DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), of which papers have been placed in the file wrapper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0248875 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses, a bed induction system comprising: one or more sensors (See Liu ¶60, “In some embodiments, the patient bed 110 may be disposed with one or more cameras, and the processing device 140 may obtain an optical image around the patient bed 110 through the cameras.”)
that obtain information on a positional relationship between a medical apparatus having a docking portion to which a bed is connected and the bed; (See Liu ¶50, “The positioning information of the target refers to positioning information of a datum that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. The datum refers to a reference object that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. In some embodiments, the target may be a medical device (e.g., the medical device 160), which is stationary and parked within the scanning room.”
Further see Liu ¶51, “In some embodiments, the positioning information may include position information etc. … Exemplary positioning techniques may include … an image analysis technique.”
Further see Liu ¶77, “In some embodiments, it may be set that when the distance between the patient bed 110 and the medical device 160 satisfies the intelligent guiding preset distance.”)
one or more processors that execute processing of (See Liu ¶123, “As shown in FIG. 6, a controlling system 600 for a mobile patient bed and a medical device may include the target positioning information processor 610.”)
displaying guide information for inducing the bed to the docking portion based on the information obtained from the one or more sensors; and one or more display devices that display the guide information. (See Liu ¶85, “In some embodiments, the display device may also display an automatically planned path and the current position of the movement of the patient bed calculated by the processing device 140 based on the positioning information of the medical device 160.”)
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the medical apparatus is a gantry of a medical imaging apparatus that captures a medical image of a subject. (See Liu ¶41, “For example, the medical device 160 may be a digital radiography (DR) device, a computed radiography (CR), a digital fluorography (DF), a positron emission tomography (PET), a cone-beam computed tomography (CBCT), a single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), an image-guided radiation therapy device, a biochemical immunoassay analyzer, a CT scanner, a magnetic resonance scanner, an electrocardiogram, etc. In some embodiments, the medical device 160 may include a rack, a docking structure, a detector, a detection area, a patient bed, and a ray generator.”)
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors are disposed at at least one of the medical apparatus or the bed. (See Liu ¶60, “In some embodiments, the patient bed 110 may be disposed with one or more cameras.” Further see Liu ¶76, “The in-place sensor 302 may be a sensor mounted on the door frame of the scanning booth 301, such as on the top, the bottom, the left, the right, of the door, or any combination thereof.”)
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors are disposed at at least one of a ceiling or a wall of a room where the medical apparatus is disposed. (See Liu ¶76, “The in-place sensor 302 may be a sensor mounted on the door frame of the scanning booth 301, such as on the top, the bottom, the left, the right, of the door, or any combination thereof.”)
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors include a camera. (See Liu ¶60, “In some embodiments, the patient bed 110 may be disposed with one or more cameras, and the processing device 140 may obtain an optical image around the patient bed 110 through the cameras.”)
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 5, wherein the one or more processors ascertain the positional relationship between the medical apparatus and the bed by analyzing an image obtained from the camera. (See Liu ¶51, “In some embodiments, the positioning information may include position information etc. … Exemplary positioning techniques may include … an image analysis technique.”
Further see Liu ¶55, “In some embodiments, based on the docking instruction, the processing device 140 may obtain the positioning information of the patient bed 110 and the positioning information of the medical device 160, and obtain the automatically planned path based on the position between the patient bed 110 and the medical device 160, and a spatial layout of the hospital by calculation.”)
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more display devices are disposed at at least one of the medical apparatus or the bed. (See Liu ¶85, "In some embodiments, a display device (e.g., a display screen) may be provided on the patient bed 110.”)
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: generate the guide information based on the information obtained from the one or more sensors. (See Liu ¶51, “In some embodiments, the positioning information may include position information etc. … Exemplary positioning techniques may include … an image analysis technique.”
Further see Liu ¶85, “In some embodiments, the display device may also display an automatically planned path and the current position of the movement of the patient bed calculated by the processing device 140 based on the positioning information of the medical device 160.”)
