Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kadkade et al US 4,506,474.
Regarding claim 1, Kadkade discloses a method of cultivating a fruit vegetable plant, comprising: irradiating a fruit vegetable plant with artificial light under a light irradiation condition which achieves a fruit setting rate of 80% or more (Kadkade, column 4: lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 5, Kadkade further discloses a variation in light intensity between plant parts is generated in the fruit vegetable plant by the irradiation with the artificial light (Kadkade, column 4: lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 7, Kadkade further discloses after confirmation of first flower bud differentiation of the fruit vegetable plant until confirmation of last fruit setting, a variation in light intensity between plant parts is generated (Kadkade, column 4: lines 14-20, column 4: 52-column 5: lines 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadkade et al US 4,506,474.
Regarding claim 2, Kadkade discloses the method of claim 1 but fails to disclose the fruit vegetable being a tomato. The examiner takes official notice that it is known to those of ordinary skill in the art to cultivate tomatoes by irradiating them with artificial light. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of sucess to modify the method of Kadkade so that the fruit vegetable was a tomato depending on the type of crop the user wished to cultivate and improve upon.
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadkade et al US 4,506,474 in view of Dobrinsky US 11,925,152.
Regarding claim 3, Kadkade discloses the method of claim 1 but fails to disclose which direction the plant is irradiated from. Dobrinsky teaches irradiating a plant with artificial light from a direction of 0° ± 30° and a direction of 90° ± 30° with respect to a growth direction of a stem of the fruit vegetable plant (Dobrinsky, Figure 1, column 5: lines 47-55 and 28-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the method of Kadkade so that the plants were irradiated with artificial light from a direction of 0° ± 30° and a direction of 90° ± 30° with respect to a growth direction of a stem of the fruit vegetable plant as to provide (Dobrinsky, column 8: lines 54-63).
Regarding claim 4, Kadkade further discloses the irradiating comprises irradiating, after confirmation of first flower bud differentiation of the fruit vegetable plant until confirmation of last fruit setting the fruit vegetable plant with the artificial light (Kadkade, column 4: lines 15-25). Kadkade fails to disclose irradiating from a direction of 0° ± 30° and a direction of 90° ± 30° with respect to a growth direction of a stem of the fruit vegetable plant. Dobrinsky teaches irradiating a plant with artificial light from a direction of 0° ± 30° and a direction of 90° ± 30° with respect to a growth direction of a stem of the fruit vegetable plant (Dobrinsky, Figure 1, column 5: lines 47-55 and 28-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the method of Kadkade so that the plants were irradiated with artificial light from a direction of 0° ± 30° and a direction of 90° ± 30° with respect to a growth direction of a stem of the fruit vegetable plant as to provide (Dobrinsky, column 8: lines 54-63).
Regarding claim 6, Kadkade discloses the method of claim 5 but fails to disclose a light intensity It of the artificial light, with which a growth point of the fruit vegetable plant is irradiated, and a light intensity Ib of the artificial light, with which a central part of a lowest leaf of the fruit vegetable plant is irradiated, satisfy the following relationship: Ib/It ≤ 0.8. Dobrinsky teaches irradiating different parts of the fruit vegetable plant with different intensity (Dobrinsky, column 6: lines 10-18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with reasonable expectation of success to modify the method of Kadkade so that the plant was irradiated at a light intensity It of the artificial light, and a light intensity Ib of the artificial light. Given a finite number of identified, predictable solutions it would have been obvious to try to irradiate different sections of the plant in the claimed ratio as to increase the nutritional content of the plant (Dobrinsky, column 6: lines 10-18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 4,109,414.
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642