DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see remarks and claims, filed 09/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of US Pat Pub No. 20090281433 to Saadat et al. See detailed rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat Pub No. 20170347956 to Zegarelli in view of US Pat Pub No. 20090281433 to Saadat et al. (hereinafter “Saadat”).
Regarding claim 1. Zegarelli discloses an intraoral system (para 0004, 0014, etc.), comprising: a polymeric shell appliance comprising a plurality of cavities for receiving a patient’s teeth (para 0007, 0046, 0064, 0065, etc., fig 1), wherein the polymeric shell appliance is configured to be removably worn over the patient’s teeth (para 0036, 0090 “oral appliance can be removed”); and a sensor assembly coupled to the polymeric shell appliance (para 0043, 0136, 0137, 0146, etc. “data collection device 302 (e.g., sensor)”), the sensor assembly comprising a power source (para 0150 “power supply 306”), a sensor that is configured to detect air flow during inhalation and/or exhalation of the patient when the patient is wearing the polymeric shell appliance (para 0146 “the sensor can be placed in the air flow of the oral cavity and measure the user's respiration rate,”), a memory for storing air flow data based on the detected air flow (para 0072, 0112, 0159 etc. “memory”), and wireless circuity for transmitting information associated with the air flow data to an external device (para 0157, fig 11) but fails to disclose the polymeric shell appliance comprising a receptacle formed on an outer buccal surface of a wall defining one or more molar-receiving cavities of the plurality of cavities; and a sensor assembly coupled to the polymeric shell appliance within the receptacle [] wherein the sensor is positioned adjacent to an airway of the patient when the polymeric shell appliance is worn, and wherein the sensor is configured to detect air flow at the outer buccal surface of the wall.
Saadat, from a similar field of endeavor teaches a removable oral appliance wherein the electronics and/or transducer assembly 16 positioned along a side surface of the assembly 14 (para 0058, 0076-0080) to be utilized by persons, hearing impaired or otherwise, who may simply hold the mouthguard or retainer 25 via grooves or channels 26 between their teeth for receiving instructions remotely and communicating over a distance (para 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Zegarelli with the teachings of Saadat, because doing so would allow for positioning the sensor in the cavity/side surface of the device, near the molar (para 0058) and provide the predictable result of performing diagnostic and therapy delivery (para 0060).
Regarding claim 2. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the sensor assembly comprises one or more processors configured to determine, based on the air flow data, a respiration rate of the patient (para 0146 “measure the user's respiration rate”).
Regarding claim 3. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the sensor assembly comprises one or more processors configured to determine, based on the air flow data, whether the patient is snoring or has sleep apnea during sleep (para 0043 “the data collection device 302 (e.g., sensor) can measure oxygen or carbon dioxide content in the oral cavity to monitor conditions such as, for example, sleep apnea,”).
Regarding claim 4. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the polymeric shell appliance is shaped to resiliently reposition the patient’s teeth according to a phase of an orthodontic treatment plan (para 0005 “the oral appliance is a custom fit oral appliance”; fig. 8; it is understood that custom fitting the oral appliance could be according to any phase/plan as desired by anyone, including an orthodontic).
Regarding claim 7. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to analyze air inhaled by the patient (para 0146).
Regarding claim 8. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 7, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to analyze toxic or harmful substances in the inhaled air and warn the patient of the toxic or harmful substances (para 0043 “the data collection device 302 (e.g., sensor) can measure [] carbon dioxide content in the oral cavity”).
Regarding claim 9. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to analyze air exhaled by the patient to detect volatile and/or non-volatile compounds (para 0078 “one or more sensors and/or hydrogel to detect volatile sulfur compounds”).
Regarding claim 10. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to analyze air exhaled by the patient to detect an alcohol level (para 0147 “alcohol breathalyzers”).
Regarding claim 11. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to analyze air exhaled by the patient to detect one or more markers for bad breath (para 0078, 0081 “halitosis”; para 0142).
Regarding claim 12. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, wherein the sensor assembly includes microfluidic components associated with analyzing chemical content of air exhaled by the patient and/or air inhaled by the patient (para 0081, 0136 “detect chemical”). It is understood that since Zegarelli discloses detecting chemical components, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include known microfluidic components to perform the chemical detection for analysis.
Regarding claim 13. Zegarelli discloses a method (para 0004, 0014, etc.), comprising: placing a polymeric shell appliance over a patient’s teeth such that the patient’s teeth are positioned within a plurality of cavities of the polymeric shell appliance (para 0007, 0046, 0064, 0065, etc., fig 1), wherein the polymeric shell appliance is configured to be removable from the patient’s teeth (para 0036, 0090 “oral appliance can be removed”); detecting air flow during inhalation and/or exhalation of a patient (para 0146 “the sensor can be placed in the air flow of the oral cavity and measure the user's respiration rate,”), wherein the air flow is detected by a sensor of a sensor assembly coupled with the polymeric shell appliance worn by the patient (para 0043, 0136, 0137, 0146, etc. “data collection device 302 (e.g., sensor)”), wherein the sensor assembly is powered by a power source coupled with the polymeric shell appliance (para 0150 “power supply 306”); storing air flow data based on the detected air flow in a memory of the sensory assembly (para 0072, 0112, 0159 etc. “memory”); and transmitting information associated with the air flow data to an external device via wireless circuitry of the sensor assembly (para 0157, fig 11) but fails to disclose the polymeric shell appliance comprising a receptacle formed on an outer buccal surface of a wall defining one or more molar-receiving cavities of the plurality of cavities; and a sensor assembly coupled to the polymeric shell appliance within the receptacle [] wherein the sensor is positioned adjacent to an airway of the patient when the polymeric shell appliance is worn, and wherein the sensor is configured to detect air flow at the outer buccal surface of the wall.