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the guide information includes information indicating a traveling route for guiding the bed to the docking portion. (See Liu ¶54, “In some embodiments, the processing device 140 may obtain an automatically planned path based on the positioning information of the medical device 160 to control the movement of the patient bed 110. The automatically planned path may indicate a route or trajectory of the patient bed 110 from the current position to the target position (i.e., the position of the processing device 140).”)
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the information on the positional relationship includes distance information between the medical apparatus and the bed. (See Liu ¶77, “In some embodiments, it may be set that when the distance between the patient bed 110 and the medical device 160 satisfies the intelligent guiding preset distance.”)
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the bed includes a steering caster that changes a traveling direction of the bed, (See Liu ¶111, “The state of the patient bed itself may include the operating states of a driving motor of the driving device, an elevation motor used to raise the patient bed, a steering driving motor used to steer the patient bed, and/or other components, etc. of the patient bed 110.” Further see Liu ¶35, “The driving device may be configured to drive the moving wheels to rotate for a movement of the patient bed 110.”)
and the one or more processors are configured to: control the steering caster so that the bed is directed to the docking portion based on the information obtained from the one or more sensors. (See Liu ¶55, “The processing device 140 may send the automatically planning path to the patient bed 110 and control the driving device of the patient bed 110, so as to control the patient bed 110 to move along the automatically planning path into the docking region of the medical device 160.”)
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses, a medical apparatus comprising: a docking portion to which a bed is connected; In some embodiments, (See Liu ¶35, “the patient bed 110 may include a patient bed body, mobile wheels, a driving device, a signaling device, and a docking structure. … The docking structure may be realized with a corresponding docking structure on the medical device 160.”)
one or more sensors that obtain information on a positional relationship with the bed; (See Liu ¶60, “In some embodiments, the patient bed 110 may be disposed with one or more cameras, and the processing device 140 may obtain an optical image around the patient bed 110 through the cameras.”)
that obtain information on a positional relationship with the bed; (See Liu ¶50, “The positioning information of the target refers to positioning information of a datum that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. The datum refers to a reference object that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. In some embodiments, the target may be a medical device (e.g., the medical device 160), which is stationary and parked within the scanning room.”
Further see Liu ¶51, “In some embodiments, the positioning information may include position information etc. … Exemplary positioning techniques may include … an image analysis technique.”
Further see Liu ¶55, “In some embodiments, based on the docking instruction, the processing device 140 may obtain the positioning information of the patient bed 110 and the positioning information of the medical device 160, and obtain the automatically planned path based on the position between the patient bed 110 and the medical device 160, and a spatial layout of the hospital by calculation.”)
one or more processors that execute processing of (See Liu ¶123, “As shown in FIG. 6, a controlling system 600 for a mobile patient bed and a medical device may include the target positioning information processor 610.”)
displaying guide information for inducing the bed to the docking portion based on the information obtained from the one or more sensors; and one or more display devices that display the guide information. (See Liu ¶85, “In some embodiments, the display device may also display an automatically planned path and the current position of the movement of the patient bed calculated by the processing device 140 based on the positioning information of the medical device 160.”)
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses, a bed that is attachable to and detachable from a docking portion provided at a medical apparatus, (See Liu ¶90, “In some embodiments, the docking structures may include a docking structure on the patient bed 110 and a docking structure on the medical device 160. The docking structure on the patient bed 110 and the docking structure on the medical device 160 may enable physical structural connections between the two, as well as electrical connections, and signaling connections.”)
the bed comprising: one or more sensors (See Liu ¶60, “In some embodiments, the patient bed 110 may be disposed with one or more cameras, and the processing device 140 may obtain an optical image around the patient bed 110 through the cameras.”)
that obtain information on a positional relationship between the medical apparatus and the bed; (See Liu ¶50, “The positioning information of the target refers to positioning information of a datum that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. The datum refers to a reference object that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. In some embodiments, the target may be a medical device (e.g., the medical device 160), which is stationary and parked within the scanning room.”
