/DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cholasta [US 20190181860] in view of [US 20190181860].
As to claim 1. Cholasta discloses A steering apparatus comprising:
a steering wheel, [0002] implemented in a steering wheel; and
a sensor unit, [fig. 1, 0012] sensor device 100, configured to detect contact of a human body with the steering wheel, [fig. 5, 0002, 0026] steering wheel hands-off-detection, or approach of the human body causing a change in an electronic capacitance of an electrode provided in the steering wheel,
wherein the sensor unit comprises:
the electrode, [fig. 1, 0014] electrode 114;
a measuring device, [fig. 1, 0012] microcontroller 120, configured to measure the electrostatic capacitance of the electrode, [0012, 0035] measure ca[acutance voltage of the capacitive touch sense electrode;
a switching element, [fig. 1, 0014] switch 122, configured to switch the electrode between a first state in which the electrode is grounded and a second state in which the electrode is not grounded, [fig. 1, 0014] first state connected to the ground through contact “1” and a second state connected to other contacts that is not ground;
a microprocessor, [fig. 1, 0012] central processing unit 124, configured to perform controlling the switching element, [0015],
a capacitive element, [fig. 1, 0012] capacitor 112, wherein
the second state includes a third state in which a voltage from a predetermined power source is applied to the electrode through the switching element, [fig. 1, 0014] a state wherein the electrode 114 is connected to supply voltage Vref through contact “3”, and a fourth state in which the electrode is connected with the capacitive element through the switching element, [fig. 1, 0016] a state wherein the electrode 114 is connected to capacitor 112,
the switching element switches the electrode to the first state, the third state, and the fourth state, based on a control signal from the microprocessor, [0015],
an electric charge of the electrode is accumulated in the third state, [0017], is moved to the capacitive element in the fourth state, [0016], and is discharged to a ground line in the first state, [0014], and
the microprocessor is configured to perform:
the controlling including, while a voltage from the predetermined power source is repeatedly applied to the electrode, [0015-0017] the electrode is repeatedly connected to the power source Vrefh, repeating a first operation of switching the electrode from the third state to the fourth state, [0017] switch 122 placed from the third terminal to the second terminal once the capacitor 113 is discharged, and a second operation of switching the electrode from the fourth state to the third state, [0017] switch 122 placed from the second terminal to the third terminal to charge the capacitor 113, and outputting the control signal to the switching element such that, at least in the second operation, the electrode in the fourth state is switched to the first state and thereafter switched to the third state, [0015-0117] the switch 122 is cycled through the three states.
Cholasta fails to disclose wherein the voltage is a pulse voltage, wherein the repeating is in accordance with a period of the voltage,
Takahata teaches a grasp detection device provided in a steering wheel, [fig. 1, abs.], comprising an electrode 60 provided on a steering handle 2, [fig. 2, 0029], and a pulse power source 63, [fig. 2, 0032]; wherein a drive circuit controls switching of switches 65, 66 to connect the electrode 60 to the power source 63, ground, or capacitance measurer 68 by connecting the electrode 60 to the capacitor 67 [fig. 2, 0033, 0039]; wherein the switching is performed based on the period of the pulse power supply, [0036-0038].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cholasta with that of Talahata so that the system can measure the number of pulses between the change in capacitance of capacitor 67 to indirectly measure the change in capacitance, reducing the processing power needed.
As to claim 6. Cholasta fails to explicitly disclose The steering apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising the physical characteristics of the steering wheel. However, Takahata teaches a grasp detection device provided in a steering wheel, [fig. 1, abs.]; wherein the steering wheel comprises:
a rim portion having an annular shape, [fig. 1, 0023] rim 20;
a hub portion provided on an inner side of the rim portion, [fig. 1, 0023] hub 23; and
a spoke portion extending from the hub portion in a radial direction of the rim portion and connecting the hub portion with an inner circumferential portion of the rim portion, [fig. 1, 0023] spokes 25, and
the sensor unit is disposed in a function switch unit disposed on the spoke portion, [0029].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cholasta with that of Talahata as nothing but implementing the steering wheel using the basic physical characteristics that can allow for the purpose of a circular steering when to be used to turn a shaft attached to the wheels.
As to claim 7. Cholasta discloses The steering apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the spoke portion is provided on a left side and a right side in a front view from a driver seat between the rim portion to be gripped by an occupant, [fig. 1, 0025], and the hub portion, and the sensor unit is disposed on the spoke portion on the left side and the spoke portion on the right side, [0029], and is also disposed in together with a component part for performing at least one operation of a vehicle information operation or a driving support function operation in the function switch unit, [0026].
Claim(s) 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cholasta in view of Takahta, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Seok et al. [US 20190210630].
As to claim 5. The combination of Cholasta and Takahta fails to disclose The steering apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the sensor unit, at least the switching element, the capacitive element, and the measuring device are configured on an electronic board, and at least one of signal line patterns respectively connecting the switching element with the electrode, the switching element with the predetermined power source, and the switching element with the capacitive element is formed in close proximity to the ground line.
Seok teaches a steering wheel and method for controlling the same comprising a sensor integrated circuit 131 mounted on a printed circuit board 130, [fig. 1, 0049], comprising wiring part to electrically connect the sensor components including electrodes on the board, [0061].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Cholasta and Takahta with that of Seok to implement the sensor components on a printed circuit board as nothing but a standard and well-known step of implementing an electrical component with a plurality of components to allow for a fixed arrangement and organization of the components and protect the connection from breakage.
As to claim 8. The combination of Cholasta and Takahta fails to disclose The steering apparatus according to claim 7, wherein a configuration other than the electrode of the sensor unit is provided on an electronic board, and the electrode is provided to correspond to each of a predetermined grip range of the rim portion on the left side and a predetermined grip range of the rim portion on the right side.
Seok teaches a steering wheel and method for controlling the same comprising a sensor integrated circuit 131 mounted on a printed circuit board 130, [fig. 1, 0049], comprising wiring part to electrically connect the sensor components including electrodes 111-114 on the board, [0061]; wherein the electrodes 111-114 are arranged on both sides of the steering wheel 100, [fig. 2, 3].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Cholasta and Takahta with that of Seok to implement the sensor components on a printed circuit board as nothing but a standard and well-known step of implementing an electrical component with a plurality of components to allow for a fixed arrangement and organization of the components and protect the connection from breakage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688