The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/14/2026. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-10 are currently pending in the filing of 5/14/2026 with claims 2 and 7 being cancelled in the present filing, claims 1-10 were pending in the previous filing of 11/07/2024, which was the filing of the application.
Response to Applicant’s Amendments / Arguments Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103
The applicant’s remarks, on pages 7-13 of the response / amendment, the applicant argues the features which allegedly distinguish over the previously cited references cited in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Previous Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
The present amendments to claims 1 & 3-5 have overcome the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Therefore, the previous interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160234582 to Ronald et al. (hereinafter Ronald), in view of US 20240196119 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Ronald teaches,
A system for intelligently detecting and locating a rogue optical network unit device, comprising: (Ronald, [0012] teaches analytics and machine learning to detect device failures. [0066] teaches failure detection of an optical network terminal (ONT) \ “optical network unit device” by an OLT.)
(Applicant’s specification and fig. 3 show that “device monitoring module” 41, “rogue phenomenon detection module” 42, “rogue device locating module” 43, and “alarm module” 44 are all located in the same “intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment” 40, and therefore all of these features, as included below, will be interpreted as being performed by the same processor.)
a plurality of optical network unit devices; (Ronald, fig. 1, ONTs 100A-E.)
an optical line terminal device, distributing a plurality of optical signals to the plurality of optical network unit devices via an optical splitter; (Ronald, figs. 1-2, OLT 12 switches distributing to ONTs 100A-E, and optical splitter 16.)
a database; and (fig. 1, databases (DBs) 13.)
an intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment, electrically connected to the optical line terminal device and the database respectively, wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment periodically collects an alarm message from the optical line terminal device according to a set detection time period, (Ronald, figs. 1-2 teach CPU 15 and DB 13 connected to OLT 12. [0012] teaches machine learning and analysis to detect device failures. [0014] teaches tracking behavior over time. [0068] teaches tracking received signal strength indicator (RSSI) against thresholds over a period of time by the OLT.) stores the alarm message in the database, determines whether the optical line terminal device is abnormal according to the alarm message, (Ronald, [0068] teaches tracking the RSSI with regards to a threshold and time parameter to determine if a OLT should takeover for another OLT. [0050] and [0067] teach using database 13 to track and provide data for redundancy between OLTs.) and identifies the . (Ronald, [0010-12] & [0068] teach tracking network information to detect failures using time and machine learning analytics. Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art understands that OLTs are used to detect rogue behavior by ONUs / ONTs to prevent collisions / interference on optical networks. See also fig. 1.)
wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment comprises:
a device monitoring processor, electrically connected to the optical line terminal device and the database respectively and used to periodically collect the alarm message from the optical line terminal device according to the detection time period and store the alarm message in the database; and (Ronald, figs. 1-2 and [0066-70] teach collecting RSSI data over time and comparing to a threshold to determine if an OLT should take over for another OLT, as specifically discussed in [0068])
a rogue phenomenon detection processor, electrically connected to the device monitoring processor and used to determine whether the optical line terminal device is incapable of handling a traffic according to the alarm message, (Ronald, [0066-70] and specifically [0068] teaching using RSSI measurement against thresholds over a period of time to determine if an OTL should take over from another OTL. See also [0088] & fig. 4 as discussed below.) (Kim, further discussed below, Title: “Method and Apparatus for Detecting and Recovering Rogue ONU”.)
wherein when the optical line terminal device is incapable of handling the traffic, the optical line terminal device is determined as abnormal, and (Ronald, [0068] teaching using RSSI measurement that is below a threshold over a period of time to determine if an OTL should take over from another OTL. See also [0073], [0079], and [0088] as discussed below.)
when the optical line terminal device is not incapable of handling the traffic, whether the optical line terminal device is abnormal is determined according to whether a number of the plurality of optical network unit devices issuing a specific alarm message . (Ronald, [0070] teaches using RSSI measurement above a threshold for take over. [0073] & [0079] teaches using faster switch over / take over between OTLs using RSSI measurement below the threshold with a shortened or no time period of below the threshold. [0073] teaches when the RSSI falls below the threshold, the takeover can be preformed immediately (e.g., with only one reading) while the teachings of [0068] would require at least two readings, one at the beginning of the time period and one at the end of the time period, with both RSSI readings indicating below the threshold. [0088] and fig. 4 teach using a number of states such as Protect and Takeover, and hastening takeover.)
