DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0011902 to Nishimura et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Nishimura discloses (e.g., at least Figs. 14–17 and their descriptions) an eyepiece optical module (e.g., microscope objective), comprising: a first housing 211; a second housing 212, wherein one of the first housing and the second housing comprises at least three supporting cylinders (e.g., Fig. 15), the other comprises at least three guide grooves (e.g., Fig. 15, matching overlapping portions), and only the supporting cylinders are in direct contact with the guide grooves between the first housing and the second housing (Figs. 14–17); a lens element (e.g., 201/202) disposed between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 14).
Nishimura does not explicitly disclose relative sizes of the components, and thus does not explicitly disclose wherein any one of the three supporting cylinders satisfies the following conditional expression: 0.20≤r1/H1≤4.40 and 0.34 mm≤r1≤1.35 mm, wherein r1 is a radius of one end of the supporting cylinder and H1 is a height of the supporting cylinder.
However, selecting appropriate sizes for the known components would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, taking into account desired use of the lens system, yielding predictable results based on known properties, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results (e.g., MPEP § 2144.04(IV)).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishimura would have rendered obvious wherein the first housing and the second housing have a center, and any two of the three supporting cylinders form two connection lines relative to the center, and an angle α formed by the two connection lines satisfies the following condition expression: 90 degrees≤α≤135 degrees (e.g., Figs. 14–17).
Regarding Claim 11, Nishimura would have rendered obvious wherein a depth of the guide groove is greater than or equal to 0.005 mm (where selecting appropriate sizes for the known components would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, taking into account desired use of the lens system, yielding predictable results based on known properties, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results, e.g., MPEP § 2144.04(IV)).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0341351 to Wu.
Regarding Claim 9, Nishimura does not explicitly disclose wherein the lens element has a circumference, and a lens element glue tank is formed between the circumference and the first housing.
Wu discloses a lens assembly, and teaches including a glue chute (corresponding to the claimed “glue tank”) that is filled around the circumference of the housing to “improve a strength and overall rigidity of the lens assembly, avoiding displacement or deformation of the lens” (paragraph [0037]; Figs. 1–3 of Wu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Nishimura such that the lens element has a circumference, and a lens element glue tank is formed between the circumference and the first housing, as suggested by Wu, in order to improve a strength and overall rigidity of the lens assembly, avoiding displacement or deformation of the lens.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12–20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871