DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18939408 filed on 11/06/2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6,8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jan Nagelkramer et al. (DE 102021126535; Hereinafter, “Jan”) in view of Goto et al. (US 2011/0215660; Hereinafter, “Goto”).
Regarding claim 1: Jan discloses a liquid-cooled stator (14) comprising: a housing (30); a stator core (20) positioned within the housing (30), the stator core (20) including a plurality of teeth and a back (annotated fig. 2 below), the plurality of teeth defining an inner diameter (ID) of the stator core, and the back defining an outer diameter (OD) of the stator core; a winding arrangement (made of conductors 12) positioned on the stator core (20), the winding arrangement including a first plurality of end turns (22) extending from a first axial end of the stator core and a second plurality of end turns (22) extending from a second axial end of the stator core (annotated fig. 1 below); a shroud (24) positioned on the first axial end (fig. 1) of the stator core (20) and covering the first plurality of end turns (22); and an inner sleeve (can 28) connected to the ID of the stator core (fig. 2), the inner sleeve (28) extending in an axial direction beyond a first axial end of the stator core.
Jan does not specifically disclose the core back is made of iron.
Goto discloses a stator core made of steel sheets (para [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have made the back of core of Jan’s stator from iron as taught by Goto since it is the common practice of the art and iron is known for its excellent relative permeability, and low cost.
Regarding claim 2/1: Jan, in view of Goto discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Jan further discloses that the shroud (24) is connected to the inner sleeve (28) in proximity of the first axial end of the stator core (annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 3/2/1: Jan, in view of Goto discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Goto further discloses that the shroud (211 which is part of the shroud 170) is welded to the inner sleeve (176) in proximity of the first axial end of the stator core (fig. 11-13, and para [0134]).
Regarding claim 4/2/1: Jan, in view of Goto discloses the limitations of claim , and Jan further discloses that an adhesive is used to connect the shroud (24) to the inner sleeve (28) in proximity of the first axial end of the stator core.
Regarding claim 6/2/1: Jan, in view of Goto discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Jan further discloses that the shroud is a first shroud (24), the stator further comprising a second shroud (26) positioned on the second axial end of the stator core (fig. 1) and covering the second plurality of end turns (22), the second shroud connected to the inner sleeve (28) in proximity of the second axial end of the stator core (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8/1, and 9/8: Jan, in view of Goto discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Jan further discloses that the inner sleeve (28) includes an outer annular surface (radially outer annular surface) that is coated with an adhesive (glue as discussed above), wherein the outer annular surface of the inner sleeve (28) is connected to the ID of the stator core (20) with the adhesive as discussed above in claim 4); the inner sleeve (28) is formed from a fluid-impervious sheet (“fluid tight manner”) that is rolled into a cylindrical shape (fig. 2) and adhered to the ID of the stator core (fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5/4/2/1, 7/6/2/1, 10/1 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 11: the limitations of claim 11, “…the shroud including a corrugated radial wall defining an axially-outward face” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated, nor obvious over the prior arts in record. Claims 12-16 are allowable for depending on claim 11.
Regarding claim 17: the limitations of claim 11, “…the shroud including an undercut along an outer wall of the shroud in proximity of the stator core such that a radial distance from the inner cylindrical space to the outer wall of the shroud is less at the undercut than at positions axially-outward from the undercut” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated, nor obvious over the prior arts in record. Claims 18-20 are allowable for depending on claim 17.
Conclusion
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834