Ronald fails to explicitly teach identifying problematic / rogue behavior by an optical network unit (ONU) device of a plurality of ONUs,
However, Kim teaches,
and identifies the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the alarm message and an alarm rule. (Kim, Title: “Method and Apparatus for Detecting and Recovering Rogue ONU”. Abstract & figs. 1 & 3 teach detecting rogue ONU from ONUs and error detection.)
when the optical line terminal device is not incapable of handling the traffic, whether the optical line terminal device is abnormal is determined according to whether a number of the plurality of optical network unit devices issuing a specific alarm message exceeds a number quantity alarm threshold. (Kim, [0052] teaches using number of FEC errors to detect rogue ONU. See also, fig. 3 and its description [0075-84].)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ronald, which teaches failure detection of devices including OLTs and ONT / ONU (figs. 1-2 & [0012]) focusing on OLT monitoring conditions ([066-73]), with Kim, which also teaches monitoring ONU using OLT to detect rogue behavior (Abstract & figs. 1& 3), and additionally teaches monitoring ONUs to detect the rouge ONU (Abstract & fig. 3) and using number of FEC errors to detect rogue ONU ([0052]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide Ronald with the added ability to detect a rogue ONU among ONUs and use a number of alarms to detect a rogue ONU, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of increasing security and increase network efficiency by using detecting rogue ONUs.
Regarding claim 6, Ronald and Kim teach,
A method for intelligently detecting and locating a rogue optical network unit device, applied to a system comprising a plurality of optical network unit devices, an optical line terminal device distributing a plurality of optical signals to the plurality of optical network unit devices via an optical splitter, a database, and an intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment electrically connected to the optical line terminal device and the database respectively, the method comprising:
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment periodically collecting an alarm message from the optical line terminal device according to a set detection time period, and storing the alarm message in the database;
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment determining whether the optical line terminal device is abnormal according to the alarm message; and
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment identifying the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the alarm message and an alarm rule,
wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment determining whether the optical line terminal device is abnormal according to the alarm message further comprises:
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment determining whether the optical line terminal device is incapable of handling a traffic according to the alarm message;
when the optical line terminal device is incapable of handling the traffic, determining the optical line terminal device as abnormal; and
when the optical line terminal device is not incapable of handling the traffic, determining whether the optical line terminal device is abnormal according to whether a number of the plurality of optical network unit devices issuing a specific alarm message exceeds a number quantity alarm threshold.
Claim 6 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronald, in view of Kim, in view of WO 2024215559 to Pandey et al. (hereinafter Pandey).
Regarding claim 3, Ronald and Kim teach,
The system according to claim 1, wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment further comprises:
a rogue device locating processor, electrically connected to the rogue phenomenon detection processor and used to identify the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices (Kim, Abstract & figs. 1 & 3) according to an alarm occurrence time and a number of alarms in the alarm message, and to record the rogue optical network unit device in a rogue optical network unit device list, (Kim, [0052] teaches using number of FEC errors to detect rogue ONU. See also, fig. 3 and its description [0075-84]. [0058-59] teaches using time to detect error increase and storing information.) (Pandey, as further discussed below, [0003] teaches counting loss of frame / LOF. Fig. 3 & [0059] teaches OTL using the number of time periods / PRAC count that are above a threshold.)
