Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Sub-species C, Sub-sub-species b in the reply filed on 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 7 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/5/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2012/0237277).
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses an image forming apparatus (fig. 1) for forming an image on a recording medium (P), the apparatus comprising: a photoconductor (110); a charger (e.g. “charging member 120”) to charge a surface of the photoconductor (110); a light source (e.g., item 160) to emit charge eliminating light that discharges the surface of the photoconductor (110); and a reflector (e.g., item(s) 173 and/or 173b) to reflect the charge eliminating light to apply reflected light to the surface of the photoconductor (110, as shown at least by fig. 4).
With respect to claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein the reflector (173 and/or 173b) has a metal portion (as discussed at least in paragraph 80).
With respect to claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein the reflector (173 and/or 173b) has a plated portion (as discussed at least in paragraph 80).
With respect to claim 5, Kim further discloses wherein the reflector (173 and/or 173b) is a reflective coating applied to a supporting member (173 and/or 173b) that supports the cleaning blade (172, as shown at least by fig. 4 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 80-89).
With respect to claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein the reflector (173 and/or 173b) is a supporting member (171, 173 and/or 173b) that supports the cleaning blade (172).
With respect to claim 8, Kim further discloses wherein the reflector (173 and/or 173b) has a reflectance of 70% or more (as shown at least by fig. 4 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 80-89).
With respect to claim 9, Kim further discloses wherein the reflector (173 and/or 173b) has a reflectance that varies depending on a portion of the reflector (as shown at least by fig. 4).
With respect to claim 10, Kim further discloses wherein the charge eliminating light reflected by the reflector (173 and/or 173b) hits a portion of the surface of the photoconductor (110) that the charger overlaps when viewed from a direction orthogonal to a circumferential surface of the photoconductor (as shown at least by fig. 4).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kusunose (US 2001/0024580)
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Kusunose discloses an image forming apparatus (fig. 1) for forming an image on a recording medium (32), the apparatus comprising: a photoconductor (10); a charger (e.g., charging roller 12) to charge a surface of the photoconductor (10); a light source (as discussed at least in paragraphs 31-32 by a “laser writing device”) to emit charge eliminating light that discharges the surface of the photoconductor (10); and a mirror reflector (14) to reflect the charge eliminating light to apply reflected light to the surface of the photoconductor (10) as shown at least by fig. 1).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW