Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 & 12 recite the limitation “the connection” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests amending as follows: --[[the]] a connection--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "the limiting roller", “the driving shaft”, “the first pivot shaft” and “the second pivot shaft”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests amending as follows: --[[the]] a limiting roller--. Appropriate corrections is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2017/0072860 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 & 12: Lee discloses a pedal system for a mobility apparatus, the mobility apparatus comprising a body and a door, the door being connected to the body and able to be opened and closed with respect to the body, and at least a part of the door being able to move away from the body along an open-close direction of the door (see Abstract generally); the pedal system comprising: a sensing device (sensor 200), arranged on the body, or the door, or on a position at the connection between the body and the door (hinge 600; Para. 0043), and configured to monitor a relative position between the body and the door (the relative positional distance between sensor 210 and 220 determines the door opening angle); and a pedal device (step 300), comprising a driving device (motor 400) and a pedal connected to the driving device (motor 400 drives step 300 by way of hinge shaft 310), wherein the driving device is configured to control the pedal to move close to or away from the body signal generated based on the relative position to control the pedal to move close to or away from the body along the open-close direction (step movement is coordinated with door movement and rotates by the same angle as the sensed door opening angle Paras. 0039-0041; Figs. 3 & 5).
Additionally, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be met by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the Claimed method, it can be assumed that the device will perform the claimed process. See MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding claims 2 &13: Lee discloses wherein the sensing device is a distance sensor; the pedal (auxiliary step 300) moves away from the body along the open-close direction in response to the sensing device detecting that a distance between the body and the door is greater than a preset distance; and the pedal moves close to the body along the open-close direction in response to the sensing device detecting that the distance between the body and the door is less than the preset distance (Paras. 0043-0044—Lee doesn’t merely detect whether the door is open or closed—instead he uses the first sensor 210 and second sensor 220 to determine the relative positional distance between the body-side hinge portion and the door-side hinge portion, from which the door opening angle is determined-under the broadest reasonable interpretation relative positional difference encompasses spatial separation/displacement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Alvey et al. (US 6,133,827 A).
Regarding claims 3 & 14: Lee differs from the invention as claimed because Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing device comprises one or more output terminals, one of the one or more output terminals is connected to the driving device, and another of the one or more terminals is configured to connect another component of the mobility apparatus.
Alvey et al., however, teaches wherein the sensing device comprises one or more output terminals, one of the one or more output terminals is connected to the driving device, and another of the one or more terminals is configured to connect another component of the mobility apparatus (door position inputs 12 provide door position signals to electronic control module 10, which provides control outputs to lamps 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included wherein the sensing device comprises one or more output terminals, one of the one or more output terminals is connected to the driving device, and another of the one or more terminals is configured to connect another component of the mobility apparatus as taught by Alvey et al. on the invention of Lee for the purpose of permitting a common sensed door-position condition to be utilized for controlling multiple vehicle functions rather than requiring a separate door position sensor for each function.
Claims 4-6, 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0356659 A1).
Regarding claims 4 & 15: Lee differs from the invention as claimed because Lee does not disclose wherein the pedal device comprises a first connecting rod, a second connecting rod, and a limiting device; the first connecting rod is pivoted to the second connecting rod, the driving device is connected to one end of the first connecting rod away from the second connecting rod, the pedal is arranged at one end of the second connecting rod away from the first connecting rod, and the second connecting rod passes through the limiting device.
Chen et al., however, teaches wherein the pedal device comprises a first connecting rod (rod 300), a second connecting rod (rod 400), and a limiting device (sliding sleeve 500); the first connecting rod is pivoted to the second connecting rod, the driving device is connected to one end of the first connecting rod away from the second connecting rod, the pedal is arranged at one end of the second connecting rod away from the first connecting rod, and the second connecting rod passes through the limiting device (Para. 0016; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included wherein the pedal device comprises a first connecting rod, a second connecting rod, and a limiting device; the first connecting rod is pivoted to the second connecting rod, the driving device is connected to one end of the first connecting rod away from the second connecting rod, the pedal is arranged at one end of the second connecting rod away from the first connecting rod, and the second connecting rod passes through the limiting device as taught by Chen et al. on the invention of Lee for the purpose of providing a simpler structure, fewer parts, smaller size while also having a lower manufacturing cost and greater extension/retraction travel capabilities.
