CTNF 18/939,405 CTNF 89511 /DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-8 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-03 AIA The term “ close proximity ” in claim s 1, 5, 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ close proximity ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how close the capacitive element needs to be to the ground line to be considered “in close proximity”. The scope of the term could not be determined and is considered indefinite . Claims 1-8 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim . 07-34-07 AIA Claim 8 is generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Cholasta [US 20190181860] . As to claim 1. Cholasta discloses A steering apparatus comprising: a steering wheel , [0002] implemented in a steering wheel ; and a sensor unit , [fig. 1, 0012] sensor device 100, configured to detect contact or close proximity of a human body to the steering wheel , [fig. 5, 0002, 0026] steering wheel hands-off-detection , wherein the sensor unit comprises: an electrode , [fig. 1, 0014] electrode 114, provided in the steering wheel , [0002, 0014] ; a measuring device , [fig. 1, 0012] microcontroller 120, configured to measure an electrostatic capacitance of the electrode , [0012, 0035] measure ca[acutance voltage of the capacitive touch sense electrode ; and a switching element , [fig. 1, 0014] switch 122, configured to switch the electrode between a first state in which the electrode is grounded and a second state in which the electrode is not grounded , [fig. 1, 0014] first state connected to the ground through contact “1” and a second state connected to other contacts that is not ground. As to claim 2. Cholasta discloses The steering apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sensor unit further comprises a microprocessor , [fig. 1, 0012] central processing unit 124, and a capacitive element , [fig. 1, 0012] capacitor 112 , and wherein the microprocessor is configured to perform controlling the switching element , [0015] , the second state includes a third state in which a voltage from a predetermined power source is applied to the electrode through the switching element , [fig. 1, 0014] a state wherein the electrode 114 is connected to supply voltage Vref through contact “3” , and a fourth state in which the electrode is connected with the capacitive element through the switching element , [fig. 1, 0016] a state wherein the electrode 114 is connected to capacitor 112 , and the switching element switches the electrode to the first state, the third state, and the fourth state, based on a control signal from the microprocessor , [0015] . As to claim 3. Cholasta discloses The steering apparatus according to claim 2, wherein an electric charge of the electrode is accumulated in the third state , [0017] , is moved to the capacitive element in the fourth state , [0016] , and is discharged to a ground line in the first state , [0014] . As to claim 4. Cholasta discloses The steering apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the microprocessor is configured to perform the controlling including, when switching the electrode to the third state or the fourth state, outputting the control signal to the switching element to switch the electrode to the third state or the fourth state after temporarily switching the electrode to the first state , [0015] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cholasta in view of Seok et al. [US 20190210630] . As to claim 5. Cholasta fails to disclose The steering apparatus according to claim 3, wherein in the sensor unit, at least the switching element, the capacitive element, and the measuring device are configured on an electronic board, and at least one of signal line patterns respectively connecting the switching element with the electrode, the switching element with the predetermined power source, and the switching element with the capacitive element is formed in close proximity to the ground line . Seok teaches a steering wheel and method for controlling the same comprising a sensor integrated circuit 131 mounted on a printed circuit board 130, [fig. 1, 0049], comprising wiring part to electrically connect the sensor components including electrodes on the board, [0061]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cholasta with that of Seok to implement the sensor components on a printed circuit board as nothing but a standard and well-known step of implementing an electrical component with a plurality of components to allow for a fixed arrangement and organization of the components and protect the connection from breakage . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cholasta in view of Takahata [US 20230227093] . As to claim 6. Cholasta fails to explicitly disclose The steering apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising the physical characteristics of the steering wheel. However, Takahata teaches a grasp detection device provided in a steering wheel, [fig. 1, abs.]; wherein the steering wheel comprises: a rim portion having an annular shape , [fig. 1, 0023] rim 20 ; a hub portion provided on an inner side of the rim portion , [fig. 1, 0023] hub 23 ; and a spoke portion extending from the hub portion in a radial direction of the rim portion and connecting the hub portion with an inner circumferential portion of the rim portion , [fig. 1, 0023] spokes 25 , and the sensor unit is disposed in a function switch unit disposed on the spoke portion , [0029]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cholasta with that of Talahata as nothing but implementing the steering wheel using the basic physical characteristics that can allow for the purpose of a circular steering when to be used to turn a shaft attached to the wheels. As to claim 7. Cholasta discloses The steering apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the spoke portion is provided on a left side and a right side in a front view from a driver seat between the rim portion to be gripped by an occupant , [fig. 1, 0025], and the hub portion, and the sensor unit is disposed on the spoke portion on the left side and the spoke portion on the right side , [0029] , and is also disposed in close proximity to a component part for performing at least one operation of a vehicle information operation or a driving support function operation in the function switch unit , [0026] . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENYAM HAILE whose telephone number is (571)272-2080. The examiner can normally be reached 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM Mon. - Thur.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Lim can be reached at (571)270-1210. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/939,405 Page 2 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/939,405 Page 4 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/939,405 Page 5 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/939,405 Page 6 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/939,405 Page 7 Art Unit: 2688 Application/Control Number: 18/939,405 Page 8 Art Unit: 2688