criterion:
repeatedly transitioning the tintable layer between the first state and the second state (see figure 12; para 134-136); and
operating the camera at a frame rate that allows the camera to capture image signals while the tintable layer is in the second state (see figure 12; para 134-136).
In regard to claim 2, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the tintable layer is covering an outer portion of the camera (see figure 8).
In regard to claim 3, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the tintable layer includes a curved surface (see figure 9).
In regard to claim 8, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein prior to receiving the input, the tintable layer is in the first state with a first tint (see para 124-125: shutter is off).
In regard to claim 9, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to operate the tintable layer in the first state while the electronic device operates in a first mode (standby mode), and the input that satisfies the criterion corresponds to transition of the electronic device from operating in the first mode to operating in a second mode (capturing mode) different from the first mode (see para 74).
In regard to claim 10, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to:
while in the second mode, operate the tintable layer in the second state (see figure 12).
In regard to claim 11, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein repeatedly transitioning the tintable layer between the first state and the second state includes operating the tintable layer in the second state for a time window greater than an exposure duration of the camera of the one or more cameras (see figure 12 and para 134-136).
In regard to claim 12, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the frame rate that allows the camera to capture the image signals while the tintable layer is in the second state corresponds to an exposure window of the camera that is less than the exposure duration (see figure 12 and para 134-136).
In regard to claim 14, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the input device includes a touch screen and the camera is located opposite from the touch screen (see figure 8, element 880; para 74).
In regard to claim 15, Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: circuitry (see figure 8, element 817) configured to apply electrical stimulation to the tintable layer, wherein the processor transitioning the tintable layer includes applying, using the circuitry, electrical stimulation to the tintable layer (see para 123-125).
In regard to claim 16, since Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device and its operation as stated above in regard to claim 1, the method of claim 16 is also disclosed (see claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 17, since Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device and its operation as stated above in regard to claim 9, the method of claim 17 is also disclosed (see claim 9 above).
In regard to claim 18, since Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device and its operation as stated above in regard to claim 1, the storage medium of claim 18 is also disclosed (see claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 20, since Kim, US 2015/0085077, discloses the electronic device and its operation as stated above in regard to claim 9, the storage medium of claim 20 is also disclosed (see claim 9 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0203831, discloses an imaging device with a liquid crystal shutter. US 2016/0012268, discloses an imaging device with a liquid crystal lens. US 2017/0141458, discloses a camera with a cover that may be tinted.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs