DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on November 6, 2024 Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 2/20/2025, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-12 and 19-20 are drawn to a method and claims 13-18 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 1, 9, and 13, recite a method for item placement in a virtual battle, the method comprising: displaying, by processing circuitry, an item placement preview of the virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle when the virtual battle starts; and adding the virtual item of the target round to the displayed virtual scene during the virtual battle when the virtual battle proceeds to the target round. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 9, and 13 recite abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: A method for item placement in a virtual battle, the method comprising: displaying, by processing circuitry, an item placement preview of the virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle when the virtual battle starts; and adding the virtual item of the target round to the displayed virtual scene during the virtual battle when the virtual battle proceeds to the target round.
Representative Claim 9: A method for item placement in a virtual battle, the method comprising: determining, before the virtual battle starts, an item placement policy for the virtual battle from a plurality of item placement policies, the virtual battle including a plurality of battle rounds; generating, by processing circuitry, an item placement preview of the virtual battle based on the determined item placement policy, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of the plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round; providing the item placement preview to a plurality of terminals that is associated with a plurality of players of the virtual battle, the item placement preview being displayed by the plurality of terminals before the virtual battle starts; and adding the virtual item indicated by the item placement preview in a virtual scene of the virtual battle during the virtual battle.
Representative Claim 13: An information processing apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry configured to: display an item placement preview of a virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round; display a virtual scene of the virtual battle when the virtual battle starts; and add the virtual item of the target round to the displayed virtual scene during the virtual battle when the virtual battle proceeds to the target round.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of processing circuitry are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited steps of a method for item placement in a virtual battle, the method comprising: displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle; providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle; and adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle, providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds, displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle, and adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle)). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 9, and 13 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-20 further narrow the abstract ideas of displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle, providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle; and adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 13 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 9, and 13 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle”, “providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds”, “displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle”, and “adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle” etc. (Claims 1, 9, and 13) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle”, “providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds”, “displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle”, and “adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 9, and 13, and dependent claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-20 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle; providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle; and adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle; providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle; and adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle (Claim(s) 1, 9, and 13), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 9, and 13, and dependent claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-20 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle; providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle; and adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle (Claim(s) 1, 9, and 13), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure at paragraphs [0011], [0048], and [0051] acknowledges that “The computer program product includes a computer program, the computer program, when executed by a processor, implementing the operations of the item placement method in the above aspects”, “ In some embodiments, computer programs involved in the embodiments of this disclosure may be deployed on a computing computer device for execution, or may be executed on a plurality of computing devices at one location, or may be executed on a plurality of computing devices distributed at a plurality of locations and connected by a communication network”, and “ In some embodiments, each terminal 101 has a target application served by the server 102 installed therein. The target application has a function of performing virtual battles. For example, the target application is an Auto Chess game application” (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-20 are dependent from claims 1, 9, and 13 and include all the limitations of the independent claims, but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 15, 16, and 17 recite clarifications of highlighting an identifier and/or other information, displaying the identifier and/or other information, displaying the identifier and/or other information when the state of an object has changed, displaying specific information about the object (e.g. type), determining placement instructions of the object, and having a preview that indicates both the type of object to be placed (information) and how that object should be placed (instructions). Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claim 2, 6, 7, 14, 15, and 18 recite clarifications of canceling a display of a preview, displaying a thumbnail with information, receiving instructions/information transmitted and generated by a server, and a preview that indicates instructions and/or information. The limitations are further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device/interface acting as an intermediary for performing the abstract ideas of displaying a placement preview of the virtual battle; providing a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds; displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle; and adding the virtual item to the virtual scene during the virtual battle, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abecassis (US 2021/0213361 A1) in view of Laker (US 2021/0138348 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Abecassis discloses a method for item placement in a virtual battle ([0001] A player can buy, upgrade, and sell characters (e.g., units, heroes, champions) every round and deploy those characters into a tactical formation for battle, and equip them with powerful items), the method comprising:
displaying, by processing circuitry, a preview of the virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle (Fig. 6A Below “Stage 2-3: Shared Draft” there are circles that show completed/previous virtual battles and previews of future virtual battles, [0001] To win, a player must build a strong team across several rounds of a match, [0021] The one or more processors are configured to: hover a first in-game item over a second in-game item; and display an information window having information about a third in-game item that would be generated when combining the first and second in-game items);
a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle ([0043] The shared-draft round (target round) can also be conducted after several pair-matched battles (plurality of battle rounds). For example, a shared-draft round can occur after every three or four pair-matched battles. A pair-matched battle is a battle between two human players occurring in real-time on one of the players' home arena);
displaying a virtual scene of the virtual battle when the virtual battle starts ([0048] Interface 100 includes a battlefield (e.g., arena) 105, battle staging areas or benches 110 and 112, a store 115, a trait tracker 120, an inventory area 125, a scoreboard 130, a round indicator 135, a stage indicator 140, champions 145, and a mini-map 150); and
adding the virtual item of the target round to the displayed virtual scene during the virtual battle when the virtual battle proceeds to the target round ([0057] If an item is dropped (or appeared) on arena 105 (adding virtual item to displayed virtual scene), it can be picked up by clicking and dragging the item icon to area 125. In some embodiments, double clicking an item on arena 105 can also cause the item to appear in inventory area 125, [0065] During combat, an item (e.g., bow, sword, arrows) can be dropped by one of the champions of the opposing team when defeated. The item could also be a spawn item, which can be triggered when certain criteria are met such as when the player has attained a certain rank, a certain amount of gold collected, a certain number of consecutive battles won, etc. Items can also randomly spawn).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing an item placement preview of the virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round.
Laker teaches an item placement preview of the virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round ([0059] The map defines relationships between nodes 202 (target rounds) and identifies nodes 202 that are adjacent or accessible by another node 202 (plurality of rounds) (e.g., a node may be a portal to another map). The map 200 can be configured to display each node in a manner that provides visualization for the user of each node, adjacencies between nodes, and the number of nodes between nodes on the path, [0064] The user can select nodes within the map to generate a node advancement interface (e.g., a pop-up window (a preview)). The node advancement interface can provide the user with information about a reward (item) node 202 including all the rewards that are available at the node and the tiers associated with each virtual reward).
Abecassis and Laker are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of games having several rounds/nodes along a pathway. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a method for item placement in a virtual battle, as disclosed by Abecassis, further including an item placement preview of the virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round, as taught by Laker for the purpose of indicating to a user which rewards are available within and throughout the game, and which awards are available during the season (Laker, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 2, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing when the virtual battle starts, canceling the display of the item placement preview; and displaying thumbnail information of the virtual item in the item placement preview with the virtual scene.
Laker teaches when the virtual battle starts, canceling the display of the item placement preview ([0073] the seasonal reward information may be located in a specific interface within the game application, such that the user can view the seasonal reward information, independent of other events occurring within the game application); and
displaying thumbnail information of the virtual item in the item placement preview with the virtual scene (Fig. 2 – Shows thumbnails of virtual items at various nodes, [0031] The reward module 122 can be configured to provide access to a user to the seasonal reward system 136 . The reward module can be configured to communicate with the reward distribution system to display the reward information in a user interface within the game application 110).
Examiner’s Note: Laker teaches housing the full preview in a separate interface that is not shown during the main game scene. This teaches removing (“canceling”) the full preview when play begins. This express on/off swap is an obvious display-management choice.
Regarding Claim 3, Abecassis discloses highlighting an item identifier of the plurality of item identifiers ([0073] In situations where multiple champions (plurality of item identifiers) can equip the new items, the auto-equip module can make a recommendation by highlighting the recommended champion (item identifier)), and
the target round is a next target round of the plurality of target round as the virtual battle progresses ([0048] Interface 100 includes a battlefield (e.g., arena) 105, battle staging areas or benches 110 and 112, a store 115, a trait tracker 120, an inventory area 125, a scoreboard 130, a round indicator 135, a stage indicator 140, champions 145, and a mini-map 150).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing wherein the thumbnail information includes a plurality of item identifiers of a plurality of target rounds, and the displaying the thumbnail information comprises: highlighting an item identifier of the plurality of item identifiers corresponding to the target round when the target round is a next target round of the plurality of target round as the virtual battle progresses, the item identifier corresponding to the target round indicating the virtual item to be placed in the target round.
Laker teaches wherein the thumbnail information includes a plurality of item identifiers of a plurality of target rounds, and the displaying the thumbnail information comprises (Fig. 2 – Shows thumbnails of virtual items at various nodes, [0053] The reward map 200 provides a visual representation of reward nodes , generally referred to with the callout 202, connected by a series of links 204. Each node includes one or more links 204 to other reward nodes 202):
highlighting an item identifier of the plurality of item identifiers corresponding to the target round when the target round is a next target round of the plurality of target round as the virtual battle progresses, the item identifier corresponding to the target round indicating the virtual item to be placed in the target round ([0053] nodes 202A represent reward nodes that have been unlocked by the user , and reward nodes 202B represent reward nodes that have not been unlocked by the user, [0059] The user can start at the start node 202 and choose which nodes to unlock on the user's reward track. The user can move to unlock any node 202 that is considered adjacent to an unlocked node by a linking path 204).
Examiner’s Note: Laker visually distinguishes the player’s current/next reachable (adjacent) node from others as progression advances. Rendering that distinction as a “highlight” is an obvious presentation choice.
Regarding Claim 4, Abecasssis is not relied upon disclosing wherein the thumbnail information includes a plurality of item identifiers, and the displaying the thumbnail information comprises: displaying a first item identifier in the plurality of item identifiers of a placed virtual item in a placed state and displaying a second item identifier in the plurality of identifiers of an unplaced virtual item in an unplaced state during the virtual battle.
Laker teaches wherein the thumbnail information includes a plurality of item identifiers, and the displaying the thumbnail information comprises (Fig. 2 – Shows thumbnails of virtual items at various nodes, [0053] The reward map 200 provides a visual representation of reward nodes , generally referred to with the callout 202, connected by a series of links 204. Each node includes one or more links 204 to other reward nodes 202):
displaying a first item identifier in the plurality of item identifiers of a placed virtual item in a placed state and displaying a second item identifier in the plurality of identifiers of an unplaced virtual item in an unplaced state during the virtual battle (Fig. 2 – shows different displays for 202A (unlocked/placed item) and 202B (locked/unplaced item), [0053] In the illustrated embodiment, nodes 202A represent reward nodes that have been unlocked (placed state) by the user, and reward nodes 202B represent reward nodes that have not been unlocked (unplaced state) by the user).
Regarding Claim 6, Abecassis discloses receiving the preview transmitted by a server ([0084] a champions drafting module 830, and a processor 835. System 800 may reside on a single server or may be distributed at various locations on a network).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing the item placement preview being generated by the server based on an item placement policy for the virtual battle determined from a plurality of item placement policies before the virtual battle starts.
Laker teaches the item placement preview being generated by the server based on an item placement policy for the virtual battle determined from a plurality of item placement policies before the virtual battle starts ([0039] The reward distribution system (item placement policy) 136 may be incorporated within the application host system 132 hosting the game application. The reward distribution system can control access to the rewards and distribute the rewards in accordance with inputs received from a user. The reward distribution system can be configured to provide a user interface for display within the game application for selection of rewards by the user, such as the reward map (item placement preview) 200, [0072] the game application receives seasonal reward information from the interactive computing system. The seasonal reward information can include information associated with all aspects of reward system that are configured to be displayed on the user computing device. For example, the seasonal reward information can include graphical assets for virtual items, a virtual reward map).
Regarding Claim 7, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing wherein the item placement preview indicates a plurality of items to be placed in the virtual scene and which of the plurality of battle rounds is associated with each of the plurality of items.
Laker teaches wherein the item placement preview indicates a plurality of items to be placed in the virtual scene and which of the plurality of battle rounds is associated with each of the plurality of items ([0064] The node advancement interface can provide the user with information about a reward node 202 including all the rewards (plurality of items) that are available at the node (battle round) and the tiers associated with each virtual reward).
Regarding Claim 9, Abecassis discloses a method for item placement in a virtual battle ([0001] A player can buy, upgrade, and sell characters (e.g., units, heroes, champions) every round and deploy those characters into a tactical formation for battle, and equip them with powerful items), the method comprising:
a plurality of terminals that is associated with a plurality of players of the virtual battle, ([0037] Each game can have up to eight players, [0087] Battle generation module 815 includes algorithms and instructions that, when executed by processor 835, cause the processor to match players and coordinate battles between the various players); and
adding the virtual item indicated by the item placement preview in a virtual scene of the virtual battle during the virtual battle ([0057] If an item is dropped (or appeared) on arena 105, it can be picked up by clicking and dragging the item icon to area 125. In some embodiments, double clicking an item on arena 105 can also cause the item to appear in inventory area 125); ([0035] At block 2112, the process activates the scheduled features if and when the persistent game mode reaches the round with a scheduled feature).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing determining, before the virtual battle starts, an item placement policy for the virtual battle from a plurality of item placement policies, the virtual battle including a plurality of battle rounds; generating, by processing circuitry, an item placement preview of the virtual battle based on the determined item placement policy, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of the plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round; and providing the item placement preview to a plurality of terminals that is associated with a plurality of players of the virtual battle, the item placement preview being displayed by the plurality of terminals before the virtual battle starts.
Laker teaches determining, before the virtual battle starts, an item placement policy for the virtual battle from a plurality of item placement policies, the virtual battle including a plurality of battle rounds ([0038] The virtual rewards for season can be available for a user during a defined time period (item placement policy), also referred to as a season. During a season, a user can progress through a reward map 200 by unlocking reward nodes 202, such as illustrated in FIG. 2, [0073] Only seasonal information associated with a current season (indicates plurality of item placement policies for multiple seasons) may be provided to the system for display to the user);
generating, by processing circuitry, an item placement preview of the virtual battle based on the determined item placement policy, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of the plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round ([0039] The reward (virtual item) distribution system (item placement policy) can be configured to provide a user interface for display within the game application for selection of rewards by the user, such as the reward map (item placement preview) 200); and
providing the item placement preview to a plurality of terminals that is associated with a plurality of players of the virtual battle, the item placement preview being displayed by the plurality of terminals before the virtual battle starts ([0033] The interactive computing system 130 may enable multiple users (plurality of players) or computing systems (plurality of terminals) to access a portion of the game application 110 and/or host application 106 executed or hosted by the interactive computing system 130, [0073] the seasonal reward information (item placement preview) is output for display on the user computing system).
Regarding Claim 10, Abecassis discloses wherein the determining the item placement policy comprises:
historical battle information of the plurality of players ([0041] Battles between two players can be automatically arranged by a battle generation module (see 815 of FIG. 8), which can match players randomly or based at least on one or more attributes of each player (plurality of players), [0044] Health and experiences are dictated by the player's performance in one or more previous battles (historical battles), [0045] The energy barrier can also open based on players ' past performances (historical battles) such as a losing or winning streak).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing determining the item placement policy for the virtual battle from the plurality of item placement policies.
Laker teaches determining the item placement policy for the virtual battle from the plurality of item placement policies ([0019] The virtual rewards received by a user during advancement are based on the reward nodes (different reward nodes indicate different placement policies, thus plurality of item placement policies) selected by the user and a tier level associated with the user account, [0037] The system can track the user's progression and provide virtual rewards associated with defined completion thresholds (item placement policy)).