Further see Liu ¶51, “In some embodiments, the positioning information may include position information etc. … Exemplary positioning techniques may include … an image analysis technique.”
Further see Liu ¶55, “In some embodiments, based on the docking instruction, the processing device 140 may obtain the positioning information of the patient bed 110 and the positioning information of the medical device 160, and obtain the automatically planned path based on the position between the patient bed 110 and the medical device 160, and a spatial layout of the hospital by calculation.”)
one or more processors that execute processing of (See Liu ¶123, “As shown in FIG. 6, a controlling system 600 for a mobile patient bed and a medical device may include the target positioning information processor 610.”)
displaying guide information for inducing the bed to the docking portion based on the information obtained from the one or more sensors; and one or more display devices that display the guide information. (See Liu ¶85, “In some embodiments, the display device may also display an automatically planned path and the current position of the movement of the patient bed calculated by the processing device 140 based on the positioning information of the medical device 160.”)
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses, a medical image diagnosis system comprising: a gantry that has a docking portion to which a bed is connected; (See Liu ¶41, “For example, the medical device 160 may be a digital radiography (DR) device, a computed radiography (CR), a digital fluorography (DF), a positron emission tomography (PET), a cone-beam computed tomography (CBCT), a single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), an image-guided radiation therapy device, a biochemical immunoassay analyzer, a CT scanner, a magnetic resonance scanner, an electrocardiogram, etc. In some embodiments, the medical device 160 may include a rack, a docking structure, a detector, a detection area, a patient bed, and a ray generator.”)
the bed that is attachable to and detachable from the docking portion; (See Liu ¶90, “In some embodiments, the docking structures may include a docking structure on the patient bed 110 and a docking structure on the medical device 160. The docking structure on the patient bed 110 and the docking structure on the medical device 160 may enable physical structural connections between the two, as well as electrical connections, and signaling connections.”)
one or more sensors (See Liu ¶60, “In some embodiments, the patient bed 110 may be disposed with one or more cameras, and the processing device 140 may obtain an optical image around the patient bed 110 through the cameras.”)
that obtain information on a positional relationship between the gantry and the bed; (See Liu ¶50, “The positioning information of the target refers to positioning information of a datum that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. The datum refers to a reference object that guides the movement of the patient bed 110. In some embodiments, the target may be a medical device (e.g., the medical device 160), which is stationary and parked within the scanning room.”
Further see Liu ¶51, “In some embodiments, the positioning information may include position information etc. … Exemplary positioning techniques may include … an image analysis technique.”
Further see Liu ¶55, “In some embodiments, based on the docking instruction, the processing device 140 may obtain the positioning information of the patient bed 110 and the positioning information of the medical device 160, and obtain the automatically planned path based on the position between the patient bed 110 and the medical device 160, and a spatial layout of the hospital by calculation.”)
one or more processors that execute processing of (See Liu ¶123, “As shown in FIG. 6, a controlling system 600 for a mobile patient bed and a medical device may include the target positioning information processor 610.”)
one or more processors that execute processing of (See Liu ¶123, “As shown in FIG. 6, a controlling system 600 for a mobile patient bed and a medical device may include the target positioning information processor 610.”)
displaying guide information for inducing the bed to the docking portion based on the information obtained from the one or more sensors; and one or more display devices that display the guide information. (See Liu ¶85, “In some embodiments, the display device may also display an automatically planned path and the current position of the movement of the patient bed calculated by the processing device 140 based on the positioning information of the medical device 160.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0248875 A1) in view of Neuber et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0047218 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, but he fails to disclose, wherein the guide information includes information indicating a dockable angle range of the bed with respect to the docking portion.