Regarding claims 5 & 16: Lee does not disclose wherein the limiting device comprises a mounting base and a limiting member connected to the mounting base; wherein the mounting base is mounted on a chassis of the mobility apparatus, the limiting member is a hollow structure for the second connecting rod to pass through, and the limiting member is located on one side of the mounting base away from the chassis.
Chen et al., however, discloses wherein the limiting device comprises a mounting base (mounting seat 100 including hinge seat 110) and a limiting member (sliding sleeve 500) connected to the mounting base (Fig. 2); wherein the mounting base is mounted on a chassis of the mobility apparatus, the limiting member (sliding sleeve 500) is a hollow structure for the second connecting rod (rod 400) to pass through, and the limiting member is located on one side of the mounting base away from the chassis (Fig. 2; Paras. 0043-0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included wherein the limiting device comprises a mounting base and a limiting member connected to the mounting base; wherein the mounting base is mounted on a chassis of the mobility apparatus, the limiting member is a hollow structure for the second connecting rod to pass through, and the limiting member is located on one side of the mounting base away from the chassis as taught by Chen et al. on the invention of Lee for the purpose of providing a simpler structure, fewer parts, smaller size while also having a lower manufacturing cost and greater extension/retraction travel capabilities.
Regarding claims 6 & 17: Lee differs from the invention as claimed because Lee does not disclose wherein the pedal device comprises a first pivot shaft and a second pivot shaft, the first pivot shaft is configured to connect the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod, the second pivot shaft is configured to connect the mounting base and the limiting member, the driving device comprises a driving shaft, the driving shaft is configured to connect to the first connecting rod, and an axis of the driving shaft, an axis of the first pivot shaft, and an axis of the second pivot shaft are parallel to each other.
Chen et al., however, teaches wherein the pedal device comprises a first pivot shaft (shaft 310) and a second pivot shaft (shaft 510), the first pivot shaft is configured to connect the first connecting rod (rod 300) and the second connecting rod (rod 400), the second pivot shaft is configured to connect the mounting base (seat 100) and the limiting member (sliding sleeve 500), the driving device (driving shaft 210) comprises a driving shaft, the driving shaft is configured to connect to the first connecting rod, and an axis of the driving shaft, an axis of the first pivot shaft, and an axis of the second pivot shaft are parallel to each other (Para. 0044; Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have include wherein the pedal device comprises a first pivot shaft and a second pivot shaft, the first pivot shaft is configured to connect the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod, the second pivot shaft is configured to connect the mounting base and the limiting member, the driving device comprises a driving shaft, the driving shaft is configured to connect to the first connecting rod, and an axis of the driving shaft, an axis of the first pivot shaft, and an axis of the second pivot shaft are parallel to each other as taught by Chen et al. on the invention of Lee for the purpose of for the purpose of providing a simpler structure, fewer parts, smaller size while also having a lower manufacturing cost and greater extension/retraction travel capabilities when compared with a conventional four-bar linage mechanism.
Regarding claim 10, Lee as modified by Chen et al. discloses the pedal system according to claim 5. Lee differs from the invention as claimed because Lee does not disclose wherein the pedal device comprises a third pivot shaft, the third pivot shaft is configured to connect the limiting roller and the limiting member, and an axis of the driving shaft, an axis of the first pivot shaft, an axis of the second pivot shaft, and an axis of the third pivot shaft are parallel to each other.
Chen et al., however, teaches a vehicle footboard linkage including an axis of driving shaft 210 and an axis of first pivot shaft 310 and an axis of second pivot shaft 510 that are parallel to one another. Chen et al. further teaches a third pedal device comprises a third pivot shaft (roller 15760 configured to rotate about joint 15765 which includes a pin or bolt extending through the roller to permit rotation thereof). Chen et al. further discloses the third pivot shaft configured to connect the limiting roller and the limiting member (join/pin 15765 passing through bottom roller 15760 and is supported by support bracket 15110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not disclose wherein the limiting member is fixedly connected to the mounting base, and a bottom of the limiting member is spaced apart from the second connecting rod and tilted with respect to the second connecting rod. Claims 8 and 9 depend from claim 7; and claims 19-20 depend from claim 18.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and cited on PTO Form 892 is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613