Regarding Claim 13, Abecassis discloses an information processing apparatus, comprising: processing circuitry configured to ([0094] A processing circuit may perform the tasks. A code segment may represent a procedure, a function, a subprogram, a program, a routine, a subroutine, a module, a software package, a class, or any combination of instructions, data structures , or program statements. A code segment may be coupled to another code segment or a hardware circuit by passing and/or receiving information, data, arguments, parameters, or memory or storage contents. Information, arguments, parameters, data, etc. may be passed, forwarded, or transmitted via any suitable means including memory sharing, message passing, token passing, network transmission, etc.):
display an item placement preview of a virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round (Fig. 6A Below “Stage 2-3: Shared Draft” there are circles that show completed/previous virtual battles and previews of future virtual battles, [0001] To win, a player must build a strong team across several rounds of a match, [0021] The one or more processors are configured to: hover a first in-game item over a second in-game item; and display an information window having information about a third in-game item that would be generated when combining the first and second in-game items);
a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle ([0043] The shared-draft round (target round) can also be conducted after several pair-matched battles (plurality of battle rounds). For example, a shared-draft round can occur after every three or four pair-matched battles. A pair-matched battle is a battle between two human players occurring in real-time on one of the players' home arena);
display a virtual scene of the virtual battle when the virtual battle starts ([0048] Interface 100 includes a battlefield (e.g., arena) 105, battle staging areas or benches 110 and 112, a store 115, a trait tracker 120, an inventory area 125, a scoreboard 130, a round indicator 135, a stage indicator 140, champions 145, and a mini-map 150); and
add the virtual item to the displayed virtual scene during the virtual battle ([0057] If an item is dropped (or appeared) on arena 105 (adding virtual item to displayed virtual scene), it can be picked up by clicking and dragging the item icon to area 125. In some embodiments, double clicking an item on arena 105 can also cause the item to appear in inventory area 125, [0065] During combat, an item (e.g., bow, sword, arrows) can be dropped by one of the champions of the opposing team when defeated. The item could also be a spawn item, which can be triggered when certain criteria are met such as when the player has attained a certain rank, a certain amount of gold collected, a certain number of consecutive battles won, etc. Items can also randomly spawn).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing display an item placement preview of a virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round.
Laker teaches display an item placement preview of a virtual battle before the virtual battle starts, the item placement preview being configured to provide a preview of a target round of a plurality of battle rounds in the virtual battle and a virtual item to be placed in the target round ([0059] The map defines relationships between nodes 202 (target rounds) and identifies nodes 202 that are adjacent or accessible by another node 202 (plurality of rounds) (e.g., a node may be a portal to another map). The map 200 can be configured to display each node in a manner that provides visualization for the user of each node, adjacencies between nodes, and the number of nodes between nodes on the path, [0064] The user can select nodes within the map to generate a node advancement interface (e.g., a pop-up window (a preview)). The node advancement interface can provide the user with information about a reward (item) node 202 including all the rewards that are available at the node and the tiers associated with each virtual reward).
Regarding Claim 14, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: when the virtual battle starts, cancel the display of the item placement preview; and display thumbnail information of the virtual item in the item placement preview with the virtual scene.
Laker teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: when the virtual battle starts, cancel the display of the item placement preview ([0073] the seasonal reward information may be located in a specific interface within the game application, such that the user can view the seasonal reward information, independent of other events occurring within the game application); and
display thumbnail information of the virtual item in the item placement preview with the virtual scene (Fig. 2 – Shows thumbnails of virtual items at various nodes, [0031] The reward module 122 can be configured to provide access to a user to the seasonal reward system 136 . The reward module can be configured to communicate with the reward distribution system to display the reward information in a user interface within the game application 110).
Examiner’s Note: Laker teaches housing the full preview in a separate interface that is not shown during the main game scene. This teaches removing (“canceling”) the full preview when play begins. This express on/off swap is an obvious display-management choice.
Regarding Claim 15, Abecassis discloses wherein the target round is a next target round of the plurality of target round as the virtual battle progresses ([0048] Interface 100 includes a battlefield (e.g., arena) 105, battle staging areas or benches 110 and 112, a store 115, a trait tracker 120, an inventory area 125, a scoreboard 130, a round indicator 135, a stage indicator 140, champions 145, and a mini-map 150).
Laker teaches wherein the thumbnail information includes a plurality of item identifiers of a plurality of target rounds (Fig. 2 – Shows thumbnails of virtual items at various nodes, [0053] The reward map 200 provides a visual representation of reward nodes , generally referred to with the callout 202, connected by a series of links 204. Each node includes one or more links 204 to other reward nodes 202), and the processing circuitry is configured to:
highlight an item identifier of the plurality of item identifiers corresponding to the target round when the target round is a next target round of the plurality of target round as the virtual battle progresses, the item identifier corresponding to the target round indicating the virtual item to be placed in the target round ([0053] nodes 202A represent reward nodes that have been unlocked by the user, and reward nodes 202B represent reward nodes that have not been unlocked by the user, [0059] The user can start at the start node 202 and choose which nodes to unlock on the user's reward track. The user can move to unlock any node 202 that is considered adjacent to an unlocked node by a linking path 204).
Examiner’s Note: Laker visually distinguishes the player’s current/next reachable (adjacent) node from others as progression advances. Rendering that distinction as a “highlight” is an obvious presentation choice.
Regarding Claim 16, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing wherein the thumbnail information includes a plurality of item identifiers, and the processing circuitry is configured to: display a first item identifier in the plurality of item identifiers of a placed virtual item in a placed state and display a second item identifier in the plurality of identifiers of an unplaced virtual item in an unplaced state during the virtual battle.
Laker teaches wherein the thumbnail information includes a plurality of item identifiers, and the processing circuitry is configured to: display a first item identifier in the plurality of item identifiers of a placed virtual item in a placed state and display a second item identifier in the plurality of identifiers of an unplaced virtual item in an unplaced state during the virtual battle (Fig. 2 – shows different displays for 202A (unlocked/placed item) and 202B (locked/unplaced item), [0053] In the illustrated embodiment, nodes 202A represent reward nodes that have been unlocked (placed state) by the user, and reward nodes 202B represent reward nodes that have not been unlocked (unplaced state) by the user).
Regarding Claim 18, Abecassis discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive the preview transmitted by a server ([0084] a champions drafting module 830, and a processor 835. System 800 may reside on a single server or may be distributed at various locations on a network).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing receive the item placement preview transmitted by a server, the item placement preview being generated by the server based on an item placement policy for the virtual battle determined from a plurality of item placement policies before the virtual battle starts.
Laker teaches receive the item placement preview transmitted by a server, the item placement preview being generated by the server based on an item placement policy for the virtual battle determined from a plurality of item placement policies before the virtual battle starts ([0039] The reward distribution system (item placement policy) 136 may be incorporated within the application host system 132 hosting the game application. The reward distribution system can control access to the rewards and distribute the rewards in accordance with inputs received from a user. The reward distribution system can be configured to provide a user interface for display within the game application for selection of rewards by the user, such as the reward map (item placement preview) 200, [0072] the game application receives seasonal reward information from the interactive computing system. The seasonal reward information can include information associated with all aspects of reward system that are configured to be displayed on the user computing device. For example, the seasonal reward information can include graphical assets for virtual items, a virtual reward map).
Regarding Claim 19, Abecassis discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 ([0095] The software may reside on machine-readable medium 906. The machine-readable medium 906 may be a non-transitory machine-readable medium. A non-transitory processing circuit-readable, machine-readable or computer readable medium includes, by way of example, a magnetic storage device (e.g., solid state drive, hard disk, floppy disk, magnetic strip)).