However, Neuber discloses, wherein the guide information includes information indicating a dockable angle range of the bed with respect to the docking portion. (See Neuber ¶155, “The movement trajectory B is advantageously calculated by the computing unit 2 (not shown here), such that the longitudinal axes L1 and L2 of the patient couch 1 and the imaging facility 72 at the end of the movement trajectory form an angle less than 7°, and particularly preferably an angle less than 2°, in order to allow jolt-free docking. The movement trajectory B is displayed on the display unit 4.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the displaying a movement trajectory that is calculated by taking into account docking angles as suggested by Neuber to Liu’s displayed guidance. This can be done using known engineering techniques, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so is in order to ensure precise alignment between the moving bed and the medical device. It prevents dangerous last second maneuvers, and guarantees a safe secure physical connection.
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, wherein the bed includes an electrically assisted caster that provides traveling assistance to the bed, (See Liu ¶111, “The state of the patient bed itself may include the operating states of a driving motor of the driving device, an elevation motor used to raise the patient bed, a steering driving motor used to steer the patient bed, and/or other components, etc. of the patient bed 110.” Further see Liu ¶35, “The driving device may be configured to drive the moving wheels to rotate for a movement of the patient bed 110.”)
Liu discloses the above limitations but he fails to disclose, and the one or more processors are configured to: perform control of reducing the traveling assistance of the electrically assisted caster in a case where a distance between the medical apparatus and the bed is a second distance or less.
However, Neuber discloses, and the one or more processors are configured to: perform control of reducing the traveling assistance of the electrically assisted caster in a case where a distance between the medical apparatus and the bed is a second distance or less. (See Neuber ¶117, “In other words, if the patient couch approaches the docking position along the movement trajectory and if the distance falls below a previously defined threshold value, for example, 50 cm, 20 cm, or 10 cm, the movement speed of the patient couch generated by the drive unit is adjusted to a speed value that falls below a previously defined maximum speed threshold value.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the reduce the speed of the bed when its distance to the dock is less than a threshold, as suggested by Neuber to Liu’s automatic docking. This can be done using known engineering techniques, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so is because it prevents dangerous collisions, ensures patient comfort, and provides the high-precision alignment required to protect delicate medical equipment.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0248875 A1) in view of Nithiyanantham et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0307616 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, but he fails to disclose, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: display the guide information on the one or more display devices in a case where a distance between the medical apparatus and the bed is a first distance or less.
However, Nithiyan discloses, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: display the guide information on the one or more display devices in a case where a distance between the medical apparatus and the bed is a first distance or less. (See Nithiyan ¶100, “If the distance to the parking area is less than or equal to the distance threshold, the DAS 100 displays (S1410) a split view of a front view from the vehicle (captured by cameras 328) and a top view image showing the parking area near the destination. In the example embodiment, the top view image is a satellite image, but any other suitable top view image showing the parking area and the destination may be used. The identified parking area is highlighted in the top view image.”
Further see Nithiyan ¶102, “In S1414 of FIG. 14, guidance is provided to the driver 118 using the guidance method 400 (FIG. 4) discussed above. In FIG. 16, the front view image 1602 includes guidelines 1610 to guide the driver 118 to the parking area 1606.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the displaying parking guide information when the distance to parking is less than a threshold distance as suggested by Nithiyan to Liu’s displaying of guidance when docking a bed. Whereby parking and docking can be considered to be similar activities. This can be done using known engineering techniques, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so is to limit screen interactions and prompts to the exact moment when the driver or the medical professional needs to make localized decisions. Additionally, the guidance algorithm will use cameras to track the target location and only needs to provide accurate data within a specific localized perimeter near the target.
Regarding claim 13, Liu and Nithiyan disclose, the bed induction system according to claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: in a case where display of the guide information on the one or more display devices is started, (See Nithiyan ¶102, “In S1414 of FIG. 14, guidance is provided to the driver 118 using the guidance method 400 (FIG. 4) discussed above. In FIG. 16, the front view image 1602 includes guidelines 1610 to guide the driver 118 to the parking area 1606.”)
maintain the display of the guide information until docking completion. (See Nithiyan ¶103, “In S1414, the DAS 100 determines if the driver 118 passed the identified parking area. If the user passed the identified parking area, the DAS 100 reroutes (S1416) the guidelines to guide the driver to the next nearest parking area.” Further see Nithiyan ¶104, “If the driver 118 does not bypass the identified parking area, the DAS determines if the vehicle has entered the parking area in S1418. If not, the guidelines are rerouted in S1416. If the vehicle 102 has entered the parking area, in S1420, the DAS begins scanning for parking spaces.”)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0248875 A1) in view of Yasuda et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0236732 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses, the bed induction system according to claim 1, but he fails to disclose, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: hide the guide information in a case of undocking, which is separating the bed from the medical apparatus, and activate a guide display function after a predetermined time elapses from the undocking.