Ronald and Kim fail to explicitly teach databases to store alarms using alarm rules,
However, Pandey teaches,
wherein the device monitoring processor is further used to periodically collect the alarm message from the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the detection time period and store the alarm message in the database, and (Pandey, [0024-25] teaches alarms, alarm manifest, alarm level, and alarm states for ONUs. [0044] teaches alarm indicating a candidate rogue ONU based on weights. [0003] teaches counting loss of frame / LOF. Fig. 3 & [0059] teaches OTL using the number of time periods / PRAC count that are above a threshold.)
the rogue device locating processor is further used to identify the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the alarm message and the alarm rule. (Pandey, Abstract, teaches OLT aggregates values of network conditions using thresholds \ “rule” to classify rogue ONU. [0046-47] teach monitoring of ONUs, and detecting a candidate rogue ONU based on conditions and thresholds.) (Kim, figs. 1 & 3.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ronald, which teaches failure detection of devices including OLTs and ONT / ONU (figs. 1-2 & [0012]) focusing on OLT monitoring conditions ([066-73]), with Kim, which also teaches monitoring ONU using OLT to detect rogue behavior (Abstract & figs. 1& 3), and additionally teaches monitoring ONUs to detect the rouge ONU (Abstract & fig. 3) and using number of FEC errors to detect rogue ONU ([0052]), with Pandey, which also teaches OLT and ONU interfacing (fig. 1 & Abstract), and additionally teaches rouge ONU detection (Title & Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide Ronald and Kim with the explicit ability to perform rouge ONU detection based on conditions / rules to generate alarms and store alarms, as taught by Pandey, for the purpose of increasing security by increasing the ability to diagnose problems / rogue behavior in ONUs using OLTs in an optical network and thus increasing security and network performance by preventing collisions / interference in a fiber optic network.
Regarding claim 4, Ronald, Kim, and Pandey teach,
The system according to claim 3, wherein the rogue device locating processor is further used to obtain a priority processing value corresponding to the rogue optical network unit device according to a weight of the alarm rule and the alarm message, and to store the priority processing value in the database. (Pandey, [0044] teaches alarm indicating a candidate rogue ONU based on weights, and also teaches assigning a likelihood \ “priority processing value” of a rogue ONU based on the weights.)
Regarding claim 5, Ronald, Kim, and Pandey teach,
The system according to claim 4, wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment further comprises:
an alarm processor, electrically connected to the rogue device locating processor and the database respectively, and used to determine whether to issue an alarm information to notify a user … (Ronald, [0007] teaches notifying a user based on patterns identified. [0012] teaches failure identification. Fig. 1 teaches database / DB 13. )
an alarm processor, electrically connected to the rogue device locating processor and the database respectively, and used to determine whether to issue an alarm information to notify a user to handle the rogue optical network unit device according to the priority processing value and an alarm standard. (Pandey, [0025] teaches OLT can notify ONUs before errors occur. [0073] teaches a potential rogue alarm that is qualified for further analysis.)
Regarding claim 8, Ronald, Kim, and Pandey teach,
The method according to claim 6, wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment identifying the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the alarm message and the alarm rule further comprises:
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment identifying the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to an alarm occurrence time and a number of alarms in the alarm message, and recording the rogue optical network unit device in a rogue optical network unit device list;
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment periodically collecting the alarm message from the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the detection time period, and storing the alarm message in the database; and
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment identifying the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the alarm message and the alarm rule.
Claim 8 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 9, Ronald, Kim, and Pandey teach,
The method according to claim 8, wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment identifying the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the alarm message and the alarm rule further comprises:
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment obtaining a priority processing value corresponding to the rogue optical network unit device according to a weight of the alarm rule and the alarm message, and to store the priority processing value in the database.
Claim 9 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 10, Ronald, Kim, and Pandey teach,
The method according to claim 9, wherein the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment identifying the rogue optical network unit device among the plurality of optical network unit devices according to the alarm message and the alarm rule further comprises:
the intelligent rogue device monitoring equipment determining whether to issue an alarm information to notify a user to handle the rogue optical network unit device according to the priority processing value and an alarm standard.
Claim 10 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.W.A./
/JASON K GEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495