DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 3/25/2026, wherein claims 1 were amended, claims 12-19 are new. Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 line 2 "inner compression sleeved" should read ""inner compression sleeve[[d]]". Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 12-17 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Independent claim 12, specifically, a lower segment having a lower end coupled inside the storage bag was not previously considered. The new independent claim would require further search and consideration because in the original species, the lower segment could be coupled from any end.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 12-17 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the artificial tree" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-11 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Fitzgerald (US 4969555 A).
With respect to claim 1, Fitzgerald discloses an artificial tree storage device, comprising: a storage bag (34) and an inner compression sleeve (30) coupled inside the storage bag; the storage bag having an expanded storage configuration and a collapsed display configuration, the storage bag being sized and shaped to substantially enclose the artificial tree when the artificial tree is compressed by the inner compression sleeve while the storage bag is in the expanded storage position (fig 6); a base (bottom of 34 or 30, see dependents below) having a hole (aperture created at bottom in fig 6) therein to accommodate a trunk of the artificial tree; the inner compression sleeve, including: i)a lower segment (bottom of 30) having one end coupled inside the storage bag (34 fig 4) at the base end, the lower segment having an inner diameter sized (Fitzgeralds device is capable of doing so depending on the tree stored) to compress the artificial tree into the storage configuration as the inner compression sleeve is raised up the sides of the artificial tree from the base over the artificial tree; and ii)an upper segment (top of 30) coupled to the lower segment opposite the base, wherein the upper segment increases in cross sectional area from the lower segment attachment to a distal end of the upper segment (as seen in figure 4); iii)wherein the upper segment (top of 30) is structurally configured to cause the artificial tree to compress as the upper segment of the inner compression sleeve moves up the sides of the artificial tree, after which the storage bag can be moved upwardly around the inner compression sleeve . (the structure as disclosed by Fitzgerald is capable of accomplishing this)
With respect to claim 2, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the upper segment is structurally configured to have a conical shape. (device of Fitzgerald resembles a conical shape, fig 5)
With respect to claim3, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 1, wherein a diameter of a cross section of the upper segment increases from the lower segment attachment to the distal end of the upper segment. (see figure 4, this is true of Fitzgerald)
With respect to claim 4, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the upper segment has a conical shape. (device of Fitzgerald resembles a conical shape, fig 5)
With respect to claim 5, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the base is a portion of the storage bag (lower portion of the 34).
With respect to claim 6, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the base is a portion of the lower segment. (can consider bottom portion of 30).
With respect to claim 7, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the base is a component separate and distinct from the storage bag and is coupled to the storage bag. (limitation is met if considering claim 6, and the base as a portion of 30, lower segment of the inner compression sleeve)
With respect to claim 10, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the inner compression sleeve includes a material elected from nylon, polyester, canvas, vinyl, PVC, a polyethylene-coated fabric, a polypropylene-coated fabric, or a combination thereof. (Cordura, a listed material is a type of nylon, col 3 lines 15-27)
With respect to claim 11, Fitzgerald discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the inner compression sleeve includes a material selected from nylon, polyester, canvas, or vinyl. (Cordura, a listed material is a type of nylon, col 3 lines 15-27)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitzgerald (US 4969555 A) in view of Porter (US 20050124240 A1).
With respect to claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the storage bag includes a material selected from nylon, polyester, canvas, vinyl, PVC, a polyethylene-coated fabric, a polypropylene-coated fabric, or a combination thereof. Fitzgerald teaches of a lightweight mesh, but fails to elaborate on the exact material for the lightweight mesh. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely lightweight mesh, Porter teaches of a mesh material made out of polyester (abstract). The mesh contributes to tensile, tear and puncture resistance (page 3 [0020]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mesh of Fitzgerald to be made of polyester as taught by Porter in order to allow for increased tear resistance.
With respect to claim 9, the references as applied to claim 1, above, disclose all the limitations of the claims except for wherein the storage bag includes a material selected from nylon, polyester, canvas, or vinyl. Fitzgerald teaches of a lightweight mesh, but fails to elaborate on the exact material for the lightweight mesh. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely lightweight mesh, Porter teaches of a mesh material made out of polyester (abstract). The mesh contributes to tensile, tear and puncture resistance (page 3 [0020]). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mesh of Fitzgerald to be made of polyester as taught by Porter in order to allow for increased tear resistance.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20080308440-A1 OR US-20070227925-A1 OR US-20030226780-A1 OR US-20250143498-A1 OR US-20100213090-A1 OR US-20050211589-A1 OR US-4969555-A OR US-4899878-A OR US-4799520-A OR US-10251504-B1 OR US-D822384-S OR US-D406080-S OR US-6000544-A OR US-3924669-A OR US-3750731-A OR US-3729039-A OR US-2847805-A OR US-20130312374-A1 OR US-20030066774-A1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/ERNESTO A GRANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735