Saadat, from a similar field of endeavor teaches a removable oral appliance wherein the electronics and/or transducer assembly 16 positioned along a side surface of the assembly 14 (para 0058, 0076-0080) to be utilized by persons, hearing impaired or otherwise, who may simply hold the mouthguard or retainer 25 via grooves or channels 26 between their teeth for receiving instructions remotely and communicating over a distance (para 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Zegarelli with the teachings of Saadat, because doing so would allow for positioning the sensor in the cavity/side surface of the device, near the molar (para 0058) and provide the predictable result of performing diagnostic and therapy delivery (para 0060).
Regarding claim 14. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the method of claim 13, wherein the sensor assembly determines a respiration rate of the patient (para 0146 “measure the user's respiration rate”).
Regarding claim 15. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the method of claim 13, wherein the sensor assembly detects whether the patient is snoring or has sleep apnea during sleep (para 0043 “the data collection device 302 (e.g., sensor) can measure oxygen or carbon dioxide content in the oral cavity to monitor conditions such as, for example, sleep apnea,”).
Regarding claim 17. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the method of claim 13, wherein the sensor assembly analyzes air inhaled by the patient (para 0146).
Regarding claim 18. Zegarelli discloses an intraoral system (para 0004, 0014, etc.), comprising: a polymeric shell appliance comprising a plurality of cavities for receiving a patient’s teeth (para 0007, 0046, 0064, 0065, etc., fig 1), wherein the polymeric shell appliance is configured to be removably worn over the patient’s teeth (para 0036, 0090 “oral appliance can be removed”); and a sensor assembly coupled to the polymeric shell appliance (para 0043, 0136, 0137, 0146, etc. “data collection device 302 (e.g., sensor)”), the sensor assembly comprising a power source (para 0150 “power supply 306”), a sensor that is configured to detect air flow during inhalation and/or exhalation of the patient when the patient is wearing the polymeric shell appliance (para 0146 “the sensor can be placed in the air flow of the oral cavity and measure the user's respiration rate,”), a memory for storing air flow data based on the detected air flow (para 0072, 0112, 0159 etc. “memory”), and wireless circuity for transmitting information associated with the air flow data to an external device (para 0157, fig 11), wherein the sensor assembly is configured to detect whether the patient is snoring or has sleep apnea during sleep (para 0043 “the data collection device 302 (e.g., sensor) can measure oxygen or carbon dioxide content in the oral cavity to monitor conditions such as, for example, sleep apnea,”) but fails to disclose the polymeric shell appliance comprising a receptacle formed on an outer buccal surface of a wall defining one or more molar-receiving cavities of the plurality of cavities; and a sensor assembly coupled to the polymeric shell appliance within the receptacle [] wherein the sensor is positioned adjacent to an airway of the patient when the polymeric shell appliance is worn, and wherein the sensor is configured to detect air flow at the outer buccal surface of the wall.
Saadat, from a similar field of endeavor teaches a removable oral appliance wherein the electronics and/or transducer assembly 16 positioned along a side surface of the assembly 14 (para 0058, 0076-0080) to be utilized by persons, hearing impaired or otherwise, who may simply hold the mouthguard or retainer 25 via grooves or channels 26 between their teeth for receiving instructions remotely and communicating over a distance (para 0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Zegarelli with the teachings of Saadat, because doing so would allow for positioning the sensor in the cavity/side surface of the device, near the molar (para 0058) and provide the predictable result of performing diagnostic and therapy delivery (para 0060).
Regarding claim 19. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 18, wherein the polymeric shell appliance is shaped to resiliently reposition the patient’s teeth according to a phase of an orthodontic treatment plan (para 0005 “the oral appliance is a custom fit oral appliance”; fig. 8; it is understood that custom fitting the oral appliance could be according to any phase/plan as desired by anyone, including an orthodontic).
Regarding claim 20. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 18, wherein the sensor assembly comprises one or more processors configured to determine, based on the air flow data, a respiration rate of the patient (para 0146 “measure the user's respiration rate”).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zegarelli as modified by Saadat as applied to claims above and further in view of US Pat Pub No 20170319129 to Shah et al. (hereinafter “Shah” – previously presented).
Regarding claim 5. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sensor assembly is configured to activate the patient’s muscles in response to determining snoring or sleep apnea to encourage or cause the patient’s airways to open.
Shah, from a similar field of endeavor shows that it is known for the oral appliance to have electrical stimulation capability for providing mild shocks to the soft palates and tongue in order to alleviate the blockage of airway passage from persisting further due to above events (para 0165). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Zegarelli with the known teachings of Shah to provide the predictable result of alleviating the blockage of airway passage.
Regarding claim 6. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat and Shah renders obvious the intraoral system of claim 3, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to deliver electrical stimulation to the patient in response to detecting the snoring or sleep apnea to encourage or cause the patient’s airways to open (Shah, para 0165).
Regarding claim 16. Zegarelli as modified by Saadat renders obvious the method of claim 15, but fails to disclose further comprising delivering electrical stimulation to the patient in response to detecting the snoring or sleep apnea to encourage or cause the patient’s airways to open.
Shah, from a similar field of endeavor shows that it is known for the oral appliance to have electrical stimulation capability for providing mild shocks to the soft palates and tongue in order to alleviate the blockage of airway passage from persisting further due to above events (para 0165). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Zegarelli as modified by Saadat with the known teachings of Shah to provide the predictable result of alleviating the blockage of airway passage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796