Regarding Claim 20, Abecassis discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 9 ([0095] The software may reside on machine-readable medium 906. The machine-readable medium 906 may be a non-transitory machine-readable medium. A non-transitory processing circuit-readable, machine-readable or computer readable medium includes, by way of example, a magnetic storage device (e.g., solid state drive, hard disk, floppy disk, magnetic strip)).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abecassis (US 2021/0213361 A1) in view of Laker (US 2021/0138348 A1), and in further view of Fu et al. (WO 2022/116740 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Abecassis discloses wherein the placed state is one of first placed state and a second placed state, and the displaying the first item identifier comprises:
displaying the first item identifier of the virtual item in the first placed state when the virtual item is placed and not picked up ([0066] Item (first item identifier) 205 can be an item dropped (virtual item is placed and not picked up) by a defeated champion belonging to the remote player. The local player can pick up item 205 by dragging it over to inventory area 125. Alternatively, the local player can double click on item 205 and have it automatically stored in inventory area 125); and
the virtual item is placed and picked up ([0057] If an item is dropped (or appeared) on arena 105, it can be picked up by clicking and dragging the item icon to area 125).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing displaying the first item identifier of the virtual item in the second placed state when the virtual item is placed and picked up.
Fu teaches displaying the first item identifier of the virtual item in the second placed state when the virtual item is placed and picked up ([0152] the client displays an animation of the dropped virtual item 417 flying into the virtual item bar (second placed state) 405 based on the picking operation (click) of the dropped virtual item 417 in the user interface 401); and further teaches the virtual item is placed and not picked up ([0176] the user interface also displays dropped (placed and not picked up) virtual items).
Abecassis and Fu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of auto chess battle games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a method for item placement in a virtual battle, as disclosed by Abecassis, as previously modified by Laker, further including displaying the first item identifier of the virtual item in the second placed state, as taught by Fu for the purpose of being able to indicate to a user when a virtual item has been successfully picked up, which is a way of providing immediate feedback on the user’s operation result (Fu, [0153]).
Regarding Claim 17, The information processing apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the placed state is one of a first placed state and a second placed state, and the processing circuitry is configured to:
display the first item identifier of the virtual item in the first placed state when the virtual item is placed and not picked up ([0066] Item (first item identifier) 205 can be an item dropped (virtual item is placed and not picked up) by a defeated champion belonging to the remote player. The local player can pick up item 205 by dragging it over to inventory area 125. Alternatively, the local player can double click on item 205 and have it automatically stored in inventory area 125); and
the virtual item is placed and picked up ([0057] If an item is dropped (or appeared) on arena 105, it can be picked up by clicking and dragging the item icon to area 125).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing displaying the first item identifier of the virtual item in the second placed state when the virtual item is placed and picked up.
Fu teaches displaying the first item identifier of the virtual item in the second placed state when the virtual item is placed and picked up ([0152] the client displays an animation of the dropped virtual item 417 flying into the virtual item bar (second placed state) 405 based on the picking operation (click) of the dropped virtual item 417 in the user interface 401); and further teaches the virtual item is placed and not picked up ([0176] the user interface also displays dropped (placed and not picked up) virtual items).
Claims 8, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abecassis (US 2021/0213361 A1) in view of Laker (US 2021/0138348 A1), and in further view of Wei et al. (US 10,398,981 B1).
Regarding Claim 8, Abecassis discloses wherein the item placement preview indicates a type of the virtual item to be placed in the target round ([0067] Information window (item placement preview) 225 can contain equipped item data such as item statistics (e.g., damage, weapon and/or armor bonus, item name, item type, item bonus, combination bonus), description, and effects when equipped by the character over which item 215 is hovering); and
the virtual item is selected ([0065] The item could also be a spawn item, which can be triggered when certain criteria are met such as when the player has attained a certain rank, a certain amount of gold collected, a certain number of consecutive battles won, etc. Items can also randomly spawn).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing a plurality of candidate virtual items associated with the type of the virtual item.
