DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “association processing unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Parent claim recite the limitation “at least one chamber that processes the substrate”; however, the examiner was unable to find in the specification support for the limitation. Appears that, at best the substrate is inside the chamber, but the chamber does not appear to perform any process to the substrate. Please indicate where support can be found.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim 1 recite the limitation "association processing unit"; however, the examiner was unable to find the operating structure for such unit. Please, provide support. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Since the examiner was unable to find support for the structure of the units' and the chamber that processes the substrate, it is unclear the scope of the limitations and its mapping. Please, clarify. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takafuji 20110169893.
As to claim 1, Takafuji discloses a substrate processing apparatus [1] that processes a substrate (see abstract), comprising:
at least one “chamber” [area with unit 1,101-104,] that processes the substrate (see par. 0042);
first and second cameras [8-10, cam1 cam2, cam3] that image different subject areas (see fig. 4, 5a, 5b; par. 0062);
an association processing unit [100, 102] that generates association information indicating association between each of said subject areas and each of said first and second cameras by processing an image captured by each of said first and second cameras (see par. 0021, 0058-0067, 0076-0096)
a memory [storing area] that stores reference information indicating said subject area corresponding to an index object (see par. 0075, 0083), wherein
said chamber includes said index object (see par. 0083-0084, 0099), and
said controller identifies said subject area corresponding to said image based on a figure of said index object and said reference information (see par. 0076-0096). Takafuji does not use the word “chamber”; however, Takafuji includes an area for the processing the substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that Takafuji”s area for the processing the substrate is equivalent to the chamber since both produce the same predictable result of allowing the desired processing the substrate.
As to claim 2, Takafuji discloses the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said chamber includes a movable part that moves within said subject area, said index object includes said movable part, and said controller identifies said subject area corresponding to said image based on a position of said movable part (see par. 0076-0099).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takafuji in view of Sano 20150262848.
As to claim 3, Takafuji discloses the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said controller identifies said subject area corresponding to said image (see par. 0076-0096). Takafuji fails to disclose pattern matching. In ana analogous art, Sano discloses wherein said controller identifies said subject area corresponding to said image based on pattern matching (see par. 0141). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add pattern matching to Takafuji for the simple purpose of using publicly-known information to calculate position; thereby, allowing the detection of abnormal positioning.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647