However, Yasuda discloses, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: hide the guide information in a case of undocking, which is separating the bed from the medical apparatus, (See Yasuda¶157, “In this case, the terminal CPU 191 displays (i) the vehicle image G62 at the portion of the display 110 which corresponds to the position of the vehicle 200 which the vehicle position signal S23 represents and (ii) the pulling-out remaining distance image G63 which displays the pulling-out remaining distance Dout which the pulling-out remaining distance signal S25 represents on the display 110.”)
and activate a guide display function after a predetermined time elapses from the undocking. (See Yasuda ¶159, “Further, the terminal CPU 191 is configured or programmed to execute a routine shown in FIG. 19 each time the predetermined calculation time elapses. Therefore, at a predetermined timing, the terminal CPU 191 starts a process from a step 1900 of the routine shown in FIG. 19 and proceeds with the process to a step 1910 to determine whether the parking moving interacting image G44 or the pulling-out moving interacting image G64 is displayed.”
Further see Yasuda ¶155, “When the terminal CPU 191 determines “Yes” at the step 1840, the terminal CPU 191 proceeds with the process to a step 1845 to display the parking interacting image G40 and transmit the parking space signal S12 to the outside. In this case, the terminal CPU 191 displays (i) the vehicle image G42 at the portion of the display 110 which corresponds to the position of the vehicle 200 which the vehicle position signal S13 represents, (ii) the parking remaining distance image G43 which displays the parking remaining distance Din which the parking remaining distance signal S15 represents on the display 110, and (iii) the moving direction image G47 which displays the moving direction of the vehicle 200 which the moving direction signal S17 represents on the display 110.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the hiding the parking display and instead shown the pulling out display when exiting parking, and then reevaluating whether to show the parking display after a threshold time as suggested by Yasuda to Liu’s displaying of guidance when docking a bed to a medical device. Whereby parking and docking are considered to be similar activities. This can be done using known engineering techniques, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so, is to display guidance that is specific to the situation of exiting a parking space (or undocking) by displaying to exiting drivers (or medical professionals) the available paths for exiting. Furthermore, the time delay is to avoid screen confusion, or rapidly flashing messages when the display transitions from a pull-out state to an entering state (or docking state to undocking state).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lynam et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0155167 A1) A vehicular camera monitoring system a driver-side camera, a driver-side video display screen disposed at a driver-side cabin region of an interior cabin of the vehicle, a passenger-side camera and a passenger-side video display screen disposed at a passenger-side cabin region of the interior cabin of the vehicle. During a parking maneuver or parking-space exit maneuver of the vehicle, the driver-side video display screen displays parking assist images derived from image data captured by the driver-side camera and the passenger-side video display screen displays parking assist images derived from image data captured by the passenger-side camera.
Wiggers et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0154569 A1) A patient support system includes a base having a plurality of wheels, and a patient support coupled to the base, wherein at least a part of the patient support is for supporting a head of a patient, and at least one of the wheels has a plurality of secondary wheels. A patient support system includes a patient support, a transportation mechanism for transporting the patient support, a positioner for moving the patient support relative to the transportation mechanism, and a positioning system for determining an actual position associated with the patient support with respect to a multi-dimensional coordinate system, wherein one of the transportation mechanism and the positioner is for coarse positioning of the patient support, and another one of the transportation mechanism and the positioner is for fine positioning of the patient support.
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday; 10:00am -6:30pm.
(571) 273-8300.
/DAVID PERLMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673