Wei teaches the virtual item is selected from a plurality of candidate virtual items associated with the type of the virtual item (Col. 2 Lines 36-41 the virtual item in the first award includes one or more of a status effect (i.e., a buff), a weapon, a character, a troop, equipment, a vehicle, and/or a tool, Col. 5 Lines 62-67 – Col. 6 Lines 1-2 The mini-game interface may present to the users a chance-based mini-game that determines awards to be distributed to the users from a set of potential awards such that the mini-game interface presents a determination by the chance-based mini-game of a first award for the first user prior to the first battle the set of potential awards including virtual items usable by the users in the battles that have been initiated); and
further teaches further teaches the item placement preview indicates a type of the virtual item to be placed in the target round (Col. 5 Lines 62-67 – Col. 6 Lines 1-2 The mini-game interface may present to the users a chance-based mini-game that determines awards to be distributed to the users from a set of potential awards such that the mini-game interface presents a determination by the chance-based mini-game of a first award for the first user prior to the first battle the set of potential awards including virtual items usable by the users in the battles that have been initiated).
Abecassis and Wei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of games with battles that allow for item distribution to users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying a method for item placement in a virtual battle, as disclosed by Abecassis, as previously modified by Laker, further including the virtual item is selected from a plurality of candidate virtual items associated with the type of the virtual item, as taught by Wei for the purpose of indicating to users which virtual items/rewards are available, thereby allowing them to pay for additional plays for the chance to win a reward and/or to pay for the option to improve the set of potential rewards (Wei, Col. 5 Lines 55-67 – Col. 6 Lines 1-16).
Regarding Claim 11, Abecassis is not relied upon disclosing wherein the item placement preview indicates a plurality of items to be placed in the virtual scene and which of the plurality of battle rounds is associated with each of the plurality of items.
Laker teaches wherein the item placement preview indicates a plurality of items to be placed in the virtual scene and which of the plurality of battle rounds is associated with each of the plurality of items ([0059] The map 200 can be configured to display each node in a manner that provides visualization for the user of each node, adjacencies between nodes, and the number of nodes (plurality of battle rounds) between nodes on the path. For example, in FIG. 2 each node is identified by circle on a defined pathway. As illustrated in FIG. 3A, the nodes 202 on reward map (item placement) 300a do not lead directly to the end node 214, and the number of nodes between the start node 212 and the end node 214 can be different based on the nodes 202 that are unlocked by the user, [0064] The node advancement interface can provide the user with information about a reward node 202 including all the rewards that are available at the node and the tiers associated with each virtual reward (battle rounds associated with plurality of items)).
Regarding Claim 12, Abecassis discloses wherein the item placement preview indicates a type of the virtual item to be placed in the target round ([0067] Information window (item placement preview) 225 can contain equipped item data such as item statistics (e.g., damage, weapon and/or armor bonus, item name, item type, item bonus, combination bonus), description, and effects when equipped by the character over which item 215 is hovering); and
the virtual item is selected ([0065] The item could also be a spawn item, which can be triggered when certain criteria are met such as when the player has attained a certain rank, a certain amount of gold collected, a certain number of consecutive battles won, etc. Items can also randomly spawn).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon teaching the virtual item is selected from a plurality of candidate virtual items associated with the type of the virtual item.
Wei teaches wherein the virtual item is selected from a plurality of candidate virtual items associated with the type of the virtual item (Col. 2 Lines 36-41 the virtual item in the first award includes one or more of a status effect (i.e., a buff), a weapon, a character, a troop, equipment, a vehicle, and/or a tool (different types of virtual items)); and
further teaches the item placement preview indicates a type of the virtual item to be placed in the target round (Col. 5 Lines 62-67 – Col. 6 Lines 1-2 The mini-game interface may present to the users a chance-based mini-game that determines awards to be distributed to the users from a set of potential awards such that the mini-game interface presents a determination by the chance-based mini-game of a first award for the first user prior to the first battle the set of potential awards including virtual items usable by the users in the battles that have been initiated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyamae et al. (US 2018/0304158 A1) is in the field of a battle game that allows players to perform an operation of selecting an item from a group of items associated with their character and allows their opponents to do the same (Abstract).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715